Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(815 Reviews) 815
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 815 reviews
5 stars
566
4 stars
193
3 stars
33
2 stars
5
1 star
18
94% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
768 out of 815
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+514points
588out of 662found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great router/modem for a beginner

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: pogi9284
from Richmond, VA
on 09/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Nothing
This router/modem is great for easy installation in the apartment.
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2523153379
My Best Buy number: 2523153379
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: roshawn13
from Fort Wayne, Indiana
on 09/14/2014
What's great about it: Name brand
What's not so great: N/A
Good modem for the price and in an apartment. I have had no problems.
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2979820801
My Best Buy number: 2979820801
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Really good modem!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Troy
from Baton Rouge , La
on 09/14/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: FAST
Great value! Download speeds are really fast. Easy to install.. Had to call ISP to add this modem to my account before it would actually work, but that was a short and easy process.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0744094686
My Best Buy number: 0744094686
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy, cheap, and reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Natedogg123
from Manchester, nh
on 09/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to set up, good price, reliable connection
What's not so great: nothing so far
I went out and bought this after having a problem with another cable modem/router combo went on the fritz after 2 months. This was about half the cost of the other one i had bought originally and works way better. Side note: in order to get WiFi again i did have to purchase a router to go with this unit. This unit is rated 3 stars for Comcast and the other more expensive units are ranked 1 star for Comcast support. so do yourself a favor and cheap out on this one. You'll love the fact that you did.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2014189764
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Awesome product!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Paliboy
on 09/13/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Super fast modem works well when other devices are being used at the same time..!!! This product is must buy!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2930146780
My Best Buy number: 2930146780
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Solid signal and fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chemist
on 09/13/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This modem delivers as promised on my Time Warner internet. It is star and the signal is strong. It delivers the speeds promised overall it give a strong performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2945438801
My Best Buy number: 2945438801
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Perfect for what I needed

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: logey2011
on 09/12/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Overall, this product is perfect for what I needed to do. Just living in an apartment and didn't want a very expensive modem but one that was reliable and this one is not expensive but still great quality. Haven't had any problems with it. I previously had a NETGEAR and this is equally as good.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2833246280
My Best Buy number: 2833246280
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Ridiculously Easy Install for First-timer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ERock
from Charlottesville, VA
on 09/12/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plug-and-play install, everything you need is in the box. Eliminated my modem rental fee from Comcast
What's not so great: Nothing so far.
Bought this because I had been getting a random decreases in WiFi signal strength in my apartment, and the signal would sometimes disconnect. bought a new router (Netgear AC1200) to replace the old Comcast one I was renting. That fixed the signal strength issue, but I would still sometimes disconnect entirely. Obviously frustrating if you are playing games online. So, next step was I bought this router.
Opened the box, followed the instructions (Unplug router, plug coaxial cable and power cable into modem, use included ethernet cable to link modem to router, power on modem, power on router, thats it). Once all the right lights were flashing (under 5 min) I just opened an internet browser on one of my devices, which then took me to a Comcast device authentication page. All I had to do was put in my Comcast sign-in and password, and I was good to go. 2 minutes later, I was up and running.
My connection has been smooth as butter ever since. Really wish I had done this years ago. I bought this for a little over $80 (I think?), and when you figure I have been paying Comcast $8 a month for 24 months, that's $192. This modem would have payed for itself 2 1/2 times by now! I would have had an extra $110 bucks in my bank account. Also, this modem is "future proof" in that it is running on DOCSIS 3.0, which will be the new standard cable companies everywhere will be using to distribute their services in the future.
Bottom Line: I have had this for a few months now with no hiccups. Buy one! Invest in your home network, stop paying your cable company to rent when you can own!
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, small form factor
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, online gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 0593842650
My Best Buy number: 0593842650
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

I like it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JoeKing
on 09/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
No problems with it. It does the job I need and has enough ports for what I have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0563881498
My Best Buy number: 0563881498
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem for great price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LadyGamer
from Charles Town, WV
on 09/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great price, easy to set up, comcast approved, no issues
What's not so great: nothing at this time
We use this for a 3 level townhome and it works well. We have 5 people using internet in our home on different levels and we are all gamers as well. There are of course better modems out there, but for the price, this is a good choice.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0774305691
My Best Buy number: 0774305691
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Flawless

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dadoftwo
on 09/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Easy to set up and so far no problems with dropping signal. Sends full mb also
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2700414286
My Best Buy number: 2700414286
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ckfoushe
on 09/12/2014
Good product, does what it is designed to do. No issues
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2595728352
My Best Buy number: 2595728352
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy to use plug and play

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Midnite
from Tulsa, OK
on 09/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Easy to install. Fully supported by COX communications
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2182075555
My Best Buy number: 2182075555
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TechGuy
on 09/12/2014
This modem was easy to set up and works effortlessly with my apple time machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1017221082
My Best Buy number: 1017221082
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Not fast enough

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Supermanjdv
from Castaic,CA
on 09/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Wouldn't allow me to get my maximin speed with time warner cable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2113877012
My Best Buy number: 2113877012
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

It's a modem.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Metalman99
from Baytown, TX
on 09/11/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's a modem.
What's not so great: It's a modem.
It's a modem. Not much more to say. Plug it into the wall, plug in the cable and plug in computer, done.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0569851532
My Best Buy number: 0569851532
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

It is easy to install and works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sandeep
from redmond, wa
on 09/08/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to install
It is easy to install and works great. It is fast.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2818937189
My Best Buy number: 2818937189
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

In, Up, & Running

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Griever
on 09/07/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quick & easy to set up
I decided to buy this since paying the cable company to rent one would of cost a bit more in a year than this would of cost.
Getting this set up is quick & easy like plug & play. Haven't had a problem with the speed of it & no lagging yet. Ran a speed test on it & was very happy with it.
Manual tells you what the lights mean on the front & they are bright enough to see. Good size & weight to it. I did check to see if it is compatible with the cable company (comcast) & it is. I've read a few who said they had problems with this one even if they said it's compatible. No issue with me on this.
Comes with all you need to connect. Unless you have to go further away, than you may need to get longer wires. Manufacturer warranty is for a year I believe. So, even if it fails within there. It's still worth the cost of buying it than renting one. I've had Motorola products before & I've really never had a problem with them. They lasted for a very long time!
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2750090140
My Best Buy number: 2750090140
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

works great upload is fast download is amazing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: reube22
from ca
on 09/06/2014
What's great about it: easy to set up for all devices
What's not so great: nothing
was one of the most user friendly items to set up took a total of 5 mins
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2197976823
My Best Buy number: 2197976823
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 41 next>>