Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Model: R70F452
SKU: 3016127
UPC: 843967071764
Enjoy digital media on the go with this digital reader that features a 7" ActiveTouch screen for a clear view. The Android 2.3 operating system allows simple navigation of features, and the built-in Wi-Fi lets you easily connect to the Internet.
Average Customer Rating:
2.691 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 94 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
12
1 star
36
46% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
43 out of 94
)
Customer Reviews for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black
Review 1 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Budget price and you get budget features.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Pserine
from Scranton,pa
on 07/12/2012
What's great about it: Cheap
What's not so great: Mostly everything.
You get what you pay for, but at $ 179.00US you've paid too much. Add anther 20 bucks or so for the SD card that you must have and you could have had a Kindle. Everything is cheap about this. It does work and you can download books, apps and Netflix but don't expect silky smooth performance.The processor is so slow, watching a movie is actually painful-and I have high speed cable. The front and rear facing cameras are a nice feature,or, it would have been a nice feature if the cameras had more MP's than my cell phone from 1983. Terrible picture quality. "Sound" and "Quality" cannot be used in the same sentence with this. Everybody is selling their old Kindle to get the K-fire, so do yourself a favor and get a used Kindle rather than this.
This product is... Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Terrible!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DaBear54
from Okemos,MI
on 07/08/2012
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
I bought this tablet because of the price and a gift for my girlfriend. Boy this tablet is junk! I felt bad getting this for her. The screen doesnt move and accept finger movement well at all and plus it really isnt the android system on it. There is no google store to go to and cant play some videos on it also. Do NOT buy this and save up for a more better one from a better well known brand. Take my word for this dont get it.
This product is... junk
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Just love my new E-Reader

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: celebrity60
from IL
on 06/29/2012
What's great about it: It is much faster than my old one and I can read the books a lot better, better lighting on the screem
What's not so great: Takes a little long to boot-up
For the price it is just perfect. I had another one for a couple years and
it broke, the screen cracked. This one works much faster and has a better screen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Poor Quality

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: twil06
from chicago, il
on 06/06/2012
What's great about it: It had a camera
What's not so great: touch screen hard to navigate with finger
Bought this item because it had a camera and it was a cheap price. The screen was very hard to navigate through with your finger. trying to download apps to the sd card was virtually impossible even though it gave me the option to "put on device" or "put on sd card". It took too long to download books.
Woke up one morning and it stopped working and that was only after 5 days, good thing that I had bought the warranty.
About me... Budget Conscious
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Dreadful Product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from VA
on 05/23/2012
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
Unboxed the item, the screen is cracked. Not covered under the warranty, dismissive customer service. Personally I would never buy any product associated with this company, they make zero effort to offer decent customer service. I purchased 2 Pandigitals and thankfully returned one immediately for a Kindle Fire, and the receiver of that gift was thrilled. This second Pandigital however, is a useless paperweight and according to the company, its just tough luck for me, they say its cheaper to buy a new one than for them to repair it. It's better to spend a few extra bucks and purchase an item of quality, than for this to be your experience.
Don't say you haven't been cautioned....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

worthless

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: techmom1
from twin cities
on 05/13/2012
What's great about it: the price
What's not so great: everything except the price
we purchased this for my 12 year old daughter who was mostly interested in a camera feature and something larger then an Ipod for apps. The first unit we bought was defective, which Best Buy was great in exchanging it. The second unit had the same problems as the first. All of the apps said you need an SD card and the actual unit has 4 gb of internal storage. We ended up returning and spending a little more for the Ipad, which has worked perfect and has been in her hands since she got it.
This product is... does not slide well for a touch screen
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Apple - iPad 2 with Wi-Fi - 16GB - White
4.7 out of 5(1,707)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Dissapointed

