Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

Model: MID7022-4G
SKU: 2903297
UPC: 716829772249
This tablet features Wi-Fi connectivity for simple connection to wireless networks and a 7" touch screen for quick access to your e-mail and apps.
Average Customer Rating:
3.286 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
64% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
9 out of 14
)
Customer Reviews for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black
Review 1 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black
  • Featured

Coby Tablet 7022-4G A Real Winner!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chuck336
from Florida
on 09/08/2011
What's great about it: Outstanding Price for it's features and capabilities
I ordered the COBY 7022-4G from Best Buy’s Outlet store and it arrived under a week.
The 7022-4G in my opinion is an advance second generation tablet with a capacitive screen, which runs on Android 2.3, which in my view is the best for tablets until it gets further upgraded in the future; all this for under $180!
I have installed Flash 10, Android market and Netflix with no problem; as far as Hulu, some folks have been able to configure Hulu to run
I have installed Skype and Google phone, and they work with no problems for making phone calls through the tablet’s built-in microphone and speaker via WIFI.
I am using all my e-mail accounts and it provides a nice phone tone ring alert when you receive mail.
I installed several apps including CNN, FOX NBC, ABC and Amazon Kindle. I have also installed a power saver app for saving battery usage by turning off some applications. The unit now runs about 7-8 hours on its battery. The strangest thing about the tablet is that it identifies the biggest battery user as being the “Cell phone”, although it does not come with any cell phone capability. Who knows what’s inside this tablet, could be a built-in feature that would eventually be enabled in the future?
I purchased a nice carrying case for 7” tablets that came with a small 8” wide keyboard, with a leg support to hold the tablet up in front of the keyboard, all for under $20. You can also purchase an ultra mini USB hub and connect a mouse to the unit aside with the keyboard (try to do that with you IPAD).
The tablet’s 7” size is perfect for carry. It feels solid and has rounded corners to slip nicely into a pants pocket without jagging or for that matter a purse.
Overall, the 7” size sure beats the large 10” errs out there for convenience or for that matter the 4” phones for viewing.
I feel that COBY has a real winner here, and I am really surprise that Best Buy sells it only through its Outlet Store.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+304points
320out of 336found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

SWEET...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tompilot
on 07/12/2012
Just as effective as the iFruit version. The Samsung core chipset is really quick!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

good unit but lacking a bit

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rick3418
from Houston, Tx
on 05/28/2012
What's great about it: wifi, browsing, email
What's not so great: generic androd operating system. limits on what app you can use
Netflix doesn't work on this unit, Its a good unit, does most things but it does get frustrating that its not totally compatible. Google play is a pain to down load but you learn most apps don't work on this tablet.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

If you do it, but the best buy warranty!!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: kgirl555
from los angeles,ca
on 05/08/2012
What's great about it: easy to use, great for a kids first tablet
What's not so great: dealing with Coby Support!
NIGHTMARE!!!!
Bought this for my 12 year old for her birthday in February, last week the screen froze and you couldn't unlock using the unlock pattern or power off. Let it completely die and recharged hoping that would reset it....nope! Finally called Coby support. WASTED 1 hour of my life on HOLD waiting for someone to answer. Finally someone answered and he was a complete JERK! Yes, spoke English...American East Coast Support, but total jerk! Gave me an attitude and treated me like a moron even though I have a degree in Computer Networking and am well versed in computer technology.
So he tells me how to do a hard power off/reboot on this device. Got to the root menu and tells me to wipe it, but failed to mention that doing so, (as with most computers) will wipe any data off the system. Most consumers would like to know ahead of time right??? Anyway, got that done and got it to the home screen, but screen still not responding properly to touch. So he tells me he needs to give me the warranty information. Not only do I have to pay for a trackable shipping to send it back to them, but I also need to include a $15 money order for them to ship a new one back to me. I said 3 months ago I paid $200 for this thing now I have to pay over $20 to exchange something I don't even want anymore??? He said "yup". Gave me all the info and says he'll transfer me to the address information, which is basically a recording of their address so he doesn't have to give it to me with his own mouth. NEVER ONCE did he say Thank you, or sorry, or anything. I WILL NEVER BUY A COBY PRODUCT AGAIN NO MATTER WHAT GREAT TECHNOLOGICAL STRIDES THEY MAKE!
Additionally, it did work fine for my daughter and she loved it, but I think it was too expensive for 3 months of use and the Coby support and Manufacturer warranty shipping fees are ridiculous!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

