Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Model: PD9016/37
SKU: 3021086
UPC: 609585232051
These portable DVD players feature 2 widescreen LCD displays, so passengers can enjoy movies separately or share the same movie on both monitors. A variety of playback formats allow you to enjoy movies, music and photos on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(581 Reviews) 581
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 581 reviews
5 stars
304
4 stars
190
3 stars
37
2 stars
20
1 star
30
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
521 out of 581
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black
Review 1 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Great DVD player for traveling

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: annacan
on 08/29/2015
I bought this 9in. Philips duel screen DVD player for our Grandsons that were traveling across the country. My son said the kids loved that they could watch their own movie, or watch the same movie.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0782818800
My Best Buy number: 0782818800
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Good purchase but pricey

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Veggietc
from St. Louis
on 08/29/2015
I wanted to have two screens and the independent or combined feature was a plus. I did feel that it was pricey, but since we were leaving the next day for an extended cr trip I went ahead and purchased. So far so good, I do wish for the price they had come with a bag or case to hold in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2590220462
My Best Buy number: 2590220462
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Still trying to figure out. Used it once, briefly.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Koalas
on 08/29/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Wish it had a remote. All the buttons are on the top and its above your vision reach, close to the roof. so u are guessing where the right buttons are, unless u have the manual in ur hands. Other then that its fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3474963277
My Best Buy number: 3474963277
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Great DVD player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kapatty
on 08/28/2015
Easy for the kids to use, either watching separate movies or the same together, awesome for long road trips
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2966155527
My Best Buy number: 2966155527
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Ok when working but not so sturdy...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: SYAH
on 08/27/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I bought this product for... of course, my kids to watch when we're on the road for a long time. There is nothing like kids' favorite movies that keeps kids entertained on the road. Although I believe that the screen/picture quality could be better, it was okay when it was working. Here is my experience with this product.
-The units are very light, and their build quality just feel cheap.
-Picture quality was not all that great. I felt like I was back in 90's, staring at the arcade video game screen that had progressive lines all over the screen.
-These units do not have rechargeable batteries which is probably one reason that the units are so light. They need to be connected to the power source (either wall or car's 12v DC; it does come with both 120v adapter and 12v DC cable to power both units) at all times.
-More than anything, it is not very sturdy. This product is designed so that the cover to the disc tray and the screen are bound with hinges on the bottom of the unit. In other words, it has a latch on the top of the unit that holds the cover/screen in place when it's shut. When the discs need to be inserted/replaced, the latch on top needs to be released, and the whole screen swings open downward. The problem is with the latch. The latches gave up on both units. No, we did not use them every day, nor did we released the latches every time we used them. A lot of times, kids were happy playing the same movies. But the latches gave up after two months, and will no longer hold the covers in place. When the covers are not securely closed, of course, the discs stop spinning and the movies will not play. Hm......
I'm just glad that I decided to get the protection plan when I purchased this product because I usually opt to not pay for protection plan.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2137176696
My Best Buy number: 2137176696
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Great DVD Player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zipjr
on 08/27/2015
I bought this dual dvd player for our daughter. We put one in each of our vehicles. They were easy to set up and work great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2226570800
My Best Buy number: 2226570800
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Was easy to set up in car.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: wendy
on 08/27/2015
Was easy to set up, works fine, just wish words (like on/off) were bigger so I don't have to have reading glasses on to see lol.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2496854259
My Best Buy number: 2496854259
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

So so

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Jenwrens28
on 08/26/2015
Stopped and bought this item while on vacation because ours dies mid trip. I liked the product because my boys could watch 2 different movies. The 13 year old didn't have to share with th 1 year old. Item worked fine on the trip down but one of the dvd players wouldn't work on the way back and the screen kept opening when I would hit a bump or if barely touched.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2979215980
My Best Buy number: 2979215980
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Great for long trips

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fatherof2
on 08/26/2015
Trip to PA from SC and no skipping and great picture. I'd recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1041888923
My Best Buy number: 1041888923
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Good picture.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Fluffynotfat
on 08/24/2015
Good picture. Works great for my grandchildren. They love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2658960330
My Best Buy number: 2658960330
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

very useful and convenient; easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 6dy6
on 08/24/2015
Very easy to use in home and in car.
Convenient size.
Great quality pictures.
Glad I bought these DVD players.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2082834566
My Best Buy number: 2082834566
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Great tvs

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mustang
on 08/21/2015
I like it cause keeps kids and grandkids happy going down the road on long trips
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0788016996
My Best Buy number: 0788016996
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Great DVD Player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: photomom
on 08/21/2015
I bought these for my children to watch while on a long trip...worked great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0312565785
My Best Buy number: 0312565785
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

great portable dvd player

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nana50
on 08/21/2015
I bought this for when the power goes out.I had to use it alot this past winter, and it keep me from going stircraze,it helped with the grandson too.I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2507761231
My Best Buy number: 2507761231
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Work great; good value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LadyVols
on 08/21/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Was looking for DVD player that I could use as well as grandchildren. Pleased with purchase
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2007892008
My Best Buy number: 2007892008
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Great portable DVD players

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Enlanda03
on 08/21/2015
These portable DVD players were better than expected. Good sound and display quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1043547613
My Best Buy number: 1043547613
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Great, but pops open

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: bjsbabies
from Owensboro, KY
on 08/21/2015
This is a great DVD player, but don't hit any bumps or let the person in the front seat sit down too hard. This is my second one. The first one took 6 months for the first screen to do it, a year for the second screen. On this set, less than two months. The latch needs to be designed much better. I can't wait to get my minivan that just has the screen already installed in the vehicle.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0321622035
My Best Buy number: 0321622035
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Worked Great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Momof2boys
on 08/20/2015
I purchased this for my vehicle when we travel and it worked great since there is 8 1/2 years between my two kids. This allowed them to each watch what they wanted at the same time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1012380593
My Best Buy number: 1012380593
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Nice dvd players

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jayp
on 08/20/2015
These have worked well for the most part, and we have been using them daily for about 8 months. We had an issue with one unit not playing the DVD, but it seems to have resolved itself. (Maybe it got overheated?) It is nice that you can play a different DVD on each, or share the same one between two screens. We also like that it starts back up automatically where you left off after turning off the vehicle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0774306896
My Best Buy number: 0774306896
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players - Black

Great Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jogilthorp
on 08/20/2015
Bought this for a road trip to florida with my two kids. What is great is that you have to separate DVD players so each person can watch what they want. The feature where you can watch one movie on both screens when they both want to watch the same thing is fantastic and only requires a quick wire connection. Screen quality isn't HD but for what it costs, it is a great deal and the kids loved it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0325554097
My Best Buy number: 0325554097
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 30 next>>