Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Model: ECLIPSE-180 RD 4GB
SKU: 2597021
UPC: 878376001484
Listen to music or view photos on the go with this media player that features a 1.8" LCD display and up to 4GB of flash memory. The USB 2.0 port provides a simple connection to your computer.
Average Customer Rating:
2.234 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 47 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
28
34% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
16 out of 47
)
Customer Reviews for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red
Review 1 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Terrible product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: FLEXXX
from Miami, FL
on 07/04/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
Terrible product. Functionality horrible. I couldnt load 1 song onto it. I tried ALL loading options & none worked.
My Aunt uses this Mp3 player , she hate it . Problems with the videos , I'm trying to convert a .mov video to a AMV with the software of the mp3 player but never works.
Please DON' T BUY THIS unless you want a headache.
About me... Casual listener, Audiophile
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:35-44
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Great player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LillieBug
on 06/23/2012
This is a great little player for the money. Compact and easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

so easy even an old lady can use it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: comegetme
on 06/20/2012
I finally found a player that even a grandma can use. This thing is so easy to navigate and upload music I didn't even ned help from my grandkids.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Machspeed it back to the store. It Is Trash

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Pittsburg,CA
on 06/16/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing at all.
What's not so great: Buying it in the 1st place
Terrible product. Functionality horrible. I couldnt load 1 song onto it. I tried ALL loading options & none worked. Read Directions, even went on2 Youtube.com 2 watch the loading demostration. Still got no where. When its connected to my computer, it showed that there was songs on it, but when i disconnected it to play it in a normal fashion, the screen says no files.I seen this same player at another store, same company brand,Machspeed,but different name. Instead of Eclipse, like this 1, MACHSPEED has also named it Trio Rhythm. That company should focus on product quality instead of product packaging. This product is also an imposter to Craig Electronics Mp3 player. Difference is, the Craig brand Mp3 works & this 1does not. Machspeed shouldnt push their bad investments onto consumers. I like Best Buy but it makes them look bad for selling lemons to their customers on behave of another company. DONT BUY THIS unless you enjoy having a headache. LOL (sarcastically)
About me... Music is my life, Casual listener, Avid listener, Tech savvy, thankful for return policies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:35-44
Number of MP3 Players Owned:1-2
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

trash

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Jez1987
from Murfreesboro, TN
on 06/14/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: everything
this device even though it's cheap is still not worth what you pay for it. the features are confusing. if i want to play a song that i downloaded to it, it plays the song then goes straight to one of the songs that it came with instead of playing the whole cd. and when you want it to shuffle all the songs it still just plays the songs it came with. Just got it yesturday and i'm already fed up with it. it makes me want to throw it against the wall. going back to best buy tonight to return it!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:18-24
Number of MP3 Players Owned:0
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

sound quality and volume is the poor

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Quisinberry
from Newport News, VA
on 05/30/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: everything
This item should be removed for store inventory I returned it for a sansa player
About me... Casual listener
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:45 and up
Number of MP3 Players Owned:1-2
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

My kids love it!!!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AphFoothills
from tucson, az
on 05/30/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy for kids to use.
What's not so great: nothing
My 9yr old loves to listen to her music on this player till the battery run out!!!! good product!!
About me... Avid listener, for kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:17 & under
Number of MP3 Players Owned:More than 5
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Cheap and Still Cheap

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: 7734
from Pa
on 04/18/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: We thought price
What's not so great: You get what you pay for
Bought this for my daughter, she needed a replacement. I figured this would be a mid grade product. We plugged it into the computer when we got home to charge the battery. 12 hours later it would just flash on and off. I called tech support 3 times. one of those times I was hung up on because it was five minutes till their closing time. They tried to tell me it was my computer. When all other plug and play devices work fine. Finally when I called tech support and told them I just want my money back. The response was, "Take it back to the store and they will take care of it" then I was hung up on!!
About me... Music is my life, Avid listener
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:45 and up
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Horrible MP3 player that freezes.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Gilmond
from Tinley Park, IL
on 04/14/2012
What's great about it: Can be used as a paper weight to hold important documents down.
What's not so great: Wasting money on it in the first place.
The MP3 player constantly freezes on some songs for no reason at all. It takes a long time to navigate through the menu's to pick a song. The button layout is horrible and it's not easy. The battery lasts all of 4 hours when it is fully charged. I wouldn't recommend this MP3 player to anyone unless you get it for free.
About me... Avid listener
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:25-34
Number of MP3 Players Owned:1-2
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Garbage

