Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Model: VPCEH11FX/B
SKU: 2925714
UPC: 027242827509
This laptop features a 500GB hard drive to ensure ample storage space. An Intel Pentium processor elevates multitasking capabilities, boosts productivity and enhances your entertainment and Internet browsing experiences. Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about Intel processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.226 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 31 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
87% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
27 out of 31
)
Customer Reviews for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black
Review 1 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Happy so far

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jacquesesq
from San Diego
on 07/30/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price and brand and reputation for quality
What's not so great: USB ports in front side annoying
This is my third Sony laptop. My first I got in 2006 and had it for three years with absolutely no problem. It was their entry level laptop like this pretty much. It had the Pentium processor. The second I got about a year and a half ago and I was not really happy with that. It was also their entry level laptop except with the i-3 Core processor. It was white and unique in that regard and as a result very Mac looking. However, the laptop ran warm and so the fan was on a lot which I hate. I also disliked the placement of the usb ports in the front side. Anyway it was really the running warm thing that bugged me. My first laptop's fan NEVER went on. THIS laptop I like first for the price. With other laptops costing in the 300 and 400s 600 is just too steep for a Sony with essentially the same components. So far the fan is not going on which I attribute to the less powerful Pentium processor. But besides all that what I like about Sonys is the resale value after three years is better that an HP or Toshiba, and I usually sell them at year three on Craigslist and upgrade so that is something to consider. Also repair and maintenance costs are less with Sony but this is their first laptop in this low 400 hundred range so we shall see how it holds up. But so far it is fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
78out of 139found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Seems to Promise good things

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from San Marcos, TX
on 08/03/2011
What's great about it: The sleek design of it is unmatched!
What's not so great: It seems average when running lots of programs.
I'm a big Sony supporter so I can only say good things about this laptop. It's very sleek and appealing, it's a perfect laptop for a college student who does not do much but check emails, surfs the web, and of course socializes on Facebook. The keyboard is very easy to type on and the battery life is great too (about 5 hours if you're not watching videos all day) The Wifi picks up connections in seconds, and does not falter anywhere on campus. The only problem that I have with it is its slight stalls when loading up multiple tabs(but that could easily be my internet connection). Overall this computer is very satisfying and I'd strongly recommend to get any VAIO!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+65points
71out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Perfect for College!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CaliStudent
on 08/08/2011
Unbeatable price for performance. Super stoked to use it this fall! Nothing bad to say honestly so far so good . The touch pad is so easy compared to hp or dell. Love Love Love it! cant go wrong with a Sony VAIO plus the memory is more than enough :) web cam is nice speaker sound of quality. sleek design is also attractive! Bought in store and out the door with 1 year insurance + anti virus upgrade was $604 . dont miss out!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+60points
64out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Well-built computer with no glitches.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Erkinbek
from Richmond, VA
on 08/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Bright screen, solid build, nice looking, good performance, great price.
What's not so great: Mouse pad is not precise, no backup discs included.
I am used to researching for weeks before buying a computer. This was an exception--I walked into the store knowing virtually nothing about their stock and the reputations of the computers. I liked this Sony Vaio--bright screen, solid build, and within my price range--so I bought it, and it continues to grow on me. I haven't had the first bit of trouble with it, though the mouse pad is not very user-friendly (it's not precise at all). Speed seems good, battery life sufficient, and sound better than average. Seems much lighter than my wife's comparable Dell, and the screen is brighter. Best of all, the price is low due to the slightly dated processor, for which I have no complaints. This is a great deal!
I would recommend this to a friend!
About me...:Comfortable with technology
+34points
36out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

