Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Model: 5692B001
SKU: 3098086
UPC: 013803141429
Capture detailed photos up to 12.1-megapixels with this digital camera that features high ISO sensitivity for shooting clear photos in low light. Multiple scene modes and photo effects let you add a touch of creativity to your photos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.488 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 41 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
36 out of 41
)
Customer Reviews for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
Review 1 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Top shot camera!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TJWR
from Seattle, WA
on 09/20/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Screen navigation
I’ve had this camera for about 6 months; I have taken it on several vacations with me and haven’t had any problems. The battery life is exceptional easily lasts as long as you need it to. The picture quality is up there with the high dollar cameras, except at a much cheaper price. There is no question that I would recommend this to anyone and I have on several occasions.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great compact camera!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dweb53
from Longmont, CO
on 09/20/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: size, picture quality, controls
What's not so great: n/a
I bought this camera for my daughter to use for her middle school yearbook club. She's always had a gift of capturing great photos from different angles and the ease of carrying this camera around allows her to use it on a whim. The picture quality is very good for such a small camera.
About me... Love shooting sports, Parent with kids, Photo enthusiast, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Indeed a fine point and shoot camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Danbuy19
from Kingston, Jamaica
on 08/08/2012
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality, Compact size, easy to use, manageable features, good flash
What's not so great: Battery life, small buttons, location of usb and hdmi port
I must say i have only had very few cameras in my life and this is by far the best. First of all i must note how light and compact this camera is. Very easy to travel with. The picture quality is excellent and indeed you will be amazed at the pictures as they come out very lively. There are many features on this camera which makes for many possibilities when taking pictures. The flash is very powerful and you will get the most out of it in dark areas.
Unfortunately, battery life isn't as good as i expected. However if you don't keep leaving it on it will last you for many days. The buttons are kinda small so a person with big hands may have a slight problem, but this can be overlooked. The location of the hdmi and the usb ports is a tad bit weird as well.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Yet another Canon camera, and the quality's great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TeeQTee
from Atlanta GA
on 05/30/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent photos & great value for money
I never leave the house without my Canon camera. It makes taking photos fun
About me... Video enthusiast, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, casual user, take tons of photos for work
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great camera!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nitras
from Houston, TX
on 04/26/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Clean, crisp images
What's not so great: N/A
Excellent Camera! Easy to use! I highly recommend this camera to anyone and any age!
About me... semi-pro photographer, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Terrific camera for the "on the go" user

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lafkmk
from Lafayette, IN
on 04/02/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good value, great video, clear and sharp pictures
What's not so great: Battery life
I rarely write reviews but feel compelled to recommend this camera. Its usage is very versatile, pretty lightweight and very easy to carry in a pocket. I have had it for about a month and have taken videos and lots of pictures. The videos have been very good quality, with little sound from the zoom during. The pictures are very sharp and detailed. Low lighting is not a problem as the camera adjusts itself very well and pictures come out great. All in all, highly recommended.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

best basic point & shoot for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fatherof5ive
from Yucaipa, CA
on 02/28/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
It's easy to pick up and start taking great pictures without changing any settings and it has 8x zoom!
I was able to take great pictures indoors (both with AND without flash), outdoors on sunny days, and outdoors on cloudy days.
Other cameras have more features, but they aren't always necessary especially when you consider what you're most likely going to use these images for (online gallery or 4x6 album).
I like this camera so much that I purchased one for my mom.
About me... Love shooting sports, Video enthusiast, Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great Camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MikeMF
from Superior, WI
on 02/27/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
We keep finding new amazing things this does everyday. Takes amazing pictures and has a boat load of features. A must have!
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

