Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.585 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1755 Reviews) 1755
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,755 reviews
5 stars
1,219
4 stars
423
3 stars
66
2 stars
14
1 star
33
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,672 out of 1,755
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 171 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+599points
686out of 773found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Excellent Cable Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DougM
on 04/17/2015
This was a great choice to replace my cable modem that was being rented through Time Warner. Will pay for itself in less than 10 months. Easy to set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0077628954
My Best Buy number: 0077628954
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Love it.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mike
on 04/17/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Works great. Has a great range and is really dependable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2206526407
My Best Buy number: 2206526407
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works just great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: grammigeek
from Portland OR
on 04/17/2015
The modem was very easy to set up. Just followed the instructions and it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2666427146
My Best Buy number: 2666427146
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Working fine.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Tuxie
on 04/17/2015
Love the color and it's just right for what I need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2367420767
My Best Buy number: 2367420767
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great modem, easy to hook up.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dana4AZ
on 04/17/2015
This modem is really simple to hook up and connect with all type of routers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0732333766
My Best Buy number: 0732333766
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mailman
on 04/17/2015
:)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2851612760
My Best Buy number: 2851612760
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Needed it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jada
on 04/17/2015
Needed it and it's really been useful. Stronger signal
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0556337094
My Best Buy number: 0556337094
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

easy to install- great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RACEGIRL
on 04/17/2015
needed an updated modem. great help from the staff ....
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2549915586
My Best Buy number: 2549915586
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

A must have for gaming

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jami
on 04/17/2015
Great product. Our internet service runs smoothly and doesn't lag in video games.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2827559846
My Best Buy number: 2827559846
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Simple setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Midknyte
from Arkham Asylum
on 04/17/2015
I installed this modem for Time Warner/Roadrunner. You'll need your TW account number and the MAC address number (printed on the box). Swap out the old modem with the Motorola. Then just call TW's support line and tell them you want to install your own modem. Give them the MAC address number. After that, the modem will reboot. If you have a router, you should reboot that also. Stay on the line until you verify that your Internet is working again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0555874774
My Best Buy number: 0555874774
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

product was easy to install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dolly5
on 04/16/2015
This was exactly what we were looking for and met our needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0030916906
My Best Buy number: 0030916906
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

just a modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Pxc370
from Los Angeles
on 04/15/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Because I switched to TWC, I need to get a faster moderm. It was on the list to buy. Okay. Doing the job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2138347545
My Best Buy number: 2138347545
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: adrenaline1013
on 04/15/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This modem works great, as all motorola SURFboards do. I will continue to buy these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2279732811
My Best Buy number: 2279732811
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Quick, easy, and fast speeds.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: icedguardian
from chesapeake,va
on 04/15/2015
My previous modem wasn't that old so I really wasn't expecting much of a speed boost. But my speeds have been consistently two to three times faster since installing this modem. The lights on the front are brighter, too, so I can easily tell if my internet connection isn't the best it could be because the connection light switches to an amber color. Even then the connection is great and reliable, it just lets me know that it's not at peak speeds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2081736601
My Best Buy number: 2081736601
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

It's been good!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kanhaiya
on 04/15/2015
I love this item! I have been using it for a whole now without any problem!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2832942176
My Best Buy number: 2832942176
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Works good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Millo
on 04/15/2015
I use it with Comcast, works good. Easy to set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2103621359
My Best Buy number: 2103621359
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Great price-solid connectivity

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jeff842
on 04/13/2015
Easy to set up, very affordable for the amount of work we use it for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2665354627
My Best Buy number: 2665354627
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

Excellent Combination Modem/Wireless Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: krj29
on 04/13/2015
The SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 works with Xfinity seamlessly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2268425113
My Best Buy number: 2268425113
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem - Black

It works fine

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: seannizer
on 04/12/2015
It works fine for me! the cisco one I had does't work anymore after TWC updated everyone's internet speed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2988650956
My Best Buy number: 2988650956
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 88 next>>