Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Model: LT2802U
SKU: 2738738
UPC: 099802970796
This netbook features a built-in 0.3MP webcam so you can video chat with friends and family and weighs only 2.7 lbs. for easy portability. The Windows 7 Starter operating system provides a stable computing platform.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 117 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
18
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
90 out of 117
)
Customer Reviews for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
Review 81 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Excellent netbook for a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: VeteranTechUser
from Reading, PA
on 08/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: compact size and battery life
What's not so great: finger print magnet
This is a great netbook. The specs are pretty much the same that you'll find on other netbooks, but it's a nice, compact, netbook. It's much thinner than my wife's HP Mini110. For $200 it's a "no brainer". I sold my Android tablet because this netbook was just as portable/convenient, but was better suited for my use of business and personal. I get over 10 hours of use with this netbook using the "balanced" power setting in windows.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Total I.T Geek, Gamer, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

power all day long

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ElmoTheThundergod
from Maine
on 08/19/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the battery
What's not so great: finger prints
This little gem has been able to handle all my needs when I am on the go and unlike my last laptop I never worry about having to find an outlet because it always has hours left to the battery even when it is more than half drained.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Total I.T Geek, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great Little Netbook for Travel

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mjnederhoed
from Afghanistan
on 08/19/2011
What's great about it: Small and light weight. Great for traveling.
I am currently deployed to Afghanistan and bought this netbook for travel purposes. It's light weight and even with the slow internet here it does very well. I have been very satisfied and was very reasonably priced.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... military
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

great price for a good entry lvl netbook

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: speedkiler
from waverly, tennessee
on 08/18/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: size, batery life
What's not so great: needs more R.A.M.
i got this for my wife so we would stop fighting over our laptop wich she complains about being to heavy, i havent used gateway products in a long time, but this one seems to hold up to the quality standard i remember them for, only complaint i have, and it may just be me, is i think it needs more memory(RAM) the simple facebook games laggs a lil too much for my taste, and web pages take to long to load, if they would put 1 extra gig of ram i think this would be an exceptional deal.
this is my first netbook though..so i have nothing to compare it to other than my gamming desktop (custom built) and high end toshiba laptop
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

great for the money!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: phillymom2011
from philly
on 08/18/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size and price
What's not so great: sound and operating system
love the netbook. does not have even decent sound like my HP. I hate the OS it uses. Something 7. Other than that it is great.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NICE6UY
from White Plains, NY
on 08/18/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small easy to carry laptop.
What's not so great: no HDMI output, Keyboard is tough to type on
I only bought a Netbook as doing work relate stuff on the go is tough with a tablet. This is easy to carry around and easy to take for travel.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Netbook Review

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: GeeksRock
from Skiatook, OK
on 08/18/2011
What's great about it: small, lightweight
What's not so great: icky touchpads!
I purchased 3. The touchpad on 2 of the 3 stopped working after a month :(
About me... Work from Home business user, Total I.T Geek
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Excellent Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jpeaetp
on 08/14/2011
This Netbook is an excellent product. Easy access to the ram enabled me to upgrade to two gigs of ram, and I also upgraded from Starter to Home Premium, enabling this machine to run at its full potential.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Excellent machine, with qualifications

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NBreviewer
from Denver area
on 08/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size, weight, performance.
What's not so great: Keyboard
Overall, this is a very fine machine, and I recommend it strongly, with one major reservation. Everything works smoothly and fast. The display is probably one of the best in the business. I recommend purchasing and installing the additional 1 GB of DRAM (which I did, without problem). My only reservation is the keyboard, which at first glance seems very user-friendly. For me it is a disaster, because, sloppy typist that I am, I keep getting multiple key hits, because the keys are set very close together. For me, small key-tops with space between them would have avoided the problem. So I frequently have to abandon my usual speed typing and hunt and peck, frequently with one hand, to minimize hitting more than one key at a time. I also found that cursor-movement keys (e.g., go to beginning of line, go to end of line) require nonstandard keystrokes -- quite a nuisance.
Overall, it's probably the best machine of its type currently on the market. The price is right, the weight and performance are right. Be sure to get an external optical disc writer/reader. I also recommend a mouse over the onboard touchpad (which I have disabled, because the heel of my left thumb kept clicking it, with very disruptive consequences!). I also purchased a wireless booster-transceiver (a Sprint OverdrivePro 145), which enables me to connect without hassle anywhere there's a 3G or 4G network. Very, very handy. And the additional 1GB of DRAM speeds up performance by greatly cutting down on I/O swapping.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, very handy and easy to carry around., not a primary device.
About me... Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Perfect for email and internet browsing.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: George7954
from Chanhassen MN
on 08/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Bought it for email and internet browsing primarily especially on the road. Easy to get a connection. Very portable with the Targus bag. Charges fast and goes in sleep/hibernate mode automatically using little power. Perfect for at home back-up. Bought a small wireless mouse to make it more efficient.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Good first purchase

