Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Model: LT2802U
SKU: 2738738
UPC: 099802970796
This netbook features a built-in 0.3MP webcam so you can video chat with friends and family and weighs only 2.7 lbs. for easy portability. The Windows 7 Starter operating system provides a stable computing platform.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 117 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
18
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
90 out of 117
)
Customer Reviews for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
Review 1 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Amazing Value & Performance for the $

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SunLuvn
from Phoenix, AZ
on 06/25/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything (really)!
What's not so great: Cover collects fingerprints
I've had my eye on netbooks for the past month, checking the reviews and stock on bestbuy.com every few days. I've compared reviews against other sites, checked out the stock at competing stores, visited Best Buy and played around with the available netbooks and can confidently say THIS Gateway Netbook is the BEST BUY!
Two days ago I saw this 'NEW!!!' beauty appear and I knew it was 'THE ONE'. It's sleek, stylish, has - in my opinion - the most comfortable and use-friendly keyboard AND touchpad mouse available on Netbooks.
MORE PROS: I was surprised how clear the screen is; the battery charged up within an hour; wireless was insanely easy to connect to; speakers provide generous sound; aside from Norton (which was easily removed) there wasn't any pre-installed junk; even with only 1GB memory (supposedly upgradeable to 2) this beauty is FAST! Of course I'm using it strictly during travel for browsing online and using LiveMail for business emails. And it comes with a nifty plug that can be rotated to 4 positions (vertical up, verticle down horizontal right, horizontal left).
Only potential negative I can tell is that the cover collects fingerprints very easily; but they're also very easily wiped off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+177points
208out of 239found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Excellent For The Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WillieWonka
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 06/30/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Just about everything especailly price.
What's not so great: No recovery discs.
This is my 3rd netbook and by far this has been the best. My reason for getting another netbook is that I have found that for portability and simple internet surfing and e-mail these are the best and you also have a computer if you need to do some word processing or printing. The setup was super easy. It found my home wi-fi network immediately. I think it's awful that you don't get a recovery disc (you don't get them from any manufacturer) so the first thint I did was make up the recovery discs. I have an external DVD drive that was purchased when I got my first netbook which I used for this. The display is excellent for a netbook and the keyboard is very easy to type on. The keyboard was the reason I gave my last netbook to my nephew. This one is not cramped at all. The touchpad seems to be just right. It loads web pages very fast. The $239.99 price was also what attracted me to it as well. The case is classy looking although it's a fingerprint magnet. So far, I am very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+141points
142out of 143found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

great deal for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gr8tdane
from Holland Patent, NY
on 07/09/2011
What's great about it: works great and fast
What's not so great: nothing
first time buyer on one of these and I love it. this is fast for a little guy, perfect for the trip I am going on. Wireless works great, find a signal fast. Yes, the top shows finger prints real easy but no big deal. Real easy to use, nice keyboard. Suggest to buy a mini mouse, I am not a big fan of a touch pad on any machine, got one on ebay for $8.00
I would recommend this to a friend!
+69points
73out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Very Poor Network Reception

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: GeeEss
from Newnan, GA
on 07/18/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: portability, compact form
What's not so great: poor network reception
I bought this netbook for my wife to do basic tasks like surfing and e-mail. However we have found that the built in wireless on this device is very poor. I don't know if it's a problem with this individual netbook or if it's a problem with the whole model line.
In short the reception stinks. Using inSSIDer I measured the RSSI in various locations around the house. With the netbook sitting on the desk right beside the router it gets only about -60dBm. That is weaker than our laptop which sits in the living room about 20 feet away (-45dBm).
In fact the latop picks up our neighbor's wireless stronger than the netbook picks up our own. In the living room the netbook is practically useless.
In the bedroom the netbook recieves no usable signal (-90 off and on). For comparison, in the bedroom, the laptop, ipod, kindle, roku box all receive excellent signal strength. (The laptop shows -50dBm) The roku box has no trouble streaming HD.
We are new to netbooks and weren't expecting high performance but we at least expect the "net" part of the "netbook" to work well. This one is going back to BestBuy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-22points
14out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Happier after upgrading memory chip to 2GB

