Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Model: A500-10S16U
SKU: 2512059
UPC: 884483917488
This tablet features wireless LAN for connecting to the Internet without wires and a microSD card slot for storing or transferring media (card not included). The 2.0MP webcam allows you to video chat with family and friends. Business customer? If you need 10 or more Acer ICONIA tablets, order by calling Best Buy for Business at 1-866-515-6713 (Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.–6:30 p.m. CT) or visit www.bbfb.com.
Average Customer Rating:
4.413 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(288 Reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 288 reviews
5 stars
190
4 stars
61
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 star
10
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
255 out of 288
)
Customer Reviews for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic
Review 1 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Great tablet for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nurse7
from North Canton, OH
on 02/16/2013
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: reasonably priced, easy to use, good battery life, USB port
What's not so great: browser problems
Overall, I love this tablet. I was already used to the android platform because I have a Droid smartphone, so I found it very easy to navigate. I mainly use this for email, browsing the web, Facebook, Kindle books, Skype, etc. The screen is very clear and bright. I love that it has a USB port because not all tablets do. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because of problems with the web browser. When I'm using the Internet, it runs very slowly at times and then closes out the window with no warning, which is very frustrating! The problem is not my wifi, all of my other devices work fine. It worked fine for the 1st six months or so, so hopefully it just needs "cleaned up".
This product is... Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Comfortable with technology, medical professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Great tablet for a child

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kyotokarma
from Houston
on 01/19/2012
What's great about it: price
I bought this tablet for my 7yr old. He loves it! I also bought (and recommend) getting a sturdy case for it. We've only had it for a few weeks but so far, a great investment for the price!
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Great Tablet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ldouglas64
on 01/19/2012
Easy to set up and get going. No problems so far. Would definitely recommend this tablet.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Great tablet at a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ARKenMan
from The Earth
on 01/19/2012
What's great about it: easy to use, fast, android marketplace is great, compact
What's not so great: speakers on back are kind of hard to hear
I bought this for my 14 year old son and I was afraid he might not like it. Boy was I wrong. This has been the best thing I could have bought him. I bought my daughter and iPad 64 gb on the same day I bought this for my son, so we have been comparing them a lot. This is almost as good as an ipad and in some instances, even better. I help my son with his math homework a lot and we use his Acer Tablet every night, looking up formulas on the internet, using the calculator app on it, etc. The marketplace is just as full of great apps as the apple apps. I used this tablet one night to trouble shoot a friends wireless router even. It's the perfect size ( I don't care about super thin just to say it's super thin) and the screen is really clear. The battery life is perfectly fine. It's fast and I've heard that we'll be able to upgrade to ice-cream-'sammich' very soon! If you're needing a good tablet and are worried about this one, don't be. Buy it! I don't normally take the time to even do reviews, but this time I had to tell the good news about this tab. The only down at all is that the speakers are kind of hard to hear because of their placement in back, but it's not 'that' big of a deal to me.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Parent with kids, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Great tablet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jlamande
from Jersey city
on 01/18/2012
This tablet is very user friendly. Most of what you can do from computer you can do it from the tablet. It took me couple of hours to get used to it but again this tablet is made for 99% of the population.
Fast processor/ light for travel and great battery life!
I ve never been a great fan of Acer as Ive never bought anything from them but many of my friends convinced me that it was a great deal!
I am now sold!
JL
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Great Tablet for the Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Iconia
from Dallas, TX
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: Great Price, Android
What's not so great: Case is a must have. Tablet is a little hard to handle without one.
Purchased the Acer Iconia A500 as a Christmas present for my wife and I couldn't be happier. Compared it to the Ipad2 and ASUS Transformer. No flash took Ipad2 out of the battle right away. The ASUS and Acer were neck n" neck, so I just took a chance on the ACER. Couldnt be happier. Would invest in a cover as the tablet is a bit slippery.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Acer Iconia