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JP22
from NY
on 05/04/2012
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Manfacture refues to honor warranty
Do not buy. Power button stuck unit will not turn on. Called manfacture.Reply damage due to customer. Unit was never mishandled. Pure junk stay away from all Pan Digital products customer support is the worst I have ever experienced .You get what you pay for in this case not even that.
This product is... trash
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Not Worth Your Time Or Money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: T3chN3rd23
from Denver
on 04/20/2012
What's great about it: The price
What's not so great: You get what you pay for
I received this tablet as a "gift" late last year. I understood from the get-go that this was a budget tablet, so I didn't expect it to be an iPad. That being said, it was frustratingly glitchy, even after updating the firmware. It would stick and freeze constantly. It can't access the Android Market, despite being an Android tablet. Lastly, the touch screen response was so poor (using my fingers OR a stylus, even after calibration) that the unit met its untimely demise when I threw it to the ground out of frustration. My recommendation would be to spend a little more money for something you will actually like that actually works.
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Love it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cmtAZ
from Phx
on 03/18/2012
What's great about it: Great for the price!
Had another brand in this price range - when it fell off the table and cracked the screen I was told $80 to replace screen. I figured for a little bit more, I would give this one a try. My old one did not have a camera and this one has a front and back facing one! Love it! If you like lots of apps be sure to get a MicroSD card as the internal memory is small.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Excellent starter tablet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KimberlyO
from PA
on 03/14/2012
What's great about it: Easy to learn to customixe it.
What's not so great: Reading SD card off and on.
I got this product for my job as I had to print instructions and workorders. I download the forms to this product and do not have to print 99.9% of my workorders and other paperwork. I can read books, magazines and newspapers on it, can download additional apps for it and found it to be useful for what I needed in an e-reader/tablet. To date, I have not had any major problems, just minor ones where it won't read the micro SD card once in a while (I have to shut it down and start it back up to do so and it's just a minor incomvenience).
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

I like it to take with me in my purse

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Vicky55
from Killeen, Tx
on 03/14/2012
What's great about it: Size and ease of use
What's not so great: Not a full android
It was easy to set up and transfer pics and video. I like the micro sd card up to 32g
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... mom
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Great e-book

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jbmom13
from Blue Mountain
on 03/09/2012
What's great about it: Easy to set up and use.
What's not so great: Can't figure out how to use the skype on it!
Good for what it does. My girls really do like using them. Just can't skype or play the games on face book.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Parent with kids, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Pandigital Nova Digital Reader - Black

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: zrain23
from Alabama
on 03/08/2012
What's great about it: Price, size - overall size and the screen size, free apps
What's not so great: Fragility
I purchased this tablet for my son, and he loves it. As the parent, buying for a child, you just have to ensure that your investment is insured. My son broke the thing, the third day he had it. It took a little less than a month to get it back, after it was sent off for repair, and the next day he broke it again!!! He was exasperated at that point and stated, "Mom, I don't need this, go get your money back". After the second time it was repaired, (thanks insurance), and the insurance repurchased again, I promptly went and bought a case, and a plastic cover, it has not been cracked or broken anymore, the buyor just has to keep in mind that the item is fragile, and you have to invest in all of the protective ware. :)
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Not worth my money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Student0131
from Georgia
on 03/01/2012
What's great about it: Size and color
What's not so great: Everything else
I purchased this item wanting to have access to books and wi-fi. Unfortunately after 3 days, the screen goes white. I panic. I was not satisfied. I returned it and saw the same exact product $60.00 cheaper at Walmart
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Student
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Really wanted to like but...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MzMaxx
from Cleveland,Ohio
on 03/01/2012
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: screen and doesn't use Google market
This Reader had potential but unfortunately it was defective and was exchanged once and finally returned. It has a camera and its sync function was great for me but I didn’t purchase it for myself. I had purchased it for 11 years old but it did wouldn't download games and had other mechanical issues. The screen wasn't very receptive and was slow on internet connection, even with full bar status with wifi.
I would have kept it for myself, but it just didn’t seem like it would last beyond its warranty.
About me... Parent with kids, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Not So Great

