Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Model: C23A750X
SKU: 2538084
UPC: 729507816487
This LED combines an HD LED-backlit display with a built-in wireless docking station. Connect your laptop with the included USB wireless adapter and get connected instantly to an HD display and up to four USB devices. Monitor features include a 60Hz screen refresh rate and an ultrafast 2 ms response time to eliminate motion blur during fast-action scenes, so you can enjoy crisp, clear images.
Average Customer Rating:
2.526 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 19 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
7
26% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
5 out of 19
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station
Review 1 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Too High Tech Even for Samsung Technical Support

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MMinSM
from Santa Monica, CA
on 01/18/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Great concept of a central station to serve as a laptop docking station.
What's not so great: Impossible to set up; faulty design; user's manual not very user-friendly.
If I could give zero stars, I would have. Bought two of these thinking that I can have a dual monitor setup without all the cables. I couldn't even get one to talk to my laptop, which is brand new and was told should be able to hook up to this wireless monitor. After spending a couple of hours on my own, my friend (who's more computer savvy) gave it a shot for another couple of hours. After having no luck either, we decided to call Samsung -- after talking to three reps for over an hour, we finally gave up and ended up returning both monitors. The first box came with a LAN cable that didn't even fit the LAN port on the back of the monitor because of defective manufacturing (extra piece of plastic that protruded a little that kept the plug from fitting into the port). We opened the second box to see if we can "borrow" the LAN cable from that unit to see if we can get the monitor to talk to my laptop, and that unopened box didn't even come with the LAN cable. Really disappointed in Samsung's quality inspection and technical support team -- they shouldn't put out a product before getting their own staff trained!!!
This product has... faulty design
About me... Dual monitors user, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Not ready for prime time

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: TechinRedmond
from Redmond, WA
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Image Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
This monitor is just "OK" in my view. The wireless adapter did not have a driver that would allow it work at the time Samsung began selling the monitor, and there is nothing in the manual that states that. I had to call customer servier 10-12 times to ultimately find that out because the reps were very uneducated about their own product. Also, the picture resolution is reduced with the wireless and USB connections, down from even my laptop resolution of 1366x768. The monitor's best resolution was 1280x720 with the wireless connection, so don't be fooled by the advertised screen resolution of 1920x1080. I would probably not purchase this item again.
This product has... Attractive design, HDMI connection
About me... Dual monitors user, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

I really wish this monitor had worked out

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ewgino1
from Monterey
on 12/24/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: High resolution, beautiful design, samsung name
What's not so great: Didn't work as advertised
I was really excited about the Samsung name and even more excited about the wireless capabilities and USB hub. Unfortunately I never was able to get it to work as advertised. I followed the instructions closely during setup and both the software and hardware were not working together to accomplish the end result. I was able to plug it in directly and use it but, what's the point of paying a premium if you don't get the bells and whistles as promised?
This product has... Attractive design
About me... Parent with kids, Technology guru/developer, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

The software will crash your computer

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: patk95426
from Santa Rosa, Ca
on 12/03/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Image Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Software won't work
I am unable to use most features of this monitor / wireless hub because the installation software causes my new Samsung Series 9 computer to completely lock up. I've tried using the latest download version - no help. I've tried talking to Samsung - that's a real joke. I finally got someone to admit there was a problem - but haven't gotten any help. Tried to put a poor review on their website, for some reason it never got posted. I've got the thing hooked up through an RS232 adaptor, but that's just analog and no wireless features.
Avoid this monitor like the plague until they get this issue fixed!
This product has... Attractive design, unusable software
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Wireless range of only 5 feet!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: danstoned
from 87505
on 11/03/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The 23" screen
What's not so great: Wireless range of only 5 feet
The wireless range of 5 feet for this monitor voids the purpose of buying it based upon that one feature alone. A "wireless range of 5 feet" of course was nowhere to be found on the outside of the box. After I took it back to the store for an exchange, the sales staff there had no clue regarding the 5 foot range restrictions for wireless transmissions. The owner's manual showed that the 5 foot wireless feature was ideal for placing a portable laptop directly in front of this Samsung 23" wireless monitor, which did not make much sense to me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Low to the desk

