Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.586 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(954 Reviews) 954
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 954 reviews
5 stars
668
4 stars
222
3 stars
39
2 stars
5
1 star
20
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
903 out of 954
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+528points
605out of 682found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jackiegigi
on 10/19/2014
I'm very satisfied with this excellent product , love it !
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0533172601
My Best Buy number: 0533172601
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: clos72
on 10/19/2014
good for 2 streaming at same time .my 2 kids watch Netflix at the same time.works great
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2833445393
My Best Buy number: 2833445393
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy to set up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Perryjoh
from Paywall up
on 10/19/2014
This modem was extremely easy to set up. I'm no expert at this type of stuff but was able to get it running with no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0025185553
My Best Buy number: 0025185553
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ddeevv
from Marshall,Il
on 10/18/2014
Modem was easy to set up and speed is very good. I was happy with the price and the unit is attractive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2678098945
My Best Buy number: 2678098945
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy to Connect, Fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nelsonspc01
on 10/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
The connection process was easy, had more of an issue with comcast that the actual modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0531077472
My Best Buy number: 0531077472
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Perfect replacement for cable co. device.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: buybuy
on 10/18/2014
Works perfectly. Have had issue with service from our internet provider but modem does its job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2967761581
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

It does the job-mostly

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: houeric
from Houston, TX
on 10/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Admittedly I'm not sure if it's my provider or this modem, but anytime I disconnect my laptop and then bring it back home I have to unplug/reset the modem or it won't recognize the connection. And because the modem comes with a 1/2 page piece of paper as instructions/troubleshooting, there's nowhere to go for help.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0545615547
My Best Buy number: 0545615547
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

WIFE LOVES IT

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SICKRICK69
on 10/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
BOUGHT THIS FOR MY WIFE'S SCHOOL WORK, SHE SIMPLE LOVES THE OPERATIONS OF THIS MACHINE; THANK YOU RICK
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0582290950
My Best Buy number: 0582290950
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Superb 2-in1 Router/Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dwhite
on 10/18/2014
Excellent quality product. Never have had to restart, gets a great signal!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2933039454
My Best Buy number: 2933039454
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

very good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: paxzie
on 10/17/2014
This really worked for me, at least it gave me peace of mind and it's really fast, as advertised again it's easy to install
I would recommend this to a friend!
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Nice cable modem for someone who wants flexibility

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dock
on 10/17/2014
I purchased this at Best Buy for less than a year's cable modem rental from Comcast. Why rent a modem for $8 a month when you can buy one cheaper and own it when you're move on?
I choose this over a cable modem with an embedded Wi-Fi router for two reasons. First, I prefer to use my own modified router running OpenWRT. Second, I don't want to give Comcast the ability to turn my personal internet connection into a hot spot for others which could slow down my connection speed. (I'm not sure if they could do that with a model I purchased independently, but I'm not taking the chance.)
It was very simple to install and set up. If you're comfortable with your ability to plug in 3 cables, prefer to save money by buying a modem as opposed to renting, and have (or want to buy) a separate wireless router that you can configure this is something you should definitely look into.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3442033711
My Best Buy number: 3442033711
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

higher speeds as promised

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: patricm59
on 10/17/2014
Fast set with Cox rep was up and running in 10 minutes
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0582233070
My Best Buy number: 0582233070
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

highly satisfied

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: engineer
on 10/17/2014
The modem was easy to install and I was online quickly. No problems with functionality
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2665387724
My Best Buy number: 2665387724
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Does the job!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ChevinKen
on 10/17/2014
Bought 3 this past year with no complaints. Handles anything thrown at it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1031838884
My Best Buy number: 1031838884
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Solid performance

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NYCGuy
on 10/17/2014
My previous modem would periodically lose its connection but I haven't had to restart this modem once since installing it a few months ago.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2844227957
My Best Buy number: 2844227957
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great for small home use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: er1n
on 10/17/2014
Works great for our few devices un home!!! Juat what we needed and reasonable price
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2549294797
My Best Buy number: 2549294797
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great modem...easy install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rief
from 34109
on 10/17/2014
Great modem..easy install..instant speed increase on internet. Great customer service at the Naples store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2140596214
My Best Buy number: 2140596214
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Djh11488
on 10/17/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
pick one up so you don't have to pay comcast any more money! It ends up paying for itself. Works much better then what they offer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0960581823
My Best Buy number: 0960581823
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works as advertised

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: danigo
on 10/17/2014
Great product, when I was checking out the guy told me I had to call the cable company so they could set it up in their system and send a signal. It was simple to hook up, made the call and it was up and running in just a couple of minutes. No problems at this time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2665331703
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 48 next>>