Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Model: LT2802U
SKU: 2738738
UPC: 099802970796
This netbook features a built-in 0.3MP webcam so you can video chat with friends and family and weighs only 2.7 lbs. for easy portability. The Windows 7 Starter operating system provides a stable computing platform.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 117 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
18
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
90 out of 117
)
Customer Reviews for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
Review 1 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Worked for a few days then the blue screen appeare

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: WhatIDoIzShop
from Baton Rouge, La
on 02/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
I think the computer was an excellent value but it didn't last me long at all. I did purchase the last display model but I would think it should last for over a week. The blue screen of death appeared so I promptly returned it for a refund to best buy.
This product is... A nice compact size
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

OK computer

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jaydawg1
from Genoa,IL
on 01/27/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: led
What's not so great: keyboard is not a full-size one
Used it for 2 weeks then returned it needed something faster.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Student
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Good starter computer for kids.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LadyAuthor47
from Texas
on 01/23/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
This netbook is a good starter computer for elementary school kids. It gives them the experience of computing, being on the internet along with video chat without having to insert a DVD to operate.
Drawback is, if you want to install a program that is on a dvd such as an anti-virus software, there is no dvd driver available.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Parent with kids, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

ok starter lap top

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: wood9086
from salt lake city
on 01/22/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's not so great: just dont like things like having to buy a external disc drive in ordrfor her to load software.
this i my kids first lap top. i am not really all that impressed with it. but its doing its job and she is learning. i wouldnt buy another one though
About me... Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Excellent buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LarryMS
on 01/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price
I needed a small, convenient computer for pleasure and business needs, while away on extended 30 day (cruise) vacation. This appears to be an optimum choice, at a very affordable price.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

great product for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Middletown, New York
on 01/17/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: small, light weight, easy to use
What's not so great: so far everything is great
I think this is a great computer. price is awesome, comes with a webcam and windows 7. light weight great for travel
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great Little Machine

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lefjack
from Midwest
on 01/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy portability
Found this netbook to be very handy and easy to use. Able to carry it, just about anywhere. Has good battery life.
With an external CD drive was able to load programs I use and work on papers, etc. when on the go.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great Netbook!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: nesnes11
from fontana, Ca
on 01/12/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy and Light to take around.
What's not so great: Gateway does not give drivers to install upgrades
I really liked this Netbook it was cute and small and did not look cheap like some others. But the only thing I did not like was the Windows Starter Edition which is in most Netbooks. This is my second Netbook and the first one I was able to install Windows 7 so that way I was able to personalize my computer more but with Gateway they do not recommend upgrading the system nor will they give you the correct drivers to re install Windows 7 not Starter edition. So that was a fault on Gateway. Other then that it was a Excellent Netbook, but not for me because I like to personalize my computer as much as possible such as the desktop in which with Windows Starter Edition you can not.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Acer - 11.6" Aspire One Netbook - 4 GB Memory - 500 GB Hard Drive - Diamond Black
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great little computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Daniell
from Creston, IA
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I bought this for my 12 year old son and he is able to play games, do research for school easily with this product!
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great computer for people on the go

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: moecar
from Dade City, Florida
on 01/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast and easy to take along
What's not so great: Nothing so far
This netbook is wonderful. The battery life is very long and it performs just as fast as if it were plugged in. So light, it will fit in some purses.
Since there is no cd drive, my wireless printer used the internet to obtain the drivers for it. It works perfect.
It was great to use while waiting for my car to be serviced, or waiting for the doctor appointment.
The keys are large and easy to type on. Has many functions on keyboard also. Windows 7 was a little hard to figure out, but now it is very user friendly.
I would recommend this netbook for anyone age 12 to 90!
Price is right and very affordable.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Just like everyone else...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: yunghova
from washington d.c.
on 01/05/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price...
What's not so great: touchpad died
the touch-pad died, I had mine 2 weeks. Now I have 3 netbook at home this one has the faster processor and my old ones still outperforms it, I guess this is why we dont see gateway around too much...
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Do not use Norton!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: twovolt
from Boone, Iowa
on 01/02/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: size and portability
What's not so great: do not use Norton with this product!
I have only had this item for a short time but seemed to be working ok until the free Norton protection expired and I was asked to renew. I have purchased it mainly to use when I am away from home to mostly check email. I had read a couple of reviews about Norton causing problems with this netbook but decided to go ahead and try installing it anyway. Lo and behold, after installing it and restartig the netbook I could not get an internet connection. I am using a Verizon Hotspot for my wireless connection and was working fine before. So, I decided to uninstall the Norton like one reviewer tried and guess what, I can now get online. I would suggest to anyone wanting to purchase this netbook to not install the Norton antivirus program. Ihave not tried any other anti virus program at this time.
This product is... a nice computer to use for on the go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Network adapter died - TWICE