NOT DURABLE

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: JMP88
from Putnam, NY
on 02/13/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: photos, great features
What's not so great: it's not durable at all, screen cracks easily
I am extremely frustrated with this camera, as it is in no way durable. It doesn't look durable, and it isn't. I had it for 3 weeks, and did NOT abuse it, and the screen cracked. They should have designed this camera like they have in the past, so it was slim and durable. I purchased my old camera in the Canon Powershot line a previous review said it survived a drop from a zip line in the jungle. This camera would NOT survive that.
This camera should not have a screen that is raised above the profile of the camera - it makes it an easy target for damage. The finish comes off easily, as well.
If you must buy this camera (it does take fantastic pictures and have great features) put it in a SOLID (and I mean SOLID) case that will protect it, and make sure you baby this camera.
If you break the screen on this camera, Best Buy will make you buy a whole new warranty because they'll junk it. They will not repair a broken screen. I am very disappointed with this.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, adventurer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Best Point & Shoot Camera I Have Ever Used!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nataleem
from Alpharetta, Georgia
on 01/26/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sleak looking, affordable and easy to use!
I just recently upgraded my broken, old Canon Powershot Elph (thanks to the Geek Squad protection plan) to this newer model and I could not be more happy with this camera! It is very similar to older models but definitely with some upgraded features. The screen on the back is large, clear & crisp. By far, my favorite function is the Toy Camera filter. It makes a wonderful vignette around the photo and basically makes everything look awesome! I am loving this camera so much! I just recently went to the Galapagos Islands and Machu Picchu, my photos are the best quality I've ever had! Everyone I ask to take a photo for me comments on how nice this camera is! If you are deciding on purchasing an easy to use, point & shoot camera, look no further!
About me... Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, love capturing travel photos
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

great picture quality, great zoom

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dadscam
from Monrovia, MD
on 01/25/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Pretty easy to use, great pictures, great zoom.
Nice camera. I bought the camera for the family, but my husband takes it with him to work every day. If my husband can work it ... anybody can work it. He comes home with some really nice pictures. I download the photos into iPhoto with no problem.
You can really zoom in on pictures you have taken to see specific details.
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Loved it while I had it

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Nut4bucks
from Tampa, FL
on 01/25/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Cant tell you really - the warranty service has had it longer than I have
What's not so great: Service - stand behind your products and replace quickly
Bought it and used it for a month - loved it. Compact; great pictures. Then it broke. The lens would not retract. Sent it back (under warranty). The camera can't be fixed & because they are a repair service they have no product and they don't know when they will. Repair has had it longer than I did. If the camera wasn't so expensive I would tell them to where they could go to take pictures with it. This is my third canon and only one has worked right - never again.
About me... Love shooting sports, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great Camera!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sharks
from Ohio
on 01/25/2012
What's great about it: Great in low light
What's not so great: no viewfinder, only screen on back
This is truly a great camera! I got it originally to take some pictures of luminaria at night. The BB sales woman recommended this camera. She knew what she was talking about. This camera took magnificent night pictures. I like the fact that there is an 8x optical zoom rather than a 4 or 5x zoom. The camera is also very portable, fitting in a pocket or pocketbook very easily. I'm glad I bought it.
About me... Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Excellent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HonestlyNow
from Albany, NY
on 01/23/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good Optical Zoom for Price
Takes great pictures. Compact. Many customizalbe features- if you choose. Many preset options. Easy to Use. Viewable area on camera is good quality.
About me... Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Good Camera, but NOT compatible with Windows

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Frederick, MD
on 01/21/2012
Ease to Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Videos are not compatible with Windows
This is good camera. I love that it turns on so quickly and the delay between pushing the button and getting the picture is much shorter than with other cameras we've owned. The battery charges very quickly (I've never timed it, but approximately 30-60 min). The batteries drain quickly and the memory card fills up quickly when shooting video, but I suppose that is to be expected.
There is one HUGE drawback, however. It only records video in .MOV format, which is not compatible with Windows. You can download a couple different programs for free from Apple to view the videos, but if you want to edit your videos you are stuck. I've tried a couple free format conversion programs, but they haven't worked. I'm afraid we've got no choice but to go out and buy some video editing software.
I can't believe a big company like Cannon would make a camera that is incompatible with 98% of the computers in the world. I never would have bought the camera if I had known about this.
About me... Video enthusiast, Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
9out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Greeat camerea

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Afterfifty
from Brentwood, CA
on 01/20/2012
What's great about it: The zoom is incredible.
What's not so great: Nothing
I was looking for a Canon camera because I had 4 batteries for my old Canon SD1100. The main requirement for a new camera was the fact that it had the same batttery.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Has problems even with second camera

