Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.573 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1276 Reviews) 1276
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,276 reviews
5 stars
882
4 stars
305
3 stars
54
2 stars
8
1 star
27
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,211 out of 1,276
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+554points
635out of 716found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy to set up and go

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: triguy
on 12/18/2014
I have now been using the Motorola Surfboard modem for nearly 2 months and am pleased with the ease of set up and it's reliable connection so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2956451028
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy install and good speed.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Patrick
on 12/18/2014
This is a good product to take home and plug and play.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2795294022
My Best Buy number: 2795294022
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great, reliable, and fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tdiedrich
on 12/18/2014
Works great as advertised. Easy to hook up. I am actually achieving slightly over the advertised speeds that Comcast specified on our plan with this modem. Have been very impressed with the reliability of these Motorola modems as this one replaced a 3 year old Motorola "Surfboard" modem that was still going strong and simply need the speed updated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2656878460
My Best Buy number: 2656878460
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

replace Comcast modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MattinPA
on 12/17/2014
Get this to replace your Comcast modem. It works better than the one they give you and it pays for itself after a few months
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2676724945
My Best Buy number: 2676724945
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Has functioned with no problems.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TalEHo
from Centennial, CO
on 12/17/2014
I purchased this modem because Comcast said my old modem wouldn't be fast enough to make full use of their internet speed. So far, the modem has worked well. When I purchased it, the modem I wanted was sold out, so I got this one. The only issue I might have in the future is if I wanted to get cable phone service, this modem would not work. As of now, that is not a problem, and I am happy with this modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0200228693
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

So far so good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ryan
on 12/17/2014
Got this modem because of its higher throughput than most other modems out there around the same price. I had to replace a Linksys that was a couple years old. Usually, I go with Cisco/Linksys for my routers and modems but the last few devices I've bought have been disappointments (they were wireless routers, not modems, but still...). I will be going with Motorola for my routers switches and modems until I find a reason not to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2926412103
My Best Buy number: 2926412103
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great product great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jessica
on 12/17/2014
I was a little concerned because this is such an inexpensive model. it was really easy to set up and works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2285913501
My Best Buy number: 2285913501
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Orili
on 12/17/2014
Definitely better than anything the cable company will provide. I have no complaints.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2797515088
My Best Buy number: 2797515088
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gomoni
on 12/17/2014
Easy to install and works great. Once all hooked up just call your cable provider to configure and your ready to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2343057758
My Best Buy number: 2343057758
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Seems to work fine

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SJFROGGY
from Kailua HI
on 12/17/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Bought the modem to get out from under Oceanic's monthly charge for it, and we accomplished that. Good job by associate explaining features.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0558761446
My Best Buy number: 0558761446
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

easy to set up for anyone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gins
on 12/17/2014
modem is simple and easy to set up. Price is good...saves you money on those monthly modem fees from cable/internet providers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1005463869
My Best Buy number: 1005463869
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy setup. No hassles.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Costanza1969
from Kalamazoo, MI
on 12/15/2014
I would recommend this to anyone who is a seasoned IT person or the novice alike. Easy setup with no issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0538844107
My Best Buy number: 0538844107
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nate
from Ohio
on 12/14/2014
Easy set up, works great, no problems. Why lease a modem from TWC when I can buy a better one this cheap?!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2103493178
My Best Buy number: 2103493178
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Basic modem

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: amandadc
from Washington, DC
on 12/14/2014
Good for internet, got this because it was basic and cheap. Lifetime isn't so good which is why I gave it 3 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Wish it had built-in wifi

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ABRL
on 12/14/2014
I chose SB6121 over other options because it had the highest rating in Comcast approved modems list for my connection speed. The modem performs as expected; set it up and forget about it. I only wish it had built-in wifi, but the price makes up for this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2878821466
My Best Buy number: 2878821466
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great buy - works well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Grandpapag
on 12/13/2014
Solved all of our wireless issues with our 14 devices.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2180882940
My Best Buy number: 2180882940
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jenFL
on 12/13/2014
This is holding up good so far with no issues at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2709013954
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JayZ
on 12/13/2014
Needed to upgrade my modem by Comcast. Based on the recommendation of the sales people at Best Buy bought the Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0. has worked out great
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2369890698
My Best Buy number: 2369890698
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jmgr
on 12/13/2014
great internet modem...sure beats paying the local cable company monthly...works well
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2175994788
My Best Buy number: 2175994788
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 64 next>>