Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Model: PD9016/37
SKU: 3021086
UPC: 609585232051
These portable DVD players feature 2 widescreen LCD displays, so passengers can enjoy movies separately or share the same movie on both monitors. A variety of playback formats allow you to enjoy movies, music and photos on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.018 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 111 reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
11
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
92 out of 111
)
Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players
Review 1 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Kids luv it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: vicente
from chino, ca
on 04/12/2014
Great for road trips, easy for kids to control better than other similar units that we have had in the past
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2717723241
My Best Buy number: 2717723241
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great for long trips

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Troylamb
from Baton Rouge, LA
on 04/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: 2 Screens
What's not so great: No blu-ray
You get 2 screens in which the same thing can be viewed simultaneously or each unit accepts its own DVD so 2 different things can be viewed simultaneously. Great quality video.
This product has... Slow load time, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2181332024
My Best Buy number: 2181332024
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Work we'll

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tina
from Laredo,TX
on 04/06/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Too many wires used and makes humming sound when playing CDs
The DVD players work well. Hopefully they last long.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2954928232
My Best Buy number: 2616934625
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

difficult to use without a remote

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: KidsFun
from Endicott NY
on 04/05/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: allows two different discs
What's not so great: hard to work it
Would be much better if a remote capability to manage the individual screens were available to restart.. etc Truly frustrating as is
This product has... difficulty starting discs
About me... kids entertainment
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2717909676
My Best Buy number: 2717909676
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Already broke less than a month.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Matt
from Lexington, ky
on 04/04/2014
What's great about it: Easy install
What's not so great: Cigarette lighter power already broke after 1 month
Poor quality. Cigarette lighter power already broke after 1 month
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2547170321
My Best Buy number: 2547170321
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great for kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Icey
from Nc
on 04/02/2014
What's great about it: Durable and compact
What's not so great: Lots of cords
A great set of DVD players for the kids. Mine have been kicking them and they still work fine and dont skip. I like how u can play a DVD in one and it play on both and u can choose which DVD player movie u use. Or u can have two diff movies playing. But the down fall to that is there are cords for the kids to get rolled up in and unplug.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2827109775
My Best Buy number: 2827109775
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Good Camera

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Christlove
from Indianapolis, IN
on 03/29/2014
I purchased the screens for my cousin's birthday. She likes them. She finds them convenient.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2704884412
My Best Buy number: 2704884412
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Best of the best

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GTRonn
from Fort Wayne, IN
on 03/28/2014
What's great about it: reliability reliability reliability, customer service, bang for buck
What's not so great: 5 years and still no improvement? slight noise
We loved it so much that this is now the second time we bought this player. First time the player had issues but customer service sent us a brand new one. Lasted for couple of years until the kids had beaten up the power cord enough to break it. Again customer service came to the rescue and sent us a new cord. After 5 years of using it it finally gave up. Not bad at all!!! I never expected it to last that long after severe abuse from our 3 and 5 year old kids.
When I started looking for a replacement, I could not believe that they still make the exact same one. It was no contest. I bought it again. Although I was hoping that after 5 years there would've been some improvement, right? Nope. Everything was exactly the same. How about a remote? Or maybe a 10" screen? Blu ray? Maybe include some headphones or earphones? Oh well... the kids love it! I bought additional warranty this time cuz I'm almost certain it's gonna get beat up again.
One would think the price would come down a bit after 5 years. But no... Somebody's making a lot of money by selling these old devices.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2219447928
My Best Buy number: 2219447928
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Easy to use great for kids

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Canche
from Tehachapi ca
on 03/22/2014
What's great about it: The you can watch to different movies at once
What's not so great: Does not have a remote control
It was the best offer I could get out there, I checked target and also wallmart, they did not have something similar for the price I paid
This product has... Slow load time
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0731715327
My Best Buy number: 0731715327
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Good DVD pair

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sam1
from Texas
on 03/21/2014
What's great about it: Good picture, good quality DVD set
What's not so great: Cabling and attachment to headrest
Very good set so far with good picture quality and sound. Only downside for me is that it keeps falling out of place from the back of the headrest no matter how tight I fasten the units with the provided straps.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2506668494
My Best Buy number: 2506668494
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

