Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.584 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(670 Reviews) 670
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 670 reviews
5 stars
473
4 stars
152
3 stars
24
2 stars
5
1 star
16
94% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
631 out of 670
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+493points
567out of 641found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great price fast speed

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JAAW
from Riverside, CA
on 07/30/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picked this up so I wouldn't have to pay the lease service to Time Warner.Works great, just had to call and give them MAC address.Getting 40+ MBPS down and 5 up on a 50/15 package.
This product has... Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2574773908
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good, but not great

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: WMC01
from Seattle
on 07/30/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Reasonable price for what you get
What's not so great: Not the most updated model
Got this to replace an older modem in hopes of increasing connectivity speed and reliability. After 2+ months, I can say yes, it's better than the 5 yr old modem it replaced, but still suffer from some connectivity issues. When the repair man from C**cast was out for my cable issue, he said this model does not have the most current settings needed for optimal performance, and is more difficult to re-set than some other types.
So, top of the line, it's not. Better than an old one, it is. Reasonable performance for the price - probably. If you're on a budget and not a serious gamer, this is an acceptable choice.
This product has... Unreliable connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 0214708815
My Best Buy number: 0214708815
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works with Comcast

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: A1D1
from Seattle, WA
on 07/29/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Needed a new modem and this one was recommended by an associate at Best Buy. Good recommendation.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2516296014
My Best Buy number: 2516296014
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

work good

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: 0007
from oakland,ca
on 07/29/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to set up
work will good for price easy to set up its pays for it self over the long term.
This product has... Easy to set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2723715315
My Best Buy number: 2723715315
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Modem that does exactly what it is supposed to.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mikecocoa
from Heber City, Ut
on 07/28/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup
Bought this to replace the rental that I've been using from comcast. Works just like it is supposed to.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2125677785
My Best Buy number: 2125677785
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: john
from cheaspeake
on 07/27/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to install an use
What's not so great: nothing
had to upgrade and up graded with same type .Good peace of equipment will buy again
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2858422379
My Best Buy number: 2858422379
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy to set up

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Matt
from Hartford,ct
on 07/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Modem is easy to set up and very fast speed. Happy with my choice.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2814456851
My Best Buy number: 2814456851
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy to set up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bart
from Iowa
on 07/27/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Was easy to get up and running
What's not so great: nothing so far
I've had problems setting up cable modems in the past. To my surprise this modem was easy to connect and get up in running. We were using it in no time. So far no problems.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... internet addict
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0034249680
My Best Buy number: 0034249680
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

This Modem was effortless to hook up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cowboy72
from Illinois
on 07/26/2014
What's great about it: It was easy to hook up and it just works
What's not so great: nothing
The sales person got me pointed in the right direction after I told then what I use it for and its awesome.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0500684052
My Best Buy number: 0500684052
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

the typical modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: wtobea
from Oklahoma
on 07/25/2014
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
It's a typical modem. Works like any other modem. Haven't tried streaming movies to it yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2923391227
My Best Buy number: 2923391227
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem to replace Comcast modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Newmee
from Hooksett, NH
on 07/25/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price
This is a great way to escape the $8/month fee Comcast charges to rent their equipment. In less then a year the modem has bought itself and by spending the extra for the warranty it is guaranteed for two years.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0050607945
My Best Buy number: 0050607945
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Cable Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: akppat
from Vernon Hills
on 07/22/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem is great for your home. It is easy to install and provide great performance
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0760871421
My Best Buy number: 0760871421
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Very Good Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LeneLene
from Chesapeake, VA
on 07/21/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up for me
I have not had any issues. I kept losing my internet connection so I was a little concerned as to whether I needed a modem or another router. Since the modem was many, many years old I decided to replace it.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0906498734
My Best Buy number: 0906498734
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: popeye13433
from Detroit Mi
on 07/20/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Saves me from rental
This unit works with comcast and i will have it paid for in 8 months.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0533754609
My Best Buy number: 0533754609
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent Modem for students

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ValueShopper007
from Louisiana
on 07/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Breeze to set up, super fast connection
What's not so great: none
This Motorola Docsis 3.0 modem was a huge upgrade over my last modem (Docsis 2.0). If you are paying for preferred connection speed or greater from your internet provider, I definitely would recommend this modem to achieve much greater internet speed.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0962867925
My Best Buy number: 0962867925
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

easy to set up/ reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bronco844
from Lebanon,pa
on 07/19/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: easy to set up
CSR at store was informative. recommended this one. good choice
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2499044626
My Best Buy number: 2499044626
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

works good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: snickers
from Lafayette, IN
on 07/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
A little time consuming to set up, but once it is working, it is great for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2177036127
My Best Buy number: 2177036127
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jayce
on 07/18/2014
Cheap, and useful item, I don't need to rent Comcast modem
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2732019541
My Best Buy number: 2732019541
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lobito
from Southern California
on 07/18/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up
We researched cable modems and this one came up the winner of all the requirements. Speed and value.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2587964287
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 34 next>>