Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Model: LT2802U
SKU: 2738738
UPC: 099802970796
This netbook features a built-in 0.3MP webcam so you can video chat with friends and family and weighs only 2.7 lbs. for easy portability. The Windows 7 Starter operating system provides a stable computing platform.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 117 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
18
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
90 out of 117
)
Customer Reviews for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
Review 41 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great for internet surfing and e-mail

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rine
from Binghamton NY
on 10/06/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: speed
What's not so great: sound
We have had this now for one month. Quick and perfect for my husband who only using it for surfing and e-mail. Also for me, quicker to boot up when I don't want to pull out the laptop. Great product for the money. My only concern is volume is not that loud and I had to buy external speakers.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

NETBOOK

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: heather84790
from orem, utah
on 10/06/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Cheap and functionable for school kids
What's not so great: Wallpaper, assistance from Best Buy, adding Word, difficult,
The keyboard is great fitting figures better than most laptops. The is a problem with adding WORD to the system. It was extremely difficult. The system doesn't allow for wallpaper without buying additional programs. I haven't been able to get Best Buy to add the additional warantee they don't seem to know anything to get it done. If you have childen in Jr High or High School that need a computer in class, I would recommend this computer for college -- get a laptop.
This product is... A nice compact size, jr & sr high okay, keyboard fits fingers better than other manufactur
About me... Budget Conscious, grandchildren cost
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Awesome Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BuffaloGirl55
from Buffalo,NY
on 10/05/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: nothing
Ive been wanting a laptop for the longest time because I needed something to check my email. So when I saw this netbook for $200 i knew i had to get it. And this netbook is the best investment I could have ever made. Its fast,reliable and lightweight..I love this netbook. And i can do whatever I want with it. I even watch my netflix movies on here and they run beautifully and they are so clear. This netbook is worth every penny and i recommend it to anyone looking for a computer thats light,easy to take around,good on battery life,and reliable.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jackif
from Peoria, Il
on 10/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
I bought this for trips to the hospital and traveling. It is lightweight and works great. The size was a concern as I use a 15.6" laptop at home, but I got use to it real quick and it is a readable size. For under 200 dollars, I don't think you can get a better deal on a netbook. No second thoughts on this one. Seems as though Gateway does a netbook at Best Buy every three months so don't think they stock them. Order online and then pick it up and you can be sure you get your prize.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Gamer, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great Value for the Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MSU4EVR
from Michigan
on 09/30/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Value
What's not so great: Only 1 GB memory
I just needed a simple device for e-mail and web surfing. This product fits the bill very nicely.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Not a bad Netbook. Don't upgrade memory yourself.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Jwoodwar
from Rochester, IL
on 09/29/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Small size, decent performance
What's not so great: Cheap components. Do not attempt an upgrade on your own!
First, this is a decent netbook. I was pretty happy with it until I tried to upgrade the ram. Its performance with 1gb was adequate. I was starting to have a problem watching some videos online.
I had the chance to upgrade the ram to 2gb. I read online that it was a difficult process. I am an experience computer support person. So I thought I could pull it off. Long story short. The clips and connector for the keyboard were cheap plastic. When I disconnected the keyboard, for the memory upgrade the cable connector broke. Now my new netbook is a brick. Gateway wants $99 fr a repair. I will likely write this one off.
I just wanted you to know. Don't try to upgrade this computer on your own.
Overall this is a decent little netbook. I was happy with it until I tried to upgrade it.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Nice "Value for the Price" Netbook.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cmui78
from Woodbridge, NJ
on 09/29/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The Price
This type for the small netbook are so convenient. With its light weight and about 7 to 8 hours of battery life, I can carry it to anywhere I want. This is the 2nd netbook that I got for my family. It meets all my expectations. This one is the 2nd netbook of the similar type. The 1st one was a Toshiba which I am always a little bit unluck with Toshiba laptops that it was broken after falling on ground.
Pro:
- Light weight
- Good price
- Long battery life.
Con:
- Slow processor: You got what you paid, I don't really complain on this part. Just be aware of what you should expect.
- Screen resolution is not standard resolution for some websites designed. It's not 1024x768 4:3 or 1280x768 wide screen wide screen. I think this happens to all small netbooks. Not a big deal to one as I often connects it to Monitor or TV.
- Cheap looking charger - My Toshiba netbook has a laptop looking charger. This Gateway netbook has a charge that looks like other home applicance instead of a laptop.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Total I.T Geek, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Good for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cyberDon
from Chesterfield, MI
on 09/28/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy startup, good battery life
What's not so great: speed is a little slow
I bought this as a backup for my Laptop which seems to spend more time at the manufactures or rebooting and waiting. Although this netbook ia quite a bit slower than most laptops, at least it does what I want for the price I paid. It is very convenient to carry around when showing photos of the grandkids, or when travelling.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Perfect for Use in Class

