Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(462 Reviews) 462
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 462 reviews
5 stars
333
4 stars
91
3 stars
19
2 stars
4
1 star
15
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
427 out of 462
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+467points
530out of 593found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Fast Doc 3 Speeds

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sheryle
from Atlanta, GA
on 04/16/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: EAsy setup
It is a good modem and I wouldn't buy anything other than the Doc3 mondems anymore. I have Comcast Cable internet and purchased to use my own modem instead of renting.
This product has... Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 0325953807
My Best Buy number: 0325953807
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Vicster1234
from Kent, WA
on 04/16/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Nothing yet
Finally had enough with Comcast when I found out the modem I had been paying to rent was outdated and could not handle the service I was being charged for so gave them it back and went out and bought this one and am so glad I did. It was easy to set up and works great.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0572700650
My Best Buy number: 0572700650
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

awesome modem for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: COYETE2
from NORTH DARTMOUTH MASS
on 04/14/2014
What's great about it: ease of installation
What's not so great: nothing yet
bought this modem to replace one that is rented from cable company. very easy to install. plug and play. awesome
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2200625304
My Best Buy number: 2200625304
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great substitute for Time Warner's data modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CincyJohnD
from Cincinnati, Ohio
on 04/14/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: This was a piece of cake to setup and start using.
I've been dragging my feet purchasing my own cable modem since Time Warner started charging a monthly rental fee on theirs. After finding out that this purchase would pay for itself in just 8 months, I was little upset that I didn't do it sooner. There are two minor glitches about this modem that you need to know about. The first is that it is DATA only. If you're also using Time Warner phone service, you'll need to keep the existing modem. You will NOT be charged a monthly rental fee from Time Warner if you keep their modem for voice data. The second issue is that you will need a digital splitter from Time Warner before installing the data modem. The splitter and appropriate cables can be picked up at a Time Warner store at no cost. I've been running my Surfboard just over a month and have had no interruption of service. This modem did seem just a tad faster than the original modem.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 0052566158
My Best Buy number: 0052566158
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy to set up and works great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tebohn
from Jacksonville, NC
on 04/14/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up
I bought this to avoid paying a monthly modem fee to my internet provider. Does a great job and was easy to set up.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2577264922
My Best Buy number: 2577264922
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DealSeeker
from dallas, tx
on 04/14/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast and easy to install
I was tired of leasing a modem from my cable company, so I decided to buy this one. I have had it for about a month, and so far it has delivered great speeds and better connection than my leased modem. I will recommended to everyone.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2590422514
My Best Buy number: 2590422514
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Used to replace Comcast equipment.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: hal37
from Lower Burrell, Pa
on 04/13/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Don't know; could not use. Not compatable with Comcast.
What's not so great: Don't know!
It seems that only equipment that was supplied by Comcast works with Comcast. I guess I have to continue to pay the rental fee or switch from Comcast.
This product has... not compatible with comcast.
About me... Computer technology challenged
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0548260881
My Best Buy number: 0548260881
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Very good modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: iselin
from iselin
on 04/13/2014
What's great about it: easy connect and great works
What's not so great: had to register with comcast
Comcast upgraded my internet speed to 105Mbps. so cant go with my docsis2.0 modem happend to be motorola again.
so switched to this modem and got upto 95Mbps downstream when wired.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2199138618
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good, basic modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: HappyCustomer
on 04/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good for the price
It worked as described. We have had zero problems with it. It's not the fastest available, but it accomplished what we needed it for.
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0537550740
My Best Buy number: 0537550740
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: monk
from la
on 04/12/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Very easy set up. Needed the new router & modem for Time Warner internet set up for computer & Roku. Used about a month & so far so good.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2584699953
My Best Buy number: 2584699953
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great overall modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SilverJ
from American Fork Utah
on 04/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Very simple to set up. Great speed
What's not so great: Internet speeds never max out the capabilities
I needed a new modem and chose to go with this surfboard. I read other reviews and compared this model with the two more expensive models. My internet maxes out at 50 Mbps so the more expensive models are yes faster but the speed of the internet will always determine the speed of processing and is just a waste of money. This is great for our family.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2872883460
My Best Buy number: 2872883460
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

awesome modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Buddy001
from York, Pa
on 04/12/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of use
What's not so great: nothing
great modem, it will pay for itself in under a year, get rid of your rental modem, buy this 1
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2702018093
My Best Buy number: 2702018093
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works perfect with comcast xfinity

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dakii
from vacaville, ca
on 04/12/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to set up
What's not so great: nothing
bought this to use with my comcast xfinity internet. better than what xfinity was offering and pays for itself in less than a year. such a deal!
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0551329612
My Best Buy number: 0551329612
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good device

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DragonRowen
from Seattle, Wa
on 04/12/2014
What's great about it: good price
We like the device. It replaced an old modem that was out if date. We did have to call the cable company to get it set up properly and could not just plug it in. But that was because of the cable service. I would recommend this device to everyone. It's fast and we have not had any problems with the bandwidth slowing down.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Does what its supposed to do

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bodiggity
from los angeles, ca
on 04/12/2014
What's great about it: Brings internet
What's not so great: Time Warner Cable
It brings you internet and will pay for itself fairly quickly when you consider the cost to rent from your service provider. Chances are its comcast or time warner. I have a "choice" between the two and now that they're the same, choosing the right isp provider is now easier than ever.
This device is compatible with TWC.
You can connect it to a more powerful router if you have a large area to cover with many devices, or live in a nuclear bunker with lead-lined drywall.
It does its job, which is to bring internet into your home. It wont fix a bad connection due to servicer issues.
This product has... Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2839517988
My Best Buy number: 2839517988
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

better than expected

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: embro441
from marietta, ga
on 04/12/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of installation and power
Had been wanting too upgrade for a while this was a excellent buy and a decent price
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2276997763
My Best Buy number: 2276997763
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

graet buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mimi
from washington state
on 04/12/2014
What's great about it: it takes care of the whole house.
What's not so great: nothing
The price was right and this services the whole house for internet and casting from other devices to the tv.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0542417045
My Best Buy number: 0542417045
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy set-up...works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bailuke
from Dallas, TX
on 04/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy to set up. Product Manuel is easy to understand
Works great. No complaints. I would buy it again. I have to put 50 characters in this space and I have nothing important left to say.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2948159628
My Best Buy number: 2948159628
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Ease to instal great performance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Saravana
from Fl
on 04/12/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works great for large home connection
Ease to instal with Comcast internet povider. Works great for a large home.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 1018298939
My Best Buy number: 1018298939
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>