Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Model: 32200
SKU: 2954733
UPC: 708431322004
Have you been searching for a safe, fun, engaging educational experience for your child? Now, the LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer offers personalized play and learning that are designed specifically for children ages 4 - 9 years. Motion-based gameplay and an impressive collection of games, apps, digital books, videos and flash cards will have your little one laughing and learning for hours. The LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer teaches a broad curriculum that automatically adjusts to match your child's pace and remembers the progress from game-to-game and book-to-book. With a broad curriculum of key subjects such as reading, mathematics, science, geography, art, music, language, health and more available, your child will develop essential skills across a range of topics. Your child can enjoy more than 100 educational and entertaining cartridge games, apps, digital books, videos and flash cards. Store a robust suite of apps, including innovative book apps that deliver a fully interactive reading experience, with word-by-word support and state-of-the-art gameplay, on the 2GB of memory. See the world through your child's eyes as he or she captures special moments with the built-in camera and video recorder. Interested in how your child is doing? Track his or her progress through the online LeapFrog Learning Path, and then show off your child's achievements to family and loved ones.
Average Customer Rating:
4.313 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 83 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
25
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
2
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
75 out of 83
)
Customer Reviews for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green
Review 1 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green
  • Featured

Hot Toy for the 2011 Holidays!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MomReviews
from Lansing, Michigan
on 10/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Intuitive, educational, fun
What's not so great: Takes batteries
I'm a Mom of three kids, including a five year old daughter who has loved every LeapFrog product she's played with, and the LeapFrog LeapPad Explorer Learning Tablet is no exception!
With a 5" screen and 480x272 resolution, the LeapPad has the feel of a Tablet. A magnetic stylus fits into a slot on the side, plus it comes with an extra stylus with a tether cord, a USB cord, and a CD to install LeapFrog Connect. LeapPad comes with a built in camera and video recorder as well as 4 applications: the Pet Pad writing game comes preloaded and 3 download apps are included at no additional cost -- the Art Studio, the Story Studio, and 1 additional app of your choice.
What I'm loving best about the LeapPad Explorer so far is how intuitive it is for my five year old daughter to use. I unboxed it and handed it to her while I started reading the instructions, and next thing I knew she had created her profile, picked a background screen for her desktop, and started playing! I also like that up to three players can create their own profiles, plus there's a sign-in spot for a guest as well.
The PetPad Writing game is so cute! It combines taking care of a virtual pet with teaching beginning writing skills. Your child picks their pet - cat, pig, lemur, bunny, dog, sheep, dragon, monkey - and then customizes it's ears, eyes, mouth, tail, paws, and body. They have to keep their pet happy with a shower, food, playing games, and teaching the pet tricks by tracing letters. My daughter loves it!
One new feature with the LeapPad is Ultra eBooks, so our review model included the Cars 2: Project Undercover Ultra eBook already loaded. Ultra eBooks combine animation with reading skills, your child starts by selecting the reading mode - hear the story read, hear the story while reading along, or read along only. When your child comes across underlined words, they tap to bring up a pop up window that reads the word in syllables and then uses the word in a sentence that explains the meaning. In addition, tapping characters on the screen makes them move or say something, while their name on the screen is highlighted.
The Story Studio and Art Studio take advantage of the built-in camera to let kids truly personalize their creations. All pictures are stored in a folder called "My Stuff", and can be inserted into personalized storybooks or used as the basis of works of art. I like how the Story Studio has an "About Me" book that includes a "create my family" page. Have your child take a photo of each family member, then they drop them in their storybook.
The Art Studio encourages creativity by letting your child draw with pencil, paint with a paintbrush, use stamps, and pick patterns. Finished works of art can be stored in the My Stuff folder. Features from the Art Studio also appear in the Photo lab, where pictures can be stretched, turned black and white, saturated with color, turned into a mirror image, and more.
Roly Poly Picnic is a game available from the LeapFrog App Center which takes advantage of the LeapPad's tilt feature. Tilt the LeapPad to roll a roly poly along a path, periodically dropping down into a hole for a learning game. Roll over the correct letters on the screen to spell a word that is spoken first. Correct spelling makes a piece of food appear, collect three pieces of food to advance to a new level.
Roly Poly Picnic is the game that my boys (who are 14 and 12) and I play when we're all in the car. We take turns handing the LeapPad to each other, it's fun and surprising challenging to roll the roly poly perfectly along the path.
You will want to buy a set of rechargeable AA batteries and a battery charger to go with the LeapPad. A fully charged set of batteries should give you about eight total hours of game play. I like that the LeapPad automatically shuts down when not in use to save battery power.
If you've been hearing about the LeapPad and are reading the reviews to see if you should buy one, my answer is YES. Based on the response it's getting from my 5 year old daughter, my 12 year old son, his best friend, and even my 14 year old, the LeapPad is an electronic learning device that is educational and also fun!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+128points
209out of 290found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great for kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tjf1234
from MN
on 01/04/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
My little nephew got this for Christmas. he will not put it down.
This product is... easy to set up, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0323719221
My Best Buy number: 0323719221
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Good product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sapreaper
from PA
on 07/11/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Kids love these
What's not so great: Eats batteries, so we use plugin adapter
Not much to say but this was a good purchase. This one was bought for our 4yo now 5yo son. Even the 3yo likes it though we got him an explorer gs. They love taking videos especially. Games are a bit pricey but overall still a good product
This product is... responsive touch screen, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, Easy to navigate, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2721489089
My Best Buy number: 2721489089
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great PRODUCT!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BabyMunchkin
on 07/02/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, Easy to use
I bought this a couple days ago for my little toddler. She is learning lots of things on it everyday. It was also a great price!! It was on sale half off, so I got it for only $50. Great birthday present for her. She already knows how to use most of its functions and carries it with her all the time
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0574407533
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