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: stholmes
from Orlando, FL
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Its cheap.... all the way around
What's not so great: Doesnt integrate with itunes
Save your money. This is a piece of garbage. The screen is hard to read, the controls are not intuitive and it doesnt integrate with itunes. Spend the money and get something that you can actually use.
About me... Avid listener, Tech savvy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:45 and up
Number of MP3 Players Owned:More than 5
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

scrolling difficult

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: guesstures
on 03/15/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Light and compact
What's not so great: Bought it for my son and scrolling apps
Bought it for my son, but use it hiking and enjoy it. Will buy one for myself, but I think I will upgrade. One that will use touch scroll.
About me... Casual listener
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:45 and up
Number of MP3 Players Owned:0
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

For the price a good value for how use it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: scouter1
from Springfield, Illinois
on 03/15/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price, easy to use
What's not so great: instructions
Easy to use to record and play. One problem was the directions are not very helpful.
About me... Casual listener
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:45 and up
Number of MP3 Players Owned:1-2
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Never again

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mrcking
from atlanta
on 03/14/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: to hard to use
I took it back and spent the extra money on Sony 4GB and I have never been happier. Much easier to use and I love the earbuds so much that I am using them with my phone. I guess that what I get for being cheap.
About me... Avid listener
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:35-44
Number of MP3 Players Owned:0
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Don't waste your time on this MP3 player!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: sniknshelb
from Harrison Twp, MI
on 02/18/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Absolutely nothing!!!
What's not so great: Extremely tough to navigate -- poor menu functionality!!!
I picked this up as a birthday present for my daughter -- so I thought I'd get it out, and charge it up, and put some her favorite songs/pics on it for her so when she'd open it she'd be able to use and play with it right away.
WOW!!! What a piece of junk this thing is!!! From the functionality to the feel of the device, and don't get me wrong for $30 bucks I wasn't expecting much -- but feels very cheap!!!
But the real problem...and I consider myself pretty techy, but I could hardly navigate around in it, let alone my young daughter. Navigating through the screens is pure torture!!
Don't waste your time on this MP3 player -- I'm taking it back 1st thing in the morning, and getting something different!!
About me... Avid listener, Tech savvy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:35-44
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

This item is total garbage

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Kevin323
from Hollywood
on 02/03/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: battery
First of all the battery life is horrible, when putting music into it some bands go into different folders and have to look for them through out the player. When choosing menus and scrolling through bands it becomes a nightmare since it is so slow. I guess i got what i paid for. The worse part is the battery life lasts at most to an hour and thirty minutes
About me... Music is my life, Avid listener, Audiophile, Tech savvy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:18-24
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Awful product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: helpedbymycats
from Iowa
on 01/28/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
I got this as a Christmas present, as a fill-in until I get my expensive MP3 player fixed. It is awful. There is a constant whirring sound, as if it's a cd player looking for a track. This happens both on pre-loaded music and my own music. It is difficult to impossible to navigate the menus and to find the music that I put on. It was also hard to load music onto it. I'm hoping Best Buy will take it back, without me having to go through the manufacturer.
About me... Avid listener, technically competent
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:35-44
Number of MP3 Players Owned:1-2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Hard to use menu

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: drmondo
from upstate, NY
on 01/25/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: difficult to use
Menu is hard to maneuver and takes forever to cycle through. You'll have to use the included software to get video to play. For just music, the Sansa Clip+ is much easier to use. On the positive side, it is an inexpensive player and seems to be fairly durable.
About me... Avid listener
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:35-44
Number of MP3 Players Owned:More than 5
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

Cheap

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Davisbaby
from Nashville, NC
on 01/25/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
First off, the cable did not work when I got it. Instead of taking it back, I borrowed one from a friend. Next thing, if it has a shuffle option I have yet to find it. If anyone can tell me how to shuffle please let me know.
About me... Avid listener
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:25-34
Number of MP3 Players Owned:0
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

May be of good use for a toodler

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ANGELEYESGREEN
from Glagow, KY
on 01/19/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: the shut down of music just as you are starting to enjoy it
This is my first review of a product and sadly it is not a very good one. I was hoping to be able to use this for a workout companion, but due to the technical difficulties such as shutting off automaticly and only playing your downloaded music to a certain song then shutting down again, this was hopeless. After unloading and reloading the music time and time again I have finally given up. I have never been so disappointed in a product before. I am only leaving this feedback in hopes that it will help others. Wish I would have read reveiws first :(.
I cannot really find anything good to say about it so I will leave it as is.
About me... Casual listener
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:35-44
Number of MP3 Players Owned:1-2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mach Speed - Eclipse 4GB Media Player - Red

1 out of 10

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: skigroomer
on 01/19/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
It's a piece of junk. The software doesn't work, the pre-installed music is awful and can't be deleted and the controls are difficult to impossible to use.
About me... Casual listener, Tech savvy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:45 and up
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>