Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Model: 32200
SKU: 2954733
UPC: 708431322004
Have you been searching for a safe, fun, engaging educational experience for your child? Now, the LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer offers personalized play and learning that are designed specifically for children ages 4 - 9 years. Motion-based gameplay and an impressive collection of games, apps, digital books, videos and flash cards will have your little one laughing and learning for hours. The LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer teaches a broad curriculum that automatically adjusts to match your child's pace and remembers the progress from game-to-game and book-to-book. With a broad curriculum of key subjects such as reading, mathematics, science, geography, art, music, language, health and more available, your child will develop essential skills across a range of topics. Your child can enjoy more than 100 educational and entertaining cartridge games, apps, digital books, videos and flash cards. Store a robust suite of apps, including innovative book apps that deliver a fully interactive reading experience, with word-by-word support and state-of-the-art gameplay, on the 2GB of memory. See the world through your child's eyes as he or she captures special moments with the built-in camera and video recorder. Interested in how your child is doing? Track his or her progress through the online LeapFrog Learning Path, and then show off your child's achievements to family and loved ones.
Average Customer Rating:
4.313 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 83 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
25
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
2
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
75 out of 83
)
Customer Reviews for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green
Review 1 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green
  • Featured

Hot Toy for the 2011 Holidays!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MomReviews
from Lansing, Michigan
on 10/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Intuitive, educational, fun
What's not so great: Takes batteries
I'm a Mom of three kids, including a five year old daughter who has loved every LeapFrog product she's played with, and the LeapFrog LeapPad Explorer Learning Tablet is no exception!
With a 5" screen and 480x272 resolution, the LeapPad has the feel of a Tablet. A magnetic stylus fits into a slot on the side, plus it comes with an extra stylus with a tether cord, a USB cord, and a CD to install LeapFrog Connect. LeapPad comes with a built in camera and video recorder as well as 4 applications: the Pet Pad writing game comes preloaded and 3 download apps are included at no additional cost -- the Art Studio, the Story Studio, and 1 additional app of your choice.
What I'm loving best about the LeapPad Explorer so far is how intuitive it is for my five year old daughter to use. I unboxed it and handed it to her while I started reading the instructions, and next thing I knew she had created her profile, picked a background screen for her desktop, and started playing! I also like that up to three players can create their own profiles, plus there's a sign-in spot for a guest as well.
The PetPad Writing game is so cute! It combines taking care of a virtual pet with teaching beginning writing skills. Your child picks their pet - cat, pig, lemur, bunny, dog, sheep, dragon, monkey - and then customizes it's ears, eyes, mouth, tail, paws, and body. They have to keep their pet happy with a shower, food, playing games, and teaching the pet tricks by tracing letters. My daughter loves it!
One new feature with the LeapPad is Ultra eBooks, so our review model included the Cars 2: Project Undercover Ultra eBook already loaded. Ultra eBooks combine animation with reading skills, your child starts by selecting the reading mode - hear the story read, hear the story while reading along, or read along only. When your child comes across underlined words, they tap to bring up a pop up window that reads the word in syllables and then uses the word in a sentence that explains the meaning. In addition, tapping characters on the screen makes them move or say something, while their name on the screen is highlighted.
The Story Studio and Art Studio take advantage of the built-in camera to let kids truly personalize their creations. All pictures are stored in a folder called "My Stuff", and can be inserted into personalized storybooks or used as the basis of works of art. I like how the Story Studio has an "About Me" book that includes a "create my family" page. Have your child take a photo of each family member, then they drop them in their storybook.
The Art Studio encourages creativity by letting your child draw with pencil, paint with a paintbrush, use stamps, and pick patterns. Finished works of art can be stored in the My Stuff folder. Features from the Art Studio also appear in the Photo lab, where pictures can be stretched, turned black and white, saturated with color, turned into a mirror image, and more.
Roly Poly Picnic is a game available from the LeapFrog App Center which takes advantage of the LeapPad's tilt feature. Tilt the LeapPad to roll a roly poly along a path, periodically dropping down into a hole for a learning game. Roll over the correct letters on the screen to spell a word that is spoken first. Correct spelling makes a piece of food appear, collect three pieces of food to advance to a new level.
Roly Poly Picnic is the game that my boys (who are 14 and 12) and I play when we're all in the car. We take turns handing the LeapPad to each other, it's fun and surprising challenging to roll the roly poly perfectly along the path.
You will want to buy a set of rechargeable AA batteries and a battery charger to go with the LeapPad. A fully charged set of batteries should give you about eight total hours of game play. I like that the LeapPad automatically shuts down when not in use to save battery power.
If you've been hearing about the LeapPad and are reading the reviews to see if you should buy one, my answer is YES. Based on the response it's getting from my 5 year old daughter, my 12 year old son, his best friend, and even my 14 year old, the LeapPad is an electronic learning device that is educational and also fun!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+128points
209out of 290found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great for kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tjf1234
from MN
on 01/04/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
My little nephew got this for Christmas. he will not put it down.
This product is... easy to set up, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0323719221
My Best Buy number: 0323719221
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Perfect device for ages 4-7

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: koredawg
from NH
on 10/22/2013
What's great about it: Easy to use but kids get alot of it
What's not so great: Delays @ times
Overall great product for ages 4-7. Leap is always a great product for learning children.
This product is... great for young kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1029343864
My Best Buy number: 1029343864
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great purchase for kids when traveling

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gkh231712
from cambridge city, in
on 09/14/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Can view videos and books
What's not so great: very short battery life and doesn't "recharge", requires new batteries
Is great for doctor appointments and car rides. Kids can download new material easily. Apps are fairly priced, but wish were slightly cheaper.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Student, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1034782214
My Best Buy number: 1034782214
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Works way better

