Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Model: OJPro 8600 Premium
SKU: 3071108
UPC: 886111615582
This printer features a 50-sheet automatic document feeder that enables 2-sided printing, copying and scanning for efficient operation. HP ePrint technology lets you print from a variety of mobile devices for versatile use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 42 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
37 out of 42
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer Reviews for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer
Review 1 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Lots of features

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Broncos
from Colorado Springs, CO
on 03/29/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Document feeder two sided printing
What's not so great: Jams occasionally, really large
I bought this after a horrible time with an Epson printer that we had to take back because it jammed on every print job. This printer seems to be doing okay so far. It has jammed a few times but overall two sided has been good. I love the document feeder for scanning and you don't need the computer. It can go to a network folder. It is really large so make sure to have room. Overall I think it's a good printer with lots of features that I haven't had time to mess with yet. Hopefully it keeps working well.
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2139366934
My Best Buy number: 2139366934
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Excellent Product, does not skip a beat.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shmoolie
from Saginaw Michigan
on 03/21/2014
What's great about it: It is everything I was hoping it would do well, like print without running out of paper, print is great too!
What's not so great: Heavy and bulky in size.
I am very pleased with this product. It has surpassed my expectations and does everything right.
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2584285019
My Best Buy number: 2584285019
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Fantastic

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LindaCauchon
from Nevada
on 03/15/2014
What's great about it: Speed and accessibility to inkjet replacements
What's not so great: Nothing
Had my previous HP printer for 10 years. Just felt it was time to upgrade for a little faster printer since I work with it on personal and business since I'm a Realtor with Century 21 Wright in Temecula, CA Everything is soo convenient - glad I traded up! HP is a name I'm really comfortable with and have been for many years!
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0304655333
My Best Buy number: 0304655333
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Best printer I have owned

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: keabler87
from New Orleans, La
on 03/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Great on ink usage; rarely jams
What's not so great: Misfeeds multiple sheets sometimes
This is around my 5th personal inkjet printer. And it is the best. The ink usage is very reasonable. It rarely has paper jams. The scanning is easy to use.
The only con I can think of is that it sometimes misfeeds multiple pages but this normally occurs when the paper drawer is down to the last few sheets.
About me... small business owner, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0408555645
My Best Buy number: 0408555645
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great All-in-One Workhorse

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GoWithaPro
from Chattanooga, TN
on 02/21/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: combination of speed and flexibility
What's not so great: I lost one to a lightning storm, but bought another right away
Years ago I spent north of $3,000 on an HP Laser color printer. When it finally gave out I had to replace it but could not justify the 10 X price of an OfficeJet. The lower pages per minute has not effected me because I rarely print more than 2 to 20 pages at a time and when I do I would just let either machine run while I did other tasks. Besides saving over $2,500 I got the scanner with a lot better resolution than my stand alone fax machine. Bonus tip: Get the "Premium Plus" and you get a second set of in cartridges worth $150 if you buy them separately.
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2294134492
My Best Buy number: 2294134492
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great for homebased office

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HpPrint
from Nederland, tx
on 02/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Ease of use, size, 2 sided printing and copies, prints from iPhone and iPad
What's not so great: Nothing at this point
I just bought this for my home office and it works great. It was very easy to set up and hook all the pcs and laptops in the office and house to it. I like the two trays and the two sided printing.
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2741591502
My Best Buy number: 2741591502
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Fantastic machine!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cctttvvv
from Memphis
on 01/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Wireless printing
What's not so great: No negatives...HP nailed it with this one.
Easy to set up, easy to use... If you are looking for a high quality, cost effective 4 in 1 this is one you can buy with confidence.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2001527548
My Best Buy number: 2001527548
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Works Well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Franksboy
from COLORADO SPRINGS
on 01/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, nice printing. document feeder
What's not so great: fairly large footprint
Has extra paper tray and doesn't seem to go through ink too quickly. Scans multiple sheets. Prints sheets quickly and with good color.
About me... Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2647470963
My Best Buy number: 2647470963
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great for small business

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RManager
from PA
on 01/15/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Member
What's great about it: Easy set up, very effiicient, great print quality
What's not so great: Takes up a lot of room.
Bought this for the restaurant I manage. It handles the volume of printing daily reports, schedules, and menus. The e-print feature is great, I can print from any computer on my network without any wires. I have used it for a few weeks now and the ink cartridges are still 70% full and It came with extra color cartridges.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2876653588
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Not an Office Printer

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Dan2W
from Atlanta
on 01/02/2014
What's great about it: Letter Page handling Only
What's not so great: Lost Funtionality
This is not an Office quality or functional printer. It is limited to Letter Size paper for all but simplex manual print and scanning (Single sided manual operation).
Does not auto detect paper in the auto sheet feeder within the scanning software.
Does not duplex any paper sizes except 8"x11" - any odd sizes within this format cannot be duplexed.
Cannot scan mixed mode paper sizes
Cannot print mixed mode page sizes
Will not print from second tray without manual selection PRIOR to the print job
Draft Print (to save costly ink) is lousy quality compared to previous HP Officejet models forcing use of higher ink usage of Normal, or Best for reasonable results.
Scan software has reduced functionality and has a number of usability issues that cause additional steps (not Office Friendly)
ADF (automatic document feeder) does not have tray or catch bin for any paper larger than letter size. Pushing larger pages onto the floor.
Touch screen has reduced functionality from previous version and has mis-calibrated touch areas which push in in to the video help mode wasting time.
Other Thoughts: In discussion with HP regarding the reduced functionality of the 8600 over previous Officejet models (8500, 73xx, etc) their response is that HP only includes the functionality that customers want which is based on complaints.... In actuality, HP decided to gut the 8500 series to build the 8600 series with a better duty cycle (time between failures). This came at the expense of substantial lost functionality many small offices come to rely on. If this is what you want in a printer it’s your choice.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Solid printer for home office

