Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Model: LT2802U
SKU: 2738738
UPC: 099802970796
This netbook features a built-in 0.3MP webcam so you can video chat with friends and family and weighs only 2.7 lbs. for easy portability. The Windows 7 Starter operating system provides a stable computing platform.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 117 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
18
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
90 out of 117
)
Customer Reviews for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
Review 21 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bsebs5
on 12/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: I have yet to find anything..
I picked up this netbook as a device which i can transport easily. Being only about two and a half pounds its perfect for that. Although its performance is greater than what i expected. Surfing the internet is very quick and efficient. It shows a great display as well. There is no problem when it comes to streaming. I have had no problems so far and this has been a great product to me.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Total Lemon And Gateway Customer Service Blows

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: RosalieD
on 12/09/2011
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Hardware keeps malfunctioning, Manufacturer won't replace
I've had this computer for six months and it's had to be sent in for repairs twice. The first was for malfunctioning hardware AND software (which they had to replace), and the second for a malfunctioning touchpad. They won't replace the computer. Heck, they won't even pay the postage for repairs. This relatively inexpensive netbook has ended up costing me way more in lost time and shipping costs. For anyone thinking of getting this netbook, I say run far, far away. Get an HP netbook instead. At least their customer service is halfway decent.
About me... Parent with kids, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great value for money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: businesstraveler009
from 20191
on 12/05/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I've got this netbook for my 12yo daughter, perfectly fits her needs
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Average computer, good price, but minor issues

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: noda21k
from Albany, NY
on 12/02/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: runs fast, good price, great once it functions
What's not so great: Norton is terrible and killed the computer
I bought this netbook for my father for Christmas. I wanted to make sure everything ran correctly for him so I took it out and set it all up. After starting it up and setting it up, it asked me to run the Norton trial edition. I know that Norton is not the best product, so I opted out and went on to install my own other software.
Big mistake!
I went to restart the computer and it refused to load. BLACK SCREEN OF DEATH. I thought it was something I installed. I ended up erasing the hard drive and returning it to factory settings (through sheer dumbluck). Tried to set it up again. No dice. Managed to set it up but then it wouldn't start again. Called for help and was told to restore it to factory settings. AGAIN!
This time, after I finished setting up the initial windows load, I uninstalled Norton. Restarted the computer. Lo and behold it works! Added another application, restarted it again and it still works.
The moral of the story is: decent computer, runs fairly fast (for now), but UNINSTALL NORTON!!!! Its not a great program and apparently opting out of the trial makes the computer not function!!
I would recommend this computer, just be sure to get rid of Norton just after initial setup.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, technologically inclined
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
19out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Very good travel alternative to larger laptop.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TimD9
from Ohio
on 11/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price when on sale, size.
What's not so great: Only 1gb RAM
I purchased this because I was tired of lugging around my 17" laptop on business/leisure trips. I wanted the full keyboard and this one works very nicely for most of my needs. I found the display and browser a bit balky compared to my larger laptop and believe its related to the 1gb vs.4gb RAM in my laptop. I upgraded to 2gb RAM and installing it was a bit tricky but found a useful video on line to assist. That really helped the speed of the display, etc. The battery life is well beyond anything I have ever had in a normal sized laptop. Its very light compared to my 17" laptop and an easy travel companion. Its also easier to use in a cramped airline seat!
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great Little Netbook!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jtrem
from Orange, CA
on 11/23/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Screen, Touchpad,battery life, and weight.
What's not so great: Keyboard and Windows 7 starter
Picked up this netbook as just a little on the go computer.
I use it for just simple things like web browsing, MS office, and email. It does all that just fine. I have no issues watching Videos online. Streams just fine.
The screen is small, but is very crisp. It's light weight and portable. I pretty much take it everywhere. The battery life is very good! Plenty of speed for normal computing tasks. It has pretty good looks.
I picked up a little External DVD/CD drive encase I needed it. Always good to have it on hand, since most netbooks don't have internal drives. Also, I upgraded it from Windows 7 starter. I would also suggest doing that as well. Win 7 starter is a little restrictive.
Only complaint about it would be the netbook keyboard is rather hard to get used to. Especially when you type on a full size keyboard most of the day.
Overall, it's a very good netbook for the price.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Burned through 2 inside of 2 weeks.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Georgetony
from NJ
on 11/20/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size and weight
What's not so great: reliability
The experience started off good - value priced netbook that is lightweight. Just under a week the internet adaptor card 'fried'. The assessment was made by Gateway technical support after 2-hours of trouble shooting over the phone. BestBuy took it back - no hassle. Purchased a second one and the same issue happened inside of 2 days. Again, 2-hours with phone support diagnosing and reformatting items with the same result - no ability to connect using WiFi. BestBuy took if back again - no hassle. If you are looking for reliability, look somewhere else!
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
5out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Broke in 2 days

