Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Model: JBR03-MD
SKU: 3116047
UPC: 811726018787
Track your health and fitness with this band that monitors activity, sleep patterns, calories and more for comprehensive monitoring. Personalized tips and recommendations help you develop a personalized approach to wellness. Find your correct size with this sizing guide.
Average Customer Rating:
2.083 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 star
5
33% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
4 out of 12
)
Customer Reviews for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black
Review 1 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Great idea, lousy battery

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: f8lee
from Van Nuys, CA
on 01/14/2012
What's great about it: works as advertised
What's not so great: too-short battery life (in first version)
I was looking forward to using the UP, and in fact had the store clerk at my nearby Best Buy look up available inventory and ended up picking it up at a more distant store. Comfortable and not un-stylish, I wondered how well it would really work.
Amazingly, the unit worked very well! It tracked my steps (well, I wasn't keeping parallel counts, but it seemed accurate enough) and even better, my sleep pattern (still don't know how it does that, but I am impressed). The only problem was the battery life - rather than the touted 9 days per charge, I noticed after one day that the charge was down to 50% (according to the iPhone app when I synced it).
Long story short, it turns out they were having problems with the capacitors or something - the CEO of Jawbone actually sent an e-mail to the registered owners about one week after I returned mine. I definitely plan on getting version 2 once they figure out the battery issue, because unlike the BodyMedia FIT the UP doesn't require a monthly fee to use it.
In short - a great idea, just poorly executed in version 1.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Lots of issues

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: wiremup
from Roseville, Ca
on 01/13/2012
What's great about it: Great tool for healthy living
What's not so great: Lots of internal issues
I bought two of these, one for my son and the other for me. It's a great concept and works great until you charge it up a couple of times and then it just stops working. The plus side is that Jawbones customer service is top notch, excellent. I emailed CS and within an hour heard back from them and after trying their suggestions my Up still didn't work. I emailed them again with the info they asked for and the next day received a new Up on my doorstep. I am on my third Up and my son is on his second but I am not giving up because when it's working it's a great tool. Jawbone will get it right soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Does not work!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: retomik
from Reading
on 01/10/2012
What's not so great: Battery gone.
Unfortunately, after the second charges were destroyed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

DON'T DO IT!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: rentzm
from Washington, DC
on 12/06/2011
What's great about it: NOTHING
What's not so great: It stops working after 10-11 days and Jawbone doesn't provide any customer service.
In 35 days I've had 2 Up bands. The first one lasted 10 days before it wouldn't charge or register. I sent a note to Jawbone and didn't receive a response about how to fix it. Thankfully Best Buy allowed me to exchange it. 11 days in this one crashed and wouldn't do anything. I will gladly go back to my fitbit that has been reliable and helpful for the past 18 months without any issues.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Decent product...cap wont stay on

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: GadgetBuyingGuy
on 12/04/2011
Not a bad idea, however the food reporting is lacking and I couldn't ever keep the cap on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Dont buy

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: runner77
from TX
on 12/03/2011
What's not so great: Dealing with a company that has horrible customer service. Lack of quality. Fit, end cap falls off.
I purchased mine about one month ago and It worked fine for a few days but within one week it was broken (button would not work and device would not hold a charge). I threw away my box so I was forced to deal with Jawbone customer service. After a 30 min wait I was told a replacement was going to be sent out the next day but that never happened. It is now over a month since I have purchased and I am still without a fully functioning replacement. The customer service has been the absolute worst. I have been in contact with the company at least 6 times and every time I get a story that contradicts what I was previously told.
I did sorta enjoy the UP for the first couple of days but in reality its just a glorified pedometer. The sleep monitor really doesn't tell you anything that you don't already know.
I am not the only one who has had problems with the device. There have been multiple problems with the UP and some very unhappy customers. I will never buy another Jawbone product because of the customer service. This is not the only time I have had a problem dealing with Jawbone. I understand that a product will sometimes need to be returned but what makes me upset is dealing with a company that seems to not care about what happens after you purchase their product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Stops syncing!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: waitenr
from Colorado
on 11/29/2011
What's great about it: Vibrates to wake you up in your lightest sleep cycle based off of your movement.
What's not so great: sync issue
The first two days this product was incredible. I really like how it vibrates to wake you up! It doesn't wake up your partner in bed, and it's a very comforting way to wake you up in your lightest sleep cycle. After about 2 days it stopped syncing completely. I have followed all the steps Jawbone has provided to "fix" this issue with no dice. I know 3 other people with this device and all have the same issue within a week. Wait another month or so until they fix this rushed product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Didn't survive recharge

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: hknc
from Arnold MD
on 11/22/2011
What's great about it: great information collected. Accurate when it worked
What's not so great: failure rate.
My up worked awesome for the first two days. After I recharged it it no longer collected data. Lights worked changed modes but did not show any data after syncing. Like the previous user stated it does seem to be buggy reports of people having the up fail on their second and third unit. I will be taking mine back unfortunately. I really wanted it to work!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Focus on health

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SKeav
on 11/20/2011
If you want to improve your focus on health, this is an excellent solution to set a simple program and stick to it.
The sleep information is particularly useful. I have tested this product and plan to buy as a gift for family this holiday season.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
5out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Great concept poor execution

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jam16
from Chattanooga, TN
on 11/14/2011
What's great about it: Looks nice, helps you monitor your activities
What's not so great: Poorly made device, Software interface could be better
My jawbone up failed on day 3. It would take itself into and out of modes without me pushing the button. I also found that the cap came off the end too easily. The software was also buggy. I would advise that before anyone buys this item to checkout the jawbone up forum and see for yourself what problems other users are experiencing. I really wanted this device to work and was willing to put up with things not being perfect but Up got released too early.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+36points
38out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Technoguy11
from Phoenix az
on 11/13/2011
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
I love this product is the best product out there this is a must have. I work awsome it does the job perfect by tracking your sleep, wat u eat , etc. is the best product i ever had
I would recommend this to a friend!
-34points
6out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jawbone UP Band (Medium) - Black

Disappointed with product quality

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: sjeanrx
from Boston, Ma
on 11/13/2011
What's not so great: defective
Within 15 minutes of opening box and learning how to change between sleep an awake modes, the lights stopped working on the band. I was able to sync the band with my iPhone and it was 90% charged. I wore the band over night to see if it was able to monitor and record my sleep. The next morning I was able to download and sync with iPhone app. The band seemed to be monitoring ok but lights still were not working. I played with the button on the end and it snapped off !!! I will be returning product to BestBuy asap for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.