SUCKS!! but no other options

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: nicoleblink
from montgomery county, md
on 03/18/2014
What's not so great: short working life
Ok, so I first got 1 set of these in 2012 and it worked great! couldn't understand all the bad reviews. Then, my daughter came along and she needed a set too. So, we got hers and I just returned the FOURTH set! All manufactured in OCT 2013. All had stopped reading the disc or skipped and wouldn't read disc and never worked again. I was in shock! Then in the middle of all that the 1st set I had from 2012 stopped working as well. These dvd players are JUNK but unfortunately no one else makes a Dual DVD system with 2 that both accept disc and each can watch what they want so I subject myself to constantly buying and returning every few weeks. Seems if yours were manufactured in OCT 2013 then you are doomed!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 590126531
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

kids love DVD player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: oscarc17
from Donna,TX
on 03/15/2014
What's great about it: That's each screen had it's own DVD player
What's not so great: But would be nice if they had battery pack.
Kids use them everyday. They turn them on and off several times a day and no problems yet.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2131654718
My Best Buy number: 2131654718
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great to keep kids occupied, but wires are a mess

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: RichCberry
from Boca Raton, Fl
on 03/09/2014
What's great about it: Keep kids occupied for hours on end
What's not so great: Leaves wires all across your back seat for kids to get tangled in
Quality of video is great, and so far item has been reliable- However, The wires are not long enough to where I can run them along the inside of my seats or through the flooring. Consequently, they dangle, and the kids/dogs keep getting caught in them and pulling them out. The video jack on one side almost broke from someone getting tangled in them and trying to get out of truck. Wish they had thought of a better way to handle all the wires, it's a mess and a constant hassle.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Maiayjamila
from Elizabeth nj
on 03/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: Hard to install
Great product right price I wool recommended to my friends and fily
This product has... Great DVD upconversion
About me... Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1054270708
My Best Buy number: 1054270708
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great for roadtrip

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: landballs
from suffolk, ny
on 03/07/2014
What's great about it: dual screen
What's not so great: intermittent fuzziness
Overall I'm happy with the dvd players. The kids can watch the same movie or each watch their own. First time it was used it worked perfect, watching the same movie. Next time they tried to watch the same movie it was clear in one and fuzzy in the other. it's great for a roadtrip and much cheaper than the DVD option in cars nowadays which is waaay overpriced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1019123032
My Best Buy number: 1019123032
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Working great so far.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Healthcliff
from Phoenix, AZ
on 03/07/2014
What's great about it: Kids can watch two different shows. Resolution is good.
I previously owned the Phillips DVD player that only had one player and then an additional monitor and had to return both- thank goodness for "black tie protection." These have been working great thus far.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0537439427
My Best Buy number: 0537439427
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great for long drives!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Heather2003
from Williamsburg, VA
on 03/07/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up.
This DVD player set was perfect for our 4 state drive. Easy to set up and convenient for 2 kids as you can watch the same movie or 2 different ones.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2214112609
My Best Buy number: 2214112609
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Nice handy DVD on the go

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mk13pl
from Oregon
on 02/28/2014
What's great about it: Great buy
I have been shopping for a pair of portable DVD players for my minivan. We previously bought 7" ones but they are not good and we returned them the second day. I have compared various places such as Walmart, Amazon, and Sears. I have found this one is the best choice. It has a larger 9" screen, and the picture quality is acceptable. They are easy to install and easy to play. My kids love them. I am pleased with my purchase.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0581045469
My Best Buy number: 0581045469
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

save your money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TBOT7000
from Middle Town Ny
on 02/26/2014
I just returned mine to the store and the person behind me was returning theirs as well. I only had it for two weeks and the DVD player started skipping and wouldn't play any DVD. The DVDs were free of scratches so it wasn't the discs. The other one worked fine but I didn't buy one I bought two, so save your money and buy something that works.
This product has... inferior product
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips - 9" Dual Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Players

Great for watching separate video

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Karijo
from Stevens point, wi
on 02/21/2014
What's great about it: That they can be watched by separately and also in the homes
What's not so great: So many different cords
So far the times I have used it, it's been good, they only bad thing is the cords for connecting the two for same video viewing can be a mess.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0929096016
My Best Buy number: 0929096016
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>