Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Model: 010-00990-21
SKU: 3054038
UPC: 753759978921
Hit the road and arrive at your destination with ease using this GPS that features preloaded base maps of the lower 48 states, Hawaii and Puerto Rico. Lifetime map updates ensure you have up-to-date information when you travel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(296 Reviews) 296
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 296 reviews
5 stars
199
4 stars
77
3 stars
12
2 stars
2
1 star
6
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
281 out of 296
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates
Review 1 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Excellent GPS. It is an amazing bit of technoloy.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GPM33
from Hollsopple, PA
on 07/27/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The lifetime updates
What's not so great: Nothing I can think of
WE LOVE THE FACT THAT WE CAN GET MAP UPDATES FOR AS LONG AS WE OWN THE GPS. THE ONLY REASON WE HAD TO REPLACE OUR FIRST GARMIN GPS WAS BECAUSE IT DID NOT HAVE THAT FEATURE.
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2797672033
My Best Buy number: 2797672033
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

A Great Deal & Great GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Hollybug71
from Winder, GA
on 07/27/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: A little on the small side
Even though it is a little small it is quite durable. I am a pizza delivery driver and I am constantly on the road. Unfortunately, I am a little on the rough side with my product. But it has held up to ever expectation and more. It is easy to use and gets me places with the quickness.
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing), Business Professional, casual user, great for pizza drivers
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

If need basic updateable maps GPS, this is it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JCarr
from Dartmouth, MA
on 07/26/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quick, knows all my destinations I ask for
What's not so great: Wish it would remember my alternative routes
I drive a tractor trailor for a living.I needed a reasonable price Garmin (Bought for $75.00) to give me my ETA times. Also help me to odd locations. Works well, though I wish it would remember my alternative routes (I try not to go thru Boston, but keeps telling me to.) I use my Google maps on my phone for traffic.
If you need real time traffic or for Canada, then look for other Garmins. But if need basic GPS, this should work.
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2719591237
My Best Buy number: 2719591237
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

It's easy to use and accurate. I love my GPS.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lovemyGarmin
on 07/25/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Simple to program
What's not so great: short battery life
I am really happy I purchased my Garmin. It makes traveling so much easier.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3315497831
My Best Buy number: 3315497831
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

excellent gps. great size.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MusicmanJ
from Long Island
on 07/05/2014
This is a great gps with lifetime maps and a good size also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1044250482
My Best Buy number: 1044250482
Mobile Submission: True
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great for those who need help finding their way

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Benji
from Munster IN
on 06/18/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use, good price
What's not so great: Has a few hiccups
I love the Garmin devices, but this one has a few hiccups. On more than one occasion, the unit had a mind of its own and took me in the wrong direction. Maybe eventually it would have set the course right, but I didn't follow the wrong directions but followed my instincts. But the device is easy to use and small enough to take with you if you don't want to leave it in the car.
This product has... Free map updates
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2117051142
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great GPS Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Aiden89
from Milwaukee, WI
on 06/16/2014
A great user friendly gps for the money. As this was my first one, I was unfamiliar when using it. But as I got use to it the more I enjoyed using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2753070477
My Best Buy number: 2753070477
Mobile Submission: True
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Not as easy to use as my Magellan

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Delilah
from Flagler,FL
on 06/14/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: No way to change route options.
It does not give an option, like my Magellan, to avoid hwy, or tolls, or offer a scenic route. I haven't had it long and only used it a couple of times, so the option may be there and I haven't found it yet. Other than that it's a good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2363690690
My Best Buy number: 2363690690
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mick03
from Fredonia, ny
on 06/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use,many features, good price
What's not so great: nothing so far
Easy to use, got me through a few big cities with no problems, big selection of dining, lodging and services wherever you are.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0747572389
My Best Buy number: 0747572389
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

great device for someone without a gps

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dmurphy91
from eastport,ny
on 06/13/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy set up
What's not so great: price was lower at another store (after I purchased this one)
Love the Garmin Nuvi as a product. Easy to use and set up.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0303992934
My Best Buy number: 0303992934
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Not what I thought it would be

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: russrose
from Charlestown, MA
on 06/06/2014
What's not so great: At times It clearly gives me directions that are incorrect
I bought the Garmin to avoid getting lost going to places I am unfamiliar with. My sense of direction is terrible. However, I've used the product several times even when I knew my route and the directions I was given were as far off as they could be. For example, I've been driving from Boston to Cape Cod for more than forty years. The Garmin not only gave me incorrect directions, it had me going west on Storrow Drive (a main road in Boston) when I should have gone east/south on route 93. Basically I feel like I've wasted nearly $100.
This product has... Inaccurate, Free map updates
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Accurate GPS with good battery life.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mike
from Lafayette, Indiana
on 05/30/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lifetime map upgrades, price, quality
Best GPS for the money and more. We now have similar Garmin GPS's in all four of our vehicles and satisfied with all of them.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2922942734
My Best Buy number: 2922942734
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

The Best!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: andrea5m
from El paso, TX
on 05/27/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Accurate
What's not so great: Have not found anything I do not like about it
I absolutely love this GPS! It is great, love lane assist! It is durable, I leave it in the car all the time and it withstands all temperatures.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

40LM GPS

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: xuena1l
from Brooklyn, NY
on 05/24/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price, lift time map update
This is my second GPS, my old one still works but the map is not up to date. I like the life time map update feature. And I purchased when it's on sale.
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0575176735
My Best Buy number: 0575176735
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great Value!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cableguy
from jersey shore
on 05/23/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: detailed maps
Can't get a better GPS for the money. This is supposed to be the "budget" model but seems to have everything you need. Next model up has blue tooth capability. Split -screen map detail for exits is helpful!
This product has... Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates, split-screen exit view
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great price for basic GPS

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mjands
on 05/12/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: miss some bells and whistles
This was a replacement for the larger size of the same thing. The price was too good to pass up, though. Works basically the same, but I do miss some of the little touches like direction, speed, etc being on the side, and the slightly bigger screen.
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1029099259
My Best Buy number: 1029099259
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Garmin Nuvi 40LM

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Richard
from Albany,Ga
on 05/04/2014
What's great about it: Great deal for the price
What's not so great: When the screen splits for junction view the display is hard to see, my next model will be a 5" screen
This is my 4th garmin nuvi gps, but the first I have bought with the lifetime map update feature. they have very accurate maps and I have never had any problems with the units.This was a great price at $85.59 and was the best price I could find on the internet with free shipping.
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Great inexpensive GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Naomi
from Bumpass, VA
on 04/08/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and to use
This GPS works great! I like how it stores the address of places you want to keep track of and you can type in the name of the home or business. It's small enough to carry in a purse if you don't want to leave it in the car.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2828214935
My Best Buy number: 2828214935
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

Love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gmm1st
from Hopewell
on 03/16/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very accurate. It's taken me within 100 feet of every destination I have put in.
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet
Worth the money. Just wish I had bought one a long time ago.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0319097920
My Best Buy number: 0319097920
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin - n vi 40LM 4.3" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates

it dowhat it supose to

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RudyL
from Boston
on 03/15/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: pick up satlite fast
What's not so great: no warning when driver divert from route
this is a replacementof my nuvi 250 (usb port broke after 8 years)
Most of the features remain backward compatiable to the old one
I am glade to see it pick up satlite signal much faster than the 250
life time map should hlep with up to date interested point issue. ( we use to driver to a dinning place that no longer exist)
wish the map also include Canada as living in New England, Canada is much closer than most part of the states.
Like other user stated it no longer give audio warning when driver divert from plan route
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2499155674
My Best Buy number: 2499155674
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>