Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(973 Reviews) 973
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 973 reviews
5 stars
682
4 stars
226
3 stars
40
2 stars
5
1 star
20
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
922 out of 973
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+533points
610out of 687found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

it is good enough

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: hahaha
on 10/24/2014
It works well without any problem. I am using comcast 50mbps speed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2957077531
My Best Buy number: 2957077531
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Modem - Easy Setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Steve
on 10/24/2014
Great Quality and speed. I replaced my older Motorola Surfboard modem of 15 years, it never missed a beat. The modem is one of the best rated for home use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0211675783
My Best Buy number: 0211675783
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Gmangottagetit
on 10/24/2014
Works well and does the trick. No need to lease one from the cable company.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0772395786
My Best Buy number: 0772395786
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Over All good

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ZeZo
on 10/24/2014
I bought this to increase my internet speed from 25 to 50 and its been working great for a month now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3319272618
My Best Buy number: 3319272618
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Surfing Safari !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: silberma
from Edina, MN
on 10/23/2014
Move with the speed of light. Connect and surf away. Comcast XFINITY compliant. Stop renting and OWN your modem. This is a smart buy. In stock daily at Best Buy ! Love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0021655395
My Best Buy number: 0021655395
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Does the job

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: teamml
on 10/23/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
No issues at all, basic, solid little modem. One connection drop right at the beginning of installation, since then nothing. Stable connection for over a month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2970331641
My Best Buy number: 2970331641
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Highspeed Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 1i8J1S9
on 10/23/2014
Product is easy to bring online, even with an external router (Netscape 300). Had to contact my Internet Service Provider, TW, to have the modem "identified" on the provider's network. Once done, the modem has worked flawlessly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2706088542
My Best Buy number: 2706088542
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy to install. Works like a champ.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Carverken
on 10/23/2014
I had a very old Motorola surf board that was dying a slow and painfull death. When I got fed up. I read some reviews and went to the store. Bought the unit and was back online in minutes. Problem free for two months now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0775073988
My Best Buy number: 0775073988
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works exactly as advertised

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lpg13
on 10/23/2014
As stated, product was easy to install and has worked flawlessly since installation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0106499067
My Best Buy number: 0106499067
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

The Gold Standard

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RonInAlbany
on 10/22/2014
This is the standard in consumer cable modems because it is accepted by all the major cable internet service providers. CenturyLink, Cox, Comcast, Optimum, TimeWarner all accept this modem for use. It's easy to set up, is DOCSIS 3.0(handles over 30MB service) compliant, and small in size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2586693614
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

easy setup works fine

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ajcg
on 10/22/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
easy to understand lights, simple setup. works fine
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0034317716
My Best Buy number: 0034317716
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Perfect modem for beginners

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: G1001000
on 10/22/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Easy to setup with Comcast. Perfect modem for those that don't want to rent from Comcast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0403944444
My Best Buy number: 0403944444
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent and reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: solidsnypr
from Flroida
on 10/22/2014
Got this modem for my high speed internet. As soon as I connected I have eliminated all my connection problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2107765943
My Best Buy number: 2107765943
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Super fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PickyShopper
on 10/22/2014
Super fast connection used in conjunction with high speed Cox service. Couldn't be happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2959922075
My Best Buy number: 2959922075
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great for average use.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Thatguy89
from Phoenix, AZ
on 10/22/2014
Overall I have had no issues with the modem. Works perfect for the average house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2683743663
My Best Buy number: 2683743663
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent connectivity for great speeds.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 2018
on 10/22/2014
Overall great value for the money with easy to follow installation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0748231902
My Best Buy number: 0748231902
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem for basic internet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: drwyatt
from nashville, tn
on 10/21/2014
I purchased this modem to go with a basic internet package from Comcast. It was so easy to hook-up, I didn't need any other assistance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0758553377
My Best Buy number: 0758553377
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Geekyj2010
from Mead, WA
on 10/20/2014
  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
I have used Motorola product before this one and when I got this modem setup and running, I have seen a speed improvement. I currently use in conjuction with the Netgear router and no issues yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2504750825
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Modem!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zchest
from Denver, CO
on 10/20/2014
This modem is awesome. It is way better than the one Comcast provides and saves you a lot of money in the long run instead of paying to "rent" one from Comcast, very easy to use and install
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2972344649
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 49 next>>