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: useddeer
from MN
on 07/19/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size and weight. Portability. Battery life. Keyboard layout and button size.
What's not so great: Speakers are quiet. 1GB of memory.
My initial impressions of this netbook weren't very good at all. Right off the bat it was sluggish opening and scrolling through web pages which was to be my primary use of this machine. Windows task manager revealed that with only a single web page open I had less than 10% of the 1GB of memory available. I found through online documents that this netbook can be upgraded to 2GB so I ordered a 2GB stick of PC3-10600 DDR3 memory for fairly reasonable price online. After the upgrade I am much more able to recommend this system and don't find it hanging up on simple web pages any longer. I am also happily able to play MKV videos and stream Netflix in SD smoothly. The speakers are very quiet however so be prepared to use a headset if you plan on watching any video with it.
In case you get stumped on how to access the memory chip like I was: you need to remove the keyboard by pushing against three small clips near the F4, F8, and F12 keys then remove five screws behind the keyboard which are appropriately labeled. The bottom cover will then be able to be unsnapped from the main casing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+44points
45out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Very Surprised

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Matthew1983
from Anaheim, CA
on 07/22/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Performance, Very compact
What's not so great: Small screen
I was really surprised when I started using this little netbook. I was expecting extreme slowdown at every click. However, this little thing was able to keep up fairly well for web surfing, low res movies, and simple games. The speakers are on the bottom edge but the sound comes out nicely. Much better sound than Gateway's larger laptops which most only have one tiny speaker!
Anyway, we had to take this one back because the screen was too small for what we needed it for. However, if the small screen doesn't bother you then this is a very capable little machine.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Excellent choice for somebody on the go!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pghguy02
from pittsburgh
on 07/25/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I was originally going to purchase an Ipad or another android type tablet for traveling. When I compared the pros & cons of a tablet to a netbook for my needs it was a no brainer. This little netbook is definitely fast enough & performs excellent for what I need it to do. It actually does more & costs at least 2/3 less than most tablet pc's. It also has way more than enough memory so I can add many movies that I can watch while traveling. Try doing that with a 16 gig Ipad. It's not much heavier than some of the tablet pc's also. The battery life is also excellent. Maybe I'll invest in a tablet in the future when the prices come way way down & they perfect them a little more. Until then, this baby goes with me everywhere I'll travel.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, great for on the go due to its site/weight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Super Buy for the Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: alejansmom
from Southern Maryland
on 07/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, lightweight, battery life, large letters - easy to read
What's not so great: Instructions - especially if you want to upgrade memory!!!
After years of working on a laptop, I decided to switch to a netbook hoping that I would be able to find those qualities that had been totally frustrating me with my current laptop. After doing a search of various brands and models and discounting those that did not fit my criteria, I then read the reviews from other customers of those netbooks that were still on my "maybe" list. After reading the incredible ONE review that was written about the Gateway LT2802u and combining that with the specs. from on-line research, the decision on what to buy became very easy.
The manual indicated that the netbook's memory could be upgraded. However, it could not be found, in the instructions or online, how to install the additional memory. After hours and hours of searching, I finally decided to give up on the upgrade and just continue with setting up the netbook and hoping that it would be sufficient as is. Thankfully, I found that the speed was/is fine and the upgrade (atleast for me) is not necessary. However, at a later date, I found (and read on another's review) that there is a way to install additional memory - if wanted or needed.
To date, I have had NO problems with my Gateway netbook. It takes less than one minute to boot-up and shut-down is very quick. Unless I have over 5 windows open, speed of operation maintains itself.
In my opinion, this Gateway netbook is a great buy and I'm hoping that it will continue to fulfill my computing needs for several years without any problems.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Kid Friendly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+38points
40out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

I Love It!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FuzzyWorm
on 08/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to set up, great price, good quality camera, good sound, very fast, easy to bring with you, portable
What's not so great: Scratches easily, easy to loose, not very gamer friendly
I was looking online for a new laptop because mine is pretty old and poor quality camera. My laptop is a huge one so its not very portable. So I looked on a couple sites including; Walmart, Amazon, eBay, places like that. So finally I went to BestBuy.com and I found out they sell Netbooks. So I looked through them and found this one. When I went to the Best Buy store i bought it and brought it home. Although I've never used a Netbook before, this one looked cool.When I set everything up, I used Skype and Internet and It went really good. The price was worth it, the display was clear, the performance was fast and perfect, and when I needed to use it, it was there and very prtable. I love it!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Kid Friendly, Student, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
28out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

great for going to coffeshop and a new beginner

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: warrior92509
from Riverside,CA
on 08/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the size and the speed
What's not so great: the otuside covers gets alot of fingerprints !!! so your always cleaning it !!!
i really enjoy this netbook,the speed is fast and its real light to carry!!!!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Very good netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Juwels
on 08/03/2011
I got it as a present for my friend. He loves it. It works great if u need it for everyday use.
This product is... Perfect for Business, A nice compact size
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

