Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Model: P7040P
SKU: 2847097
UPC: 843124001894
Stay in touch when you're on the go with this mobile phone that features a 1.3MP digital camera for capturing images and videos and a color display for clear viewing and simple navigation of features. See coverage maps to determine whether service is available in your area.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 55 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
3
78% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
43 out of 55
)
Customer Reviews for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black
Review 1 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Gr8 phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Westside977
from Tuscaloosa, AL
on 11/21/2012
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Errythang
What's not so great: Certain songs play loud & othas play low
Love dis phone gonna get anotha 1, gr8 fa errythang: textin, callin (gr8 call quality, calls R clear), takes gr8 pics fa a small megapixel cam, fast responsive buttons, love tha expandable memory, gettin on tha web is gr8
This product is... Easy navigation, Tough/durable, Good video quality
About me... Heavy texter, love havin phone & muzik on same device
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

There are better phones to choose

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Ppdoodle
on 10/28/2012
I purchased the Pantech p7040p as a back-up phone for my iPhone 4. It has an appealing appearance but design flaws soon appeared. First, the speakerphone volume is so low that it is nearly useless. Second, the shape and surface texture of the keyboard is difficult to use for even medium sized fingers. Third, there was no data cable in the packaging; come on, how does ANY telecomm company figure it's okay to leave out some so important? Is it a deal breaker? Not completely, just not a deal at 50 bucks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Great mobile phone, very handy for texting

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jojo1jojo
from Pasadena, Ca
on 10/26/2012
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: fancy keyboard, expandable memory
What's not so great: the name, Pantech ! !
It's a basic phone for texting and calling. no hassles, including the price. KICS - keep it cheap and simple.
This product is... reliable
About me... Use for phone calls only, Heavy texter, i'm just a cook . . . and gardener.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Good phone for the price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ImTNT10
from St. Louis, MO
on 10/14/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: memory
Good phone for price. It is lightweight and the battery life is pretty good. The only issue is the memory for texting.
This product is... low priced
About me... Heavy texter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:35-44
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Great phone, but missing adaptor for earbuds

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GKue
from Gurnee, il
on 10/14/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: lightweight, price
What's not so great: missing adaptor for earbuds
Great phone, but missing adaptor for earbuds.
What good is the capability to play music if theres no earbud/headphone socket
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Phone size:Just right
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Great phone for a beginner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: conley864
from Kouts, IN
on 09/30/2012
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: unlimited texting, easy to use
What's not so great: internet button >:(
Well i got this phone in June and it was my very first one(: At first i was a slow texter and thought this phone was a piece of junk. then i used it more and now i love it!! i have the $25 plan switching to the $15 plan. What i don't like is the internet button. I accidently press it then i get charged which is bad. but i really like it!!!
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:Under 15
Phone size:Just right
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

its ok for pleasure use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mamas
from texas
on 09/20/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: like the keyboard keys easy to use
What's not so great: na
Haven't had long enough to judge all aspects fairly.
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... occasional user
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:65 and above
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Great Replacement Phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Orlando
on 09/12/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good basic texting phone for the price
My daughter's (preteen) phone got damaged and we did not want to take a line renewal to upgrade her phone. Bought this and put her AT&T simm into it and it worked just fine. Can't complain about the price. WIth the extended warantee (very inexpensive) we have a phone for at least a year.
This product is... great replacement
About me... need to keep in touch with my middle schooler
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Phone size:Just right
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

It's ok

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: flossy789
from Philadelphia, PA
on 08/27/2012
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good price, looks nice
What's not so great: Battery life, Cannot block phone numbers, Won't send messages sometimes
In short: it has a poor battery life, the signal stops at random moments and does not have the ability to add numbers to a reject list. Other than that, it's alright.
I was excited to get this phone based on reviews, but I shouldn't have gotten my hopes up so high because of the reasons above. It's very frustrating when you're messaging someone and the message won't send for hours (sometimes) and if you keep resending it, the recipient will get the message however many times you sent it (I had someone receive the same message 7 times). The picture quality is okay and you can take video but cannot send it unless the resolution is ridiculously tiny.
This product is... sleek...from behind, has a big screen
About me... moderate texter, likes to take photo and video
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:18-24
Phone size:Just right
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Great phone for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ToddattheArc
from Washington
on 08/21/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's simple, does what I need it to do and has a great battery life
What's not so great: It would be nice if it came with a screen protector
This is a great little phone for the price point. I like the size, it fits nicely into a pocket but doesn't get lost. It was simple to learn to use has good sound and functions well. I like the full keyboard, at first I thought the keys were kind of small, but after some use I find it very easy to text on. The memory size is good and with the SD slot you can add as much as you need. I do wish it came with a screen protector and that it had a standard earphone jack. I would recommend this phone if you need something inexpensive and simple. The battery life is great!
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... My phone is my life, Business Professional, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Good Temporary Replacement