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Valley Springs, CA
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: everything
I use this tablet everyday and I love it. Has a long battery life. It is compact. I take it everywhere with me. My family likes to use is too. I get movies on it to watch.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Parent with kids, personal use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Nice, but flawed...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: CoffeeBean843
from Charleston, SC
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: USB support, nice screen, Android
What's not so great: Power issues resulting in RF noise
I initialled purchased this for my daughter for school in order to have a instant on note taking internet device as well as USB support...This tablet works great for everything and Android really shines on this tablet which is why I was upset when I heard the high pitched whine coming from it during charging. My daughter was sitting across from me on the couch and I could hear a high pitched whine coming from it during charge mode. It was very distracting and had to be endured until the tablet was disconnected from the charger. I immediately boxed it up and returned it. I tried to exchange it, but Best Buy was sold out of them....therefore I purchased a Samsung Galaxy Tab with the additional USB dongle...no more problems!
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Parent with kids, Technology guru, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

great tablet for that price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rocolo14
on 01/17/2012
What's great about it: usb port
It works pretty good. The usb port is extremely handy
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Student, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Great gift for my daughter for games

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gammy107
from pasadena, maryland
on 01/16/2012
I am very pleased with this the sales associate recommended this when I told him what I wanted in a tablet. This is everything she wanted and then some. I would recommend this tablet to anyone.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Overall a good and easy-to-use product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mimicat
from Grand Rapids
on 01/16/2012
What's great about it: Its size, resolution, and the USB, micro-HDMI outlets
What's not so great: Its microphone, face-facing camera.
I'd considered iPad and Sumsung Galaxy before deciding on this Acer A500. Having had it for about a month now, I'm generally happy with it. One glitch is that its 2.0 USB outlet, which was the major selling point for me, doesn't recognize all USB flash drives, nor does it read all portable hard drives either. Well, I will just have to use the flash drives that it "likes". I can also confirm other reviews about its poor-quality microphone and its blurry face-facing camera. Otherwise, everything else seems fine.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... leisure user and internet surfer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Pretty good tablet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Isitworthit
from MD
on 01/15/2012
I purchased this due to wanting an android tablet (already have an IOS device). I found the product easy to set up (wireless and accounts were quite easy to establish). The device charges fast and has good battery life. The unit does feel heavy compared to ipad 2 but of course is much lighter than my notebook computers. Apps were easy to install and I was able to access my android and google accounts for downloading apps I already owned.
Sound system is good enough. Downside is that connecting to Bluetooth or wireless speakers is not an option (I should say that as of my purchase date there was only one option).
Skype works well for video chatting.
Music - It was more challenging using the apps (double twist and easy phone) to transfer music to the acer. I'd used both before to load music onto my android phone with ease.
SD card storage is limited to media storage and transfer. Apps can't be backed up.
I like the folder option to easily access app categories.
I decided to gift this tab to my mom, who loves it.
I didn't and wouldn't pay full price, I got it at a great sale price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

I-what?

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AlCapOne
from Orlando, Fl
on 01/14/2012
What's great about it: Fantastic mid-range Tablet that outperforms loads of others in all other classes.
What's not so great: Camera didn't perform as well as I'd have hoped.
Ok...a little bit of an exaggeration (from the review title). But, this product shows how close tablets are getting to achieving it's goal of wider functionality. The Ipad is an amazing product and it's still heads and tails better than most tablets, but, limits are limits and the Acer A500 (as well as the Toshiba Thrive) is a large step in the right direction.
For those consumers who want multiple ports (full size usb and mini HDMI on A500) this is easily the choice you need to make, over both the Ipad and the Samsung Galaxy Tab.
The OS is Android 3.2 which is pretty standard on all Android Tablets right now. But, it's a significantly smoother operating system compared to earlier versions of the OS. There's a still a bit of delay on the in regards to the touchscreen display, but, it's so minor it's almost non-existent. Speaking of the display it's pretty freakin' amazing, again not an Ipad or Samsung level, but, fantastic quality.
All the ports work quickly and suits all of my needs. I love the ability to view my files and spreadsheets from my PC to my Tab without a hitch. The HDMI out is pretty much plug and play as other products out there and the both the cameras are decent.
Regarding the camera, it's probably the weakest link. It's got a 5mp rear and 2 (I think) mp front and they are just not of the same level quality as my Samsung phone's cameras. I'm not quite convinced that it's the lens themselves as opposed to the possibility of the tablets camera application.
The last point of interest on the tablet is the speakers. They're not as loud as I'd have hoped they'd be, but, it's louder than other tablets. And this also might be a file issue because some movies and some music come out louder than others.
The build quality is top notch. I like it better than the Samsung tab, but, again not of Ipad quality. If you're trying to decide on this tablet I can guarantee you won't be disappointed. I use this WAY more than my laptop now and my Ipad (1st gen). The best part...it's less than HALF the price of either the Samsung and Ipad!
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Best Tablet I've found for the money!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JagLuvr
from Salem, OR
on 01/13/2012
What's great about it: Value for Price
What's not so great: Front Camera
I used a Samsung Tab 10" Tablet that I borrowed from work (Very Nice Tablet) as my comparison. The Acer is nearly as good in every respect; build quality, display, touch screen, features, even includes a ful sized USB port that the Samsung doesn't have. I added a 16GB memory chip and the total cost was still $130 les than the Samsung. I don't notice any speed difference from the Samsung either. The only thing that isn't quite as good (as far as I can tell) the the front camera which I use for Skype - it's grainer and generally not nearly as sharp as the Samsung - but still workable. The Rear cam works very vell and takes excellent video! I love this tablet - WELL worth the price!
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Fantastic

