Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.593 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(2011 Reviews) 2011
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 2,011 reviews
5 stars
1,404
4 stars
482
3 stars
74
2 stars
16
1 star
35
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,920 out of 2,011
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 223 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+624points
714out of 804found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DanW
on 07/05/2015
This thing works well. I replaced a lousy Xfinity modem/wireless router with this. It will pay for itself in less than a year. I'm pleased with its performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0076011443
My Best Buy number: 0076011443
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Ok

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Smokey
on 07/04/2015
Good if you only have game console or desktop, would still have to get a router to connect wireless.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2980738133
My Best Buy number: 2980738133
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: unclekrusty
on 07/04/2015
I chose to buy my modem rather than rent from Comcast and I couldn't be more pleased. Easy setup and great speed. Well wortg the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2283612550
My Best Buy number: 2283612550
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NoSpaces1944
from Philadelphia, pa
on 07/04/2015
No additional comments at this time on this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1018362036
My Best Buy number: 1018362036
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good performer for lower price modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gssfl
from Florida
on 07/03/2015
I replaced my TWC modem with this Motorola/Arris surfboard modem. It was simple to hookup and took one phone call to get it authorized on the TWC network. Its performed much better than the one TWC was "renting" to me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0078272170
My Best Buy number: 0078272170
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Magnificent Modem.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Larry
from Holland,N.Y.
on 07/03/2015
I was using a borrowed modenm for my internet connect due to the fact the previous modem I purchased was defective.tried to hook it up myself with T.W.on the phone,unable to do.A time warner technical rep. came to my house and had a difficult time determining the modem was defective so to speed up the application I purchased a different product from Best Buy prior to sending back the defective one.Called T. W. again and had me hooked up in a couple minutes.Then I had to send the reps(T.W. Modem back via a Fed EX drop box.A lot of time and trouble but worth the knowledge I gained.(Knowledge Is Invalueable).End result> my MPS went up a minimum of 10 with this modem...,worth it's weight in gold.(Arris-SB6141)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3316778489
My Best Buy number: 3316778489
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good product, works as expected

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shaolin1064
on 07/03/2015
The surfboard is a great product have not used anything but these as my modem of choice. Never had one fail.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3465862374
My Best Buy number: 3465862374
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great once you deal with your ISP

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ryan
on 07/03/2015
This is great for 95% of people, if you don't have gigabit Internet, it 's perfect. Just be aware you're going to need to call you ISP to register it. You'll need the model number, the serial number on the box (there are two and it needs to be the one that's NOT also on the modem itself) and the MAC number. They want you to pay to rent their modem, so this can be a difficult process, but if you are willing to put in the time with their customer service, it's definitely worth it in the long run
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3464663286
My Best Buy number: 3464663286
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great TV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: togo
on 07/03/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Set-up was easy. Crew unpacked TV and placed it in the location we selected
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2294521803
My Best Buy number: 2294521803
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

So far so good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Wis90
on 07/03/2015
Used it for a month, easy to install and no troubles at all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2983579146
My Best Buy number: 2983579146
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great product. Easy setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Goopa
from Chicago
on 07/03/2015
Switched to get rid of comcast modem. Totally worth it! No glitches in the first one month!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1053829983
My Best Buy number: 1053829983
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Way better than renting one from Comcast

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: beerit
on 07/03/2015
I honestly think this was a great investment and suggest that if you are currently renting your modem from Comcast that you save yourself some money and get this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2845017625
My Best Buy number: 2845017625
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works with Comcast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kermit
on 07/02/2015
Great little unit - works just fine with Comcast (although you have to call Comcast to have them "see" the modem so they can get you connected).
Good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0302514175
My Best Buy number: 0302514175
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Easy to Install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: superJDOG2000
from Frederick, MD
on 07/02/2015
I got this modem because I needed to upgrade from DOCSIS 2 and it was highly recommended on the Comcast website. This modem was super easy to install. I just swapped it with the old modem and it started working.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2527950820
My Best Buy number: 2527950820
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good modem

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: clongtx
on 07/01/2015
The only problem I've had with this modem is trying to get Comcast to acknowledge that the problem is with their service and not my modem. It worked perfectly for about 2 months and then my service went out after a big storm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2026769039
My Best Buy number: 2026769039
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Cant go wrong

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kunal
on 07/01/2015
This is one of those that has been around a long time and really cant go wrong wiht this one.
Had to buy it because of the Comcast supported modems list.
Happy so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2914398020
My Best Buy number: 2914398020
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works fine

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jonnyreddoch
on 07/01/2015
Well I don't know if this is a good one or a decent one or a terrible one by comparison bc I haven't tried any others but it works fine and I haven't had any issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0532709143
My Best Buy number: 0532709143
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

great buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GadgetGuy
on 07/01/2015
dump your cable company modem! this pays for itself in 7 months, is a better piece of equipment and is all yours!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2632949009
My Best Buy number: 2632949009
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zakm
on 07/01/2015
No problems with the modem. Have been using it for a month now and all seems to be well. This modem does not have a built in router and since we already had a router this was perfect for us. We did not want to pay the rental fees to rent this from our tv service provider so I definitely recommend this as an alternative.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1036748188
My Best Buy number: 1036748188
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 101 next>>