Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This ARRIS cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(2813 Reviews) 2813
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 2,813 reviews
5 stars
1,951
4 stars
693
3 stars
99
2 stars
22
1 star
48
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
2,688 out of 2,813
)
Customer Reviews for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
Review 1 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+692points
788out of 884found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good Value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gmrgirl
on 05/20/2016
I have no issues with the modem. The price was good and cheaper than renting on via the cable company.
Now dealing with Time Warner Cable for the set-up is a different story, but that had nothing to do with the modem or Best Buy.... that is all on Time Warner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2178381639
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Awesome Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lucky
on 05/17/2016
Needed a modem for TWC internet works perfect and price was awesome too!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2793481745
My Best Buy number: 2793481745
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good buy for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: watson
on 05/08/2016
Bought this since it is compatible with Time Warner's internet. Works great and seamlessly supports multiple devices simultaneously.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2963921606
My Best Buy number: 2963921606
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Broke in 9 months

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Lindsey
on 05/06/2016
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
This product lasted a total of 9 months before it needed to be replaced. I am the only person that uses this modem, 1 bedroom apartment, only person that lives here. I'm extremely disappointed in the quality of this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 3301121641
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bobby
on 05/06/2016
Great modem for the price with a basic internet service. No more will you have to pay those silly leasing fees with your own modem. I believe this one caps out at just above 150 mbs down, and about 10-20 mbs up. Not amazing by any means, but plenty for a family of 3-4
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2001643422
My Best Buy number: 2001643422
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

The perfect router for my home internet!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Erin
on 05/05/2016
This was a personal recommendation from a friend and it did not disappoint. I use this in conjunction with my Google onHub; I also have the most modest internet package. I have two boys who are always streaming (and I am definitely in the mix) and our service is AMAZING! Love how compact this is. A definite upgrade from the dusty, hefty box I had with my cable provider. Has already paid for itself. Forget renting your box when ou can buy this little gem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3468690301
My Best Buy number: 3468690301
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sabas8
on 04/20/2016
This is great but remember that this does not provide wifi.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2990985428
My Best Buy number: 2990985428
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

it is a good modem at its cost

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: fengludeal
on 03/29/2016
So far it works smoothly, though it takes couples of calls to Cox to get it to work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 3492447643
My Best Buy number: 3492447643
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good Modem but missing the key Router function

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Apharcha
on 03/28/2016
It is a good Router but since it's missing a well needed Router Function, I would not recommend it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0957607062
My Best Buy number: 0957607062
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Easy to set up, works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bruzzya
on 03/28/2016
I bought this for my dad so he wouldn't have to rent a modem from Comcast. I've had mine for 2 years and have never experienced a single issue and I imagine this one will be the same.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2734646738
My Best Buy number: 2734646738
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Modem is good but may not work for some ISPs

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: deitylu
on 03/22/2016
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
It is a good modem meeting most of regular requirements for most of people. Some extra job may be needed for several ISPs like Comcast.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2109289713
My Best Buy number: 2109289713
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Working fine.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LionKing
on 03/21/2016
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I have comcast performance starter internet 25/5 mb. this entry level modem is stable and powerful enough to handle day to day normal usage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2732270829
My Best Buy number: 2732270829
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great modem for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tink
on 03/20/2016
This modem was very easy to set up and took less than 15 minutes to activate with my internet provider..This modem pays for itself within 6 months..I was kind of worried that I wouldn't get the download speed but thankfully I was wrong..Great modem and very happy with my purchase
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3497313578
My Best Buy number: 3497313578
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

does the job

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: suze
from Wilmington, NC
on 03/19/2016
My server required that I get a new modem. I decided to combine my modem and router by purchasing this Arris-SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed cable modem and I am pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3520631662
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: B9bby
on 03/18/2016
Great replacement for my rented time warner modem. Works as advertised.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2015549574
My Best Buy number: 2015549574
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good Product -Motorola Arris Surfband

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Keyur
on 03/18/2016
I like this product and recommend this product for single family home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3451202603
My Best Buy number: 3451202603
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Sure is better than renting.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RJBRATZ
on 03/18/2016
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
This product provides exactly what I was looking for at a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1048045114
My Best Buy number: 1048045114
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Wireless
on 03/18/2016
Excellent the router is about the best we have ever had
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2621829824
My Best Buy number: 2621829824
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works Well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Alldayallnightgamer
from Chicago
on 03/16/2016
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Got this to use with Comcast Xfinity Service in Chicago for a friend. Installed it and worked fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2651445568
My Best Buy number: 2651445568
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 141 next>>