Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Model: h8-1010
SKU: 2670355
UPC: 886111453030
This desktop features a double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive for creating customized CDs and DVDs. Wireless networking allows you to connect to the Internet without wires. Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.738 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 42 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
93% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
39 out of 42
)
Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory
Review 1 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

A Solid Performer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MukMan
from Seattle, WA
on 01/17/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast, easy setup, good processor
What's not so great: Nothing Yet
As I looked for a replacement to a 4.5 year-old HP Pavilion desktop, I looked around, read up a little and comparison shopped (of course). This particular unit was recommended to me buy a very geeky tech specialist because of the particular i5 chip in it - a 2390T. Unfortunately, he said, they didn't have any in stock.
A couple of weeks later I was in the Portland area - no sales tax - and decided to stop by a nearby Best Buy. As fate would have it, they had a display model for sale - most desktops were being replaced with i7 Intel processors and I happened to get if for an additional $100 off on display models. I always say don't fight it if it's meant to be. . .
The important point about this unit is that the processor actually operates as a quad processor whereas other i5s - if the tech guy was right - do not. It is fast and that's probably the most important thing to me as a heavy personal user. The wi-fi connected to my home network immediately and I've got Adobe CS on it.
Anyway, for 8GB DDR3 RAM, a 1 TB hard drive and all the basics not including BT, it's a great performer!
This product is... Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Fast computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TXreviewer111
from Porter, TX
on 12/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: wireless connection to printer and blu-ray player
What's not so great: limited choice of monitor ports
Finally I get the internet speed my internet service provider promised! I can surf the net, write email, work on spreadsheets and documents all at the same time without loss of speed. Starter versions of Word and Excel were pre-loaded. It also has Windows 7. Automatically defragments the hard drive and optimizes every week. A bit pricy, but worth it.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... average computer skills
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

We love our new PC

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: racer222
from new jersey
on 11/16/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
This PC is so user friendly and everyone in the family loves it. It is so much more advanced than our old PC and very easy to use. Tasks erfomerd on our old PC that were hard and cumbersome are a snap on this PC.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Good performance with misleading name

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bigwilly69
from Los Angeles
on 10/29/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super quite, nice looking, lots of RAM
What's not so great: It's only a dual-core but it is sold as an i5 (typically quad-core)
I purchased this PC assuming it had a quad-core i5 processor because all PREVIOUS i5s had quads. The i5-2390T is the only dual-core i5 processor made by Intel and it wasn't clearly stated that this PC was only dual-core and, therefore, more comparable to an i3 when doing price/performance evaluations. That being said, this PC performs well for my applications and is a huge step up from my old single-core processor. Just beware if you truely need a quad-core for your applications.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

great computer for advanced user

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: coolbreeze52
from New Jersey
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: everything, like the grafics,and the ease of use
What's not so great: did not find anything as of yet
It's a great computer, and I would reccommend it to anyone looking for a fresh start, in advancing to the next level.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

So far, so good.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Miami, FL
on 10/18/2011
Chose this computer overview a similar product. Like the 8GB memory and 1TB storage. Need more time to evaluate the machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Very fast.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sirsidney
from Las Vegas, NV
on 10/12/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super Fast
What's not so great: Do not install external DVD burner/player...it will slow down the start-up by 10 minutes.
Great unit....I had to exchange for a new one. The first unit I bought took 10 minutes to restart. HP couldn't figure out the problem and wanted to send me a new harddrive...but I went back to exchange. (on their first try). I picked-up another new unit two days later and it had the same problem..contacted HP again....this time I got an American Tech and he helped me solve the problem.....I had installed my HP DVD Burner/Player and for some reason it caused my new computer to take 10 minutes to restart.....by eliminating different programs we finally figured out it was the external DVD unit (from HP)....now it takes less than 30 seconds to load and is super fast. I haven't used my external DVD Player yet and am a little concerned what may happen if I plug it in....otherwise a great computer (my 5th HP/Compaq) over the last 15 years.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Great desktop with whatever your needs

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: chasos
from upstate NY
on 10/05/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease to set up for great price
What's not so great: no complaints
This is a great desktop with all the upgrades, speed, and ease of use one could ask for
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Best computer I've ever owned

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Billp4243
from Chicago Area
on 09/29/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Very quiet, all components work perfectly. Conveniently placed and plentiful USB ports.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Good and bad