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: pianomanvm
from CO
on 11/17/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: don't know, didn't get to use it much
What's not so great: died after 2 days
The touch pad stopped working after 2 days. Traded it in for a Toshiba and have had no problems since.
This product is... garbage
About me... Technology guru, musician
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
7out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Nice for what I needed>

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: karenRod
from California
on 11/11/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size, ports, pretty fast
What's not so great: Sound is kinda low but ok up close. Use earphones or speakers.
So our big laptop crashed. My hubby was thinking of getting a desktop. I wanted a tablet. . If I had gotten a tablet like Ipad or the Toshiba Thrive(which I was really holding out for) I would have to buy a seperate keyboard. Plus I wanted the ports. I happened to see this little Gateway netbook and realized it suited my needs perfectly for half the price. I pd $255 at the store in September. It also gives the household internet computer access until we decide on which desktop to get.
So:
- It is fast and is ready to go out the box-no hassle at all.
- I have a portable hard drive to move things to (like my Itunes) so
I don't use up the storage. It works great. (My storage drive is called "Clickfree" by the way.)
-I loaded Openoffice onto it instead of paying for the full blown Microsoft Suite.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great for what it is designed for

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tenbears
from OKC
on 11/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I have had this net-book for 6 months now, and it has performed as expected. I have bigger faster laptops and desktops, but wanted something bigger than my Iphone to do web surfing and small tasks.
No issues with hardware or performance. Battery last plenty long, (2 movies). I think that reading the reviews most expect desk top or higher end laptop performance out of this machine not going to happen.
I bought 3 more of these machines for my kids, they all love them. No complaints, but they uses them for web surfing and not gaming or MS Access type work
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

cheap laptop, but horrible warranty service

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: hobi
from san francisco, ca
on 11/09/2011
What's great about it: cheap
What's not so great: breaks
I got this laptop on sale, and was happy with the design. The keyboard worried me a bit, as it's a chiclet style keyboard, which seems very easy to get crumbs and dust inside of, but overall it looked nice and seemed a good value. Little did I know that the keyboard design would be the least of my problems.
A little over a month of ownership, and the screen began flickering and spewing out scrambled colors. It would periodically work if I tilted it and pressed on the rim, which lead me to believe it was a hardware issue. I called the warranty service number, and after requesting that I reboot the machine a few times, they conceded that it was a hardware issue. I had kept my semester's notes on the machine, and was worried about them erasing the hard drive, so I asked for them to not erase anything. They said they wouldn't, because it is a hardware issue, and left a note in my case-file. I also attached a note to the laptop when I sent it in.
I guess you can see where this is going.
Two weeks after sending it in, I called to enquire about the status. They said, "we replaced the wire to the LCD. And reloaded your hard drive."
Needless to say, I was a bit shocked. Two of their tech support staff said they wouldn't have done that, and formatting a hard drive certainly isn't what one would expect as part of an LCD cable replacement.
The tech support then told me, "well, it's too late now. Your files are gone. I can transfer you to level 2 tech support."
Level 2 tech support said the same thing, but offered to transfer me to customer care. Customer care said they'd call me back, but didn't.
I called back the next day, and customer care said, "well, we can give you an extra three months of warranty! That's the best I can do."
Three extra months of this wonderful service. A $25 value. Just what I wanted! So now I'm without recourse, missing photographs which I'll never see again, and a semester's worth of notes, which will surely impact my grades. I can not recommend against this product enough. I wouldn't give it to my worst enemy.
Best Buy carries a ton of other, great netbooks which I would highly recommend over this one. Asus makes quality products and has a great warranty service, as does Samsung. Look for the dual core atom processor, the N570- this one has a single-core processor (although, to gateways credit, the LT2805u is dual-core, but doesn't come with the same higher capacity battery).
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids, Student, Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Toshiba Mini Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Blue
4.2 out of 5(253)
 
 
 
Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum
3.7 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
Samsung Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black
4.1 out of 5(45)
 
 
 
 
 
-9points
9out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

SLOW

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Cwerner
from Oswego, IL
on 11/02/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: Slow
We are very disappointed in this computer. Very slow. You turn it on and have to walk away for it to start up. Once it does you select a program and again walk away and wait for it to open. I do not recommend. We wanted it for a kitchen computer to load my recipes for easy access. We are now printing the recipes because this computer takes to long to start.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
10out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