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Droppedmyrealphone
from Trenton, NJ
on 08/08/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Will do for a quick and inexpensive replacement phone.
What's not so great: Can not use average bluetooth. Will not notify you when you get a return text. Keyboard is very tiny.
Can not use average bluetooth. Will not notify you when you get a return text.
Keyboard is very tiny. Very small screen and too light weight. Easy to drop.
This product is... Easy navigation, Tough/durable, Good video quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:55-64
Phone size:Compact
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Great replacement for a teenager

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lorrob
from No. Kingstown, RI
on 07/18/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It is compatible with AT&T chip for replacement phone
What's not so great: no touchscreen
My son lost his expensive phone on a roller coaster, until our upgrade is available this has been a terrific and affordable replacement option. It does all of the things our AT & T plan allows at no additional charges.
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

try something else

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from wilkesboro, nc
on 06/24/2012
What's great about it: not much, outside of easy access "qwerty" buttons for texting
What's not so great: basic functions
I have been with no contract go phones for several years but this is the worse phone yet.
Overall the phone feels and looks cheap. Far different from what it looked in packages. It is very lightweight and I hope I never drop it. I am afraid it will shatter.
The phone's internet feature did not work to start with and I got no help from Pantech or AT&T at all. I accidentally found help at an online forum that deals with consumer's phone problems.
The phone still will not receive pic texts and it will not accept emoticon pics nor does it have a standard emoticon gallery.
Battery life is short, and it must be charged every day. Trying to make videos will drain it within an hour.
Reception in the foothills around where I live can be trying with any phone but with this one it is terrible. Indoors it will not work at all. I must go outside to get a signal and if its cloudy it will not work at all. I have never seen that problem with any other phone.
I bought this phone for price and because I did not want to spend extra money for a smart phone and features I will never use. I also hate touch screen phones and this is more ideal for me for texting. I am already looking for a replacement phone.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Short battery life
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Not Totally Impressed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: sedona56
from Lynden, WA
on 06/22/2012
What's great about it: Thin enough to slip in my phone case. Rings loud enough for my bad hearing ability. Keys are too small work.
What's not so great: Terrible stand-by battery life. Not same quality as Samsung products
This phone is so-so. Rings loud enough for my severe hearing deficit. Keys are too small but they're rounded enough to work okay. Only comes with an AC charger ~~ no car charger & Best Buy didn't have a car charger in stock for this phone. If you transfer your phones from your previous phone, the files get corrupted. Would NOT buy this brand of phone again. Had to input all my contacts manually. Corrupted the phone number list from the other phone. Not totally happy with this phone. If you are considering a phone with the qwerty keyboard, choose a different brand.
This product is... Short battery life
About me... Budget Conscious, Use for phone calls only
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Does just what I need it to!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FLHXRider
from Western N.C.
on 06/20/2012
What's great about it: Bettery life; call quality; low cost
What's not so great: Dad-blasted AT&T "bloatware"... when will they learn?
Got this phone after I'd tried Net10 and realized I had no coverage at my house. I live out in the tulies and don't have any AT&T coverage to speak of either but I do have an AT&T 3G MicroCell™ and as it is a 3G device the phone was able to connect to it... so now I do have coverage.
Backing up a step... I'd lost my job and needed to pare down my expenses so I put my regular AT&T account in suspension. But I still needed a mobile phone so I went with this. The $25 plan for 250 min. and unlimited texts is more than I need. And this phone works very well. It has unbelievable battery life (I mean that; my Galaxy SII Skyrocket is pathetic in comparison), the call quality is excellent, it's easy to text with usiing the QWERTY keyboard, I'm able to connect to all my Bluetooth devices, and it was relatively cheap to accessorize. For about $17 on Amazon.com, I got a matte black hard case, 5-pack of screen protectors, data cable, and 12V adaptor for the car. So I'm good to go for now.
About the data cable... though Pantech has a PC suite for the phone that you can download for free, it won't work under Windows 7... not even under 7 Professional with the XP emulator. Now what's up with that? Can someone explain to me why a wireless manufacturer would release a software package that is incompatible with the only Windows version being shipped today... and for some time now, for that matter?
And, like I alluded to above... AT&T had to go and put a whole bunch of bloatware on the phone which can't be removed – or at least I haven't figured out how yet. There's a reason people re-flash their smartphones to get rid of bloat... they don't want it! Are you listening, AT&T?
As I'm just using the phone for talk & text I haven't evaluated the data capabilities of it. You're better off reading the reviews of those who have.
Hope you find this helpful!
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Ear piece blew out - your mileage may vary

