Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.596 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(2124 Reviews) 2124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 2,124 reviews
5 stars
1,483
4 stars
512
3 stars
76
2 stars
17
1 star
36
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
2,028 out of 2,124
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 244 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+635points
725out of 815found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works as expected, good value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: manwithnonick
on 08/02/2015
Works as expected, good value. See no reason to pay more for a modern. On line price was lower than store price but when this was pointed out they adjusted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2637345790
My Best Buy number: 2637345790
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: allenj3375
from ga
on 08/01/2015
I got tired of paying rental fees every month to crimecast, so I decided to get my own modem, glad I did. Actually noticed a better connection more stable connection on this when I ran test on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0042891215
My Best Buy number: 0042891215
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Fast Modem!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lecompte9409
on 07/31/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Sped up our home connection. Great router for a great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2877429106
My Best Buy number: 2877429106
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Does its job. No hassles.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tbonebusch
on 07/31/2015
This model was recommended on several sites. It has delivered. No issues, no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0104687596
My Best Buy number: 0104687596
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Easy to install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Woof
on 07/31/2015
This unit is exactly the same one as I had, rented monthly from Comcast. Replacing the rented modem was easy as far as the hookup was concerned. Activation was straight forward but did take a reasonable amount of phone time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2119921153
My Best Buy number: 2119921153
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Better value than Comcast modem.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jiva
on 07/31/2015
Much better than I expected. Better than the Comcast modem, easy setup, works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3456189459
My Best Buy number: 3456189459
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Matt
on 07/31/2015
Works as advertised. I've had it running for about 3 weeks with no issues
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0906546534
My Best Buy number: 0906546534
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dav4U
on 07/31/2015
Had this product price matched and got it $10 cheaper than normal price. Got it so I wouldnt have to pay to rent a modem from my provider. Have had no issues from it and works great with comcast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0565280091
My Best Buy number: 0565280091
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

End of life?

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: PissedatComcast
on 07/30/2015
Just told by customer support that this model is going EOL and to replace it. You have been warned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great Modem - Good Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Troy
on 07/30/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I needed to upgrade my cable modem to take advantage of the system upgrades Comcast has been making the last few years, so I did my research. This modem shows up on a lot of search results for good modems, and although it shouldn't matter really, it is rated as highly compatible with Comcast (as shown on Comcast's website). Easy to setup, works great, and it has the latest technology to take advantage of what Comcast (and other Internet providers) have to offer, hard to go wrong.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0536345743
My Best Buy number: 0536345743
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Value buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Billabong
on 07/30/2015
I purchased this to replace my Comcast modem. It has been working great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3769238738
My Best Buy number: 3769238738
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Quick setup - worked immediately

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ConsumerOne
on 07/30/2015
This is my first experience with Comcast (or Xfinity). I was with VZ Fios for a long time. Thought I try and save a little money. This modem works well, I get really good speeds for what Comcast says I should have. Its operation is simple and it just works. My only complaint is the user interface - I think it lacks functionality - I wish I could tweak it more. But for a simple modem, it is great. Comcast, or Xfinity, on the other hand isn't so great - lots of system reboots where I have zero connectivity or TV service - even the DVR doesn't work during those times. And there seem to be a lot of them.
I recommend the modem, not the service.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0550555234
My Best Buy number: 0550555234
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Good router if you have a 25mbps connection

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Suren
on 07/29/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
If you have a internet connection of 50mbps or higher, this router is going to act up on you as this will throttle the speed to a lower value. Until i had a 25mbps connection i had no issues and it worked like a charm. Setup was easy. But when i upgraded my internet to 50mbps it started throttling the speed and i was not getting the full 50mbps when routed the data through this router. I would have given 5 stars if i did not face this issue.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2509439817
My Best Buy number: 2509439817
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Nice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: marshall
on 07/29/2015
Bought this when comcast told me my old one wasn't supported anymore. Have had no issues with it. Good product. Looks nice too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0557559662
My Best Buy number: 0557559662
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great modem for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jman
on 07/29/2015
Simple little modem for the price. Easy to set up and configure. Best bargain for a home modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2145202974
My Best Buy number: 2145202974
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

It was easy to install

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Chris
from Knoxville
on 07/28/2015
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: plug and play
What's not so great: lights are a little bright
Very easy to install just plug it in and it is ready
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2802364472
My Best Buy number: 2802364472
Mobile Submission: 2802364472
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Recommend this modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Marine6873
from Murfreesboro, TN
on 07/28/2015
It was recommended to us by the Best Buy sales member along with a router. They both work great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2949727659
My Best Buy number: 2949727659
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ehoff23
on 07/27/2015
I bought this to avoid provider fees and save money. It is reliable and I have not had my internet go out once.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3473132261
My Best Buy number: 3473132261
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

A Low Budget Cable Modem with Best Quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JLEE
on 07/26/2015
No Complaints Yet! It runs great and no problem at all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3465167134
My Best Buy number: 3465167134
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 107 next>>