Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6121
SKU: 2836657
UPC: 612572186237
This cable modem features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for fast downstream and upstream data speeds. Six multicolor LEDs indicate the operational status and a color-coded rear panel ensures simple installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1427 Reviews) 1427
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,427 reviews
5 stars
988
4 stars
340
3 stars
58
2 stars
12
1 star
29
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,355 out of 1,427
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 138 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
  • Featured

Excellent Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSC78
from Miami, FL
on 08/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Observed 50% increase in download rates.
What's not so great: It would have been nice to have a button to suspend the connection.
I have internet service via Comcast. I had the same modem for 5 years (Motorola SB5101). I was getting downloads of 19 Mbps and uploads of 3.1 Mbps. After installing the new modem (SB6121), I am getting downloads of 30 Mbps (a 50% improvement) and uploads of 3.7 (not as much, but still an improvement).
I highly recommed this product.
P.S. - As part of the installation process, I had to call Comcast to provide them the modem's MAC address. Once they had this, the modem was setup. If the modem is linked to a wireless adapter or other gadgets (e.g. Vonage), it is recommended to unplug these and plug the SB6121 directly to the PC/Laptop used during installation.
Once the connectivity is verified and the modem is working, then the original wiring can be restored.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+569points
653out of 737found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ledgemont
on 01/28/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Works great with Comcast high speed internet. No issues, blazing fast. Worked right away, just need to call Comcast and give the serial number to activate. Way better than paying to rent one every month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2145587330
My Best Buy number: 2145587330
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Nice modem for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: akke32
on 01/28/2015
I bought this so I didn't have to rent one each month from my service provider. I've been happy with the performance so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2364997866
My Best Buy number: 2364997866
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Save money, use this with Comcast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bosscause
on 01/28/2015
Save money each month and use this modem if you have Comcast! Great modem, fast speeds... my speeds actually increased!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2925604332
My Best Buy number: 2925604332
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy Hook-Up

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DblDwn
on 01/28/2015
Modem was a snap to hook up. Once the ISP authorized the modem we were good to go. Ran speed checks are we are pulling down maximum upload and download speeds.
One downside is that there is no on/off switch so to turn it off it must be unplugged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2521618900
My Best Buy number: 2521618900
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: samst
on 01/28/2015
Works great. Made our home internet connection faster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0557223501
My Best Buy number: 0557223501
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Who would have know!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rono
on 01/28/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This modem really did the job! Do your research at Best Buy. They know their business.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2861787939
My Best Buy number: 2861787939
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ant6
on 01/28/2015
Easy to setup and the speed through my ISP is great
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2152847632
My Best Buy number: 2152847632
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great Comcast Modem substitute

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NCJUDIN
from Hoffman Estates, IL
on 01/28/2015
This unit was easy to setup - within 10 minutes I'd configured it and was on the Internet. That includes the time I had to speak to a Comcast rep! I've had it for over a month now, and have not had a single issue. It's remained powered up - no reboots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0312831125
My Best Buy number: 0312831125
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pastrychef
on 01/27/2015
I haven't have Any problems with it and I hope it stays that way!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2720704619
My Best Buy number: 2720704619
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great router, compatible with Xfinity

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: theonlyjoneses
on 01/27/2015
This router does exactly what we need it to do. Well priced and it is compatible with our Xfinity provider
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2837233439
My Best Buy number: 2837233439
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works good with Comcast

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sgoel
on 01/25/2015
Bought it recently for my Comcast inet connection.Worls well for Video streaming on my smart tv and my other tv with a Roku box. Goes well with a Linksys router.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 4013599306
My Best Buy number: 2991715321
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Ok to Buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GoneFishin
on 01/24/2015
Works great for my Comcast service and is rated for speeds up to 150gb sec so it should handle very high speed internet service
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3452280709
My Best Buy number: 3452280709
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy setup

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bruce
on 01/24/2015
Nothing special about this product. It does what it is supposed to do. It was easy to setup. From unboxing to netflix was less than 15 minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2807394795
My Best Buy number: 2807394795
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mike
from Chicago
on 01/24/2015
Very easy to install. Seems to be reliable and works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0067084296
My Best Buy number: 0067084296
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great. Device, works really fast

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rona
on 01/23/2015
Great. Device, works really fast, I have it one month ago and it works well and fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2982666014
My Best Buy number: 2982666014
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great high speed modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: catlady100
on 01/23/2015
We were looking for a new and faster modem when we found this one at Best Buy we are very happy with our purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2941170767
My Best Buy number: 2941170767
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

very good product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nick
on 01/23/2015
set up was easy. no loss of signal so far. not bad for the price i got.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1016484402
My Best Buy number: 1016484402
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent high speed modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LJWichita
on 01/22/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Does exactly what the box says it does! I researched online for several weeks before picking this model.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2855810469
My Best Buy number: 2855810469
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Doesn't Work with TWC in all areas!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: amiller
on 01/22/2015
I wanted to replace the old DOCSIS 2 Scientic Atlanta modem I purchased ($25 used) a year ago when TWC increased their monthly modem rental fee to $6/mo. (now $10/mo in my area!) with this model (SB 6121). However, in my county/area it is apparently incompatible with TWC despite being listed at the top of TWC's list of approved modems for "up to" 50 MB/sec plans. Neither TWC online chat support, nor TWC phone support could get it to recieve a downstream connection (although they could "see" it). They scheduled a in home visit 1 day after phone support failed, but the in home tech guy told me (by phone, parked in my driveway to confirm my 8:00-9:00 am appointment) that there was "no way" this model of Motorola modem would work in my county/area (Lorain Co., Oh.). He also offered to give me a $40 credit toward a (~$40 more expensive) modem that would work in our area - the Motorola Model #SBG 6580. Since it also included WiFi N, and I didn't want to switch WiFi routers, I declined the offer (my Apple Airport Extreme WiFi router has too good of coverage in my wide Split level house, and is too reliable to take a chance on the Motorola WiFi.). Since my current ~8 year old modem can handle the max. speed we are paying for ("up to" 20 MB/sec), I'm going to hold off until I REALLY need a DOCSIS 3 modem, when we decide to start paying for a "up to" 50 MB/sec plan. I give it 2 stars (rather than 1) because it may be partly or mostly TWC's fault it doesn't work in our county/area, but it seems to me ANY DOCSIS 3 modem that has up to date firmware (only upgradeable by ISP's now, in this case), and proper specs otherwise, should work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 566586253
By Motorola Customer Care01/23/2015
Please contact ARRIS for assistance with routers and modems. http://arrisi.force.com/consumers MotorolaMobility
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 72 next>>