Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(785 Reviews) 785
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 785 reviews
5 stars
549
4 stars
184
3 stars
30
2 stars
5
1 star
17
94% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
741 out of 785
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+507points
581out of 655found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Gator3384
from Oklahoma City, OK
on 08/31/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Increased speed
What's not so great: Intermittent connectivity
Loved it besides the intermittent dropped connection. But only has been issue twice.
This product has... Secure connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 1046449631
My Best Buy number: 1046449631
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

No dropped connections

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dlmk12
from Honolulu, HI
on 08/31/2014
What's great about it: Easy set up
Purchased to replace modem from Oceanic. Since replacing, we haven't had dropped connections to internet.
This product has... Easy to set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2662756745
My Best Buy number: 2662756745
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great product for a medium size home (2200 Sq ft)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DarrenJ
from lacey, WA
on 08/30/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up, no issues connecting to the internet. Coverage extend throughout the entire house
Provides outstanding coverage for our entire home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2132782250
My Best Buy number: 2132782250
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DB10
from 45044
on 08/30/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup, good price
What's not so great: Nothing
Good modem for those with good internet speed. Works well.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0020486365
My Best Buy number: 0020486365
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

easy set up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: poospie
from Chattanooga, tn
on 08/30/2014
Great product and easy set up for someone not very technical
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2128886535
My Best Buy number: 2128886535
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Matt1701
from Battle Ground, WA
on 08/30/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Comcast likes it
What's not so great: Haven't found that yet
This modem is easy to set up, we have had no problems with it and most of all Comcast has high regards for it. I had a friend who bought a modem that supposedly was "Comcast Friendly" but Comcast said they didn't support it.
Make sure you go to your providers web site before you buy a modem!
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... i have worked on computers since 1983 for fun
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2117669347
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great for home network and easy set up.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: EDR1
from Hampton Roads, VA
on 08/29/2014
What's great about it: Good price.
Work great. Increased internet speed. It was reasonably priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0745463801
My Best Buy number: 0745463801
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Fantastic Modem for Xfinity

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LovingRoamio
from Sterling Heights, MI
on 08/29/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: No more modem renting from Comcast, lightning fast speed
What's not so great: nothing
Was tired of renting modem from Comcast and initially tried the Motorola 6141, but had numerous connection problems. Swapped it for the less expensive 6121 and it works great. Definitely recommend for anyone wanting to stop paying a monthly modem rental fee from Comcast!
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0042850205
My Best Buy number: 0042850205
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

This is a fantastic cable modem!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dusty6
from Brookfield, WI
on 08/29/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The easy, convenient use of the modem.
What's not so great: Nothing!
I am satisfied with this modem. It was easy to install.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, i use my internet 4 hours daily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2267853948
My Best Buy number: 2267853948
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great product for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nitrofish1320
from Phx, AZ
on 08/29/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: so far so good
After my old modem took a dump on me, I headed to Best Buy to find a new one. After comparing the different ones and discussing the differences with an associate, he recommended this one for what I needed and couldn't be happier.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0730697891
My Best Buy number: 0730697891
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works very well so far!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Working
on 08/29/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Seems to be working well. Hope it continues!!! Have not had any issues since I set it up. Seems to have good range and signal output.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2116451301
My Best Buy number: 2116451301
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MBrown
from Tracy CA
on 08/29/2014
What's great about it: Oh my easy to set up - fast connection
What's not so great: nothing yet
Excellent modem -- no complaints so far easy 2 use
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2013155807
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Get Modem/Router and easy to connect

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ModemRouterCombo
from Chicago, IL
on 08/29/2014
What's great about it: Easy to connect to service
What's not so great: nothing
Easy to connect to Comcast without having to call them!!! Security code included!!
This product has... Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0753143481
My Best Buy number: 0753143481
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great for a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jecarn
from Gilbert, Az
on 08/28/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast and easy to use.
I found the modem was easy to set up and allows me to get all the internet speed I pay for. Works great and was a great price.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 3313047946
My Best Buy number: 3313047946
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

work well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: homesalebuyfast
from Boca Raton, FL
on 08/27/2014
What's great about it: simple to install
What's not so great: nothing
it is a great product with a great price. Great spent.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2935449794
My Best Buy number: 2935449794
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Franzkissel
from berlin,ct
on 08/27/2014
Th is is an outstanding product I couldn't have been happier with its performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2814714814
My Best Buy number: 2814714814
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Michael
on 08/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Good produce . Replace old one after lighting damage
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2679619385
My Best Buy number: 2679619385
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

does what it is supposed to do

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rcadaret
from Arizona
on 08/26/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy set up
Good modem. The setup was easy and the quality was there
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... normal home use
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 1000379356
My Best Buy number: 1000379356
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

This one works perfectly

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GadgetTechLover
on 08/26/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease, use, it works
The experience of purchase and installation went flawless this time. For some reason the first time I purchased this model modem months ago, Comcast couldn't get it to work. Un-authorizing, re-authorizing old modem, returning to store was a hassle. This time, pricing, installation, authorization and installation overall took just a few minutes and has worked great.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2930286929
My Best Buy number: 2930286929
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 40 next>>