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FlashGordon7
from Marin, Ca
on 10/26/2011
What's great about it: low to the desk
I have researched this on the internet and older people who wear bifocals are looking for a monitor that is close to the desk. This monitor comes within 2 inches of the desktop, which is much better than the 3-4 inches above the desktop that most monitors are. It has standard, very good Samsung quality and the location and tilt of the monitor are very flexible. I have a 2k mac 32 inch monitor and I'd trade it for this one on my mac if I could get it to work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Great image but thats not the point here.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: drraybones
from San Antonio
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Versatillety of the stand and has a great image quality.
What's not so great: Extremely limited cordless range, wont support video gaming.
This monitor has a great display and I really like the wide range of agle the display can be moved to. This monitor can be layed back parallel to the ground over its stand. Being cordless this wide ranged stand allows the display to be put in any creative set-up the user can imagine. The monitor is atractive and quite large. Having USB ports on the display stand is usefull considering the monitor is cordless, making other accessories cordless as well. The down side, and this is a deal breaker, is that the monitor has to be in line with the USB transmiter and within about 30 cm. With this limitation it might as well have the cords attatching to the computer. My keyboard and mouse have a prettey good range. It would be nice to be able to move about the room with the mouse keyboard and monitor all cordlessly. One other big draw back is that the USB conection does not support video very well. Therefor gaming wont work with this monitor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

HDMI Love It!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Babaloo
from El Cajon, CA
on 10/13/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Big and Bright
What's not so great: Wireless setup. Instruction lacking.
Samsung has got monitors down pat! My last was a 19" Samsung.
Great big consistent picture quality. Now I need a bigger desk!
Controls on the base right in front. Easy to set up.
Don't waste your money on this one unless you use HDMI cables! They make all the difference, so don't go cheap!
Wireless was a bit tricky to set up for me, so I just got..err.. used wired!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Not what I was hoping for, but it works

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: joeshmoe554
from Reno, NV
on 10/12/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It's a nice sized LED monitor
What's not so great: All of the extra features it's supposed to have.
When I saw this monitor I was really hoping I might be able to use it as a KVM, leaving it physically hooked up to my PC and connecting my laptop wirelessly. Unfortunatly after spending a lot of time experimenting with the setup it seems that is just about impossible. The monitor has a hard time deciding whether it wants to use the wireless input or the typical usb input and it was constantly alternating which computer I was using. The wireless video seemed to work just fine for most applications, though gaming was quite choppy and I could see some artifacts in a lot of the picture. At the moment I have every physically connected to it and it works just fine as a standard monitor, but the special features it touts don't seem to be all they could be.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Would be great, if it worked

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Aneel
from Pomona, California
on 10/09/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Image Quality
What's not so great: Doesn't function as described, lack of speakers
I love this screen, but I would love it more if it actually functioned as described. With my new laptop with a radeon 6770m graphics card, the docking part of the monitor won't work. During installation, the notebook screen goes blank and never recovered. Even a hard reboot doesn't bring the image back to the screen. I had to go into safe mode and uninstall the "Samsung Central Station Drivers" in order to get my notebook back to normal. Even with the drivers installed, the wireless, and USB functions didn't work. For now I'm stuck using HDMI. I got this specifically for its docking abilities, but now I am limited to a less convenient wired connection. Image quality on the monitor through HDMI is awesome, but I cannot comment on any other input, as I am unable to test the others (except for VGA which I just never tried to test). I also dislike the fact that the monitor lacks speakers. It would be expected from a monitor that costs this much, but I guess it's alright because monitor speakers are usually horrible anyways. Well Samsung, I really hope you guys fix the driver issues so that I can use what I paid for. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Why no DVI input?

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Viruk657
from Atlanta
on 10/05/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Image Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Some cool features
What's not so great: No DVI input
I got this monitor because it had some interesting features but unfortunately it doesn't have a DVI input. It does have HDMI but the display was not up to par with DVI and had issues with the output resolution.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Does not work with Windows 7

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: HHub
from Houston, TX
on 09/23/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The idea
What's not so great: It messes up the laptop's built-in screen
I have been hunting for a hub to have a second monitor for my new laptop computer, so I could have a full-size monitor at home without having to use 2 different computers. I thought my problems were over when I discovered Samsung's monitor hub. WRONG! It took forever to get it to project as an extended monitor (It would work, but black out the laptop monitor.), and then when I unhooked my laptop to use elsewhere, the screen would not display. Something in the software doesn't allow the laptop to function without the monitor. Further, it would not uninstall. It took the Geek Squad 4 days to finally uninstall the monitor. I doubt that I will ever again use a Samsung product because I now have 4 items that I have uninstalled, but are still on my computer -- including this monitor. All the Geek Squad managed was to get it to stop taking command of the laptop built-in monitor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

PC only for now

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Colorado
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good design features
What's not so great: button placement right where you tend to hold it to adjust.
This says it will work with Apple later in 2011; so plan on early 2012. The concept sounds good, but it was very touchy when I tried to set it up on my Windows XP laptop. Never did get it working - and Apple was a definite no-go from the online documentation (should be easier to find than spending all that time trying.).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Good idea that doesn't work!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Rick1403
from New Hampshire
on 09/06/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Image Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: the idea
What's not so great: it doesn't work
I ordered this online while visiting in New Hampshire. It was delivered promptly and I tried to instal it. It wouldn't work. I had my son in Law try it as I am not very comuter literate. He was unable to get it to work either. I tried going to the Samsung website and download the program and drivers. It changed my screen resolution and I couldn't get it to change back, and the product still wouldn't work. I tried to return it to Best Buy but because I had it for 18 days they would only offer a store credit but would not put the credit back on my credit card. Terrible product and even worse customer service!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Great Idea That Works Well... once setup correctly