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Ladynite
from Kansas City, MO
on 02/27/2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Good price, great screen size.
What's not so great: Slow download of applications, sound quality.
I bought this for my daughter's 8th birthday, she's quite laptop and android phone saavy so this seemed to be an easy transition. It's a great size and the price was on point but it started to short out, would freeze up and was slow or unable to download most applications. Best Buy was fabulous, they allowed me to change it three (3) times, the last time down to the 7" size even the case. But alas it was not meant to be so 2 months from my date of purchase they gave me a full refund for the tablet, case and the extra warrenty I purchased. We're saving up for another brand of tablet or IPad.
This product is... A nice compact size, Great screen size, priced perfectly
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: abraun
from lakeland fl
on 02/22/2012
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: manufacturer treats it as a disposable one time use item
VERY CHEAPLY MADE. Glass broke from regular use after less than a month. Pandigital has no service center or parts department to get the touch panel replaced. Spend a few extra dollars on a tablet from a reputable manufacturer. I am passing along my $160.00 lesson to you for free so you dont have to learn the hard way like I did.
This product is... garbage
About me... Parent with kids, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

great little tablet for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mykidzmom
from New London, NH
on 02/13/2012
What's great about it: affordable, easy
What's not so great: speaker volume
I bought this tablet as an upgrade from the pd Novel and I'm very happy with my purchase. It worked great right out of the box. Piece of cake to set up and has exceeded my expectations. After looking at the Kindle Fire and Nook Tablet I chose to buy a Nova for 3 main reasons: affordable price, features, and security. The price point speaks for itself...$50 to $100 less than the competition. Unlike the Nook or Kindle, the Nova has a microphone and 2 cameras built-in. I love being able to Skype relatives in Europe as well as video chat with my kids on their ipods (very handy since they don't have cell phones and its FREE!). Other added features include backlit navigation buttons, usb hosting, and expandable memory card slot up to 32gb. I find the Nova to be considerably lighter than the Novel making reading more comfortable. The touch screen is very responsive, page turns, screen orientation and pinch/zoom features are great. I keep my Nova in a case with built in android keyboard that opens like an easel and sits on a tabletop like a little netbook. I prefer typing on a real keypad rather than a virtual one. I also like to use a stylus when navigating. As for security, if you are buying a tablet for a child or teen, shop carefully. I found Kindle Fire to have some security concerns. The Nova allows you to lock the device with security passwords and gives you the option to log out of your Barnes and Noble account so that no one can make unauthorized purchases. As far as apps, I have been able to load all my favorites including Netflix, Hulu+ (sometimes choppy), TV.com, Skype, Weather Channel, Angry Birds without having to root or modify the device in any way. The only thing lacking is the speaker volume (but there's an app for that too) After seeing so many negative reviews I felt an obligation to put in my 2 cents and share a positive experience. Hope this helps, happy shopping!
This product is... great e-reader, easy set-up
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Not worth the money.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Biggsull
from Sierra Vista, AZ
on 02/10/2012
What's great about it: Andriod 2.3
What's not so great: Cheap Plastic, low grade materials
When I first bought this tablet/e-reader, I thought it was a great deal compared to other e-readers/tablets, but as time wore on, so did it. Long story short, it was a great e-reader for about 3 months but after then, the screen went out. Because I did not by the extended warranty, I took it to a pc guru to see what happened to it. Come to find out the it was constructed with cheap plastic and the reason the screen when out, because when I was charging it, the solder joint on a connection from the screen to the motherboard burned out. I a have learned my lesson, wished I would have gotten the kindle fire instead.
This product is... worthless
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pandigital - Nova Digital Reader - Black

Good for beginners

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NormalGuy80
from colorado
on 02/08/2012
What's great about it: Free Apps, Several screens to setup and personalize, budget friendly
What's not so great: Low battery life, have to press hard sometimes
This product is good for beginners to the tablets. Be sure however to get a warranty and make sure the warranty covers cracked screens. Have heard that this is a problem alhtough mine has been dropped several times with no problems. Love the free apps and lots to choose from. You do have to press harder on the screen then say the kindle fire but get a stylus pen and problem solved. Also has several screens to put your widgets or apps on for easy access as well as some great background images. One major downfall of the product is that the battery life seems to be short.
Otherwise I would recommend this product to those who are just starting out in the tablet world.
This product is... Great screen size, gppd free apps
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>