Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

Model: ARCPT300W
SKU: 2937203
UPC: 750254805363
Make safety a priority with this radio that features a built-in AM/FM tuner with 7 NOAA channels for important weather and emergency information, and a flashing beacon LED light to inform others of your position in case of an emergency.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 11 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
10 out of 11
)
Customer Reviews for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red
Review 1 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

Decent Radio but No Batteries Included

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Aringo
from Cape Cod, MA
on 07/26/2014
What's great about it: Does what it promises
What's not so great: It comes without rechargeable batteries.
This radio came without the recargeable batteries. Without them that means that it can only be used on AC power or with 3 AA batteries. The box, once I saw it, did say that it came without batteries but the owners' manual on line and literature that came with it showed that batteries were included. It even says the batteries are shipped disconnected to protect the package and shows how to connect it. I contacted the seller (Data Vision), asked for the battery, and was simply told that the box said the battery wasn't included. In fact their battery is a specific battery that has to be purchased from them or from the manufacturer. The radio is limited without it. I feel the supplier should adhere to the statements made in the owners' manual. Not happy with them at all.
About me... Live in severe weather area
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

Great gift

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 1gigi
from St. Louis mo
on 03/01/2014
What's great about it: Practical for my daughter n young family
What's not so great: Nothing we could see
It works really well Like that it is small easy to use and easy to store
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2096761421
My Best Buy number: 2096761421
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

got this basically for emergencies

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: girlb
from los angeles
on 09/23/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Audio Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Easy to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: ease of use. no batteries required
What's not so great: color
I got it basically for emergency use, but it works for everyday use around the house also. can use on ac or crank power.
About me... everyday person
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0321110242
My Best Buy number: 0321110242
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

Nice Small Portable Radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous247
from WI
on 09/13/2013
What's great about it: great reception, easy to tune, batteries or crank power
What's not so great: unknown battery life
I use this radio around the house when doing chores. I don't know how long the battery lasts when you crank it, but the triple A batteries last a while and it has a nice flashlight although not as bright as it could be. Overall a very nice radio and would be great in an emergency. I haven't used the battery charger for my phone but it comes with a usb cord to charge phones as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0567447492
My Best Buy number: 0567447492
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

Great Radio for camping.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jax1
from Jacksonville, FL
on 07/13/2013
Audio Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Easy to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: You can charge anything with a USB.,
What's not so great: Needs a Brighter Flashlight
My Daughter loves it! I borrow it all the time. Great personal radio. I love the USB Charger.
About me... Live in severe weather area, Responsible for children or elderly, Outdoors person
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2500957846
My Best Buy number: 2500957846
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

Easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 3des
from Cincinnati, OH
on 07/05/2013
Love that I can charge my phone with this when the electric is out. Also love the crank so no batteries are necessary. My son love the fact that it has a flashlight so he can see when the lights go out. And of course it is great knowing that we always have a radio to listen to the weather when the storms have knocked out the electric.
About me... Responsible for children or elderly
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2100569104
My Best Buy number: 2100569104
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

Good Radio for Emergency Situations

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MsWinston
from Petersburg VA
on 11/30/2012
Audio Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Easy to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good sound quality
What's not so great: Short battery life
If you purchase this emergency radio be sure to purchase more AAA size batteries than you think you will need -- trust me, you will need them! Since there is no AC adapter feature (other than to charge it using your car battery) you cannot charge the radio in your home in anticipation of an emergency. I found myself in the position of having to use it as my primary radio for a couple of weeks as my old radio broke, and eventually I came to the realization that using it for more than 3-4 hours a day was costing me more than I anticipated. The reception was adequate for FM and the weather station, but I wasn't too pleased with AM reception -- I had to move it around the house to get clear reception. The audio quality is excellent and it is easy to use. The instruction manual is very clear.
About me... Live in severe weather area
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

where I live I dont get many stations here

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: izapthings
from Florida
on 10/23/2012
Audio Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Easy to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The crank is metal, my last one broke because it was plastic
What's not so great: so far so good
I will have to use it a bit longer to see if it suits my needs.
About me... Live in severe weather area, Responsible for children or elderly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

Great radio....doesn't need batteries.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: buddy0121
from Murrysville, PA
on 08/29/2012
Audio Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Easy to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It has batteries for everyday use...but doesn't need them. It has weatherband, AM/FM
What's not so great: price kinda high...could have a CD Player.
I just love my radio....I take it in the car with me. It's so dependable and built strong. Nice antenna and I get a good variety of stations on both AM and FM.
About me... prepared for emergency
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

Great emergency radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: happygolucky6969
from Florida
on 07/25/2012
What's great about it: 3 ways to power the item
What's not so great: N/A
Great product. Works as advertised. No problems. xxxxxxxxxx
About me... Live in severe weather area
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Eton - American Red Cross AXIS TurboDyne Series AM/FM/NOAA Weather Band Radio - White/Red

Great emergency radio

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 47states
from MN
on 01/18/2012
  • Top 1000 Contributor
Battery Life/Charge Length
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: USB port for recharging cell phone works great
What's not so great: Red emergency light is not very bright or useful, Does not come with an AC adapter
I purchased this item as emergency gear. The 7 weather stations are preset and in a suburb of Minneapolis I can receive only one of them and the reception is good. The case is mostly plastic with a metal crank and flashlight. An all metal case would hold up better but since this is an emergency radio I won't be using it much.
Pros:
Flashlight is bright
USB port for recharging cell phone works great
Battery status indicator and battery holds charge well
AM/FM great reception
Cons:
Red emergency light is not very bright or useful
Does not come with an AC adapter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.