Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Model: 37378BBR
SKU: 3116056
UPC: 811726019555
Track your health and fitness with this band that monitors activity, sleep patterns, calories and more for comprehensive monitoring. Personalized tips and recommendations help you develop a personalized approach to wellness. Find your correct size with this sizing guide.
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
38% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
6 out of 16
)
Customer Reviews for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black
Review 1 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Horrible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: dfsjklsd
on 03/11/2013
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Battery sucks, Loose caps easily, basically everything about the band
Jawbone won't back their warranty if you bought your band through Best Buy. They offered to replace it, but won't give you a refund. The battery has died twice now. They say its Best Buy's problem and Best Buy says it's Jawbone's problem. Horrible customer service for both places!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

It could be better

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: bloodman
from reston, va
on 01/12/2012
What's great about it: Activity and sleep tracking
What's not so great: Food tracking
The modules for tracking activity and sleeping work well. The food tracking module is pretty poor. You take a picture of what you ate and log how you feel. Need to integrate "lose it" ap or something similiar.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Great idea, poor rollout and app

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: KTPett
from Vancouver, WA
on 01/09/2012
What's great about it: Style, sleep pattern awareness, customer service
What's not so great: Product rollout included high percentage of flawed devices.
I love the idea of this stylish band helping me get fit but the product wasn't ready at lauch. There were well known mechanical errors, the app was lacking a slick/consistant layout. My first dissappointment was the 'plugin" to sync process. Isn't this a Jawbone product? How could they have skipped out on the bluetooth sync?
I ended up returning this product after two failed bands. The bottomline though is I will be back. Jawbone was amazing at stepping up and admitting their mistake. I have never seen a company do the right thing without being asked to do it. They went above and beyond and once they work out the kinks, I will be back and hope you will be too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Good while it lasted

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: goodone3
from Tampa, FL
on 01/06/2012
What's great about it: Great motivator, easy to use
What's not so great: Died
When I first started using the Jawbone Up, I was very pumped up to use it. I got it the first day it came out, it was very easy to set up. Didn't have any problems the first month. I loved using the iphone app, it kept me motivated to harder. But 2 weeks ago the battery started acting up by not holding a charge. I was very disappointed. But the company did offer a refund or placement, no questions asked, so I got the refund. If they fix the battery problem, I will very much consider getting another one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Don't bother

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TriedUP
from North Carolina
on 01/06/2012
What's great about it: Very small, didn't seem to be cumbersome, and I liked that it seemed easy to physically connect (pull cap and plug in)
What's not so great: Didn't work, multiple error codes/messages.
Heard about this on Bloomberg Radio as the executive was touting this product. Being someone who wanted to monitor their lifestyle, I put this on my wish list. Was excited to receive this and quickly disappointed. I tried to get it synced with my IPhone, no luck. Went on UP's site to find support, no luck. Decided it was better just to get something else for Christmas.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Works great for 2 weeks!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TitusCM
on 12/03/2011
My UP band was really great. It delivered as promised for 2 weeks. It went completely dead and the product broke. I have contacted their customer service and they are impossible to get a hold of.
I will buy another one, when they improve it, but they rushed this one out the door for the holidays. Avoid it at all costs for now!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Please read this review! Do not buy this product!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Murray75605
from Longview, Texas
on 11/28/2011
What's great about it: Nothing, it was broken most the time I owned it.
What's not so great: Could not tell you, it was broken most the time but I owned it.
I never write a review, but it would be shameful for me not to let you know of the experience I have had with the UP Band and Jawbone.
I recently purchased the UP Band on November 8, 2011. I wore it three days before it stopped working. I called Jawbone the next day and we went through their diagnostic procedures. They assured me that they would be sending out a new one and I would have it in a day or so. A week later I called to find out where my replacement and was and they informed me that they were still working on it and shipment. Two days later, I finally received my replacement band. It worked for one day. The app is not really that good and requires a ton of work on your behalf.
The customer service people from Jawbone are nice but the sense is that they have put out a subpar product, and are now spending most of their time trying to make up for their mistakes. I would like to know how many calories I have burned trying to get this product work.
Don't take my word for it, but please read other reviews on this site and on other sites to get a real idea of how many defective products are out there. Most importantly, please do not give this as a gift for Christmas. The recipient of will spend more time trying to get the product work, than they will actually wearing. It will make them resent you for wasting their time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Terrible device - don't bother

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: RH87
on 11/19/2011
This device looks cool and is an interesting concept. The app looks cool and has nice graphics. The overall experience of the device and app is very poor. Where to begin:
A. The device is designed to be worn 24/7, but is NOT comfortable. The rubber pulls at my skin and hair on my wrist and is so thick I catch it on everything. The metal on the back rubs on tables and scratches across my computer all the time.?
B. I have to tell it when I'm sleeping. Why? And when I wake up. And if I set it back to "awake" and get up before my normal wake up time the alarm still goes off. I just thought it would have some smarts to it.?
C. The battery is poor. I keep trying to charge it with different kinds of chargers (since the only give you a lame light gray 6" dongle) and I check via this app to make sure I have 100% charge and I'm still not getting a full day. Seems like it was fine before I tried workout tracking mode and ever since then it's been terrible. I don't put it in that mode anymore but it doesn't seem to matter.?
D. I have joined challenges but they don't let me keep track of anything or remind me. ???
E. I get a vibration reminder via the bracelet but nothing in the app. ?? I want reminders re drinking water via a challenge but I get nothing.?
F. The calorie tracking via photos seems completely bogus. Not even close. I can't remember to take pictures of all my food. No good.?
So basically it was an idea with promise but just totally let me down in execution. No where near the comfort of Bodybug or Fitbit. Terrible battery. No intelligence. Not tied into challenges. Not seeing any coaching or trend analysis so I can improve. How can this be announced last January, come out in November and be this bad?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
13out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