This is what a netbook should be

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheReviewer93
from North Dakota
on 10/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: compact, take anywhere without thought of breaking something expensive
What's not so great: Small issues due to cheap manufacture
First, you should know netbooks are for a specific set of buyers and obviously the cheapest computer you can get on the market is going to have some issues dealing with todays demands. This net book will be a great companion in travel, There is a dedicated button that will automatically link you to Facebook, Youtube, and Twitter. Comes with a basic Microsoft Word and Excel that I find decent and Norton Anti-Virus. You dont need Best Buy to add another $100 for them to open it up and download useless stuff.
Some bad things I wanted to mention:
Upper left and right part of space doesn't work.
Brightness controls are flip flopped
If multitasking like listening to iTunes and sufing the web, iTunes can start to skip
On occasion when closing the lid, won't go to sleep as suppossed to, or attempts to shut down, or someother weird things.
Speakers are not great but headphones are awesome.
Otherwise it is a good machine and will satisfy your mobile computing needs.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Very good and works perfectly with GNU/Linux!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GonzaloVC
from Brazil
on 10/18/2011
I am happy with my white Gateway Net-book. I have removed the original W7 system since it was limited and slow: it allowed to run only 3 programs at a time, I needed a anti-virus and firewall running at all times, and when using it with Skype, it consumed 90-100% of the processor and didn't allow me to do other (simpler) things at the same time.
Then I installed GNU/Linux and it is working perfectly. I have tried Ubuntu Net-book remix, and then a full, regular Ubuntu LTS version. I use it to prepare documents, to teach at the University, on travels, and even for fun (watch movies in different formats like rmbv, avi, mpeg, ogg, etc.). It is as fast as my desktop.
I recommend users Gateway, and recommend Gateway to sell some models with OEM Linux OS for sure!
This product is... Perfect for Business, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great Price, Great Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tspoon
from Seattle, WA
on 10/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I tend to spend way too much time shopping around, analyzing products and weighing pros and cons...When I stumbled upon this netbook at BestBuy the price was terrific and I went out on a limb and went for it. I was just hoping for a cheap, light netbook to get me through Europe. I did not want to spend a whole lot in case it was stolen/lost/damaged. Turns out I loved this! Processor speed was perfect for me - surfing the web writing papers, while storing 1500 plus pictures plus my itunes library...still plan on using the netbook over my laptop. Great price, great size, great product. I guess a downfall would be that the speakers aren't super, but that's not a big sell for me personally when shopping for a netbook
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Forget it!!! Please, Dont be Persuaded in Getting!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Waverly, NY
on 10/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: The price.
What's not so great: Slow, Weak Keys, Weak Screen, Bad Customer Service
I recently purchased this net-book from best buy. I try to give people my business, because I know how Big Box Top stores can run out every one else, and, how bad they treat customers, and, how bad they act about covering a warranty.
So I went to Best Buy.
(Mistake.)
The total purchase with the laptop, Microsoft office, and case, was 350 dollars. I was elated.
Until magically the screen was found cracked. I babied the device. Never dropped it! Left it in my room on its own empty shelf where nothing could happen to it!!!!
Alas, If you dont pay 5 million dollars for 8 different warranty's, Best Buy will treat you like the enemy, stating that the cost to fix the screen will be more than the things worth and that they will not FIX IT! Thanks Best Buy!
I also want to make a statement regarding gateway Keyboards on laptops and net books. They easily get things stuck underneath them which cause the keys to not function easily. AND, some of them even tend to break with normal easy use. I spent 800 dollars on a Gateway Laptop and have recently found out that it to, as this gateway net-book, have the worst keyboards ever. Forget it, Please dont be Persuaded in getting this net-book.
Lets not mention how slow the net-book is, and now I am stuck with a net-book that is broken and best buy gets to keep 350 dollars. Lesson learned.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, cheap and made cheap
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-22points
11out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

very nice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: frranky
from new york
on 10/12/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: small but its great
great netbook..I enjoy it ..hope they get on sale so i will get a few for my friends on xmas..they want mine so bad
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Total I.T Geek, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great netbook for a person who likes playing games

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: daltschuler
from New York,NY
on 10/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: perfect for gaming and surfing the web
What's not so great: the sound is preety go but not amazing
It is an extremly good netbook you must buy it and it is only 200 dollars. I use this for my homework and it works like awesome.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Student, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Intend for travel. Very capable. Good value.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Greg01
from Crownsville, MD
on 10/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Convenient
It is small compact and light. It has specifications that match more expensive netbooks. It appears to be very solid, but I bought a padded iPad case for it at Best Buy to protect it. My primary use is for email when I am taking personal trips and do not want to carry a larger, heavier laptop. However, I was able to buy and download MS Office 2010 Professional Plus and it runs great.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great computer for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: santic11
from Florham Park, NJ
on 10/07/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Great computer for the price. great for kids learning how to use computers.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>