Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Model: KAS018800F
SKU: 3116296
UPC: 736211599889
With new Internet threats emerging everyday and a host of harmful factors already in existence, your PC is constantly at risk. Malware, hackers, spam, phishing attacks and other malicious threats can slow you down and keep your PC from operating at its full potential. Now, you can rest assured that your computer and the personal information it contains remain safe and secure in an ever-changing world. Internet Security 2012 uses Hybrid Protection to combine the power of the cloud with your PC to provide optimal protection against hackers, spam, identity theft and other complex Internet threats. Feel safe knowing that the two-way firewall will keep hackers at bay. Online Banking mode, URL advisor and other innovative technologies let you complete all your banking and shopping online worry-free as your transaction details remain secure. When entering your credit card numbers, use the mouse clicks and Virtual Keyboard to prevent key loggers, hackers and identity thieves from tracking your secure banking information. Use the File Advisor to instantly check the safety of any file you're trying to access, and see the danger levels of all Web links within your search results with color-coded tags with the updated URL Advisor. Stay current using social networking sites like Facebook, MySpace and Twitter without worrying about your accounts receiving malicious links or software. Take advantage of the advanced parental controls that let you control access to the PC, Internet, applications, games and Web sites to keep your kids safe and responsible online, even when you're not there.View a product demo.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 21 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
20 out of 21
)
Customer Reviews for Internet Security 2012 - Windows
Review 1 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Works Great so Far!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: monileon
from Bellflower Ca
on 07/17/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use.
What's not so great: A Bit Expensive.
It's the first time I use this antivirus and although I think it's kind of expensive, I got 3 for the price of one so I was able to install it on my home computer and my laptop and also my brother's. It’s kind of frustrating to update the antivirus every other day, but it's worth it because this is how this antivirus is up to date everything to fight new viruses. So far I have not gotten a virus on my computer and I feel safe to use the internet and all. I do recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Third year purchased

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CacJ
from Germantown
on 06/27/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: This program is easy to set up.
This is the third year I have purchased Kaspersky for our home computers. I like that I may install the program on all three of our computers, so it makes it a better value. It would be a little pricey if I could only install the program on one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

best anti virus program

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: chris1972
from keithville,la
on 06/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy setup and price
What's not so great: nothing
this program is easy to setup and easy to use. it is a good program to have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

The best virus software

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gadgetman821
from Albuquerque, N.M
on 06/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy on computer resources
What's not so great: No complaints
I have been using Kaspersky for the past three years. The demand on computer resources is low and what it does to protect my computers in my home is awesome. I have not had one virus and none of our computers have slowed down since we have been using Kaspersky. I highly recommend this Internet security software to everyone. It is worth the extra money to get the deluxe package.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Expensive; miscategorizes sites then blocks them

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ghost40
from Virginia Beach, VA
on 05/30/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Usefulness
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: Sometimes the program arbitrarily blocks sites inappropriately. The program is also expensive!
Kaspersky made some changes from last year. It's more difficult to change settings, and harder to figure out how to list trusted sites. The program arbitrarily blocks portions of websites for "gambling" when there is no such thing on the website. That needs tweaking by the programmers. It's a pricey program, not sure if it lives up to the price or not. I think the program let a virus or two set up shop on my computer as I have popups that don't belong on my screen at times.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Best Anti Virus software out there.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Toby1234
from Louisville, KY
on 05/02/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Have not gotten any virus' since using Kaspersky
What's not so great: Slows down the computer slightly when scanning
Be careful on renewals. Kaspersky has joined the ranks of Marketing scams where they trap you into automatic renewals. The only way you can renew or update your software is to go and buy the newer version. DON'T use the renewal links unless you want to automatically get your credit card hit each year. I personally get very upset when they trap you into this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

very good protection software

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ftwuser
on 04/25/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use and understand versus other products out there
What's not so great: new version seems to prompt more than last about updating database
very good product, glad i switched years back from mccafee which is a total ripoff. very easy to understand and use. i know a few things about computers but i am far from bills gates or any programmer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Better protection but....