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LikingCentralStation
from Gaithersburg
on 07/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Once set-up, it works as advertised, providing powerful wireless features, great display, and USB3
What's not so great: Setup, Instructions, L-shaped wireless transmitter may extend above a thin laptop and may be vulnerable to breakage
Bumpy start. OK, I admit it. I didn't look at the directions - just tried to rely on Win-7 and Samsung SW (which didn't seem to like my Google Chrome browser) to walk me through setup. When I did look at the included directions, help was limited. No conspicuous 800-help number or quick setup guide spotted. However, I'm now up and running wireless with a Toshiba Portege R835 (Sandy Bridge i5) at full resolution - both screens - no interference even with separate bluetooth transmitter supporting keyboard, and mouse. Monitor has matt (no glare) screen with excellent brightness,viewing angle, contrast, and color saturation - though a distinctly different color cast from my Portege (which I think is overly biased toward blue). Interface took some getting used to and I was surprised that "super charging" mode on USB-3 ports meant that if you configure for super charging, that's all the ports do (no USB signal). That may be typical of all USB-3 - IDK. Observed slightly disturbing "image ripple" (bracket stress shows through panel like someone pressing finger on front of screen) when adjusting screen position . Fortunately, it seems to disappear after adjustment. Haven't tested USB3, Ethernet, or sound yet. Will write again if problems are experienced. Finally, I won't be leaving the L-shaped Samsung transmitter in my laptop. It extends beyond the top of the thin Portege leaving me concerned that it could snag and snap off during travel. All in all an impressive first-generation device that I'm glad I purchased. No doubt the design, SW, and features will improve with time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Cut the cords...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: minimdr
from NC
on 07/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Cheaper than buying a new monitor and USB to DVI adaptor
I just purchased this monitor to use with my Viliv N5. I was able to load the Samsung driver at Bestbuy and try it out before buying.
The N5 does have Windows 7 starter but is only running an Intel Atom 1.3GHz (Z520) and has 1GB DDR2 and a 4.8" 1024x600 touchscreen. Which does not meet Samsungs requirements. But, everything works perfect. I am able to run the Samsung at the full 1920x1080.
I can even watch my Slingbox Pro HD connected to my TIVO HD, it does have to be windowed not full screen, but I usually have it in a right bar along with ie open.
I have the ethernet run to the base along with power. I then connect my HTC EVO via usb to the base. The monitor and usb dongle do the rest. By the time I would have purchased a USB to VGA adaptor and a new 23" monitor I would have been at the same price.
Was able to get mine for a great deal...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Clever Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JJinNC
from Cary, North Carolina
on 06/07/2011
What's great about it: Wireless Dock, USB3 Ports, Sleek Design
This is an absolutely fantastic product. I am very happy with its sleek and thin design. The effortless wireless dock capability was a key motivator for me. I also found the USB3 ports to be blazingly fast. In general the multitude of integrated features represents a great value proposition.
This product is easy to use and I personally noticed virtually no video degradation between the UWB, USB, and HDMI video modes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Low quality video and not a stable monitor

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: GemTechie
from Texas
on 06/02/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Image Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Design and Style
What's not so great: Video performance and monitor stability
I bought this after reading such great reviews at Best Buy, so I was indeed very disappointed to spend so much money for a monitor-dock which has such poor performance. There are many alternatives that are much better value for money!
A low quality “video mode” seems to kick in for HD video playback. The color quality drops too, as you can see blocky banding, especially obvious on dark areas.
Also, I assume the drivers have something to do with the monitor crashes: screen freeze when starting the media player and you need to reboot your computer to make it work, etc. A pain, basically!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-16points
6out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Central Station 23" Widescreen LED Monitor/Wireless Docking Station

Great Idea that Doesn't work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JP94105
from San Francisco
on 05/30/2011
What's great about it: I don't know
What's not so great: It didn't work with my laptop. Too new for Samsung customer support to know their own product
I bought this monitor to work with my Samsung 9 Series laptop. The Samsung 9 series does not have a docking station so this would be a nice alternative. Since the laptop has UWB that I thought I wouldn't have to use the dongle. The monitor would not connect. I connected the dongle (with a USB splitter since the right angle of the dongle does not fit into the 9 Series completely). The monitor would not connect. Called Samsung support. They went through the user manual with me on the phone which told me that I knew about much about connecting the monitor as I did (pretty sad). We could not get the monitor to connect. Two hours later, I give up. Returning to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-23points
6out of 35found this review helpful.