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Steve40004
from Bardstown, KY
on 09/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small and light weight.
What's not so great: Space bar gets stuck too easily.
I bought this netbook for use in my Master's classes and it is worth every penny I paid for it. The size is perfect and does not take up too much real estate on the common table used for the class. It is lightweight, and does everything I want very quickly. There are no long waits for software to load and I like that very much. It has taken getting used to using the keyboard and I do find that the space bar has a tendency to get stuck if you hit it too hard. I learned to type on a standard typewriter so my touch is not a very light touch. The webcam is very nice, although I didn't realize there was one until I thought "what does this do" and there I was on the screen. Overall it is a wonderful product and does precisely what I want it to do. Not being overloaded with a lot of media suites makes it perfect for classroom work and research.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great little netbook for the money!!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Pensfan1
from Williamsport, Pa.
on 09/22/2011
What's great about it: Speed and ease of use.
What's not so great: Small compact design.
This is the first netbook that I have ever owned. It was a little getting used to the compact keyboard layout, but for the money ($199.99) it performs just as well as the notebook laptops that I have.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great netbook for the price!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TripleC188
from Boston, MA
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lightweight; Long battery life; decent size keyboard; portable; plenty of hard drive space; and price ($199)
What's not so great: Office Starter; 1 GB Ram; no Home or End button (highly inconvenient when typing documents); Start-up and shut-down time
So I mainly bought this netbook to bring to class to take notes (I'm a grad student) instead of lugging my large laptop. Overall, it does what it is suppose to do. Runs my Microsoft Office programs and light web browsing (e-mail, google research, facebook, news blogs, etc.). I have owned this for about 1 month.
On average, I'd say I use it continuously for 2 hrs at a time, about 3 times a day, then it is just in sleep mode in between for a total 10 hr day, unless I need to use it.
Pros: Lightweight; Long battery life; decent size keyboard; portable; plenty of hard drive space; sturdy build; and price ($199)
Cons: Office Starter; 1 GB Ram; no Home or End button (highly inconvenient when typing documents); Start-up and shut-down time has ranged from 1-2 minutes; not meant for heavy activity -- e.g., multiple programs and numerous internet windows, it will slow you down; speakers are not good quality, but the sound is much better with headphones.
Even though the "con" list looks large, don't be deceived. Besides the annoyance of the missing home/end buttons, I'm happy with this netbook. It serves the purpose I need - portable, fully-featured laptop that does not break the bank or my back.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

WOW!!! What a deal!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MustangSally77
from Toledo, OH
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I bought two of these, one for my traveling husband, and one for my Son and Daughter-in-law who live out of town. The whole purpose was to be able to skype each other anytime, any place! Light, convenient, great performer for the price!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, great for skyping on the run!
About me... Budget Conscious, Work from Home business user, Total I.T Geek, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

I bought this because my old laptop bit the dust

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: chellieleanne
from Upland, CA
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great battery life for how small it is, great display and easy to use.
What's not so great: Small size is not great for certain aspects of he web or for me to use with graphic design and web coding.
It is a great netbook for the price. Decent for surfing the web, social networking, basic stuff. Camera works ok though have only used it a few times.
I do not recommend this for playing games even on social networking sites as the screen is not big enough even though you can adjust the size of the browser content not everything shrinks right so you end up with distorted games.
My husband streams movies and shows from hulu and it works well just a smaller screen than we would like.
Great for short term or someone who needs a small computer for class to take notes but overall I should have saved money and waited to get a bigger laptop for all the things I need to do.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, great battery life
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology, stay at home mom, learning web design, creating graphics
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Good for what I use it for