Not for me!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: thenurse
from Grove Hill, Al
on 03/26/2012
What's great about it: Honestly, nothing
What's not so great: Android apps not available
Was very disappointed with this product. Returned it to Best Buy for a refund (less my $8.99 shipping). The return was really easy and I have no complaints there. I tried several times to get Android apps which apparently aren't compatible with this device according to the on-screen message. Could view Facebook, but couldn't post or comment. I could get to my email inbox but couldn't open emails. This is probably suitable for someone more tech savvy who knows how to work around these issues. I don't have the knowledge, time or patience for that. Trusted the reviews before my purchase but it didn't take long to realize that I'd made a big mistake!
This product is... not what i expected
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

PIECE OF JUNK

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Wito
from Philadelphia, Pa
on 03/09/2012
What's great about it: NOTHING IS GREAT ABOUT IT.
What's not so great: NOT GREAT AT ALL JUST JUNK.
I purchased two of this Coby Kyros Tablet for my kids. What piece of junk this is not even good to keep the kids happy. I can't believe people have rate this as good becasue it's not please believe me. I wish I would of NEVER purchased this so mad becasue I can't even return it. Stuck with something that NO ONE wants to use. What a waste of my hard earn MONEY.
This product is... junk
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
10out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

i don't like it

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: fwqlaweg
from wi
on 12/27/2011
you gave me really horrible thing
sometimes its touchpad is wrong
I can't unlock and use it
and I can't even use the internet
because it is so slow
ah. .. I really regret my stupid behavior
I could buy much better thing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-67points
17out of 101found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

Amazing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Ohio
on 09/15/2011
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Price & Quality
What's not so great: Wish it had GPS and bluetooth.
No other Tablet PC will match the perfomance of this device for the price you will pay. As other reviews have noted, you can easily update it to Android Market Place (search Kyros mid-7022 on U-tube for step by step instructions and links to the needed softeware...I have included a link at the bottom of this review) and add Adobe Flash Player 10.3 to make this tablet equal to others that are priced hundreds of dollars more.
Coby has other tablets for sale, but this is the only one I have found that has the multi-touch capacitive touch screen just like the iPad.
If you get a mini-hdmi chord you can attach the Coby Kyros to your HD television and watch movies in 1080 HD. I had a mini-hdmi chord from my HD Camcorder that works perfectly. The only problem you will find is that the sound comes out of the Kyros speakers and the tv. To get around this problem, just plug in head-phones into your Kyros.
Get a 32g micro-sd card. You can find one for around $40 on Bestbuy and other web sites. With 36 gb total storage, HDMI out, and a price tag around $200 (with the micro-sd card)... kinda makes the more expensive tablets look stupid.
This product is... A nice compact size, Great screen size, solid built
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
+104points
118out of 132found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

Great Toy for the $$$

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NewAndroid
from San Francisco
on 08/19/2011
What's great about it: Inexpensive, good design, screen.
What's not so great: Battery life, Sleep Mode.
I have the 7022 for 2 weeks now. It is a great product for the price. Please note that you will have to invest some time to make it great. Install Market, Netflix, JuiceDefender..... etc. The tablet is responsive to touch, screen is easy to look at for hours. Only the two issues which prevented it from getting 5 stars. Battery life (only about 5 hrs) and tablet sometime will not wake up from sleep mode (reset button is in the back). 7022, a smart entry into the tablet experience.
This product is... A nice compact size, Screen size, inexpensive
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+100points
102out of 104found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

Nice unit for the price...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mecinoid
from Livermore, Ca.
on 08/09/2011
What's great about it: Fast start up, ease of use and it takes care of most of my daily needs.
What's not so great: Screen in bright sunlight. However it does have brightness control. It works better if you have some shade.
Very pleased with this device. It allows me to quickly log into my email, watch a movie via device or on my 50" Plasma 1080 TV with real clarity, play MP3 music, surf the internet anywhere there is wifi coverage etc...
Very nice unit. The quality is good.
I did not want to carry a 10" tablet and this 7" is just about right in my opinion for using every day. The screen is big enough to see a song playing of the MP3 player while heading down the road in my car. It only takes a split second to read just like a radio face would allow you to do. I like the fact that I can read word or excel docs with additional free application that you get through applib that comes installed.
I have no need for 3 or 4GLTE service at $50-80 monthly so that wasn't a need for me. Maybe when service fees come down I'll buy a wifi mobile hot spot and it will give me connection to up to 5 wireless devices like this one to surf the net. However, finding open wifi is easier and easier these days so, why pay the fees?
I'd like to write again on how happy I am with start up speed and shutdown speed. I hate booting up my laptop all the time to just check emails etc.. So, this device really helps me save time everyday. I like the fact that Android 2.3 allows you to delete email as you go. That really helps me clearing out my email box quickly.
I heard about this through college students online.
It works to listen. ;-)
Tech seems to get better and better.
The only thing that would make this better for me is a portfolio cover with built in keyboard. Touch screen keyboard can be slow with my fat fingers at times and a film keyboard would be really nice.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, Screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology, n2it2
I would recommend this to a friend!
+93points
118out of 143found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

Its a nice product for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TayMay27
from Somewhere in the Southwest
on 08/07/2011
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing...yet
This is a very useful tablet, and you could install android market from the web! But for hulu and Netflix, you have to use third party apps for those two. But other wise, its great, and the only tablet below $300 with a capative touch screen.
This product is... A nice compact size, Screen size
About me... Kid Friendly, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Kensington - Virtuoso Stylus - Black
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
Sony - 4 GB Secure Digital High Capacity (SDHC) - 1 Card
4.0 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+64points
69out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

What more can you ask for <$175?