easy to use and portable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tjsw
from New Mexico
on 04/27/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Educational
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to get new games
What's not so great: my kids are faster than the computer so they have to wait
I need to get another one of these. My kids love it and fight over it. The only complaint is that batteries die fast. I just ended up buying rechargeable batteries and that solved the problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0754831615
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

great for my little one...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cellest
from west covina, ca
on 04/27/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: its easy to work, educational but fun at the same time.
I would recommend it to anyone ... kid friendly and helps out with school stuff.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0542456044
My Best Buy number: 0542456044
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great learning tool AND entertainment.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Lafayette, IN
on 04/20/2013
What's great about it: Variety of apps, price, quality of construction
What's not so great: uses lots of batteries, although that was to be expected. Annoying for an adult to listen to.
Great product, kids love it! I don't feel guilty about letting them play it all day on rainy days as the we keep a good mix of entertainment and learning apps loaded on the unit. HIGHLY recommend getting the headphones to go with it, especially for car trips. We have two boys that have LeapPads and battling volumes back and forth in the car on road trips is pretty terrible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1043407207
My Best Buy number: 1043407207
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Easy for toddler use and camera works well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Srbrab1999
from Appleton, wi
on 04/19/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very child friendly.
What's not so great: That it takes aa batteries vs rechargeable lithium ion
Bought for my 3yr old but it captures the attention of even my almost 9yr old. It is very easy to use. I did have to adjust the screen sensitivity within a week of owning it as all the sudden the screen wouldn't respond to the touch. My only real complaint is how fast it goes through batteries. I wish it had the lithium ion battery.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2787103158
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Bought for my 4 year old

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fooler
from Clinton Twp, MI
on 04/19/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: She loves it!!
What's not so great: Nothing!!
I recommend this item to all parents that have toddlers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0054738232
My Best Buy number: 0054738232
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Bought as gift for my granddauhter's 6th bday.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NonnaTeresa
from Sarasota FL
on 02/25/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: she is loving the ability to make her own videos
What's not so great: have not heard any negatives
this was a perfect gift for a six year old. . .hight recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Kids love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JimmyJamesJimmy
from Destin, Florida
on 02/12/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price, easy to use
What's not so great: Sound out already
My children love this product. All files on this leappad are child friendly. My son quickly learned how to use all applications of this product and uses them daily for hours. Fresh batteries will last about 4 hours of constant use. There are many games for the leappad which are very child friendly. Planning on taking a extensive vehicle trip soon, will see how these keep the children occupied for the duration. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great Kindle wanna be

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lourox
from Bay Area, CA
on 01/30/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: Lots of applications
What's not so great: A little slow and programs expensive
My 4 yr old loves having her own "Kindle" like ours. Lots of educational applications.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Excellent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 1nderWoman
from Durham, NC
on 01/21/2013
Awesome!! My son loves it and he's learning alot! Very Kid friendly
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Great educational toy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WDG51
from Louisville, Ky
on 01/20/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Many games for variety of ages.
What's not so great: None
Great educational toy for a variety of ages. Many games to choose from and add to as child grows. Games can be shared among other family members.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Easy and fun for my kid.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Thispartisdumb
from Florida
on 01/19/2013
What's great about it: Games are easy to load and purchase.
What's not so great: Battery life is so so.
Entertaining way to learn. My child loves it. It much cheaper than other options. Only thing that stinks is the battery life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

My 4 year old loves it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Blondie93b
from Orient OH
on 01/19/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Great buy!! My son loves it. It keeps him from wanting my iPad all the time
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

Fun & educational

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MichiMa
from Livonia, MI
on 01/19/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Got this for our 3 year old grandson and he absolutely loves it. He calls it his iPad. He's learning problem-solving skills and also how to write his letters. All he knows is he gets to play games. My daughter, an early education teacher, likes that she can download games onto it from the Leap Pad web site with no concerns about him accessing the Internet. A fabulous learning tool!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

One of the Best Buys I've Done!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lucky427
on 07/10/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Educational
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Kid-Friendly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and choose what to download
What's not so great: Uses Batteries
This was the one of the best things I've purchased for 2yr old son. I love that there are different options for him to do. He can draw, watch movies, do puzzles, etc. All the programs that I have downloaded into the pad are very educational and fun. The only problem that I have is that it requires 4 AA Batteries which die easily. I use rechargeable ones and I purchased a wall adapter, but the wall adapter is not wireless. He can only go as far as the length of the chord. I also wish I could download my own movies (his favorite ones) into the pad. Haven't found out if that is even possible. Other than that, it was an excellent buy! Keeps him busy so I can work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

BIRTHDAY GIFT

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LEAPPAD
from NEW ORLEANS
on 06/27/2012
What's great about it: EVERYTHING
What's not so great: N/A
LOVING MY PURCHASE, THIS MAKES A GREAT BIRTHDAY GIFT
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LeapFrog - LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (Green) - Green

It is great in helping children to learn on their.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jeebob
on 06/20/2012
What's great about it: Easy to set up.
My son is able to learn alphabets, words, paint, photography on his own. He is only three years but he is able to learn on his own. It is a great relief for parents.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>