Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Model: 010-00990-21
SKU: 3054038
UPC: 753759978921
Hit the road and arrive at your destination with ease using this GPS that features preloaded base maps of the lower 48 states, Hawaii and Puerto Rico. Lifetime map updates ensure you have up-to-date information when you travel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.57 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(279 Reviews) 279
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 279 reviews
5 stars
189
4 stars
72
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
5
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
265 out of 279
)
Customer Reviews for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates
Review 1 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great inexpensive GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Naomi
from Bumpass, VA
on 04/08/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and to use
This GPS works great! I like how it stores the address of places you want to keep track of and you can type in the name of the home or business. It's small enough to carry in a purse if you don't want to leave it in the car.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2828214935
My Best Buy number: 2828214935
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gmm1st
from Hopewell
on 03/16/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very accurate. It's taken me within 100 feet of every destination I have put in.
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet
Worth the money. Just wish I had bought one a long time ago.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0319097920
My Best Buy number: 0319097920
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

it dowhat it supose to

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RudyL
from Boston
on 03/15/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: pick up satlite fast
What's not so great: no warning when driver divert from route
this is a replacementof my nuvi 250 (usb port broke after 8 years)
Most of the features remain backward compatiable to the old one
I am glade to see it pick up satlite signal much faster than the 250
life time map should hlep with up to date interested point issue. ( we use to driver to a dinning place that no longer exist)
wish the map also include Canada as living in New England, Canada is much closer than most part of the states.
Like other user stated it no longer give audio warning when driver divert from plan route
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2499155674
My Best Buy number: 2499155674
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Ok if you know your way, otherwise, not so good.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: EG126
from Northumberland, PA
on 03/07/2014
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Screen can be changed from daytime/night time. Screen was easy to see.
What's not so great: Directions were delayed, address input can be confusing.
The only issues I had with this GPS was that the directions were delayed, which for me, was a deal breaker. The directions that were being spoken was not clear enough, which would make me miss exits, turns, or merges. As an example, if I was supposed to merge to take an exit, the demands being spoken did not say "take exit --." It would just say, "Stay on 84E." So, it gave me the impression that I needed to stay on the specific direction I have been driving. I ended up having to do a lot of U-Turns and re-routing to get back where I needed to be. Only reason why I made it to my destination was because I was semi familiar with the area. Had to return this item after guessing and anxiety the whole 3 hour drive. All the maps were updated, I just don't know why it was a "make you guess" kind of GPS, rather than telling me exactly what exits to take. The address input can also be confusing, but you can work with it and get used to it after you figure it out.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Inaccurate
About me... Frequent traveler, Parent with kids, Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Decent GPS would not turn on after month of use

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: pvmmvm
from Boston, MA
on 02/28/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Would not turn ON
Decent GPS, but stopped working after less than a month of use. RMAed it, will add more details later.
This product has... Free map updates
About me... Parent with kids, casual user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0080541394
My Best Buy number: 0080541394
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great basic GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Notorious2002
from Baltimore, Maryland
on 02/21/2014
What's great about it: Easy and intuitive.
What's not so great: Battery runs out too fast when it's not plugged in to the car charger
I got tired of always holding my phone in my hand add a GPS. This has made my transition to a new city a lot easier.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen
About me... Frequent traveler, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

simple to set up and use, voice is easy to hear

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ivanuze
from Brockton MA
on 02/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: very simple to set up and use
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet
Very good GPS for the money. Easy to setup and use. Have used it several times with excellent results. Found alternate routes with ease.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates, very accurate
About me... Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2014882917
My Best Buy number: 2014882917
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Awesome GPS for the price!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Iceman213
from Columbia, MO
on 02/13/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great price, lifetime maps!
What's not so great: battery life
This product has a wonderful set of features and has a good display with a pleasing voice. The price was right and we got free lifetime maps with it. One of my biggest issues is that the battery is absolutely horrible, it doesn't hold a charge for very long so it seems we have to have it always plugged into the car.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2182001721
My Best Buy number: 2182001721
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

