Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Model: 010-01002-29
SKU: 3054092
UPC: 753759980016
Hit the road with this GPS that features a 5" widescreen touch-screen display that provides a clear view and preloaded base map coverage of the U.S., Canada, Mexico and Puerto Rico to help you arrive at your destination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(903 Reviews) 903
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 903 reviews
5 stars
557
4 stars
280
3 stars
39
2 stars
10
1 star
17
93% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
843 out of 903
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates
Review 1 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Waiting for it to come.....

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jimmitchell70
from Darien, CT
on 08/11/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The price
What's not so great: Very hesitant about map updates after a previous experience
I just ordered my unit today. It was a "Deal of the Day" for $127+, including sales tax. This will replace an older unit we bought 5 years ago. We've been using Waze app in the meantime for the two years since that unit stopped working after we attempted a maps update. It was the 4th or 5th update and we didn't have any trouble with the previous updates. However, on the final, fateful update the unit never worked, again. It wouldn't power on, so we called Garmin and were told there isn't anything they could do while they apologized for the faulty update. The online forums/ reviews mentioned the problem extensively. Apparently, it happened w/ many users on the same update.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Great for traveling!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: earsm
from NC
on 08/01/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use. When plugged in - travel conditions are real time. Includes maps of Canada.
What's not so great: Takes a little while to figure out the settings. Unit mispronounces many street names.
GPS works great. Once you get used to the settings, it is easier to use. When the unit is plugged in to the power in the car, travel conditions are in "real time" with alternate routes immediately available. Unit also keeps you advised of posted speed limits, elevation, your speed, and estimated arrival time. Free map updates! Great unit!
This product has... Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
My Best Buy number: 0570162221
My Best Buy number: 0570162221
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Somewhat Disappointed with the unit

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mbmb
from Texas
on 07/19/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease of set up, ease of use, accuracy
What's not so great: Software malfunctioned within 2 weeks
Good GPS with easy set up, functionality, ease of use, and other features just like any other Garmin. Worked fine for 2 weeks in Texas. However, software malfunctioned (and never recovered) when I travelled to CA and tried to use it there in a rental car. Return was easy at the local (TX) BB store. Given the previous good experience with Garmin, I still bought another Garmin, this time a slightly upgraded model! I hope this was an isolated issue with that particular unit. I would still recommend Garmin.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates, short battery, software malfunction issues
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2156383846
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Updated GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Augietbone79
from Wisconsin
on 07/18/2014
I had a different garmin fit 5 years but decided to up grade. So many great features on this gps! Easy to use and helpful on long or short trips! I highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0768027172
My Best Buy number: 0768027172
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Great features in addition to GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sammy654
from Carmel, IN
on 07/15/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use and update; tells you what is coming up at the exit
What's not so great: nothing so far
Bought this for my father-in-law for his birthday. Got it updated and set up for him within 45 minutes. The initial update took awhile. He loves that it tells him exactly what is coming up at the exits and it lets him know if traffic is ahead.
This product has... Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0767802053
My Best Buy number: 0767802053
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Got me where I needed to go

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FamTrav87
from Florida Keys
on 07/14/2014
What's great about it: screen image with turn lanes identified
What's not so great: I would have liked to change the voice - appears to not be an option
We traveled from Illinois to the FL Keys this past June. The Garmin kept us headed the right direction and out of the the heavy traffic. One thing I was missing was the "recalculating" remarks when I did miss a turn. I would have liked to know it was trying to get us back on course as opposed to driving on some back roads just for the fun of it! :) Great value! Great security! Time saver!
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler, Parent with kids, Business Professional, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2021150382
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Great GPS, especially for beginners

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PBforME
from Cresson, PA
on 07/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Love which lane it tells you to be in
I had an older Garmin that this one replaced and I really like this!! I would recommend it for any type of user, beginner or advanced.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2032807299
My Best Buy number: 2032807299
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

great gps,very reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mrmike
from langhorne,pa
on 07/12/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: doesn't loose gps signal
What's not so great: tough to enter city in beginning
after owning a few(5) tom tom gps units, i decided to try a garmin(my brother recommended this model), because i was having a lot of trouble with my "newest" tom tom,go live 1535tm getting a gps signal and losing it. This took some getting use to because you enter information backwards vs the tom tom. But i am proud to say it is very reliable and never loses a gps signal although the traffic alerts i don't believe are as quick as the tom tom. the map itself is accurate and you won't turn into a building.I use this for my business, going to as many as 10 different places a day, mostly residential. The longer i use it the better i become using the garmin format vs the tom tom's.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Parent with kids, subcontractor
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2140379695
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Great GPS for everybody