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PipingMasterExpert
from Houston, TX
on 07/29/2011
What's great about it: Price and ease of use
What's not so great: Volume Level, WIFI speed
1) The screen definitely needs some getting used to but after a while it ceases to be a problem
2) Google search "how to install Android Market on Coby Mid7022" and there is a step-by-step guide on how to get it setup. Takes about 10 mintues max.
3) The internet is not as fast as IPAD and Galaxy but what do you expect for 65% less in price?
4) The volume is not loud enough. That's my main complaint
This product is... A nice compact size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+96points
105out of 114found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

Great steal andvalue for options and price...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Alaska99801
from Sahuarita, AZ
on 06/29/2011
What's great about it: Capacitive screen; Android 2.3
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I bought this tablet just to check it out. I am surprised that it is not mentioned at the Coby Kyros website.
At the Kyros site the closest to this is the MID7024-4G, but there are differences between the two.
The 7022-4G selling at Best Buy has all the options and memory of the 7024, but it has one thing going for it that was the catalyst that made me buy it.
At this price level, all Android tablets come with a resistive screen. You have to push hard with your nails or with a stylus. This one, MID7022-4G has a capacitive screen, you just have to swipe it softly. Just like the iPad (it is not an iPad, look at the price), the Samsung Galaxy Tab, but at one half the price and you pretty much can do everything the Galaxy Tab can do, again, at a much cheaper price.
Of course, the built is not as quality as the Samsung (not mentioning the iPad because that is a different type of device. I mention the Samsung because both are running Android), but the Samsung runs Android 2.2, and the 7022-4G runs Android 2.3, which has been improved quite a bit to run better on tablets and bigger screens.
I have had it for two weeks and no problems so far. It is the only Android tablet I know below $200 that has a capacitive screen, android 2.3 and a 1GHZ processor (most tablets in this price range come with processors running at 800MGHz or less) ,with 512GB of ram. That put this inexpensive tablet up there with other androids costing two or three times as much.
Having this fast processor will allow you to play the games that you could not play with tablets having low powered processors. It plays Angry Birds (if you care about that) very smoothly and any other one you throw at it.
Some people will complaint that it does not have the official Android Market. But who needs it today? It comes with the Appslib store, you can also load the Amazon appstore, you can bookmark in your browser this site, freewarelovers.com, and with those three you will have all the apps you will need.
So, for the price and the options, this tablet is the best steal for sale today!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+206points
223out of 240found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Coby - Tablet with Capacitive Touch Screen - Black

Great Device for college!!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: playnex
from Trenton, NJ
on 06/27/2011
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
What's great about it: Everything!!!! Android 2.3 Gingerbread people!!!!
What's not so great: ummmm......only comes in 1 size i guess...
im one of those people who study a device before they even think about buying it. One of those people who know every last spec. about the device. One of those people who know the name of the device from beginning to end. Im a Electronic nerd. lol Anywho.... I rate this device 4 1/2 out of 5. Thats becuase nothing in the world is perfect. There are 3 main reasons i chose this tablet over competiting netbooks, laptops, tablets. 1rst. Price. It offers a great amount of utilites for a price of just 179.99 which adds up to 202.00 after tax and standard shipping. 2nd, It looks sexy. sleek black finish and a nice webcam intergration. 3rd, Android 2.3 Gingerbread!!! Thats all you need. 512 (ram). Most netbooks have that. Do you people see how great of an investment this is??? Anywho. Being as though i go to college, I need something that is book bag friendly, can keep up with my constant facebook I.M.ing, Word typing and battery saving lifestyle. I attend 2 writing classes. I bought a keyboard carrying case usb extention for this tablet. It works great and i recomemend it for anyone who needs to have that pysical keyboard. And dont let it not having a physical keyboard change your mind. It has a great on screen keyboard. And even if you do happen to spend that 40 dollars to buy the physical keyboard carrying case. Your still spending under 400 hundred on a great study tablet. Anyways!!! I rate this 4 1/2 out 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Logitech M125 USB Optical Mouse with Retractable Cable - Dark Gray
5.0 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
+174points
204out of 234found this review helpful.