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tpopper
from St. Louis
on 01/12/2012
What's great about it: Battery life, ease of use, video quality, everything I have no complaints
What's not so great: nothing
This has been perfect. I have owned for over 2 months. The battery life is outstanding. I would purchase again.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, Perfect for Business, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

best purchase ever made

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from pennsylvania
on 01/11/2012
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: there is nothing bad
This is great,first of all the screen is big enough(I have a 10 inch) that you don't have to strain your eyes to read. The icons are easy to read and the apps are easy to find.It was easy to download adobe flash player so that you can get into youtube and so forth.I'm not into electornics, in fact I have problems working my computer,but with my acer I feel like a pro!!! I recommend the acer for personal use or work.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, Great screen size, fun to use
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, homemaker
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Powerfull Tablet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: slavin57
from Chino Hills, CA
on 01/10/2012
Easy to use, expandable memory and android.... does it get any better. Relatively same specs as iPad and a about half the price.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Should have bought an ipad

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: zman2011
on 01/09/2012
What's great about it: NOTHING
What's not so great: speed of downloads, sound, ability to download apps of all kinds
I am not satisfied with the performance of this tablet. slow at downloading apps, playing videos, no apps for move site as you can download on a desktop or other tablets.
This product is... difficult, poor sound quailty
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

Best Choice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JDM308
on 01/09/2012
I bought 4 Iconias for Christmas presents. I helped my Mom and Dad setup and learn theirs. Basically, it is flawless in every detail. Unlike an iPad, the android OS will update directly from the net. No need to ever plug this in to a computer, or any controlling software. But when you do decide to plug to a computer, there are both full size and mini USB ports. And file movement is essentially the same as Windows. And with a micro SD card, it can be a 48 GB tablet. The OS read every video and music file I tried. No converting needed. I have an iPad. I love it, and use it every day. But I will soon likely give it to my daughter. And right now the Acer Iconia is on the top of a short list of replacements. If you want the most versatility and usability, I think this is the choice.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Acer Iconia Tablet with 16GB Storage Memory - Aluminum Metallic

After 13 Days Tablet Returned For Repair

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: AFASOX
from Massachusetts
on 01/08/2012
What's great about it: The concept
What's not so great: The reliabilty
Wow, disappointed is a mild word. We bought 2 units at Christmas for the grandkids. One lasted 13 days. It cannot boot ( will not turn on). After a long and tired process with Acer support they concluded unit needed to be sent to Texas for repair. Then the process for paperwork to send unit back took 40 additional minutes on the phone. They asked my email address 4 times and still did not get it right. The email address is simple, it is just my name. So I had to call back AGAIN to find out why I did not get email outlining shipping address and process. Second call took another 20 minutes. They don't provide a shipping label. They give you a drop off number. You have to go to a Fed Ex location and get number converted into a shipping label. It is 2012, but Acer doesn't know how to simply email you a shpping label that you can print and tape to your box. It is amazing. To put it simple - they make you do the work to return the unit. Yes, they cover cost to ship (you must pay for insurance of unit ) but you must expend shoe leather. Customer support is weak, English is a second language. Common sense is not common with them. Be prepared, if your unit fails, you wil not find the experience smooth.
As for the product itself 2 stars - fair is the best rating I can provide. There is NO excuse for the unit to fail after 13 days of use. None !
Now, I wonder when the second unit will fail. We spent $700 between the two of them. Not happy.
This product is... not refined
About me... Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>