Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.592 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(659 Reviews) 659
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 659 reviews
5 stars
470
4 stars
146
3 stars
22
2 stars
5
1 star
16
94% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
620 out of 659
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+489points
563out of 637found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Cable Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: akppat
from Vernon Hills
on 07/22/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem is great for your home. It is easy to install and provide great performance
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0760871421
My Best Buy number: 0760871421
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Very Good Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LeneLene
from Chesapeake, VA
on 07/21/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up for me
I have not had any issues. I kept losing my internet connection so I was a little concerned as to whether I needed a modem or another router. Since the modem was many, many years old I decided to replace it.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0906498734
My Best Buy number: 0906498734
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: popeye13433
from Detroit Mi
on 07/20/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Saves me from rental
This unit works with comcast and i will have it paid for in 8 months.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0533754609
My Best Buy number: 0533754609
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent Modem for students

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ValueShopper007
from Louisiana
on 07/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Breeze to set up, super fast connection
What's not so great: none
This Motorola Docsis 3.0 modem was a huge upgrade over my last modem (Docsis 2.0). If you are paying for preferred connection speed or greater from your internet provider, I definitely would recommend this modem to achieve much greater internet speed.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0962867925
My Best Buy number: 0962867925
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

easy to set up/ reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bronco844
from Lebanon,pa
on 07/19/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: easy to set up
CSR at store was informative. recommended this one. good choice
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2499044626
My Best Buy number: 2499044626
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

works good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: snickers
from Lafayette, IN
on 07/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
A little time consuming to set up, but once it is working, it is great for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2177036127
My Best Buy number: 2177036127
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jayce
on 07/18/2014
Cheap, and useful item, I don't need to rent Comcast modem
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2732019541
My Best Buy number: 2732019541
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lobito
from Southern California
on 07/18/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up
We researched cable modems and this one came up the winner of all the requirements. Speed and value.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2587964287
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

too good?!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: markthearch
on 07/18/2014
After paying charter $8/month for several years, we bought our own
..this Belkin router
. a few weeks later, when we were having some unrelated problem, charter told us our router was "too good" and we should sign up for more speed so it would work better. Nice try. Point being..buy your own belkin router..don't rent from the cable company...that hate this!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0085777507
My Best Buy number: 0085777507
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent Modem -- Easy Set Up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cak720
from Seattle, WA
on 07/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy Set Up, Good Price
Excellent alternative to paying Xfinity every month for rental fees !!! Easy to set up, just plug it in and call to activate. Would recommend for anyone.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0561123521
My Best Buy number: 0561123521
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: janthony99
from Memphis
on 07/18/2014
Happy with the product, works well, and the value was good
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2023526963
My Best Buy number: 2023526963
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works With Brighthouse

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TrinReviews
on 07/18/2014
It's a modem. Overpriced in my opinion as the tech hasn't changed in 5+ years nor has the price. But, better than paying a rental fee every month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2107164241
My Best Buy number: 2107164241
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

easy installation - just plug in

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CommonCents
on 07/18/2014
What's great about it: works as described / easy installation`
What's not so great: don't forget to call cable company even if it works on installation
This product was very easy and quick to install - just plug in and it works. However, if you use cable, don't forget to notify the cable company even if it works as it may give you trouble later without cable company registration.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 0106602061
My Best Buy number: 0106602061
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Highly impressive performance gain

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Heaven1
from Seattle, WA
on 07/18/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Performance, easy setup
What's not so great: High price
The product improved my internet speed tremendously. I upgraded to a 20Mbps Comcast service simply because I thought I didn't have fast-enough internet. Comcast sold me the connection, but things didn't get better.
An employee at Best Buy helped me out and picked this modem and an N900 router. Ever since then, I've actually downgraded to a slower Internet speed and had better performance than my old modem/router on the 20Mbps Internet.
Highly recommend!
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 584874677
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works well for our home use.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kimberly
from Tulsa, OK
on 07/14/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Works well for our needs. Easy set up. small and stylish. Priced well for what we needed.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Heavy media streamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0325227199
My Best Buy number: 0325227199
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

So simple to install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cgrantski
from Midwest
on 07/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Instructions and onscreen help - perfect
It took about three minutes to install this and get it going. It has been working perfectly (as far as I can tell) since then.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2929970990
My Best Buy number: 2929970990
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great for Comcast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kdawgg
on 07/13/2014
Bought this modem instead of having to pay monthly fees for renting from Comcast. Set up is easy and it works great, haven't had any problems in the month I've owned it so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2102502864
My Best Buy number: 2102502864
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy setup.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Dave
from Green Bay, WI
on 07/13/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Easy setup. Works as promised. Good savings over leasing from cable company.
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0070906141
My Best Buy number: 0070906141
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mvaughan
on 07/11/2014
I received great service and advice when I purchased this product. My internet runs great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2200112729
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>