Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.601 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(2299 Reviews) 2299
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 2,299 reviews
5 stars
1,609
4 stars
555
3 stars
79
2 stars
19
1 star
37
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
2,199 out of 2,299
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 262 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+653points
743out of 833found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lovemini
from Jacksonville, FL
on 09/03/2015
I can tell the difference in my wifi speed. It works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2294542747
My Best Buy number: 2294542747
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works great with Comcast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bdubbs717
on 09/03/2015
This device was a great deal, and has saved me from a monthly cable subscriptions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1037855939
My Best Buy number: 1037855939
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jessi
on 09/03/2015
Have no complaints very good for its price and has been working great
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2558722366
My Best Buy number: 2558722366
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: P01lux
from Chicagoland
on 09/02/2015
I read up on this device and saw that it was the absolute best for Xfinity customers who wanted to buy their own router and it is a great product. I just missed the fact that it is not a wireless router so look elsewhere if that is your goal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0767359588
My Best Buy number: 0767359588
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

works well for intended speed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kandyggurl
on 09/02/2015
I haven't had any problems with it. My internet speed need isn't too high. Just make sure you get one that supports the speed your paying for. This isn't wireless so make sure you get a Wireless router too. My internet speed is 12 and works good since I've got it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0901002059
My Best Buy number: 0901002059
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great wifi modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AHayes
on 09/02/2015
Bought with the Apple router and it works much better than any rented equipment from internet providers
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3480237096
My Best Buy number: 3480237096
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Gaby
on 09/02/2015
Very good modem a little pricy but fast with great range
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0102673195
My Best Buy number: 0102673195
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Doug
on 09/02/2015
Easy to install, had our internet back up an running in no time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2847502839
My Best Buy number: 2847502839
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Working nicely.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Doc1970
on 08/31/2015
I switched from a modem/router as supplied by Xfinity (at $10/month). This new modem, and a new stand alone router are doing the job. (I actually had to swap out the rented combo unit twice prior to my purchase)!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0811597157
My Best Buy number: 0811597157
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great replacement modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jhnj13
on 08/31/2015
We had been leasing ours from TWC for $7 month when we decided to purchase this one instead. In less than a year it has paid itself off. Works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0746894499
My Best Buy number: 0746894499
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

works as described

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jared
on 08/30/2015
connection is slower than expected but I am willing to assume this is the result of Comcast. Comcast tech installed for me and did all of the activation. The orange blinking status light is confusing, it makes you think theres a problem when really its just an activity light. For the price I can't complain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3780990325
My Best Buy number: 3780990325
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Easy Setup High Speed Data Cable Modem for Comcast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ChriskNH
on 08/30/2015
Comcast's web site lists all of the Cable Modems they support for home use and self-install, but that list is not easy to follow or understand - I was lucky to spot this one on the list and saw it was in stock at BestBuy. Nice high speed and easy setup with Comcast - I'm very happy with this modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2015765561
My Best Buy number: 2015765561
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good high-speed modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bruce24
on 08/30/2015
I needed a new modem , as I was finally switching from DSL service to faster cable service. This modem was on the list of those compatible with Time Warner Cable. It was easy to install, and has worked flawlessly for the week that I have used it so far. My download speeds have gone from about 3 Mbps to about 50 Mbps with the new cable service and this modem. No complaints!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0560567319
My Best Buy number: 0560567319
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Excellent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jimm
on 08/30/2015
The modem was easy to set up and works perfectly! Replaced my Comcast rented modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2349773997
My Best Buy number: 2349773997
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

A GOOD choice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: woodenshoe
on 08/29/2015
This is a Great unit, Good Looking, easy to install.
Above all it beats other units I installed ..
I built my own desktop , now I have one HAPPY System
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3469296090
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kfralx
on 08/28/2015
Bought this to replace my Comcast modem. Easy setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2084612308
My Best Buy number: 2084612308
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

This is a cool motem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: qorrrha52
on 08/28/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
This motorola motem is very fast and easy to Install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2991539767
My Best Buy number: 2991539767
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great product for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DetLou
on 08/28/2015
Great modem for the price. There are others that don't deliver as well but ask a premium price. Simply works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3481553973
My Best Buy number: 3481553973
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Standard it equipment

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: waynes
on 08/28/2015
Have not used due to lack of knowledge by Comcast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0100174915
My Best Buy number: 0100174915
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 115 next>>