Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1000 Reviews) 1000
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,000 reviews
5 stars
696
4 stars
235
3 stars
42
2 stars
6
1 star
21
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
947 out of 1,000
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+536points
613out of 690found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Gets the job done!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Pandabearman
on 11/01/2014
It's required if you are using comcast. It is nice and quiet .NOthing too special . It gets the job done. Too expenisve though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2286960115
My Best Buy number: 2286960115
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

There are better modems

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: z3540
from Dover, DE
on 10/31/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
While we did not have any problems with this modem, the maximum speed is not as fast as the Zoom DOCSIS 3.0 model. We exchanged for that model.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0784589869
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Decent modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: peaks14000
from Colorado Springs
on 10/31/2014
Easy to install, works well, no issues - recommended
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3305146152
My Best Buy number: 3440799299
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

I like it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Karin99
from Loveland Colorado
on 10/29/2014
Faster than the last one. Good product. Glad I bought it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2644701046
My Best Buy number: 2644701046
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lucia91
on 10/29/2014
I loved it highly recomended I don't have any issues, the speed is super fast I can watch Netflix all the time with no interruptions no buffering and I can still use all my phones and tablets without any trouble...
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0113446122
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Had to exchange it right awat!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Wayne
from Bolingbrook, IL
on 10/29/2014
The unit I purchased was still in use by another party. The source that it came from was counterfeit. I really can't trust it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0320491731
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fanzyshmanzy
on 10/29/2014
This modem works great and was really easy to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0230254761
My Best Buy number: 0230254761
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: schlitz
on 10/29/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
I purchased this a month ago when I switched my service to Time Warner and everything works just fine. Not a bad price either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0077765598
My Best Buy number: 0077765598
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Reliable modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AN0075
on 10/28/2014
I had purchase this modem so that I can get high speed internet from my cable company. I could not get the full speed with my older modem. So far this is working good and able to get good speed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0594681265
My Best Buy number: 0594681265
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works well

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: drewsmith14
on 10/28/2014
No complaints about this product. Works well though not wifi enabled.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2964145650
My Best Buy number: 2964145650
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good speed and reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Andrew
on 10/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Good speed and reliable. No drop outs after a few months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2032287138
My Best Buy number: 2032287138
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

easy for a first time use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jdsh
on 10/27/2014
So far it's worked great. Internet sites load fine and I've nit not any problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2680335762
My Best Buy number: 2680335762
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent modem 3.0

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gatorjag
on 10/26/2014
Comcast compatible , very fast, very easy to set up. This modem is saving me almost $100 a year in rental fees. Well worth the investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2145588337
My Best Buy number: 2145588337
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

1st 1 bad 2nd 1 good

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Tex489
on 10/26/2014
First unit was dead on arrival. 2 lights on constantly. Second worked after the cable company fixed there end.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2512690472
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

easy to install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Darkanubis
from Kanevill, Il
on 10/25/2014
speeds are very good when provider is working (Mediacom) they seem to have issues in this area everyday .
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0418986729
My Best Buy number: 0418986729
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable M

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: annette
on 10/25/2014
We have absolutely no problem with this product. It took absolutely no effort to set up. It works every time need to get online and we have great connectivity. Fast, smooth, fun…….. great for the non-tech tech…..
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0956832250
My Best Buy number: 0956832250
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works good

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ozzybrunner
on 10/25/2014
I would tell my friends about this item because it's a great and easy to work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2122692552
My Best Buy number: 2122692552
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Adequate Modem for the Price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TechB
on 10/25/2014
My cable company required me to buy a new cable modem for their "faster" speeds and this was the best priced option at the store. It works about as well as the old modem (which I liked well enough) so no complaints from me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2266686370
My Best Buy number: 2266686370
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Definitely the router to have at a good price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kyudoman
from portland, or
on 10/25/2014
Del.ivered as promised...good range and 25% faster than the one I replaced...easy to install and get recognized by Comcast
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2197016369
My Best Buy number: 2197016369
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 50 next>>