A potentially great product with bugs

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Soulardman
from Saint Louis, MO
on 11/15/2011
What's great about it: Easy to use.
What's not so great: The mode is frequently and easily reset by accident.
Although I think the UP has tremendous potential, there are several problems with the design of this product.
1. The button on the UP is easily hit and changes the mode. I bought this product to primarily monitor my sleep pattern but I usually deactivate the sleep tracking within hours of falling asleep by simply moving in bed.
2. Related to this, there is no way to tell what mode the UP is in other than to set it again to the right function. I have found I need to constantly reset the UP to the sleep function whenever I wake during the night in order to track my sleep pattern.
3. You can't see the indicator on the band while outside when trying to set the mode on the UP. The light indicator is not very bright and doesn't stay on very long.
4. The cover on the Sync plug falls off too easily. As soon as I find the cover AGAIN, I will be returning the UP to Best Buy.
In short, I recommend waiting for the 2nd version of the UP!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
13out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

I LOVE my UP Band

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from JoyLou
on 11/12/2011
What's great about it: Easy set up. Sleep function and Pedomter
What's not so great: Nothing Yet
I had read about the UP band and was really excited to buy it. So far it has exceeded my expectations. The battery is still 63% charged. I love the sleep functions and daily steps. I can feel myself getting healthier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-10points
5out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Not ready for prime time

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Tony562
from Los Angeles, CA
on 11/11/2011
What's great about it: Great idea
What's not so great: Most are defective within a few days
The UP by Jawbone is an awesome concept, but Jawbone is having so many problems with them right now that they should be recalled.
I purchased my first one on Sunday (the day that it came out), it in the parking lot, the activity button fell off. The second one lasted until Wednesday, then it would not change modes. This third one would not sync this morning.
Each time I was able to return it for a new one, and the last time directly from Jawbone since they want to study all of the defects out there.
All you have to do is call their (800) number for UP and check out how long the cue is. They are experiencing a nightmare with this product. They are being very nice & helpful, but they are overwhelmed by the bands breaking within a few days.
If you decide to still buy one, please save your receipt!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Jawbone UP

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: duck68man
from Watertown, MA
on 11/11/2011
What's great about it: Sleep Tracking and Move Reminder
What's not so great: Meal tracking
Finally got me an UP. I have been wearing it now for 4 days and really am impressed with the sleep tracking. The wake me up function is very cool. Tracking meals needs to be improved but it is a pretty good start. Since I have an office job and I am sitting thru out the day I really like the MOVE reminder to get up. Overall I am really loving my UP!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gotacks
from Tennessee
on 11/11/2011
What's great about it: It works.
Fitness is such a priority for me that I love this device. It does what it claims. Easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
5out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Jawbone UP rocks!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: realtor3bd2b
from Austin Tx
on 11/10/2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Works Well!
What's not so great: Have not found anything.
Had this for a week and works great!
Last up to 10 days on a charge, easy to sync and shows some great info like sleep amount " light vs deep"
Easy to use, order extra caps in case you lose it !
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
-6points
5out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

Read reviews on Jawbone -

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: JALEF
from Colorado Springs
on 11/08/2011
What's great about it: Alarms and activity reminder
What's not so great: Not accurate
I suggest everyone read reviews on Jawbone's site in the forums section. There you'll see that the device is terribly inaccurate. I own one - got it from the Apple store before it's official release.
Putting dishes away, I logged more than a mile, wearing it on my wrist. The app is extremely buggy and without the app, the band itself doesn't work at all. Also, if your wrist doesn't move, you don't log any steps...consider pushing a grocery cart, pushing your baby in a stroller, or walking the dog...your wrist doesn't move...therefore you won't log steps.
Today I walked a trail during my lunch break. On the way out, I walked 1200 steps (or .75 miles)... on the way back, turning around and basically doing the same walk again, I did 800 steps (or .45 miles). A huge discrepancy.
On a positive note, the sleep functions and silent alarms and activity reminders work wonderfully. Needs some work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Jawbone - UP Band (Large) - Black

So far, so good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: wiremup
on 11/06/2011
Been waiting a few month for the Up to come out. I picked it up today and so far the fit is comfortable and can't really even tell it's on. Set up was a breeze, knowing if it was charged or not wasn't as easy. If light is red it means battery is low and a purplish color means its ready to go. Set up on my iPhone 4s went very easy and once it's set up you can easley navigate through how to turn on alarms and sleep mode. I'll update in a couple of weeks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
26out of 31found this review helpful.