Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1146 Reviews) 1146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,146 reviews
5 stars
797
4 stars
271
3 stars
48
2 stars
7
1 star
23
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,088 out of 1,146
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+545points
623out of 701found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

been working great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: estaban
on 11/26/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
no problems so far. It's been working as expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3304543778
My Best Buy number: 3304543778
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JoeM
on 11/26/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Works great, and is much better than the garbage Comcast provides you with. Easy to set up and no issues noted yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2191747849
My Best Buy number: 2191747849
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Adaptable and reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Justiceman
from Maryland
on 11/26/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This works well with my Comcast service and a much cheaper option. Easy to setup too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2123767747
My Best Buy number: 2123767747
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Moviewatcher2014
from Indianapolis, IN
on 11/25/2014
I had purchase a cable modem/wireless router combined and it didn't fare very well. However, when replaced with this modem and a high-power router, i received every bit of data power i was paying for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2801971381
My Best Buy number: 2801971381
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Just what I needed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Justin
on 11/24/2014
Cox raised internet speeds in my area but a needed a Docsis 3.0 modem. This was just the trick for a great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2965048257
My Best Buy number: 2965048257
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Save Money by not Leasing from the Cable Company

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dassw001
from Orlando, FL
on 11/23/2014
This modem is great and just about the latest technology you need to connect to the internet today.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0218686898
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 750244
from Depew,ny
on 11/23/2014
I researched product online prior to purchase and was not disappointed. It performs well, has a great battery life. A great value .
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2353697036
My Best Buy number: 2353697036
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

a little tricky to set up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tjetmechii
on 11/23/2014
had to call the company to get the setup complete.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0767041896
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Itlb1104
on 11/23/2014
Bought this product to replace the one rented from cable company!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2851434355
My Best Buy number: 2851434355
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Cable Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CalcsDude
on 11/22/2014
I bought this Modem over two months ago. It was easy to set up. It has been working well ever since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2290159970
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Cable modem saves me rental fees

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jasenk
on 11/22/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This cable modem is a simple device that in the end will save you rental fees. I just called my internet service provider and I was back online rent free in 5 minutes. It's been rock solid since my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0578136767
My Best Buy number: 0578136767
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy modem setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: keeners
on 11/22/2014
I replaced this modem to upgrade my old one since Cox Cable suggested it. Set up was very easy, but you do have to call your internet provider in order to have it recognized by them. Very satisfied with it, no problems whatsover
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2113521427
My Best Buy number: 2113521427
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works well, easy set up.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FH24pa
on 11/22/2014
Easy to set up and connect. Works very well throughout the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0590411583
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great cabal modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: specialk2227
on 11/22/2014
Good price. Works great for my needs. Was cheaper online and they price matched it no problem
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0561792833
My Best Buy number: 0561792833
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great.So far, so good.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Shady
on 11/22/2014
I returned the standard issued TWC modem and replaced with this one, it works 20 times better than what I had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3315030038
My Best Buy number: 3315030038
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Love This Modem !!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: teracode
on 11/22/2014
Love This Modem !!!!
Works Great with TWC. ____________________
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0576713120
My Best Buy number: 0576713120
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Modem easy to hook up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: flosser
on 11/21/2014
Easy switching modem for someone that doesn't have any experience
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2808976358
My Best Buy number: 2627861071
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

it keeps my computer running fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 11/21/2014
it keep my computer moving fast and it runs smoothly while on the internet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0575916362
My Best Buy number: 0575916362
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mcdanst
on 11/21/2014
Easy to set up.compatible with most internet providers
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2285404528
My Best Buy number: 2285404528
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 58 next>>