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FastEddie66
from Washington DC
on 12/28/2013
What's great about it: Full featured at a mid-price
What's not so great: Wifi WEP2 setup not as described in manual
This is a solid printer for home office and classroom use. Durable and functional.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2222637873
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nsx411
from Lafayette la
on 11/09/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: East to use easy setup
What's not so great: Big bulky and a little noisy
Good printer easy setup up very fast at printing does not use much ink. Does however vibrate loudly. It is very bulky but I guess you should expect from an all in one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1027977207
My Best Buy number: 1027977207
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great Wireless Printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tom19382
from Downingtown, PA
on 11/06/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Scans fast, prints beautifully, Easy to work
What's not so great: Sometimes IP address doesn't automatically update to print wirelessly
I purchased this printer at the beginning of the summer and have been very happy with it so far. I have not had to replace the ink cartridges yet, so it seems to be pretty efficient with ink.
The only problem I've had so far is that sometimes it takes a minute or two to respond to my PC when I try to print something and a message will pop up on the screen saying the IP address of the printer needs be updated on the computer to be able to print wirelessly. I'm not sure if this issue is with the computer or the printer, so it may not even be the printer's fault.
Overall, I am very happy with this all in one machine. I have done things for the first time with any printer with this one, such as printing double sided business cards and figured it out without any problems on the very first time.
I would definitely recommend this item to anyone looking for a premium all in one machine that can handle small business needs, but is also affordable enough for home use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 317345351
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great product for multiple task.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bogart12
from Plainfield, IN
on 10/05/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: all-in-one features
What's not so great: I haven' used all of the functions yet.
For the money and the capability of the product plus the savings in use of the printer is better than similar products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0418576029
My Best Buy number: 0418576029
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

3rd time's the charm... so far...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: RedGeminiPA
from Altoona, PA
on 10/02/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Fast printing, great features
What's not so great: Reliability
After getting two defective units, the third one seems to be working fine so far.
First: the ADF made odd clicking noises when feeding paper through it. There are still reports of the ADF eventually not working over time. Fingers crossed on this one.
Second: the ink carriage was stuck, and wouldn't move over to insert the ink cartridges during setup. There are several reports on HP's support site talking about this issue with brand new units. Again, nearly two years later.
I haven't tested photo printing yet, but everything else seems to be working great. This could easily be a five-star printer, but initial impressions are leaving me a little worried about longevity. For being HP's "best" OfficeJet model, I sure found two lemons from the start.
Overall network and AirPrint connectivity work great. I've had no issues with wireless printing from my Mac mini, iPhone or iPad mini over my new Apple Time Capsule wireless network. Overall setup was dead-simple (once I got one with a working cartridge carriage).
If you're picking this up at the store, be warned that the box is huge! I have a newer Mazda 3 sedan, and the box only fit on the passenger's front seat.
Even though I've encountered two lemons before this (hopefully) good unit, I'll recommend this with the caution on the two mentioned issues I encountered. It has a lot of great features for the price, but quality could be better. I would not recommend buying this if you're not close to a store to easily exchange it if needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0738989837
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

HP finally gets it right

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lamaquina33186
on 08/24/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: great connectivity
What's not so great: size
i have been a fan of hp products for a while, but there printers have been lacking.
finally, a printer that works with my network
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0770825773
My Best Buy number: 0770825773
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great for a home office

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RKumagai
from Peoria AZ
on 08/23/2013
What's great about it: Very easy to setup and works vert well
What's not so great: cannot change paper tray from your computer
Great Multi Function printer for a Home office. Very easy to setup. I like having two paper trays for different types of paper. The only draw back is that you cannot specify what tray to use with software
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0811746487
My Best Buy number: 0811746487
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

WORKS PERFECT GREAT COLOR PICTURES

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BUSH04
from MAUMEE OHIO
on 07/26/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: WI-FI WORKS GREAT
What's not so great: NOTHING
PRINTER WORKS GREAT, EXCELLENT COLOR PICTURES GOOD RANGE ON WI-FI
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Nice printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Tulsa, OK
on 06/22/2013
What's great about it: Easy setup, holds plenty of paper, ink was easy to install
What's not so great: Nothing so far
Easy setup, print quality is good, print app is awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2228278599
My Best Buy number: 2228278599
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP - Officejet Pro 8600 Premium Network-Ready Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Best printer ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LAW007
from Dearborn, MI
on 04/16/2013
What's great about it: Professional look
What's not so great: nothing
I have to say the setup is really easy. All the house computers connected to it without any issues. Updated itself automatically without any help from me. The size of this thing is kinda ominous, but it looks real professional. Quality made too
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2117546525
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>