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tshirtprinter
from south Little Rock
on 09/28/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: cost, speed, Built in wireless, amount of ram, and storage space.
What's not so great: ot a lot of expansion room, can only add one more hard drive, cant add a second DVD drive.
I purchased this item but after countless crashes and reboots I returned it. The folks at best buy replaced it no questions asked other than whats it doing or not doing. Best buy I extremely responsive to my and other customers issues as always, thanks guys and girls. The replacement works like a dream so far. Have almost reloaded everything with no issues and this one is acting much better than the first one.
Pros: cost, speed, Built in wireless, amount of ram, and storage space.
Cons: not a lot of expansion room, can only add one more hard drive, cant add a second DVD drive.
This product is... Perfect for Business, bang for your buck
About me... Budget Conscious, Total I.T Geek, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Great Computer for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mitty06
from Mass
on 09/24/2011
What's great about it: plug in features on top of computer
This computer is very easy to set up and use, the plug in features on top of computer make it easy to hook up headphones, pc camera etc., great deal for the money
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Features That Rival A MAC Pro OS X

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ScruffyInSFV
from Los Angeles, CA
on 09/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The price, the power, the features, the speed.
What's not so great: Lousy sound, sound options.
My prior home-use machine was a system that I built myself in 2005, running Windows XP. Needless to say, it was a dinosaur, albeit stable and reliable. However, as a producer of a national magazine, my job demanded that I work on a MAC Pro OS X, so that I did at the office. When it came time to finally put my home computer to rest, I shopped around extensively, read all reviews -- professional and consumer -- and compared stock features vs. value/price. While comparing a PC to a MAC is like comparing oranges to, ahem, apples (pardon the pun), I was surprised to find features in the HP Pavilion Elite h8-1010 that, if custom-built into a MAC, would've cost around $3500. Out the door, this HP -- which I bought bundled with a monitor and printer -- cost $1100.
The 1T raid drive is quick and has plenty of space for storage and any project that requires lots of room to work efficiently (Photoshop, CS5 programs, DVD and music recording/editing software). The 8G memory, along with the quad-core Intel i5 Processor, ensure multitasking capabilities can be achieved and that programs load, work, and save swiftly, and access external drives without any lag time. The graphics card displays stunningly realistic colors and images with smooth transition and virtually no "ghosting" or streaking (I recommend using a good HD monitor). The built-in sound is a step up from yesteryear's cards, but there is still not enough control over it for the audiophile. The 8 USB 2.0 ports allow for many peripherals and easy plug-and-play access. The DVD R/RW, CD R/RW is across-the-board standard these days and I thank them for including it here. Very handy are the 4 memory card readers included in the front panel that read just about any card operating in any camera/DVR/device imaginable. The machine as a whole is quiet... so quiet...
My two favorite features are: 1- The HDMI jack. Once you go HD, you'll never go back! There are also DVI and VGA jacks (a VGA adapter is included). 2- Expansion bays -- three card slots in the back and one in the front (perhaps for a Blu-Ray drive). Lots of room to grow as technology grows.
Surprisingly, Windows 7 acts very similar to Apple's OS X... it's like they finally got it right! The 64-bit system efficiently includes the details. It boots up, runs all day and powers down super fast, without any hang time.
At home, I work with a lot of obsolete formats -- VHS tapes and especially vinyl records, ripping them with a USB turntable and digitizing them for a new age. This requires a lot of space (WAV and FLAC files are enormous) and a processor that can handle it without running over 50% and causing data loss. The HP Pavilion Elite h8-1010 does the job without any hassle. My only complaint is the built-in sound. Audiophiles like myself with want great sound to match the greatness of the rest of the system. And control of the sound beyond the stock Windows "environments." *HP: The sound still isn't there.*
I am not a gamer, per se, though I do occasionally play some graphically-intensive games. I am, however, very aware of a high-quality image with smooth transition as compared to a second rate one with janky playback. So far, I have been very pleased and downright amazed.
To sum it up, this is the system for you if you are looking for the power to handle graphically-challenging or detail-oriented projects on the fly at an affordable price. Be prepared to add a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker system, and eventually a state-of-the-art sound card to match the HD images that this is capable of.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, forward-thinking
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Just what I wanted

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: whatadissapointment
from duarte,ca
on 09/22/2011
What's great about it: No lag when playing games....
What's not so great: Plastic
Wanted a computer with plenty of memory. Great for gamers. Very fast machine.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, excellent graphics
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

I love it so far! Fast, and easy to use.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: msjrojas
from Tampa, FL
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, and turns on fast.
What's not so great: Nothing negative to say.
I am a Dell fan, and I think my HP is just as good as a Dell. I don't notice any difference.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

great middle range computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: allyourbasearebelongtous
from Dallas
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast, 1tb of hdd
What's not so great: only one psi-e 16 slot
If you upgrade the psu and graphics card it can be a pretty good unit.
This product is... Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Total I.T Geek, Student, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Great Computer but poor service