It's a 10.1 netbook, with WIN 7 Starter

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jagaman
from Fort Bragg, CA
on 08/03/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It's a good travel computer
What's not so great: Difficult to upgrade the memory.
Not Bad, I like it. I would like to uprade the memory to 2gb but it looks like the case is sealed. too bad, it's would have been an easy upgrade.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Gateway LT2802u--a dud

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Bigbadbandicoot
from Missouri
on 08/04/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Once it's set up, I really expected it to actually function.
Bought this computer for the price. Should've known better, but I thought it was time to upgrade to Windows 7. Basically I use netbooks for a word processor and I'm always on the go. I thought this one was nice because it's bigger than the Asus I was using and has more RAM.
Turned it on, set it up, opened every file I had saved on my flash drive just fine. The function key didn't work. I thought maybe it was something I was doing wrong (but how do you use function wrong?) It did its updates the next day, including one for Microsoft Word. I opened Word again and it sat and sat and sat, blinking the word Processing over and over. I put the flash drive in and opened the document manually. Word locked up. The computer was more than happy to let me ctrl+alt+del. I did that for an hour and never got into my files.
I finally took it back to the store where the computer tech said it had a processing error. They exchanged it, but you know, I'm not even certain I want to set the new one up.
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-31points
8out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

SCREEN

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: HANK101
from TEXAS
on 08/04/2011
I JUST BOUGHT ONE, AND SEEM TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH SCREEN BEING TO WIDE, I HAVE TO SCROLL LEFT TO RIGHT TO SEE IT ALL, EXP....YAHOO.....WHAT DO I DO?
I would recommend this to a friend!
-23points
5out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great Overall

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NewNetbooker
from Washington
on 08/06/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, small, and easy to use.
What's not so great: You have to download something to be able to change the background.
So I got this netbook today, and I'm extremely happy with it. I was worried about multitasking beforehand, but so far I haven't had any issues. I got it for typing (it comes with Word Pad) and internet browsing, and it works great for doing both at once. And from what I've read its fairly easy to add extra memory if needed. It charged up quickly enough, the display is better than what I'd hoped for, and I have a great wifi connection. Its also pleasantly fast. It shuts down in ten seconds or less, and starts up in one minute six seconds (timed, and that's going from black all the way to an open internet screen). My only complaint is that it comes with Windows 7 Starter, which means I wasn't able to change my background, but it was easy to download something to fix that, so really no major complaints.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Slick little netbook with memory upgrade

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: looped
from Tulsa
on 08/07/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
We purchased this netbook to have for traveling. Mainly email and web surfing, no big deal.
I immediately ordered and installed a 2 gig memory chip from Crucial.
Night and day improvement over the stock ram for speed and boot times.
We're really enjoying this very mobile mini laptop pc
This product is... A nice compact size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Great Netbook

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DrBones13
from MS
on 08/07/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size
What's not so great: Memory upgrade
Great netbook. I wish the starting memory could be at 2 meg ram. The memory upgrade is a PAIN to do, but well worth it.
This product is... A nice compact size, wifi friendly
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Perfect for Me

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bearhunter58
from Mobile, AL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Light, Portable, Quick start-up, Battery Life
What's not so great: Upgrading Memory
I purchased this netbook a couple of weeks ago and wanted something very portable for internet, email and photo storage. The price was great and it compared well with other brands. It starts up quickly and battery life is fabulous. I decided to upgrade the memory, but it is the worst upgrade of any machine that I have done. Having to remove the keyboard (careful not to bend, made of aluminum) and removing entire back. I broke a couple of clips, but no harm. Screws hold it together. Other than that. I love it . Does what it is intended to do and quite nicely.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Love it.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sabrinasews
from Denver, CO
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, speed and cost
What's not so great: Sound quality, does get finger printed easily
We've had this netbook less than one week, and couldn't be happier. The keyboard is a nice size for typing, the buttons are not as small as some of the other netbooks I've seen. The screen is small, but it's a netbook! The only thing I really wish it had was louder speakers, but I guess that is what the headphone jack is for. We have had no trouble with the speed or wifi connections, everything runs really fast and we have had no trouble connecting to the wireless connection from anywhere in our home.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Work from Home business user, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Works Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tazindenver
from Broomfield, Colorado
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Cost, size - great to carry around town
What's not so great: Weak sound (speakers)
I have had this a few weeks now and have had no problems at all. It works great as a mobile unit and we use it through our hotspot on our iphone when out around town with no problems what so ever. Great price and a great deal. The only thing negative is the sound - the speakers do not get very loud. Otherwise its great.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... love internet on the go
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>