Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Model: WN3000RP
SKU: 2733324
UPC: 606449076936
Extend your Wi-Fi coverage with this extender that is compatible with most wireless (802.11b/g/n) routers and features Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) for plug-and-play installation.View a product demo.
Average Customer Rating:
4.248 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1065 Reviews) 1065
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,065 reviews
5 stars
598
4 stars
305
3 stars
64
2 stars
24
1 star
74
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
933 out of 1,065
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port
Review 1 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port
  • Featured

Easier than I thought

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Garnisher
from Flemington
on 10/13/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Installed hidden under granite counter and works great for area.
Works great. Electric plug in near the wireless router and pushed the buttons in the instructions on the router and device and it installed itself. It automatically picked up my long phrase password on the router. Then I unplugged it and moved it where I had the weak signal and it worked. Easy. Now, you DO need to go to your all computers, iPads, and/or smart-phones you own and SEARCH for the new wireless router network which this is. It will mirror your existing one with the letters "-EXT" at the end. I have a Droid, iPad, Iphone, a laptop and Macbook, and they all had to be manually configured to find and setup the new wireless network but is the same as you would any place wireless is offered, find it and connect with your router's password (dig it up since you last set it up). Lastly, When you move from one side of the house to the other, you need to switch the wireless router on them to get the stronger of the two signals.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Internet phone user, electronics curious not guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
+197points
224out of 251found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Good wifi extender

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Becky
from Stella, NC
on 07/26/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install
Works great at exdending wifi signal in 2 story home. Was not able to pickup NETFLIX without it.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Internet phone user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0559813090
My Best Buy number: 0559813090
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Works, but a beast to install

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rukbat
from Amelia Island FL
on 07/26/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It does what it's supposed to do
What's not so great: Installation difficulty
The Netgear WiFi range extenders are not compatible with AT&T router/modems that use WEP security protocol. You don't know this until you open the box and read the installation instructions. So installation is not by push of a couple of buttons. Netgear has a Genie installation program which, after I downloaded, could not identify the WiFi extender. (also couldn't register product because Netgear registration site couldn't recognize the serial number) After more than an hour dealing with it and reading FAQs, I called and went to Chat at same time. It took 8 minutes to connect with someone on Chat (phone call still on hold). After 40 minutes back and forth with Chat tech he asked if I had an iPad, which I did. Was then able to use iPad Network setting to establish link between router and extender. Everything copacetic now, but total time to install Extender was 2 hours, 30 minutes.
This product has... Difficult setup
About me... not a guru but knowledgeable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

For faster service

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bonnee
from Califorina
on 07/25/2014
What's great about it: Faster wifi
What's not so great: Nothing
Helps boost the router connection we bought at Best Buy. Have no complaints about this product. It solved our problem. Now we have faster wifi. Easy connection.
This product has... Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2504687862
My Best Buy number: 2504687862
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Does the job.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: funtime
from Fort Wayne
on 07/25/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install.
What's not so great: Limited increase in range.
Serves our purpose of extending range well. You can use any outlet . It does not need much space. Looks fairly good.
This product has... Reliable connection
About me... Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0214975682
My Best Buy number: 0214975682
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Good value for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jedi
from ct
on 07/25/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good value,easy to install, works well
What's not so great: Range
Product is good value for the price, works well and installs easilty. Range is acceptable for medium sized areas.
This product has... Fast connection, Short range, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2520736582
My Best Buy number: 2520736582
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Perfect

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Steve
on 07/25/2014
Just what I needed. Was loosing signal in upstairs far bedroom (router on first floor opposite side of house) and was able to get full signal. Easy to setup and just plug in. You do get an ext wifi connection but all you do is recognize it on your device and boom good to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2129970776
My Best Buy number: 2129970776
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Great product for large homes.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JJJ36
from McAllen,Texas
on 07/25/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact and powerful
The NetGear extender was easy to install and works excellent.
This product has... Fast connection
About me... Internet phone user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2528464975
My Best Buy number: 2528464975
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Up and running in 15 min