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: LaMirada
from LaMirada, Ca
on 01/20/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: daytime pixs look great, very lightweight
What's not so great: motor noise translate to video, sometimes poor indoor evening shots
Sometimes when taking indoor photos in the evening, the flash does not go off and the photo has a red hue and is distorted. When using the video mode and zooming in and out, the noise of the motor is translated to the video! This is irritating and was the main reason why I had exchanged for another. I am having the same problem with the second camera. I am on the fence whether to return as I had purchased for $189.00 and it is now $229.00 on sale. The retail price is $259.00
About me... casual user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Perfect sweet spot of price and features

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Denmon
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 01/18/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: amazing combination of features and price
What's not so great: doesn't support USB Mass Storage Mode (drive letter access)
For a couple years now I've been wanting to replace my old point-n-shoot and my old (8mm!) video camera, but I wanted one device that could do everything:
high megapixel count
good picture quality
good zoom level
good low-light performance
HD video
small and pocketable
decent battery life
reasonable price
and the aspect that'd been stumping me for a long time, good image stabilization for both the photos and videos.
I've had my 310HS for about a month, so far I'm very impressed. It satisfies all these requirements at the same time - I didn't believe that was possible. It’s an amazing piece of technology in a very small package and I recommend it wholeheartedly, I doubt you will find anything else that hits this sweet spot.
The only area I didn't rate a full 5 is ease-of-use; I did find the Program menu a bit confusing, and it took me a while to figure out how to do force flash. The movie digest feature is cool (takes a few seconds of video *before* each photo and combines them together) but I haven't figured out what causes it to stop one combined video file and start the next.
The one meaningful negative comment / missing feature that I can mention is that the camera absolutely does NOT support USB Mass Storage mode, where it just shows up like a drive letter in Windows. This is a strange feature to leave out, but apparently an issue that is common with Canons. The problem this creates is that without installing the supplied software (which I generally avoid with new devices if possible since they're usually lousy bloatware), you have to use the Scanner and Camera Wizard in Windows XP. Aside from the Wizard’s general awkwardness, the big problem is that the USB Camera Mode (technically called Picture Transfer Protocol, PTP) in XP can handle a maximum file size of 210MB. So all my HD videos of more than ~60 seconds would not transfer successfully. There is no resolution to this problem from Microsoft (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/814390). Eventually I grudgingly had to install the software supplied with the camera, and that software was able to copy the videos over fine. But if Canon would just support Mass Storage Mode (the way almost everything else out there does) then it wouldn’t be an issue. I'm being nitpicky though - there's a reasonable workaround (just install the software) and the camera is overall tremendous.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great Little Camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: danielg1984
from Round Lake, IL
on 01/18/2012
  • Top 250 Contributor
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is a great little camera that is small enough to fit in any pocket. It has all the features of a larger camera at half the size. It is light weight and feel well built. The battery life is good.
There really isn't anything negative I can say about this little gadget!
About me... Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 310 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Awesome little point and shoot

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tibberde
from Newark, DE
on 01/18/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, portability
What's not so great: Time to first shot
First, let's start with what I consider to be the primary value in a camera. The picture quality is absolutely crystal-clear with excellent color representation and high resolution, both in the LED display as well as in the digital file and subsequent print.
As a secondary point of consideration, the camera may not have all the bells and whistles of some other cameras, but I'm not aware of what any of those features might be. This camera had all of the requisite menus and selections that would allow me to fine-tune various parameters, but I found all of the pre-sets to be more than adequate for my purposes (keep in mind that this is a point-and-shoot and not a DSLR).
The real-life time from on to first picture seemed just a bit longer than with my previous camera (a Sony Cybershot DSCWX9), but it may have more to do with using the supplied battery rather than a fresh battery. In the grand scheme of things, not that big a deal to me. On the other hand, the time between shots was very speedy and seemed much faster than my previous camera.
The last point worth mentioning is the pocket-friendly size of the camera. My daughter will be taking it with her on an upcoming trip and doesn't want to be encumbered with "tourist" stuff - apparently it's not cool - so this fits the bill quite nicely. The only remaining item to review will be its durability, and time will tell as far as that's concerned.
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>