Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Model: EL1358-UB20P
SKU: 2632089
UPC: 886541003485
This desktop features NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE graphics for lush images and a 4GB memory for multitasking power. The multiformat DVD±RW/CD-RW drive lets you create custom DVDs and CDs.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about VISION Technology from AMD.
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
79% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
11 out of 14
)
Customer Reviews for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory
Review 1 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Perfect for fast everyday computing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: elpiablo
from Denver, CO
on 12/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast & Cheap
What's not so great: fan or drive begining to make noise/rattle
I bought this computer a year ago. It's still pretty quick, 3.2 GHz dual-core isn't bad at all and I don't bog it down with unnecessary applications. It comes with 4GB RAM, but can hold up to 8GB. It's got all the standard daily functionality you need (DVD/CD burner, muti-format card reader). Only drawback is no built-in wireless capabilities, but with how cheap this computer is, you could easily afford to buy a wireless USB adapter. But with a stationary desktop, who really needs wireless built-in? The graphics card is good for an internet computer (not for a gaming computer). Also, it could use a firewire port (there are two available expansion slots for this).
Anyway, I did not fill out the reliability rating because I'll gauge that in 4 years. It is starting to make some noise at start-up (a year after purchase), It's either the fan or the hdd. I'm thinking the it's the hdd, but I'm not too concerned. If it craps out I've got the 4yr warranty and all my stuff backed up. I would pry it open and find out whats really going on but I don't want to void any warranties and I don't have the time or the energy. Overall, the first year has been good.
This product is... Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast, perfect for everyday computing
About me... Business Professional, graduate student, very tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Great! Nothing else to say

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: EDofBowie
from Bowie
on 12/11/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, Features
Bought this machine a few weeks ago. Over the years, many people have given Emachines a bad rep. I have always loved them. For $309 it was exactly what I wanted. Although I have the technical skill to do many upgrades, I have no plans for opening the cpu unit. It's great the way it is. I did uninstall a few things though, i.e. Norton stuff and a few others, and it made the performance even better. It's been working great. Nowadays, you buy PC to last just a few years, so why pay for the most expensive one. It's not that they won't last many years but things change so fast that it makes it necessary just to keep up. Probably buy another in 4 years or so.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Pefect Little computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: djkrew
on 10/26/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: compact and fast
What's not so great: so compact that there is no room to upgrade certain parts but still great
I recentely bought this computer at first mostly for the price but as i researched more it turns out that for the price this is a really great computer. I do alot of stuff with music and its just great and fast. I can even play games on it, i upgraded the graphics card to a card that i dont need a bigger power supply for, it may not be an extreme gaming comp but for someone liek me who likes some computer games here and there it is perfect. I recommend this comp because not only is it a low price, it saves a good amount of energy also
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

WOW

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JES1God
from Las Vegas,NV
on 10/13/2011
What's great about it: EVERYTHING
What's not so great: NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL
I have (3) EMachines in my Home and I Love all three thats how I learned about Computers over (6) years ago and I haven't had any issue with EMachines I wouldn't change an thing. I guess because I am not HI/Tech enough too NO any better.
But thats OK I am still PLEASED...
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... just love too surf the net., love browsing on ebay., love finding great deals on the net., love listening to internet radio.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Nice little machine

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dennis423
from Indianapolis IN
on 10/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Nothing
Great basic machine for surfing the internet. E-machine uses high end components at a low end price.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Good PC as is , It goes to Excellent w small mod.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mtaristi
from TX
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything for this price
What's not so great: integrated graphis but all PCs at this level are the same
This is the 2nd Emachines I purchase in 2011 , had this one for a week , no problems at all , compact size , fits everywhere , fast processor , DDR3 RAM , big enough Hard Drive , has minimal junk software easy to remove , keyboard and optical mouse are entry level but good enough for everyday use , no cheap speakers bundled which allows me to connect some good Altec speakers .
Integrated graphics NVIDIA 6150se ; looks to me like it is the only thing that needed some improvement to have a balanced PC. Installed a NVIDIA 520 1GB low profile card ( a $ 60 investment ) , this was really worth those $ 60 , now games run smothly on a HD 22in monitor.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Great computer for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MariB
from Collegeville, PA
on 08/18/2011
What's great about it: The size and the software included.
What's not so great: Not compatible with my old printer
Seems to be meeting my needs. No problems encountered so far.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Great basic computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SamM4
from NY
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Bought this tower to replace our eMachine we had bought back in '06. Started up quickly right out of the box and has been working great for the month we've had it now. Very quick power up and shut down, especially compared to the computer it replaced. We definitely are just the 'everyday' user, no gaming or anything else along those lines, so this computer is great for the price. Also, used the store pick up option & my experience was very quick and hassle-free. Would recommend that option for anyone not wanting to pay for shipping.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Great machine for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: buttercreeme
from Michigan
on 08/04/2011
What's great about it: Really nice machine for the price.
What's not so great: So far nothing!
I bought this tower as a replacement for an eMachine I bought my mother 6 years ago. Basically the same setup except new Windows 7 instead of XP. She is 89 and doing great with it! Highly recommended if you don't need something high powered but still able to function quickly and well.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Work from Home business user, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Good value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: geeksquadsubstitute
from DC
on 08/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
It's a neat little computer with terrific value. It's good for browsing and storing media, but you shouldn't get it if you're looking for something a bit more heavy duty. A basic Windows 7 CPU
About me... Budget Conscious, Total I.T Geek
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

great processor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mawmaw7
from bogalusa
on 07/20/2011
What's great about it: the processor was easy to set up
I was very pleased with the time in which I recieved my Processor. The speed of my new processor is so quick I LOVE IT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Dead in less than one month

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: nolagirl70118
from Alexandria,VA
on 07/20/2011
What's great about it: It was cheap
What's not so great: It doesn't work
Started off slow, within 3 weeks, will not start.Could take up to month or more to fix,BEWARE, Best Buy will not help since >14 days since purchase
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

Decent desktop for great price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BMan510
on 07/18/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Good price, decent hardware
What's not so great: USB drive problems
I have owned this desktop for a couple of months now and for the most part it has been satisfactory.
Strengths: Great hardware for really cheap price. (Lowest I could find.) Slimline really is small. :)
Keyboard and mouse are decent.
Weaknesses: Graphics card is not strong enough to play online 3-D games. (Kind of laggy).
NO wifi! Which is very inconvenient.
Problems: The only problem I have realized so far is that randomly when I turn on the desktop one or more of the USB drives will not register or an error message pops up when you plug something in. It is annoying, but a quick reboot usually solves the problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for eMachines EL Series Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory

dont buy emachine

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: yourname
from draqper ut
on 07/15/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: like 4 gb memory
What's not so great: doesnt work
This is my third emachine, I have bought these computers because of the price, but ive had it with emachine, there not worth the headache to save a little money. The last emachine I bought I paid for an extended warranty and the thing keeped on crashing on me, I would take it in and they would say nothing is wrong with it. Emachines would tell me to restore it, nothing would work, so I would just keep on taking it in. My new emachine is only 6 months old and it is already crashing on me. I guess Ill keep playing their games and take it in for them to tell me its not broke. I have all the virus protections and scan once a week so I know its not a virus. Bottom line, I will never purchase an Emachine again. My other computers work great I will not name them just so you dont think im trying to sell something else. My new emachine is the EL series 4gb memory with windows 7
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
19out of 34found this review helpful.