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: party
from Hanover, PA
on 07/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of use
What's not so great: where to plug in and stay there
This product work as advertised, and easy to install.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0056536850
My Best Buy number: 0056536850
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jonjon
on 07/11/2014
This is awesome, it worked as i expected it, highly recommended !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2696965250
My Best Buy number: 2696965250
Mobile Submission: True
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Ok wifi extender

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Mathu
from Los Angeles
on 07/08/2014
This wifi extender was ok for extending your home network. Works decently with mobile devices. Not so great with heavy streaming though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0101657424
My Best Buy number: 0101657424
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Great signal booster

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bbernell
from Arlington, Texas
on 07/06/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and great signal
What's not so great: Nothing
It works great in our home since we have a radiant barrier roof which impairs our internet signal. Have it in the middle of house and able to use internet on opposite end of house away from the main gateway box and get great signal for phones and iPads.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Internet phone user, always on my ipad
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2220380252
My Best Buy number: 2220380252
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Hard To Install

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bonnie5890
from Menomonee Falls, WI
on 07/05/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Extends range as desired
What's not so great: Setting it up
After reading the directions, the unit failed to sync with my modem. I have a very techie neighbor who had a lot of difficulty getting it to work. I believe my modem was partially at fault, but after going online he was able to get it up and running. Definitely not "plug-in and go"! I would hesitate to recommend this because of the difficulty I had. But once it's operational, it does work great.
This product has... Difficult setup
About me... Internet phone user, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2277342326
My Best Buy number: 2277342326
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

This was a great way to extend the range of WiFi

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Phil
from Wells, Maine
on 07/05/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Solid performance
What's not so great: Was not so easy to set up
Once I was able to set up the device, it ran well even through a power outage (after the power recovered).
This product has... Reliable connection
About me... Internet phone user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2015635109
My Best Buy number: 2015635109
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Solved my problem instantly

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jdn531
from Houston, TX
on 07/04/2014
Extremely easy to set up, worked perfectly to extend the wi-fi coverage I the front I our house (daughters be room), and very easy to switch back and forth between the extender and my main router when I work in the front yard then come back into the back of the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1014966542
My Best Buy number: 1014966542
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Great wifi extender

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: canesfan01
on 07/04/2014
Works great in my home. It allow me you wifi thru out my home now
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2205762554
My Best Buy number: 2205762554
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Solved the problem with wifi

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: quark21
from Gulfport, MS
on 06/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works as advertised
Had a problem getting wifi in certain areas of the house and decided to give this a try. No more problems with wifi.
This product has... Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Video chatter
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0744393499
My Best Buy number: 0744393499
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

does a good job for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: washougalkc
from washougal, WA
on 06/27/2014
What's great about it: It allows additional wifi calling range
What's not so great: does not work well through walls/doors
We bought this to give us more wifi range for our TMobile cell phones. We get lousy cell service in our area and depend on the wifi for calling. This has allowed the range to extend in the latter part of the house and onto the patio area. Would recommend for the price, but don't expect the range to be as stated unless there are no walls or door blocking it. The set up is tricking. The netgear webside was very helpful.
This product has... Fast connection, Short range, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Internet phone user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0318180500
My Best Buy number: 0318180500
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

Good Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Walk01talk
from Mansfield, Texas
on 06/27/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
The product was easy to set up and worked perfectly to extend my wifi signal to my back yard covered patio.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2352573690
My Best Buy number: 2352573690
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port

FASTER THAN IN MY HOME!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mrtownhome
from Hampton, VA
on 06/27/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast set up and small form factor
What's not so great: The Cost. I mean, we're talking about $5 bucks worth of technology!
Placed unit in my detached garage in music studio... had weak signal but now I have 5 bars and blazing speed!
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 2529035150
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 54 next>>