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Wizard138
from Ithaca, NY, USA
on 12/31/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: "Cute for 1-2 days"
What's not so great: NETbook without NET = ?????
Bought it as gift for my wife, who has no laptop but would like to stay connected during travel. Got 2 yr BB Service Plan. First one went through setup, made backup flash drive and system DVDs as spec by Gateway Recovery instructions. Comp found home wireless network and connected after entry of WEP key. I said NO to Norton, as I had Webroot ready. Suddenly it says "No network adapter installed, maybe reinstall driver". Tried that. Would not network, wired or wireless. NO network adapter appears in Device Manger, not even with a yellow exclamation triangle indicating driver problem. HOW does hardware just "disappear" ? Returned first comp, got another. Verified that Network Adapter appeared in Dev Mgr. Then: repeat above sad story, exactly. Other reviewers have noted the apparent Norton-related behavior.
It is a nice size and we liked the screen. Was fast enough for web browsing. Never got far enough to set up eMail. Got full refund on comp and svc plan. Disappointed by Gateway, doing OK with Best Buy. Probably will look for a Toshiba, Dell or ASUS on sale after holidays. Usually I get along with computers. My 12 yr old Gateway desktop in bsmt still works OK as a backup/ print server, but GW quality is history now.
*** This was a total NON-STARTER. ***
This product is... A nice compact size, a waste of setup time
About me... Technology guru, experienced: 50 yr elec 45 yr comp
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Returning this Netbook

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Peteeey
from Colorado
on 12/27/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Size
What's not so great: Inconsistent, slow, unreliable
Got this on black Friday for my fiancee for school. We are returning it due to it shutting down random, loosing wireless connection often, it's SLOW, and it can't handle three programs running without bogging down. Very unhappy! It has a better set up hardware wise than my 6 year old laptop, but after 6 years I would still use the same laptop over this Netbook.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

My daughter was disappointed

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: singh2
from brooklyn, ny
on 12/27/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: light weight, perfect for a child first computer
What's not so great: wifi easily not working
this was a christmas gift for my 6 year old daughter...i read the review before buying it...most of the review was base on the speed of the net book. that was not our problem. from the 1st day she turn on the net book the wifi was not working. when we return it back to Best buy. Best buy did not have any more in stock. so long story short my daughter was left with no christmas gift.:(.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
4out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

I LOVE this netbook!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CA1024
from Chicago, IL
on 12/26/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The weight, convenience, picture
What's not so great: The speed
I paid $148 for this netbook during Black Friday. I use the netbook for the internet, watching movies when traveling and for class. The internet was faster than what I thought but I do have 22MG with Comcast. I bought an external dvd-rom to download some apps. I downloaded VLC media in order to watch my dvd movies. This netbook has a great pic also! I would recommend this product.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Student, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Not worth it..

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: trinidiva6
from Miami, Fl
on 12/26/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Good Price
What's not so great: Locks up alot
Brought this netbook for my 6 year old daughter. After registering the product the screen went blank. Called Gateway to find out what caused the screen to go blank. Tech support gave me some instructions to follow and the computer worked for 5 mins.. The computer started locking up again and did not wanted to reboot. This is the worst computer/netbook I have ever purchase totally a waste of money..
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SEB9
from NC
on 12/26/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Get it on sale!
What's not so great: For a full price...just OK
Got it for $150 on BlackFriday, best deal EVER. A little slow, low resolution video, tiny speakers, but for the price is GREAT. Nice looking design. Good for kids or basic use.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Defective right out of the box

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: roygpa
from Pittsburgh
on 12/25/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: size, weight
What's not so great: defective keyboard
My wife bought me this netbook for a Christmas present and within 2 minutes of starting it up I found the keyboard to be defective. The "F" key only works when it feels like it and I have two f's in my name! Back it goes to the store and do they have them in stock anywhere? No.
Merry Christmas Best Buy and Gateway. I should have asked for a Dell!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Not the Greatest Deal

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: dilansmom
from Bee Caves, TX
on 12/22/2011
What's not so great: It's slow
I bought my Gateway on Black Friday because BB offered a great deal on it. I wasn't even looking to buy one but couldn't pass it up. Two weeks into usage the touch pad locked up A LOT. Shortly after I got the Blue screen of death. I took it in to the Geek Squad, they reset it, "repaired" it. Brought it back home, two days later, Blue screen again, screen locked, etc. I took it back to BBuy to exchange, figured I just had a lemon. Best Buy said "We only had the Gateways on inventory for Black Friday, we normally don't care them." After searching for an alternate when the sales rep actually found one left in the back. hmm. They transferred the Norton from the old one to this new one. I hope it works. Strange thing is, the first one came with a protective sleeve for storage and the second one didn't. They apparently sent the first defective out before we could retrieve it. I'm hoping this one works.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size, convenient size for travel
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Parent with kids, retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Apple® 15.4" MacBook® Pro - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive
4.8 out of 5(78)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>