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: justsweets
from Michigan
on 08/11/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, small, good price
What's not so great: slow with loading media, screen kind of grainy
This is my first netbook, and after researching various netbooks, I decided to go with this one because of the price. It's not bad, although it's slow loading video and other media, but I was told that would be the case when I purchased it. I use it primarily for checking emails and going on facebook, so I can't really complain. It's cheap and a good buy if you are possibly looking to upgrade in a year or two.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great netbook!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: greben
from Denver, PA uSA
on 08/11/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Light weight and battery life
What's not so great: Smaller keyboard
I use this for my job. It doesn't get used every day. The battery life is excellent. The display is excellent. The weight is awesome. It performs better than I expected even when multitasking. The build seems very solid. My only complaint is about the class of products and not this product specifically. And that is a smaller keyboard. Overall I think it is the best thing I purchased for work.
This product is... Perfect for Business, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Total I.T Geek, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Terrific netbook for surfing the Net

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sunbear45
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very responsive, convenient keyboard, ample display, lightweight, great price, beautiful display.
What's not so great: Gateway name tag on front of box was loose and it was easy to remove it.
This Gateway Netbook is my first netbook purchase and I find it to be ideal in so many ways. It is lightweight and easy to carry. Its portability is balanced by still having a large display (10.1 in.) which is more than enough especially for traveling. The response time is very fast. In the one month that I've owned this - it has exceeded all expectations. On top of that... you can't beat the price!
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

great netbook very happy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: veryhappy
from bronx nyc
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the price
What's not so great: sound to low
this netbook is great for the price brought it for 199.00 its very easy to use and very protable i love the fact that there is enough room for both hands to work GREAT NETBOOK
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Everything I need in a tiny package.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hotjam
from Oak Harbor, Ohio
on 08/10/2011
I purchased one for myself and my daughter who is in her second year of college. Her main laptop motherboard went out and she needed something fast. She loves the portability compared to her other one and the web cam is great. Maybe shell even skype me now. Love the large buttons, easy to type. Perfect for me too.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Kid Friendly, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mcfuzzybear
from Demotte, IN
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price, adequate speed for price, Office 2010 Starter
What's not so great: Camera doesn't work that well, Fingerprints show up easily on cover
This is my first netbook and I was worried about purchasing a lower cost one because I've prescribed to the notion that you get what you pay for. I was looking for a netbook that would work for me going back to school. That meant I needed one that was WiFi capable, I could do word processing, and could check email. This computer was able to do all that.
One really big positive that I didn't realize was coming on this computer is something called Office 2010 Starter. I was thinking that I was going to have to purchase the student edition of office 2010 but this starter version came on the computer. Basically, it is a full version of word and excel. The downside of this version is that it contains ads that are really annoying, but it came free on the computer, so I can't complain at all about that.
A side note: When Bestbuy.com says that a computer product is available, you still should call ahead. I check the Valparasio store and it said it had a computer left. I went there to get it, and it turned out that it was already "fixed" by their geek squad so I was going to be forced to either pay an extra $50 or sit there for two hours as they remove the antivirus software they put on and put the trials back onto the computer. Just a note of warning, call ahead.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

GREAT NETBOOK FOR THE PRICE!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rellaax
from San Diego, CA
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Battery Life, nice keyboard, webcam
What's not so great: Nothing worth mentioning...
I have been looking for a Netbook for a while now to take on the road with me. I have an iPad and with LogMeIn Ignition I was able to get a lot of things done connected to my desktop at home. I do have a couple apps that I needed Windows 7 to run and needed them local so when the price came down to $239 I jumped on it.
It's a Netbook so I didn't expect Notebook performance. It has been just what I needed. Fast enough to get the job done, the size is right for travel and the battery life of 8 hours has been really nice.
I did upgrage from Win 7 Starter to Home Premium. I bought the anytime upgrade on Amazon for $69 and the upgrade is painless. After the upgrade I noticed that the OS performance has improved a slight bit. I thought it would be the opposite so that was a nice surpise.
I am now running an app on my destop and iPad that turns my iPad 1 into an external monitor over wifi so thats a nice bonus to get some extra screen room when I need to mutitask.
So I have been very pleased with the Netbook from Gateway. I have a Gateway desktop at home that is on 24/7 and has been performing flawlessly for me so I am a Gateway fan all the way around.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Works Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tazindenver
from Broomfield, Colorado
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Cost, size - great to carry around town
What's not so great: Weak sound (speakers)
I have had this a few weeks now and have had no problems at all. It works great as a mobile unit and we use it through our hotspot on our iphone when out around town with no problems what so ever. Great price and a great deal. The only thing negative is the sound - the speakers do not get very loud. Otherwise its great.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... love internet on the go
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Love it.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sabrinasews
from Denver, CO
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, speed and cost
What's not so great: Sound quality, does get finger printed easily
We've had this netbook less than one week, and couldn't be happier. The keyboard is a nice size for typing, the buttons are not as small as some of the other netbooks I've seen. The screen is small, but it's a netbook! The only thing I really wish it had was louder speakers, but I guess that is what the headphone jack is for. We have had no trouble with the speed or wifi connections, everything runs really fast and we have had no trouble connecting to the wireless connection from anywhere in our home.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Work from Home business user, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Perfect for Me

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bearhunter58
from Mobile, AL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Light, Portable, Quick start-up, Battery Life
What's not so great: Upgrading Memory
I purchased this netbook a couple of weeks ago and wanted something very portable for internet, email and photo storage. The price was great and it compared well with other brands. It starts up quickly and battery life is fabulous. I decided to upgrade the memory, but it is the worst upgrade of any machine that I have done. Having to remove the keyboard (careful not to bend, made of aluminum) and removing entire back. I broke a couple of clips, but no harm. Screws hold it together. Other than that. I love it . Does what it is intended to do and quite nicely.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>