GREAT GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: new123
from Apalachin, N.Y
on 02/04/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD WANT A GPS, BUT I AM GOING ON A LONG TRIP THIS SUMMER AND THOUGHT IT WOULD COME IN HANDY. I TRIED IT OUT AROUND TOWN, AND I LOVE IT. IT WAS ON SALE SO THE PRICE WAS RIGHT. I AM GLAD I BOUGHT IT.
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2755181157
My Best Buy number: 2755181157
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Always gets me there on time

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wasnme
from Green Bay Wisconsin
on 02/01/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: voice directions, easy to use
What's not so great: I would like a mans voice as an option
I travel 500 miles a week and my Garmin is always on leading me to my destination. We have had alot of new highway construction in Wisconsin this year, and I never get lost and love how it tells me when I will arrive.
Purchased this also for my parents and my in laws, as there vehicles have pre installed gps and those do not work well. Parents were still using maps and gas stations for directions..and now they love their Garmins! I know coworkers that have other gps and when they carpool with me, they always comment how easy mine works and has better graphics.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates, 2 voices to choose from
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler, Business Professional, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great simple GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MarkyMark13
from Portland, OR
on 01/31/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Not a ton of extra features
If you are looking for an easy to use, reliable GPS then this is the one. It does what I need and isn't complicated. It's a great product for the price.
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2546996588
My Best Buy number: 2546996588
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Ease of use and set up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bmanew
from pensacola, fl
on 01/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to see
What's not so great: na
I have never used a GPS system of any kind before, so this was all new to me. It was easy peasy to set up and use. I am much more confident traveling to areas that are new to me. This is like opening up a whole new world when you are confident you won't get lost. Thanks!
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0559959484
My Best Buy number: 0559959484
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KayCe234
from MA
on 01/18/2014
What's great about it: Love the split screen when you are at a junction on the road and not sure which lane to be in!
What's not so great: Nothing!
Bought this GPS for my son for Christmas and we love it! Love that it has a lifetime of free updates, it's so slim and easy to use. My son is a new driver and found this GPS so much easier than our old clunky Garmin!
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2537992421
My Best Buy number: 2537992421
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Easy to use right out of the box

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Traveler52
from maine
on 01/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Suction cup mount good but not great
Easy to use right out of the box with just a little set up, good size screen, like the lifetime maps!
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0412031647
My Best Buy number: 0412031647
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Good GPS that gets your from A to B

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dapreesta
from Richmond, VA
on 01/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Portability, fairly easy to operate.
What's not so great: Some inaccuracies in navigation even after updates
Overall a good screen size and feature set for the price. Sturdy, had to order a separate mount since my state does not permit it to obstruct the driver view. Fairly easy to program POI and Faves once you get used to it. Had some odd inaccuracies for local addresses, and once took me to a completely different address than what I selected. My phone GPS tends to be a little more reliable, but overall is good at routing.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2946278222
My Best Buy number: 2946278222
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Really great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lucky189
from Manassas, VA
on 01/08/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is easy to use and wasn't too expensive
What's not so great: You have to plug it up to your computer to download updates - this takes a while.
I would highly recommend this gps as it really does work wonderfully and doesn't break the bank.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

wanted maps for life

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: golfergirl84
from Dyersville, Ia
on 01/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: compact
works great and up to date. has lifetime maps, can see clearly
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2277562021
My Best Buy number: 2277562021
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

good gps to teach with

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: duck31
from lewistown pa
on 01/07/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to navicate through menus
What's not so great: finding satalites takes some time
good gps I have had one other garmin and this one is about the same as the old one and the lifetime maps makes it better garmin is in my experience with gps the easiest to understand
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing), Use for long distance sports (i.e. bicycling, skiing, running)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2028095556
My Best Buy number: 2028095556
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Maxamil
on 01/07/2014
What's great about it: easy to use, user friendly
Love it. Easy to install, user friendly, clear screen, calculates quickly
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2025039676
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin - n� vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great portable GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bobl22
from Savannah, GA
on 01/07/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lifetime Maps
This is an easy to use GPS with good volume to overcome road noise. The lifetime Maps make this a great choice.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2146523085
My Best Buy number: 2146523085
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>