Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(752 Reviews) 752
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 752 reviews
5 stars
522
4 stars
180
3 stars
28
2 stars
5
1 star
17
94% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
709 out of 752
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+504points
578out of 652found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Simple modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jackson
from Denver
on 08/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple to setup, not expensive
Old modem died and picked up a new one that was inexpensive and works well with my router. No problems so far.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2854544327
My Best Buy number: 2854544327
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

About two and a half times faster. And will save $

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Larry
from Fullerton, CA
on 08/17/2014
What's great about it: Faster speeds, and will save me money in the long run
What's not so great: Nothing
Time Warner's rented modem ($5.99/month) gave me 22 Mbps download speed. My new SB6121 modem now gives me 54 Mbps.
Time Warner's modem gave me 2 Mbps upload speed. The SB6121 now gives me 5.4 Mbps.
And as soon as I can return Time Warner's modem to one of their offices, that will eliminate their irritating rental charge. I will then make my money back on the cost of this SB6121 in 12 months.
This product has... Fast connection
About me... normal home user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great for price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mom200
from round rock, tx
on 08/17/2014
What's great about it: good for what we need it for
We bought it so we don't have to pay our cable company a monthly charge. Should of thought of it sooner.
This product has... Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2526944868
My Best Buy number: 2526944868
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mattyb
on 08/16/2014
Works great so far. Easy to hook up, quick speeds, no issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0230568998
My Best Buy number: 0230568998
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great stuff

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Wasupyo
from Memphis, tn
on 08/16/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good easy set up
What's not so great: gets hot while running
get this thing, good price and works! u gotta get this thing bran
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2953469149
My Best Buy number: 2953469149
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Really delivers fast data speeds.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: moto
on 08/16/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
It's exactly the router for my needs. The best buy rep was right on. Have not had a single issue with it. And it's supported by comcast (so far )
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2814280845
My Best Buy number: 2814280845
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Exceptional Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mthurs01
from logan, ut
on 08/16/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
It was easy to setup and I love the fact that it has the gigabit lan speeds. Getting Comcast to install was another story.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0393368831
My Best Buy number: 0393368831
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Hdc14
on 08/16/2014
It good device had a few of them n they never cash or I never had problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2836388468
My Best Buy number: 2836388468
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Better then Cable company Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sunil
from Bay Area
on 08/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy installation, setup in minutes
Easy installation, easy setup. Replaced cable company modem
This product has... Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2572155003
My Best Buy number: 2572155003
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

good , worth for money, get continuous good speed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sachma912
from 78728
on 08/15/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: worth for money paid. easy to install and use. helped good network connectivity compared to using all in One
What's not so great: No complaints
worth for money paid. easy to install and use. helped good network connectivity compared to using all in One( modem+wireless router in one box). i had lot of iisues with modem supplied by TWC and having replced with this, I am happy with Network connection and speed
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2972870971
My Best Buy number: 2972870971
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bella
from Youngstown
on 08/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Didn't take long to have it up and running, so far only dropped offline a couple of times during the second month of use. In general, it's a good device for wireless router
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0538172101
My Best Buy number: 0538172101
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good design.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rick
from Portland
on 08/15/2014
What's great about it: Is functional and small.
I purchased this modem to save on leasing from Comcast. It is been my experience that I like this modem better then the Comcast modem. I would recommend it to anyone who wanted to save on their modem lease.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2664611158
My Best Buy number: 2664611158
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Joeblow63
from Oakland park, FL
on 08/15/2014
Easy installation. Priced good and great quality. Great product name that I trust.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2279261151
My Best Buy number: 2279261151
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shuhdi
on 08/15/2014
Replaced my old zoom modem , this one is great ,,,, Best speed in years
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1035330513
My Best Buy number: 1035330513
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

worked good for comcast service.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dejavu
on 08/15/2014
I returned my Comcast modem to eliminate monthly fee and purchase this modem ,it works well with Comcast 's network.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2160757121
My Best Buy number: 2160757121
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem at reasonable price. Easy to install

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Azzybaby
on 08/15/2014
Great modem at a reasonable price. Easy to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0308480771
My Best Buy number: 0308480771
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Does what it's supposed to.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: detroitwinter
from phoenix, az
on 08/15/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: it works
What's not so great: nothing yet.
had to purchase a new modem because the previous one i had (netgear) didn't have the cable plug needed. it works. but like anything else get a warranty and keep your receipts just in case... otherwise, it does its job and no complaints so far.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 3316546248
My Best Buy number: 3316546248
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Happy with Motorola products.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Karen
from Phoenix, AZ
on 08/15/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price
What's not so great: n/a
Always purchase Motorola product. My last modem lasted longer than most. Good product.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0202915355
My Best Buy number: 0202915355
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Modem practically installed itself!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TimM
from Franklin TN
on 08/15/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything wireless in my apartment just works
What's not so great: Comcast is what's not so great...
Modem is great...true plug and play...it just works...thanks!
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2921351551
My Best Buy number: 2921351551
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 38 next>>