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: deskbooterx64
from Monrovia, CA
on 04/10/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Better protection, Defends most viruses, spyware, malware, etc., Identity protection, Able to install in multiple PCs
What's not so great: Strict parental controls, Buggy main menu startup
This product has very good protection. There is some issues that I feel like is shouldn't be there or seems annoying.
- The parental controls is really strict. There would be websites or searches that shouldn't be blocked. Parents would find it annoying because they're child may ask the same thing over and over when these occur.
- It's buggy because anytime you turn on your computer, it always pops up the main screen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Great protection

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nightster69
from IL
on 04/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Worry-free internet use
With this product, I do not worry about viruses or internet attacks. Good value for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: iiveza2313
from rochester, mi
on 03/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
My dad always told me to buy norton, but i wanted to try kaspersky and its one great product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Kaspersky Internet Security

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MsSusie
from Woodstock, Ohio
on 03/01/2012
What's great about it: You always know it is protecting your computer, but it never interferes with computer operation.
We have had our Kaspersky Security in place for about a month and are very pleased with it. There is never any slow down on our computers. It's leaps and bounds ahead of the McAfee we used to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Great spyware, virus program.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wonderfull
from Topeka, Kansas
on 02/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The functions that it does.
What's not so great: Nothing.
This is a must have software. It does what it states. It is the best program that I have used so far. Highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: martinez1
from houston, tx
on 02/01/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Effective and Easy to Use
What's not so great: Pricey
Kapersky is by far the best Anti-Virus software out there. My husband refuses to use anything else! It's very easy to use and is extremely effective against all viruses. We have not had any issues with viruses since using this product. It pretty much takes care of itself and you don't really have to mess with any of the settings unless you are needing something specific. It's a little pricey, but well worth the money. Every once in a while it will go on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Jury is still out.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Auggie203
from Plum Branch, SC
on 01/17/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It let's me know which sites on my search engine that are ok or questionable.
What's not so great: It's continually telling me my (Kaspersky) "Database is out of date".
I have only had Karspersky Internet Security 2012 for 2 months. I switched from Norton Internet Security because of the memory demand. So far so good. However, Still have not decided if I will reuse it next year.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Easy to install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MarcJ
from Granby, Mo.
on 01/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Have not had a virus since using Kaspersky
What's not so great: You need to have plenty of RAM
If you are going from 2011 you don't have to erase previous version. Interface is more user friendly than earlier versions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

One Of The Best Internet Security Utilities

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DaffyD
from Seattle, WA
on 12/22/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Provides among the best protection around. Great customer service.
What's not so great: A bit of a resource hog. Will slow down older systems with less memory and slower CPUs.
I'm very impressed with Kaspersky for its internet security protection and for its customer service. First for the protection part: it protects you from rootkits and provides a further layer of security for online banking. I've done online leak tests and Kaspersky puts your connection into stealth mode. In other words, you can't be seen by the average hacker who's sniffing around for open ports. You're also protected from email spam. I rated it 4 for ease of use just because so much of it is is customizable and I'm always learning new settings to tweak or about features I didn't know I had.
Regarding customer service: Kaspersky is great. They discovered an issue with a KIS 2011 update. How did they fix it? They allowed their customers to upgrade to 2012 for free. Who else does that?
Someone in this thread posted that Kaspersky has terrible customer service based on their phone calls experience. Well, I never call software companies for customer service. Why should I when they respond within a day by email and they also have an online knowledge base? The one time I couldn’t find an answer in the KB a customer service rep replied with the answer I should have found myself had I looked a little harder into the program.
Kaspersky is great; I’ve used them for 2 years now. That being said, I am going to go back to another top IS program when my current KIS subscription runs out. The only downside to Kaspersky is that for older computers it does use a bit of resources and can slow down those systems with less memory and slower CPUs or sometimes bring them to a standstill. The other company after years of criticism has reduced the footprint and size of its resource hog and is supposedly faster and more effective than Kaspersky. We shall see. Meanwhile, KIS 2012 remains a solid #1 or #2 choice for internet security.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Good Product - Great Ease of Use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CheeseheadinthelandofPort
from Portland
on 12/02/2011
What's great about it: ease of use
Quality product that is easy to use. I put this product on my extended familiys' PCs. I can managed the subscription renewals remotely and there are rarely ever any issues with on the local machines.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

works

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ctudoc
from New York
on 10/26/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
My wife laptop got infected at work, This software found and fixed the viruses. It did something to the IE - it starts but I cannot connect to the internet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Great Internet Security

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MikeyQ1
from Queens,NY
on 10/12/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Internet Security Program
I cannot complain Kasperskys works excellent and is constantly working itself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Internet Security 2012 - Windows

Awesome Antivirus

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NoQuarter
from Brooksville, Fl.
on 09/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Best protection I ever had, doesn't lock up my computer like other anti virus' i've used in the past and you don't have to download software just to remove it if you want to change your Antivirus, like I really would want to!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>