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mikhail
from Queens, NY
on 07/11/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to learn,easy to use, size
What's not so great: Nothing
I cannot say nothing bad. I started to use in second for my trip to MD,DE and DC national parks without correctly address . And trip was perfect
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2014402986
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Great, until it died at 23 months

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: BlueRidgeNavigator
from North Carolina
on 07/09/2014
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use. Large screen.
What's not so great: Started restarting eratically at 23 months.
I loved this unit and the fact that it came with lifetime traffic reports and easy-to-install map updates included in the purchase price. Yesterday it suddenly started restarting for no reason, sometimes several times in a row. I called Garmin tech support, who said it could not be repaired and offered to exchange it for a $110.00 fee -- which is 60% of the current price of a new unit at Best Buy. Ouch!
I bought it in August 2012, so it only lasted 23 months.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2736606846
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Great Navigation system for affortable price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chris
on 07/04/2014
Really worth for the price which I payed for this navigation system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1014921503
My Best Buy number: 1014921503
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Great Garmin

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PennyPincher
from Glendale, AZ
on 07/02/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lots of features, more than we actually need.
What's not so great: One voice is hard to understand. Took hours to update maps.
This is a replacement for an older Garmin. It's touchscreen wasn't responding and putting incorrect letters or numbers when trying to input an address..very frustrating. This new Garmin is larger and easy to use. Love the split screen while on freeway so you see exactly what the interchange looks like. Luckily the Garmin has two women's voices and one is very easy to understand. Another plus is if you don't follow the Garmin route it doesn't keep saying "recalculating" and telling you to exit and turn around. It silently recalculates and you continue on. Love, love the free map updates too but it did take a long time to download(could have been the slow Internet at hotel though). Got a great price too.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0000123792
My Best Buy number: 0000123792
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

wonderful GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Techmom
from Savannah, GA
on 06/20/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, great price
What's not so great: Nothing
I love my Garmin, I can't wait to hit the road again.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0038996108
My Best Buy number: 0038996108
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

A GPS Disaster

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Unimpressed
from Houston, TX
on 06/10/2014
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: That I could return it
What's not so great: No product support by company
Ridiculous manuals to set up an even worse software. To call customer service (an oxymoron if I have ever seen) is a 60 minute wait with no regard to what time of day. To send a letter of distress yields a "we will be back with you in three business days."
I would rather be on paper maps. I think I would rather be lost than use a Garmin product again.
Best Buy, as always, stood behind on the return.
This product has... Free map updates
About me... garmin is margin.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Do not buy this without a Best Buy Service Plan.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Dave
from IL
on 06/04/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lifetime Updates
What's not so great: Garmin does not stand behind their product
My original 2555 developed cracks in the screen after about 7 months. Never dropped or abused, the outside of the screen was not compromised, the cracks were all internal. Garmin said they don't cover the screen as part of their warranty, and all they would offer me is a new model at $10 less than what I could purchase a new replacement from Best Buy. Do not buy this without getting a Best Buy service plan that will stand behind the product.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Nice features. Display is very easy to follow

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Laxice
from Tampa, FL
on 05/26/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease of use.
Nice size display. Especially like the split screen when it's time to exit a highway with detailed picture of the exit.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler, Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing), Use for long distance sports (i.e. bicycling, skiing, running), Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 785030292
My Best Buy number: 0785030292
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lostinthewoods
from San Francisco
on 05/24/2014
What's great about it: Gets me where I want to go
It is a great help in getting me to places I only visit occasionally, or places that I haven't been to. The display is easy to read and the case is small enough not to interfere with your view of traffic.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

It works good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Eric
from Warren,mi
on 05/24/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy good price
It works good the UI is different than older models but it still easy to use after locating things easier to put it on the mount I pick it up for 100 bucks good price for lifetime traffic updates and map updates
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Use for long distance sports (i.e. bicycling, skiing, running), casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2620908575
My Best Buy number: 2620908575
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Great gps

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Casualuser
from Northeast PA
on 05/24/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Full of features
Easy to setup. Like the traffic feature. Easy to input directions. Like the large screen.
This product has... Easy menus
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2752007474
My Best Buy number: 2752007474
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin - n vi 2555LMT 5" GPS with Lifetime Map Updates and Lifetime Traffic Updates

Great value for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BigGuy
from Toms River, NJ
on 05/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Built in traffic receiver to alert driver about heavy traffic on the route. Easy setup.
What's not so great: Nothing
Great value for the price. Need to know that the power cord acts as the antenna for the unit housed traffic receiver. Easy setup and use. Great as a gift.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... casual user, gift giver
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0963724982
My Best Buy number: 0963724982
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 46 next>>