Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.58 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(861 Reviews) 861
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 861 reviews
5 stars
600
4 stars
203
3 stars
34
2 stars
5
1 star
19
94% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
813 out of 861
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+522points
597out of 672found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great for my needs

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ronnie
on 10/01/2014
I purchased this product as an upgrade from my previous router.The faster router allowed me to take advantage of my Internet providers free upgraded speeds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1028276378
My Best Buy number: 1028276378
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Functions 24/7

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: StuReview
from Arlington Heights, Il
on 10/01/2014
No blazing speed but delivers the internet to the router through an Ethernet port. Dependable if only just basic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0218354926
My Best Buy number: 0218354926
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Randy2688
on 10/01/2014
Haven't had any problems with this product and get good speeds from it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2944423921
My Best Buy number: 2944423921
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: demongunslinger
on 09/30/2014
The router works great and let's me see easily how many systems I have connected. I can even use my phone to keep track of the systems connected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2925143244
My Best Buy number: 2925143244
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Modem for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: snoopy
on 09/30/2014
Got tired of renting. Read the reviews on this modem (recommended by my isp). Some said it was hard to install, others said it was easy. I'd say easy as it took about 10-15 minutes to get it installed and up and running. Since the install I've had no problems with the unit or it's performance. Highly recommend this modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2163109538
My Best Buy number: 2163109538
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

It works

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: tay829
from FWB, FL
on 09/30/2014
It is a cable modem, there is nothing that special about it. Perhaps if I were using a higher speed package, it would get a chance to shine? We stream Netflix, youtube, and browse the internet normally. Netflix does at times, have to cache before giving full quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0391131642
My Best Buy number: 0391131642
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Nice modem upgrade for better speed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mark44
from Lynchburg VA
on 09/29/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy of use and setup
What's not so great: Lights on front a actually too bright
Replaced a 5 year old cable modem with this model and have been very pleased with it's performance and setup.
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0402352448
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola products are dependable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Computer564XL
from Glendale, AZ
on 09/28/2014
What's great about it: It has a faster speed than my old modem
What's not so great: Nothing
My old modem stop working so when I looked for a new one Motorola was my top consideration due to their products being dependable. It is working great and I have faster speed. I know it is last for years.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2787535287
My Best Buy number: 2787535287
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works for me

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: t234
on 09/27/2014
I purchased this so I don't have to pay the monthly Comcast fee for the modem. It is working fine for me. I am happy with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0570244804
My Best Buy number: 0570244804
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

no fuss or muss

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pierre13
from Corte Madera CA
on 09/27/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to set up
this was a replacement modem, it was just plug and play...
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0395283330
My Best Buy number: 0395283330
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Cable modem that meet the need

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kongster
from Chandler, AZ
on 09/27/2014
This modem replaced my 7 years old cable modem also from Motorola. I had to upgrade my internet speed and it trigger the need to purchase this modem. Since I had positive experience with my prior Motorola brand modem, I decided to purchase another one from Motorola. So far so good, this is not the kind of product that we write home about but it is a necessary item. After over 1 month of use, it has been stable and provide good consistent speed for me and my household.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0780859089
My Best Buy number: 0780859089
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy, Easy, Easy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TechChallenged
on 09/27/2014
I refused to pay a cable company money to rent a modem! So off we go to Best Buy...ordered on line, picked up in store, one phone call to said cable company to give them the model#'s and other info and DONE!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1044614703
My Best Buy number: 1044614703
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: athurston
on 09/27/2014
As a college student, this product works great for my needs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0591607589
My Best Buy number: 0591607589
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kidzbonz
on 09/26/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Easy set up and connections. Provides good through put
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0216047134
My Best Buy number: 0216047134
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

So much faster than what I expected.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JerriBB
from Tx
on 09/26/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Loving the speed compared to what I had before. Easy to review before I purchased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0418348688
My Best Buy number: 0418348688
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Best one for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sjoemari
on 09/26/2014
It is one of the best product in the market and can't beat the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2840785512
My Best Buy number: 2840785512
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mudfest
from Chaska, MN
on 09/26/2014
I replaced this for Comcast modem. My internet speed increased by 5 meg
very happy with this modem & no monthly fee to Comcast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2640963271
My Best Buy number: 2640963271
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rrsawyer
on 09/26/2014
Works as advertised. No drama, no issues, it just works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2003102927
My Best Buy number: 2003102927
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great cable modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dimsumkid
on 09/26/2014
I was a bit concerned about this purchase since I had no history of buying a cable modem for Comcast service. I must say that the performance has been outstanding, no service issues or outages at all. This has been in service for almost a month, so we're very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0411857842
My Best Buy number: 0411857842
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 44 next>>