awesome & cheap

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: msmay
from OPKS
on 08/26/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's a super price AND hooks up to PS3!
What's not so great: There isn't anything that I can find.
Picked this up for online classes and works great! No issue with it at all.
Size is great for traveling with, lightweight.
Beautiful screen.
Love the separate 10key.
Runs multiple projects/programs at once without lag.
Great W-Fi connectivity.
Works smoothly when hooked through bluetooth to my PS3.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Solo Ladies' Laptop Case - Black
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
+16points
22out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Terrible.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Rogram88
on 08/29/2011
Took me 20 minutes to connect to my school's wifi.
Took another 10 minutes to attach two wps. to an email.
Made me 30 minutes late to class.
Going to return today.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-118points
10out of 138found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Great PC for the money!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rock3636
from Tampa, FL
on 08/30/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, Beautiful screen, Key board
What's not so great: The camera could be a bit better.
This is my 2nd laptop, and it is as fast as my 800$ Lenovo, with an i5. Everything about this Sony is awsome. The only thing I would change is the camera. Other then that, this PC is an awsome buy. You can't go wrong with Sony.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
21out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Great Laptop for stationary uses.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AL93
from Brooklyn, NY
on 08/31/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Lots of hard drive room, Good picture quality.
What's not so great: Carrying it around is a hassle.
I brought the laptop about a month ago and no problems with the laptop yet. I got to admit it is an okay laptop. Enough hard drive room for my everyday needs and its fast and efficient, but carrying it around is a hassle its a bit heavy so it should mainly be stationary.
An okay battery life for short trips. The battery life will last longer if you keep your activities on the laptop at a minimum like listening to music or watching videos, also, keep the brightness to a minimum and the laptop battery life will last longer. The touch pad has very useful features to it and its simple to use, no need for a mouse (which can drain the battery life).
Gaming purposes...I haven't yet to try and download a game that is heavy on graphics so I don't know about gaming, but with the games I have now on the laptop the games are working perfectly fine not slow at all.
The picture quality is clear...that's all I have to say about picture quality.
The ports are very easy to access and the DVD+RW/CD-RW drive is good enough for my needs.
All in all it is a good laptop for everyday use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Great laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: schinnizles
from Pennsburg, PA
on 09/01/2011
This is not my first computer, however it is my first brand new computer and I bought it about 2 months ago at the very most. This computer is by far the best computer I have ever worked with.
Pros: Great HDD space, beautiful screen, large RAM, compact, fantastic webcam, great spaced keys, very light, textured very nicely.
Cons: None so far.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Kid Friendly, Student, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

great laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bfowl93
from orlando
on 09/02/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: EVERYTHING !!!!!!!!!!!!
What's not so great: havent found anything yet
just got the laptop all around it is a great laptop for the price it looks great performs excellent the webcam is clear doesnt freeze at all the images on the screen are clear
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Very happy with this laptop.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NeyPhoto
from New York, NY
on 09/04/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Almost everything.
At first I was hesitant about getting this laptop since I wasn't sure the Pentium B940 CPU could handle Photoshop work which is what I wanted it for mainly. It can! And quite capably at that! It is actually quite fast.
I love the look of this laptop, It drew my in right away. The screen size is just what I wanted, big enough to do photo editing on, but still compact enough to fit in my gear bag.
This laptop definitely outperforms others in it's price range. And the battery life is great!
My only gripe is with Sony, they need to release better touchpad drivers for their entire laptop range.
This product is... Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology, photographer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Good basic laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mac33
from Bowie Md
on 09/05/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: PRICE
What's not so great: Short Battery life
Nothing special it was bought as the price was right.........................But overall has been well worth the money
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Great Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Darron2011
from NH
on 09/07/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Priced right, very fast great for school, really worth the money, simple to use.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Kid Friendly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

great computer for the price but bad sound

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ihdzo
from Aurora, IL
on 09/14/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
This Sony Vaio Model has a sound/speaker problem.
I bought this computer recently and the first time I used it I notice a sound problem. I took it back to best buy to exchange it and got another exact model but had the same problem so I had to return it again and I bought a Toshiba instead.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, bad sound quiality
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Perfect for student

