Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1889 Reviews) 1889
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,889 reviews
5 stars
1,320
4 stars
452
3 stars
69
2 stars
15
1 star
33
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,804 out of 1,889
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 192 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+611points
699out of 787found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Excellent Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: xadaj
on 05/29/2015
It's been reliable, fast and I didn't have to reset or restart it since I got it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2116241148
My Best Buy number: 2116241148
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ms10
on 05/29/2015
Nothing to complain about. Got it to replace a 10 year old modem that finally gave up. Very easy to change everything out. Not complicated at all. Works very well plus was cheaper than I expected to pay!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2624662053
My Best Buy number: 2624662053
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Easy installation

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Schmidrock
on 05/29/2015
Works great. Seamless transition from our "leased" modem to owning one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1035180620
My Best Buy number: 2799175938
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Much needed update.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: razobazo
on 05/29/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
My old unit was always dropping connection. Put this bad boy in and problem solved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2138558439
My Best Buy number: 2138558439
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great to start with

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Robbiesaleh18
on 05/29/2015
Very strong modem. Can handle multiple devices at once.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3757862938
My Best Buy number: 3757862938
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Michelle
from glendale heights
on 05/29/2015
This product is great and easy to use. i love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0953342516
My Best Buy number: 0953342516
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

GREAT MODEM

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JerkMeister
on 05/28/2015
SO SATISFIED WITH THE MODEM I AM HAPPY SOO SOOO SOOO
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1014097765
My Best Buy number: 1014097765
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Pretty good job

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kpop
on 05/28/2015
I have had to reset this a few times since I purchased it. I'm not sure if it is the router or the modem - I reset both at the same time. Just all of a sudden I have no internet connection. Once I reset modem/Router combo it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0086425049
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great cable modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: autumn
on 05/27/2015
This is second Motorola - SURFboard cable modem I bought. The first one I bought was about 8 years ago, still running very well. The new one also runs well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0966967126
My Best Buy number: 0966967126
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

No complaints

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: maheshc
on 05/27/2015
Had it over a month. It's consistent and speed is good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tnels
on 05/27/2015
Straight forward to set up, reasonable performance and price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3458997519
My Best Buy number: 3458997519
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Effortless set-up and works great.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MisplacedTexan
on 05/27/2015
Easy to set-up and I have not had ANY issues with it since, well, ever. I don't think I've even looked at it since I set it up. It just works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0959545850
My Best Buy number: 0959545850
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cmhb
on 05/27/2015
Easy to install; have had no issues or concerns about the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2935075245
My Best Buy number: 2935075245
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good comcast modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Golfandshop
on 05/27/2015
Just plugged it in, called Comcast with the mac address, and it worked.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2283408559
My Best Buy number: 2283408559
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

so far, so good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: frozen
from Buffalo
on 05/26/2015
except having issues with my printer printing WI-FI, happened when I got the modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0786860775
My Best Buy number: 0786860775
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Fantastic

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LancerMi
on 05/26/2015
This is so much better than my netgear modem that was only about a year old. At least three times faster and way more stable. No downtime since I purchased about a month and a half ago. For the price this is the cable modem if you're looking for fast and reliable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0329955494
My Best Buy number: 0329955494
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Eric90812
on 05/26/2015
Way better then renting a modem from Comcast. Great speed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2759897856
My Best Buy number: 2759897856
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: metshaw
on 05/26/2015
I recommend this black 3.0 high speed cable modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0906149254
My Best Buy number: 0906149254
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kb811
on 05/26/2015
Modem works great. Seems to run fast. Worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0090123771
My Best Buy number: 0090123771
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 95 next>>