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TheRuss
from Indianapolis, IN
on 06/13/2012
What's great about it: QWERTY keyboard for texters, Blackberry look
What's not so great: reliability
I bought this for my wife about 4 months ago since more of her friends were texting her and the old numeric keypad wasn't cutting it. I didn't want to get her under contract again because we would have to get a texting plan, and we text so infrequently that it doesn't make sense.
I thought this would be easier for her, and for the most part it was. Now, her earpiece doesn't work and the only way she can hear anyone on the phone is through the speaker phone. It surprises me because I saw so many reviews that said the reliability of this phone was so great, but that was not my experience.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard
About me... Use for phone calls only, Heavy texter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

love this phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mstx
from Texas
on 06/06/2012
What's great about it: Great sound quality and reception
What's not so great: camera/pictures are low pixel - & doesn't hold charge long
I got this phone because my husband's phone was stolen and my phone was the same as his. He liked his, I didn't like it. I had just upgraded, so I needed something inexpensive. I bought this as a go-phone and put my AT&T sim in it. All is working great. Not as many bells and whistles as my previous Motorola, but for the money, you can't beat it.
Only down-side is I must charge it every other day, even with very little use.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Short battery life, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Need phone to keep me organized, medium use calls & text
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

EXCELLENT PHONE FOR ANYONE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ManuSamoa
from Redlands, CA
on 05/26/2012
What's great about it: Easy to call, easy to text, great display
I just got this phone, and compared to my Razr that I had before, this phone is absolutely amazing. It's easy to text, easy to call, quick set up, and a very sleek design. Also, it's the cheapest "candy bar" design go-Phone out there, and it is BY FAR worth it. I have gotten many compliments on what a cool phone it is, and I would DEFINITELY recommend this phone for anyone.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Great picture quality, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Not very intuitive, connects to internet by itself

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: deerwoman
from Grass Valley, CA
on 05/23/2012
What's great about it: Cheap. Has a qwerty keyboard
What's not so great: Hard to figure things out. Connects to internet by itself
I got this phone so I could stop using my smart phone and drop my data plan and wanted a qwerty keyboard. This was the only choice to meet those needs. I had a hard time figuring out just how to use the phone. I still haven't figured out how to call my voice mail unless I do it immediately after I miss the call and don't use the phone for anything else first. Also, occasionally the phone opens up a browser or email program and starts to connect to the internet. I figure out to NOT leave it on the "menu" screen because that defaults to the app store. There is no way to change where the phone sets itself on the menu screen. Also, there is something else that gets it to the internet that involves the middle select button. I haven't figure that out yet, but it's aggravating. The only way to keep the phone from going onto the internet unexpectedly is to put a data block on it. That would prevent me from getting text messages with pictures...or sending them. As an ATT phone, it appears to be set up to trap customers into incurring data charges. Although I got a cable to connect the phone to my computer, there is no software to transfer calendar entries or pictures. I can only transfer pictures via bluetooth. I'm saving $15/month, but the experience is frustrating.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality, difficult to figure out, doesn't transfer pictures to computer easily, doesn't link to calendar on computer
About me... Budget Conscious, Need phone to keep me organized, text occasionally, do not want to connect to internet
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AT&T GoPhone - Pantech P7040P No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Worst phone ever!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BoxerOzzy
on 05/16/2012
I bought 2 of these phones for my sons .. Ever since we put the sim card in it keeps freezing and turning off.. Worst phone ever!! Returned it and got another set. Same result.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>