Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This ARRIS cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(2670 Reviews) 2670
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 2,670 reviews
5 stars
1,855
4 stars
655
3 stars
95
2 stars
20
1 star
45
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
2,554 out of 2,670
)
Customer Reviews for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
Review 1 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+692points
788out of 884found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

very nice product, surve my purpose

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sidd
on 02/08/2016
i keep getting email from comcast about changing your modem , This works fine with comcast
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2992060994
My Best Buy number: 2992060994
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Modem for xfinit internet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lizsa
on 02/08/2016
This is a great modem for Comcast Internet it does not make the speed lower.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2987177478
My Best Buy number: 2987177478
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great modem.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Premier
on 02/07/2016
It's pretty easy to set up. Just requires you to call your ISP and get it activated. Works well and as an added benefit, no longer have to pay a rental fee to Comcast. Win-win.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0765370653
My Best Buy number: 0765370653
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Arrived ontime and everything looks good.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: hungvlam
on 02/07/2016
The box is packaged good and arrived without any damages. Very easy to install. Took only 5 minutes to get online. So far no network problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0045534706
My Best Buy number: 0045534706
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Does what it says and it is going to save me money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kanabr
from Magnolia, Tx
on 02/07/2016
This modem is way faster than the plan i subscribe to. Purchasing this rather than renting one from Xfinity will save me $$$.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2624554273
My Best Buy number: 2624554273
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Comcast/Xfinity modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Danny
on 02/06/2016
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
It works great !
Note : no wifi
I did try the other model that had wifi/modem . I did think it was as good, wifi kept turning (off and on)
for no rhyme or reason.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0779339028
My Best Buy number: 0779339028
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jojo
on 02/06/2016
My modem works great and was easy to set up. Very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3503508141
My Best Buy number: 3503508141
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Exactly what I needed.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Steelnrose
from Baton Rouge
on 02/05/2016
I have a 50 Mbps connection and this modem does exactly what you would expect. If you have a faster connection you may need the more expensive models.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2110795043
My Best Buy number: 2110795043
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Easy to set up and get going

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Allstar93
from Rosenberg,Tx
on 02/05/2016
I unplugged my old modem and hooked this one up and called my internet provider and i was set up and going in minutes and it works great
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1026556854
My Best Buy number: 1026556854
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chris
on 02/05/2016
No problem setting this up with Bright House Networks. No hassle, works great, no more rental fee.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0572686657
My Best Buy number: 0572686657
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great price easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 1review2
on 02/05/2016
Product was very easy to setup and works great right out of the box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3475082106
My Best Buy number: 3475082106
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Product working good as described

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: hahatuan
on 02/05/2016
I bought this item at Best Buy, very good price compare with others. Have a little doubt at first, but it turns out the item works very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3516869987
My Best Buy number: 3516869987
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

comcast modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rayada10
on 02/05/2016
Awesome modem, works great with my comcast service all I did was have to call comcast to have it activated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2854511169
My Best Buy number: 2854511169
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

good modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 02/02/2016
I bought this modem to replace my xfinity rented modem/router 2in1,
the xfinity one was very poor , it often got disconnected.
This Arris Modem is very good, I have used it for over a year already,
constantly on 24/7, still works like a charm.
highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3775061115
My Best Buy number: 3775061115
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works for what I need

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Gretchen1982
from Burlington, VT
on 02/02/2016
Since Comcast FORCED me to upgrade to a Docis 3.0 modem (no reason, not like their services work half the time anyhow), I bought this. Pretty simple plug-and-go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2625882917
My Best Buy number: 2625882917
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Cable Modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dteam
on 02/01/2016
I was tired of paying TWC a monthly cable modem rental fee, so I got this Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black from Best Buy. It took less than 2 minutes to setup and 15 minutes waiting for TWC tech to enter the MAC address. It works great and pays for it self less than a year.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0305366764
My Best Buy number: 0305366764
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works Well for the Price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 44PistolPete
on 01/31/2016
The set-up was straightforward. The modem has been in use for two months without any problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2992429463
My Best Buy number: 2992429463
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Awesome Modem for Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Steven
on 01/31/2016
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
My Internet speeds are not that fast so I did not need the super fast modem. This one works great for slower speeds. Why buy the faster ones when your package doesn't allow for faster speeds. Save some money and get this modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0068457310
My Best Buy number: 0068457310
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Arris - SURFboard Docsis 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good product, reasonably expedient shipping

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TimC
on 01/31/2016
I bought this item to replace a leased TWC modem. I've used it several weeks for basic internet tasking (emails, site visits, some downloads). Item seems equivalent, perhaps better, than the TWC modem. I'VE NOT USED THIS FOR STREAMING AS I DON'T HAVE HARDWARE SO I'VE NO IDEA HOW WELL IT WORKS FOR THIS APPLICATOIN.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2959547094
My Best Buy number: 2959547094
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 134 next>>