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Calilove1
from Moorhead, MN
on 09/14/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Still easy to play with
What's not so great: Yes my kids leap pad power dies on almost 8 of using it
This little tablet works so great with my kids, they don't gotta use other tablet anymore.
This product is... Good sound quality
About me... Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2096554276
My Best Buy number: 2096554276
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

I bought it for my friends kids.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rajakitty
from Wausau, WI
on 09/06/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I don't know much about this product since I gave it to my friend for her family as a gift. Her daughter had broken her Mobigo and she really enjoys playing games on my phone. I got this so she can play games and learn at the same time. When I asked her daughter how she liked it she said it was good but she doesn't have many games on it yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2139580798
My Best Buy number: 2139580798
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great buy overall!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: shangnp
from Orlando, FL
on 08/11/2013
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Great for my little niece who just started pre-K. She loved it.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

great learning product for children

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sillysany
from bowie,tx
on 08/01/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: lot of activities for children to learn with and make it fun
What's not so great: none
Really good for children now days. Children can learn without even realizing they are doing it.
This product is... Good sound quality, easy to set up, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, retired, grandparent
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0576002071
My Best Buy number: 0576002071
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Good but not great for my 2 year old

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Cnu1984
from Eden Prairie
on 07/28/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Screen Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Unbreakable
What's not so great: Display
I bought this unit for my daughter who is 2 year old, it is absolutely useless because she cannot navigate though the unit and unit doesn't make her concentrate on it. It is not that she cannot understand it but since she already played some games on iPad she always prefers to have iPad rather than this one.
This product is... Comfortable to hold
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0543359894
My Best Buy number: 0543359894
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Good product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sapreaper
from PA
on 07/11/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Kids love these
What's not so great: Eats batteries, so we use plugin adapter
Not much to say but this was a good purchase. This one was bought for our 4yo now 5yo son. Even the 3yo likes it though we got him an explorer gs. They love taking videos especially. Games are a bit pricey but overall still a good product
This product is... responsive touch screen, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, Easy to navigate, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2721489089
My Best Buy number: 2721489089
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great PRODUCT!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BabyMunchkin
on 07/02/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, Easy to use
I bought this a couple days ago for my little toddler. She is learning lots of things on it everyday. It was also a great price!! It was on sale half off, so I got it for only $50. Great birthday present for her. She already knows how to use most of its functions and carries it with her all the time
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0574407533
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Ok Product

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: CincyMike
from Cincinnati
on 06/19/2013
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Touch screen, attached stylus, compact size, durable
What's not so great: Expensive apps, hard restarts, short battery life
My wife and I bought this for our 3.5 year old as a "gift" from his newborn sister. At first he played with the device non-stop, until the batteries died. Once the batteries died, I replaced them but the device would not turn on. After a quick Google search, this was a common problem and a hard restart had to be performed. I emailed the company about this issue, they never addressed my concern. They only told me to check the batteries and after reassuring them the batteries I put in the device were brand new, they sent me a 4-pack of batteries.
Also, aside from the 4 free apps, the rest of the apps are costly, ranging from $5 to $25.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, A nice compact size, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Gamer, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0787193391
My Best Buy number: 0787193391
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

kids love it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: scorpio1176
from yuma, az
on 05/18/2013
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Screen Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: size and durability
What's not so great: battery cost
kids are 6 and 3 and they each have one. LeapPads have been there and back. Keeps them busy on trips but the battery cost would be better if it was a rechargeable pack.
This product is... A nice compact size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JerseyMamaX4
from Jersey, USA
on 05/08/2013
What's great about it: cheaper then LeapPad2 and just as fun, can download apps, lots of apps to pick from online
What's not so great: Needs lots of batteries, less app storage then LeapPad2
Kids can play games, take pictures, draw & save their artwork, watch videos. It does it all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

easy to use and portable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tjsw
from New Mexico
on 04/27/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Educational
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to get new games
What's not so great: my kids are faster than the computer so they have to wait
I need to get another one of these. My kids love it and fight over it. The only complaint is that batteries die fast. I just ended up buying rechargeable batteries and that solved the problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0754831615
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MsBean
from fort worth, texas
on 04/27/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Educational
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Kid-Friendly
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Keeps kids entertained and learning
What's not so great: Easily stops working if not handled with care
This product has many feature that I didn't expect. Apps are expensive unless you find a promo code. Also can easily stop working, which is a disappointment considering that this is a kids toy, and its not cheap in price. But the kids love it and learning so much so I'm happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0575156935
My Best Buy number: 0575156935
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

great for my little one...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cellest
from west covina, ca
on 04/27/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: its easy to work, educational but fun at the same time.
I would recommend it to anyone ... kid friendly and helps out with school stuff.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0542456044
My Best Buy number: 0542456044
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

My three-year-old likes to listen to the stories.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ls525
from AZ
on 04/26/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Educational
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Kid-Friendly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
We need to purchase more games for it. My son likes the books.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2287529670
My Best Buy number: 2287529670
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Good educational product for a 4 year old

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Fatcat4451
from Houston, TX
on 04/26/2013
What's great about it: Easy to use, as well as entertaining
What's not so great: no complaints at this time
I bought this as a gift for my granddaughter. She was thrilled. She took to using the Leap Frog right away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Kids love it, but not very sturdy or well made

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: handdoctor
on 04/22/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is our third leap pad to purchase. Our son and daughter both have one and this is our son's second one. His first one just stopped working one day. Had only had it for about six months. Called leapfrog customer service which was a joke and figured it would be easier to just buy a new one. Do not put any faith in the one year warranty through leapfrog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0748943942
My Best Buy number: 0748943942
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>