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LeannSkeet
from Boulder, CO
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
This product is totally better than it's made out to be! I bought this recently with the knowledge that it was two Intel processors behind the newest versions (i3 and i5) but as a law student, I really only needed basic word processing. I was told by a salesmen that this wasn't the computer to get as a student since I would probably have multiple tabs open simultaneously, i.e. Microsoft Word, iTunes, Internet Explorer, Adobe, etc. and I "would feel it perform significantly slower" than the i3/i5. I took my chances since I thought these cons would be beneficial anyway -- less distractions -- but in fact, it's performed perfectly when I've had as many as 4 programs running and 5 windows open at once. I don't know how it would function for gaming, but it seems like it could more than handle it. I was more sold on the price -- $450 for a 15" Sony VAIO is an absolute steal! I was risking the performance not being top-notch for the exceptional quality, but the performance has been right up to par. Not to mention how beautifully designed it is. The textured look is a real head-turner and differs from any other laptop besides the Mac Airbook (even the touchpad is textured so it doesn't get that worn-down, shiny plastic look right in the middle), the screen is beautiful, it has a number pad, the keyboard is easy to use, and sound is great. Battery life runs about 4 hours, which is my focus limit at the library anyway, and this is on the highest resolution setting.
Cons: (design flaw) Because it has a number pad to the right of the keyboard, the mousepad is off-centered for some reason. It is skewed to the left so your palm often accidentally hits it and takes the cursor to some foreign place on the screen while you're typing. Not a huge deal but can get kind of annoying. The fan is also kind of loud and goes off for a few seconds every half hour or so -- it's kind of embarassing in class/library, but this can apparently be adjusted by someone who knows their stuff and for me, has actually become somewhat humorous. The webcam image could be sharper, but this is the same across the board for most laptops except for Macs.
Overall, absolutely love my VAIO and very happy with my purchase. It's of an average weight for a laptop of its size but even with my massive law school textbooks, I've been able to take it everywhere with me without any hassle. The price is outstanding, so if you're looking for getting your money's worth, this is definitely the laptop.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

quit working one day after buying it...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: spotto
from Naturita
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: blue screen of death only one day after purchase...
..blue screen of death one day after purchase, and after installing the Microsoft Office I had to purchase separately....item was returned to the store, and a credit was given...would never buy another one! My daughter needed the computer for college classes, and had to "wing it" until we could drive over a hundred miles to get it replaced....not a good situation at all....
This product is... not reliable
About me... Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

$450 for a stellar laptop!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Massachusetts
on 09/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price and features for price
What's not so great: mouse pad a bit quirky once in a while.. otherwise fine
Speed, power, memory, webcam, microphone, and all the stuff installed, or easy to install. Bestbuy wanted to charge me $100 for the installation of all the extras, when I said "no, I would install it myself", they said all the units they had in stock already had all the virus and other stuff previously installed and sold it to me for the retail price without extra charge!
As Nancy Reagan would say, "just say no" and get all the extrasoftware already installed without a surcharge. This INCLUDED a theft registration that means this computer will be returned with a reward for the finder if found. How good is THAT? Sony and Best Buy have thought of everything!
Sony also warns you and updates you with built-in software to keep virus blocks and other things up-to-date. About once a week this happens, and makes me feel more secure. Be sure to back-up your files, as directed to do, or just buy a $20 8 gigabyte flash drive, and back up your documents, spreadsheets, saved email documents, etc. Do this once a week, you'll feel pretty secure without subscribing to some monthly fee backup service. Or go for a legitimate backup service, and let it back u up every day a couple times for $8-15 a month. Sony and Best Buy offer this.. compare prices, and buyer beware. I just back up my important files by sending them to the FREE Gmail cloud, if you understand how that works.
This computer does everything anyone needs for a home computer, or a business computer at home or on the go. Fast, efficient, and with a great display, 4 USB ports, DVD/CD burner and player, good tiny speakers, pretty good webcam, microphone, (for SKYPE etc) who needs more?
One slight admonishment: the keyboard has a built-in number pad to the far right, which means the alpha keyboard is skewed a bit to the left of center, and takes a few moments to get used to.
One small problem: with the mouse pad, once in a while it acts up, and closes the browser without warning, or has the cursor jump to somewhere else on the screen without warning. This MAY be a unique quirk to my unit, but I have a sister with the same unit who experiences the very same problem, once every few days. I bet it has something to do with static electricity building up on the mouse pad.
If you need a computer for under $500, this is a great machine. Well worth $450 to $500............
I used to pay $1000-$2000 for a laptop with this stuff all installed, but that was 8-10 years ago, now, it's available for under $500.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

good laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: thevieiras
from roseville,ca
on 09/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: nothing
very good laptop i liket allot i ill recomenda to a friend
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology, parks worker
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

Great laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: officer
from PA
on 09/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price
I love our new Sony Vaio laptop! Great price for a great brand name.
It's fast, easy to set up, great quality and love that its portable.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony - VAIO E Series Laptop / Intel Pentium Processor / 15.5" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Black

everything i needed

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lroot
from mi
on 09/28/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: so fast and easy to use
What's not so great: kind of heavy
I love it, it works for the on the go kind of person I am.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>