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TWMoore
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good value for the price. Good performance.
What's not so great: The smaller keyboard is a challenge, but I do have meaty fingers!!
I am going back to a second Masters degree. The program is totally online. So I wanted to have a Netbook that I could easily carry around and would not take up my entire backpack!! I have not regretted purchasing this.
I am able to get down everything I need to. Viewing online course information is great. Running Office and class specific applications run without any performance problems.
The screen and keyboard take a little getting used to. But I have adapted well. Although I have a bit of challenge typing with my meaty fingers. It is nice that the keyboard extends almost all the way to the side edges.
Overall it is a great machine that meets my needs.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Total I.T Geek, Student, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Fair for the money.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: twkriket
from Muskegon, MI
on 09/18/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact and protable.
What's not so great: Why wouldnt it come with a full version of Windows?
My 15 year old bought this for school and home. She bought a dvd player for it but because it was only Windows 7 Starter addition, it wouldnt play movies. Computer is a good buy but the $85 that it cost to upgrade to a full version of Windows 7 was a joke.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... Total I.T Geek, Student
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great product at a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Babybull
from Hialeah
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: sound very low, speakers very weak
gateway product have really inproved over last 2 yrs
This product is... Perfect for Business
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

No CD Drive, But Still Worth It

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dinae
from Woodside, NY
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: convenience.
What's not so great: no CD drive.
Would have been great if it had the CD Drive, but I had a $40 store credit which put the price under $200, so it was worth the buy, especially since I was going on a two week holiday and wanted to have a netbook (I have a heavier 15 inch laptop at home). And, it was worth the convenience of having the netbook to confirm our road maps. This is also my 2nd Gateway - I had an old desktop from many years ago that lasted me ten years, so I was confident about this purchase.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great for what it is

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from East Lansing, MI
on 09/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: battery life, speed
What's not so great: nothing
This little guy is a great buy for the price. It has excellent speed and is able to run multiple things at once. I was actually shocked at how well it kept up with multiple web pages and such when I had word, excel, and a game running. For $230, I can't complain about anything! I am a student and I needed something much lighter than my laptop as I carried it between school, apartment, and my internship all day. This fit the bill perfectly, and my budget.
As for the negative reviews, I think people are expecting a mini-laptop, which is not what this is. It's supposed to be primarily for simple tasks and it's great for surfing the web, word processing, simple games, etc.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Not as expected

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: LeaniR
from Miami
on 09/13/2011
What's great about it: Size, Audio
What's not so great: Performance lacks
I purchased this netbook due to the reviews. I am aware that netbooks are no where near regular laptops. I was not able to watch netflix as the video was delayed by about 10 seconds, considering I was not surfing the net at all. I also wasn't able to skype and surf the net. The video quality was not up to par. These are simple things that a netbook should be able to do. I don't like the keyboard, but that's just my personal preference. My friend has a Toshiba Netbook (2GB) and I was able to do all I stated above without any issues and I had a a better picture quality.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

high quality netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: notabletforme
from ny
on 09/12/2011
What's great about it: very accurate touchpad & buttons, keyboard, build quality, display, design
What's not so great: nothing for this price
Very high quality as netbooks go, and exceptional for the price. Very responsive touchpad, buttons, and great keyboard. Good display quality. Good battery life (about 4 hrs if you are watching video, 5 to 6 if just surfing web).
As for the 1gb of memory ... you can't run 3 different applications and expect to watch netflix, too. If you are going to watch video you need to close all other applications.
If you want it to run great, make sure you uninstall Norton. Then google "Microsoft Security Essentials" and choose the download for 32bit Windows 7. It is Microsoft's free antivirus program ... it does a good job, and doesn't slow your computer like Norton.
Next, hit start button and type "msconfig" in the search box then hit enter. Go to the "startup tab", then uncheck "Adobe Acrobat", "Launch Manager", "Power Management", and Realtek HD Audio Manager". You will have to restart your computer. This will stop unneeded applications from starting, and sucking up all your memory when you start up your computer. Whenever you install a new program, you can go to "msconfig" disable it from starting up. If you do this, you will solve the primary reason Windows computers suffer from slowing down so much ... you are freeing up memory & freeing up CPU cycles.
Last thing you should do to improve your Windows experience is QUIT USING Internet Explorer. Yes, IE 9 is a good improvement, but it doesn't perform anywhere nearly as good as Google Chrome. GET GOOGLE CHROME!!!, and your browsing life improve 10 fold. It takes a little getting used to, but after a week or two you will notice difference. Google understands the Web, and understands web browsing!
This product is... A touch pad that works great
About me... Total I.T Geek
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>