Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Model: PD9016/37
SKU: 3021086
UPC: 609585232051
These portable DVD players feature 2 widescreen LCD displays, so passengers can enjoy movies separately or share the same movie on both monitors. A variety of playback formats allow you to enjoy movies, music and photos on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.13 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(169 Reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 169 reviews
5 stars
90
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
14
85% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
144 out of 169
)
Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players
Review 1 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great DVD player for kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Stokosa
from Hopewell jct. , NY
on 07/19/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy to operate
What's not so great: No protective cover
I bought this product for my grandchildren. They have gotten so much use from this DVD player. Great entertainment on long trips!
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2876172294
My Best Buy number: 2876172294
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great for traveling with kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ambularhardy
on 07/18/2014
Definately love this product perfect for the car and traveling
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2738900201
My Best Buy number: 2738900201
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Worked as expected.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nana2014
from Kansas City
on 07/12/2014
What's great about it: Portable, ability to watch individual movies or same.
What's not so great: The casing seems a bit cheap but functions well.
Bought these for a long distance road trip. They worked great, we liked that you had the option of watching separate movies or the same. Wish the attached to seat a bit better but that is just my preference. For the money these were just fine and provided entertainment on our trip.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0561737247
My Best Buy number: 0561737247
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Economical portable DVD players

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Suncityclean
from Pawleys Island, SC
on 07/12/2014
What's great about it: Screen size good, individual players
What's not so great: No problems
The DVD players have a good screen size and are individually separate units. Straps work well in car and have met our expectation.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0322321494
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great big screens

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BigDav25
from CA
on 07/11/2014
What's great about it: Screen size
Great distraction for kids. Use with headphones or without, plays same DVD or 2 separate DVDs at the same time. Cords are long enough to tuck away. Does not play movie from the beginning, it remembers where you left off.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1003971960
My Best Buy number: 1003971960
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great for road trips with children

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shopgirl21
from McAllen, TX
on 07/11/2014
What's great about it: Can share a movie or watch two different movies
Perfect purchase or gift for people who travel with children.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2854526637
My Best Buy number: 2854526637
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great DVD/ dual tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Technowookie1
from Lafayette, LA
on 07/11/2014
What's great about it: Was easy to set up
This worked real well for both of my boys on vacation. Each was able to watch the movie of their choice.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0025725704
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

they are life savers on trips

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: elephants
from crosby, tx
on 07/11/2014
What's great about it: they can watch different movies at the same time
What's not so great: the latches can break and then they pop open with every bump
They are life savers on trips, kids can watch the same movie or they can watch different movies at the same time. The latches if closed too hard won't stay closed, so when you hit bumps it opens and starts the movie over. Buy the protection plan its worth it!!
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0754501846
My Best Buy number: 0754501846
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great DVD player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jessml
on 07/11/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Perfect for family's with more than one child! Easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0073800033
My Best Buy number: 0073800033
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Nice headrest DVD players with Dual viewing.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MisterBrewer
from Mississippi Gulf Coast
on 07/09/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up and easy to use.
What's not so great: The A/V cable to connect the two units could be better quality.
Bought this set of Dual DVDs for a 9 hour road trip. The units were easy to use, most of the functionality was intuitive. Easy to put a DVD in each player and switch between movies. The A/V cable did occasionally lose connection to the 2nd DVD player; however this may have been due to road conditions. It was easily remedied at a fuel stop. Picture quality and sound were excellent.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0749511263
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Perfect for kids in backseat.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: elnoodles13
from Palos Hills, IL
on 07/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
With these DVD players the kids in backseat are entertained. No more complaining about everything. Good quality players at a great price. Each screen is a DVD player so kids could watch different movie or with an included cable kids could watch same movie on their own screen. We had them for about 2 months and No Complaints and problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0536532563
My Best Buy number: 0536532563
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great for trips

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Acbc
from Missouri
on 07/04/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Volume is not as loud as it could be, works out fine with head phones
Worked out great for our 18 hour road trip. Only draw back is if two kids wanted to watch is was difficult for the one further away to hear.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2742631276
My Best Buy number: 2742631276
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great picture very good quality.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kj24
on 07/04/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Very good quality. IT has a great picture and is easy to set up. The kids love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0568528923
My Best Buy number: 0568528923
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

great for the car

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: pmad10
from michigan
on 07/03/2014
works great bur has to be plugged in at all times to work. Has no battery to charge
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1013621947
My Best Buy number: 1013621947
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Easy to use.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Loganathan
from Helena
on 06/28/2014
Nice and easy to assemble. Overall great product for the money
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1039114294
My Best Buy number: 1039114294
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Reasonably priced and suitable for our use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cwatford
from Williamsport, PA
on 06/27/2014
What's great about it: They can operate independently or in tandem
What's not so great: Not extremely durable
We have been very pleased with this purchase. However, the fact that one of the screens did not withstand some expected wear and tear caused us to have to replace it. The replacement was not easy to find and although we did get another Phillips portable DVD player we eventually decided to take it back and get a new set due to the price difference not being worth buying one versus two. Plus by buying the set again we now have an extra on hand should any of the ones we are using go bad.
Even with our experience of the lack of durability, I would still recommend this if you're looking for an affordable option and one that gives you the option of playing the same movie on both screens or to play separate movies on separate screens.
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
My Best Buy number: 1015010244
My Best Buy number: 1015010244
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Road trip ready

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bret
on 06/26/2014
Being able to play two different things at the same time was a big plus
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2947843771
My Best Buy number: 2947843771
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great for the kids

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jbennett2352
from Dallas, TX
on 06/22/2014
What's great about it: Can watch two movies independently or connect screens to watch one.
What's not so great: The only complaint I have is that the dvd players rattle a bit.
Overall, a really nice product. They don't take up much space, easy to install and a great road trip item for the kiddos. As far as functionality, they work as advertised. The only complaint I have is the rattle they can make when driving. It seems as if the "door" doesn't seat properly on one of the players, may be an isolated issue though.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2631339016
My Best Buy number: 2631339016
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kjohnson
on 06/20/2014
Great picture and sound! Made my recent trip to atlanta very nice!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2706923201
My Best Buy number: 2706923201
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Perfect for a family road trip

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PrettyPaisley
on 06/19/2014
I was pleasantly surprised at how fast and easy this was to set up. I was in a hurry as we were about to get on the road and all I needed was a male to male cord for our previous players. The cord I needed was not available for purchase and my husband and I decided to get this instead. While my husband was driving I was setting it up and was done by the time we got onto the interstate leaving the city. I will say this isn't something you leave in the car in cold weather because they won't stay closed as I found that out with our old setup :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2288324281
My Best Buy number: 2288324281
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>