Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Model: WN3000RP
SKU: 2733324
UPC: 606449076936
NETGEAR Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender: Broaden your network connection with a range extender that gives you extra Wi-Fi coverage in your home. Smart LED indicators will direct you to the optimal location to plug the extender into the wall, so you can easily enjoy improved range and speed on your mobile and wired devices. Save on data usage by connecting your smartphone or tablet to your home network.
Average Customer Rating:
4.248 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1921 Reviews) 1921
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,921 reviews
5 stars
1,058
4 stars
554
3 stars
141
2 stars
64
1 star
104
87% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,679 out of 1,921
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 130 Answers
Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White
Review 1 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White
  • Featured

Easier than I thought

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Garnisher
from Flemington
on 10/13/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Installed hidden under granite counter and works great for area.
Works great. Electric plug in near the wireless router and pushed the buttons in the instructions on the router and device and it installed itself. It automatically picked up my long phrase password on the router. Then I unplugged it and moved it where I had the weak signal and it worked. Easy. Now, you DO need to go to your all computers, iPads, and/or smart-phones you own and SEARCH for the new wireless router network which this is. It will mirror your existing one with the letters "-EXT" at the end. I have a Droid, iPad, Iphone, a laptop and Macbook, and they all had to be manually configured to find and setup the new wireless network but is the same as you would any place wireless is offered, find it and connect with your router's password (dig it up since you last set it up). Lastly, When you move from one side of the house to the other, you need to switch the wireless router on them to get the stronger of the two signals.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Internet phone user, electronics curious not guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
+314points
356out of 398found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Great for me.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RonL2
from Bradenton, FL
on 08/26/2015
This extender did the trick for me. Took away the dead spots. I already had a NetGear wireless router. Made the connection easy. I do not know about other routers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2500880632
My Best Buy number: 2500880632
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Easy Install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JenB
on 08/25/2015
Our house is pretty small but our bedroom is on the other side of the house of the router which is in the living room. Everyone seems to get signal but me. I bought this last night and installed it myself. It worked perfectly! It's only been a day so I hope it lasts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2926610943
My Best Buy number: 2926610943
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Doesn't work on networks with MAC ID filtering

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Wolf
on 08/24/2015
When the existing network uses MAC ID filtering, the WN3000RP range extender refuses to connect to it. The client MAC ID the range extender presents to the existing network is NOT what is printed on the package or the unit (that MAC ID evidently applies to the wired port and possibly the network that the range extender creates). The client MAC ID can be determined by temporarily turning off MAC ID filtering on the existing network's router and then looking at the router's network client list. However, even when this MAC ID is entered into the router's "allowed" list, the range extender will not connect after MAC ID filtering is turned back on, as tested using two different wireless routers. Interestingly, when the router's MAC ID filtering is temporarily set to deny (rather than allow) the MAC IDs on the list, the range extender will appear to connect even though it then shouldn't (Router Link LED comes on, status on range extender shows as connected), although no connection through the range extender and the router to the internet is seen by the range extender's clients. There does not appear to be a firmware update that fixes this, and doing without the security benefit of MAC ID filtering is not an acceptable option for me, so I will need to return this unit. It would probably work quite well, though, on a network without MAC ID filtering.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2964185977
My Best Buy number: 2964185977
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Works great for me

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dmort55
on 08/23/2015
My wifi signal was always weak or dropping on all devices that were not in the room with the router. This was easy to install and really boosts the signal in all rooms. Glad I bought this. Worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0101941813
My Best Buy number: 0101941813
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

bigger wifi range

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 08/23/2015
It works. Placed on outer edge of main wireless router to give me added range. Just followed directions for set-up and it was up and running.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2954191261
My Best Buy number: 2954191261
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Good product for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Dkt69
on 08/23/2015
Successfully extends range across a 4k sqft ranch house
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3312080098
My Best Buy number: 3312080098
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Good extender

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PDXFAN
on 08/22/2015
This extender works pretty well. I used it to cover my 2nd floor and it gives range throughout my home now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1028010286
My Best Buy number: 1028010286
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Best thing ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hiiiiiiiiiii
on 08/22/2015
It's cool it works that's all I'm trying to fill up space and there we go
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2942678095
My Best Buy number: 2942678095
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Easy to install and does the job

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SnowBird61
from Ft Myers, Fl
on 08/22/2015
I was looking for a modem booster as the wireless signal was not reaching the opposite end of the house consistently. The store salesman was extremely helpful in suggesting to purchase the least expensive wifi extender first to see if it worked for me. Easy install and worked exactly the way I needed it to. Small and unobtrusive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2503004608
My Best Buy number: 2503004608
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

easy to install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: littlebb
from kerrville tx
on 08/21/2015
works great and was easy to install, we live in the country so we needed a boost for our router
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2651751829
My Best Buy number: 2651751829
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Xty65
on 08/21/2015
Simple, clear, instructions. We just needed a little more range, and this has totally done the job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3775566580
My Best Buy number: 3775566580
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

extend the range of my wi-fi

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: harborman
on 08/21/2015
also got a new modem/router from ATT and they recommended I combine it with netgear range extender. Seems to work better then before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3481403025
My Best Buy number: 3481403025
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

EXCELLENT WI-FI BOOOSTER

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DrBrian
on 08/21/2015
I am very pleasantly surprised with this product. I didn't know what to expect based on the low price. Well worth it. A little tricky to set up, (I'm not a techie). Works like a charm. Buy it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2085984947
My Best Buy number: 2085984947
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Wish I had bought this sooner!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Joes
on 08/21/2015
Wow! What a difference this made! Put this halfway of the house and now no more "buffering" on the TV when watching Netflix!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2353531477
My Best Buy number: 2353531477
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

works great outdoors

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: pinky
on 08/20/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Set this up so I can use tablet and phone while sitting on my deck
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0326951826
My Best Buy number: 0326951826
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Great Wifi Extender

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Juan
on 08/20/2015
It did its job now everything works great, I would recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2948635054
My Best Buy number: 2948635054
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

it works

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: roushfan
on 08/19/2015
I bought this based on price and other reviews. It did as advertised and seems to do the job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2355232792
My Best Buy number: 2355232792
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Great wi-fi extender

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Buster
from South Carolina
on 08/19/2015
Live in a home where my router was over 60 feet away through 4 walls. Put this a little closer than halfway and now the signal is as strong as if I were hard-wired into the router!!! One of the easiest installs of technology I've ever done!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2140535039
My Best Buy number: 2140535039
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NETGEAR - Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender with Ethernet port - White

Good product for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Deelo
on 08/19/2015
This product worked exactly like I hoped it would. Easy setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1018842668
My Best Buy number: 1018842668
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 97 next>>