Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1583 Reviews) 1583
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,583 reviews
5 stars
1,093
4 stars
385
3 stars
62
2 stars
12
1 star
31
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,507 out of 1,583
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 160 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+581points
668out of 755found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Cable Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lee2003FXD
on 03/05/2015
Great cable modem for the price - it had the speed and the features that I needed for my cable internet connection. I recently got Comcast cable internet and bought this modem to avoid the $10 monthly fee for using their modem. It'll pay for itself in no time. The Comcast installer plugged it into the cable and it fired up and started no problem.
I already owned a Nighthawk router so that's why i got this model and didn't want or need the one w/ a built in router - they work great together. I have fast internet speeds even when multiple people are online and various applications are using it. The separate and higher-end router allows me greater coverage and signal strength throughout my property w/ this modem.
Some people might not like the lights on the modem (they're kinda bright and can light up a room in the dark), but it's small and can be easily hidden inside an entertainment center or somewhere.
Overall, great cable modem for the price and would definitely recommend to other people that need a cable modem to pair w/ a router.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2005133998
My Best Buy number: 2005133998
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Motor
on 03/02/2015
The Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black is easy to set up and easy to use. It looks fancy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0580384880
My Best Buy number: 0580384880
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great little Cable Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: stitchescape
from Kennesaw, GA
on 03/02/2015
Great little Cable modem! Do not rent a modem, buy one! you will save money in the long run.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0772368414
My Best Buy number: 0772368414
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

great buy for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CherryPiez
from Sacramento, CA
on 03/01/2015
Had to upgrade to a docsis 3.0 modem and I bought this... works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0313430389
My Best Buy number: 0313430389
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

smooth and transparent

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: speed
on 03/01/2015
I switched internet service from Verizon to Comcast, and my concern was the impact this could have on my daily work. Then I decided buy my own modem instead to rent one from Comcast and the transfer has been transparent and a I feel the modem made my job in the internet fast and smooth including a very easy installation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Not the latest and greatest but works fine

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rishey
on 02/28/2015
If you have the money go for the more advanced model that has 8 streams instead of four. It will last longer as tech changes. It's solid prouduxt though
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2141564502
My Best Buy number: 2141564502
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Better Than Comcast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: asphaltcowboy
on 02/28/2015
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Saves me $10 per month and is faster than the modem that Comcast had issued. No problems with buffering on 1080p programming. Happy I made the switch!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0733343962
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

The modem works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nhra2101r
from Nashville, TN
on 02/28/2015
The modem works great. The cable provider gave the specs and I liked this. It's been a great value for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0758714099
My Best Buy number: 0758714099
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

easy to install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bigguy
on 02/28/2015
great product right out of the box . at a great price. count be happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0399027237
My Best Buy number: 0399027237
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

works well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Veryfun
on 02/28/2015
works well. I have not had any issues with this product. It is definitely better than the Time Warner Cable modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2291948740
My Best Buy number: 2291948740
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Easy to connect

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nontechie
on 02/28/2015
Good speed improvement over my old one. Price was reasonable for the quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2023013494
My Best Buy number: 2023013494
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ema26
on 02/28/2015
I never had any problems with a slow connection and it was a breeze to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2672466542
My Best Buy number: 2672466542
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

very good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: janek
on 02/27/2015
I replaced cable modem company with Motorola one is very good,very simple connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2357830347
My Best Buy number: 2357830347
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Poozie121
on 02/27/2015
Works way better than my old modem. Which was from comcast that I was getting for free. Once that died and they made me pay I upgraded. Should have done it before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2953248225
My Best Buy number: 2953248225
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works well

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: clarkkam
on 02/27/2015
Bought this for a second home and it seems to be trouble free to this point.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2632823071
My Best Buy number: 2632823071
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Fast docsis

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rescue705
on 02/27/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Comcast required this in an effort to get the highest speeds possible.
Works and was exactly what we needed to enable multiple xboxes to game online together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2145224174
My Best Buy number: 2145224174
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

2nd one purchased!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mcduff22
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 02/27/2015
I currently own this model and my internet runs perfect with speed and streaming. My neighbor, who is elderly and technologically challeged, needed a replacement modem after a recent Comcast upgrade. I bought this model for her as well and she was extremely happy with the performance. The box is located in her basement and office located on the 3rd floor. No delays or issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2507456045
My Best Buy number: 2507456045
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Modem/Router for Comcast customer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MyCove512
on 02/27/2015
Bought this to replace modem from comcast that I pay $10.00 a month. Its so easy to setup in less than 30 minuites. I called Comcast to provide new router name and pin number. I also returned my old modem so they wont bill me monthly anymore. I am very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2973290990
My Best Buy number: 2973290990
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Cdog90
on 02/27/2015
It's a really good fast quality product. Only issue is that it does not have a phone jack to use with Comcast phone service.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2990853703
My Best Buy number: 2990853703
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 80 next>>