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dovie328
from Tuscaloosa, AL
on 09/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super fast
What's not so great: nothing
This is a fantastic computer, well worth the price. However, I did not enjoy my buying experience at Best Buy as customers were instructed to sit in a waiting area until their name was called to speak to a salesperson. Even though I knew exactly the computer I planned to purchase, I was not allowed to simply pick it up from the shelves and walk to the check out., but was forced to wait for over half an hour just to have a salesperson pick it up for me and take it to the cashier. In frustration, many people in the "holding area" walked out before their name was called, causing Best Buy to lose many sales that day. This will definitely affect my future purchase decisions at Best Buy.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

In serive for only one month

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gagen
from Eagan MN
on 09/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Don't know yet
What's not so great: Not happy with the micrsoft program. They took out the calendar out of it.
It appears to be running great. I have had it for only one month.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Overall it's just what I wanted..

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Theo2
from Redlands, CA.
on 08/31/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Upgradeable, easy USB access and alot more...
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet!
The service rep (Andrew) was the real selling point for my purchase of this computer. He was very knowledgeable in all aspects of computers. He didn't try to snow me by talking over myhead and was able to explain several plus points of the machine I purchased. The computer is superfast, 8GB Ram, dedicated 512MB video Card, not shared, the disk drive does it all, dvds light scribe and also reads and writes dual layered disks 8.5 GBs. 1TB hard drive. Upgradeable when the time comes.....
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Robust features and room for the future

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: winstonsbestbuying
on 08/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: speed, storage and memory
What's not so great: The case is a little large and it could use a few more accessible ports on the front panel for external devices.
Though I am not a 'gamer', I do run a lot of engineering, business and multimedia applications that tax the limits of a PC's capability.
The HP Pavilion Elite Desktop with the Intel® Core™ i5 Processor has met and exceeded my expectations for performance as well as having plenty of processor capability, storage and memory available to handle the known growth of my applications.
Oh, and this PC also does a great job of facilitating Windows 7.
The only 'cons' are that the case is a little large (but I'd rather have that than overheating) and it could use a few more 'accessible' ports on the front panel for external devices.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Total I.T Geek, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion Elite Desktop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 8GB Memory

Solid, fast, reliable machine!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Luigiz28
from Sacramento, CA
on 08/27/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything! Fast and quiet! Reliable!
What's not so great: Nothing but the fact I brag about it to my buddies:)
I've owned this unit for about a month now and I have nothing but positives to say about this machine. First off, this pc looks sleek and sexy, very sharp looking unit. I currently own a Hp laptop and a gateway laptop so this was my first desktop ever. This pc hands down makes my laptops seem outdated and slow and they're both only a few years old! Windows 7 is definitely an upgrade from Windows vista, faster and the overall fluidity of how the operating system runs is amazing.
PERFORMANCE: As for performance, this thing is very fast and opens and handles all my programs effortlessly. The intel i5-2390t processor combined with 8 gigs of ram handles multitasking very well and I haven't experienced any slow down with multiple programs opened. I even notice my internet streaming is much faster than ever, and this is using the wireless connection! The system boots up fast and once you're logged into your windows profile, it's smooth sailing from there. Now I do want to point out that the I5-2390t is NOT a true quad core processor (look it up), its simply a dual core that has hyper threading which makes it seem like a quad core. This is not a deal breaker and by no means am I putting this unit down especially since the processor runs at 2.7ghz and has turbo boost which kicks up the processing to 3.5ghz. Very fast!
RELIABILITY AND UNIT BUILD: I was initially going to purchase a Dell desktop with similar specs but when I tested it out I wasn't truly sold on the quality of the build. The tower seemed cheaply made and was also noticeably noisier than the Hp. The Hp not only looked sturdier, it was! I took it out of the packaging when I got home and it felt like a solid $ 800-1000 machine. Before purchasing a desktop, I was a little skeptical on how quiet it would be compared to a laptop BUT it's actually quieter! No lies! Like another reviewer said, I sometimes don't even realize it's on:)
OVERALL: I am very pleased and happy with the HP h8-1010. It's fast, quiet, has plenty of usb ports for additional hardware/accessories, looks sharp and gives me the peace of mind knowing that it won't die on me anytime soon:) :) Highly recommend!
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, looks sleek and sexy, great for school work with multitasking, good solid build
About me... Work from Home business user, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>