Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Model: MD311LL/A
SKU: 3116311
UPC: 885909533664
This Apple MacBook® Pro MD311LL/A laptop features a spacious 750GB hard drive that provides plenty of storage for media, documents and more. The 17" LED-backlit high-definition display ensures easy viewing and lush images.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
14 out of 16
)
Customer Reviews for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display
Review 1 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Excellent Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pbishop2010
from junction city kansas
on 05/30/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use day by day
What's not so great: Having to sign in everytime you download an application or install something
Im a youtuber, and iMovie is perfect for that. I also make appointments on my iphone, which automatically syncs to my mac (which is a great convenience). The only thing that ive had a problem with is that i changed my email for my apple id, and itunes, facetime, ical, app store and icloud all gave me problems, for facetime i had to contact support to get it figured out. The only thing i dont like about my mac is that in order to use an .exe you need to use a program called wine (it works half the time) i wish apple made a program itself that did what wine does.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Student, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

best laptop built

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 4evermac
from Sherman,Tx.
on 05/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything, performance, quality, best display on market
What's not so great: nothing
The best built machines out PERIOD. When you get tired of working on your computer and want to really start using and enjoying it, get a mac.
The users that have used a mac know the truth and will never go back to a microsloth machine. As a software engineer i write Microsoft apps for work with this macbook for the reason that it works flawlessly all the time and is a pleasure to use.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids, Student, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Piece of Junk

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Pmcg295
from Boston, MA
on 04/21/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Came complete with bugs.
I was excited about getting a Mac after years with a PC. Well out of the box, I was unable to set it up. The Geek Squad came to help and said to return it, it was a piece of junk and for the price I should expect quality and perfection. I'm very disappointed but not surprised since every Apple owner I know has had similar experiences. I do love Best Buy though - great employees and customer service.
About me... Business Professional, talent/artist
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-73points
7out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Beautiful laptop with an amazing OS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OfTheSea
from Raleigh, North Carolina
on 04/12/2012
What's great about it: Fast, The OS, Pretty to look at, Everything is streamlined
What's not so great: Haven't come across any as of yet
If you need a system that is more than capable, is fast, has a great feel that is far more streamlined than any Windows system, then this is the laptop for you. I've been a Windows user all my life and after this purchase I can't find a reason for me to go back.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids, Student, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: linmar
from AL
on 04/04/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Price
Best laptop I ever had. Great perfomance. With Virtualbox I can run Windows programs also. A little pricey, but worth it.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Great Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Natie
from Ionia
on 03/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The graphics
What's not so great: The Microsoft Word is a little challenging
I absolutely love it!! I used to have a Dell and all I did was fix it constantly. No matter how hard I tried there was always something wrong. Not the Mac. It is fast, thin, and the graphics are terrific!! I don't think I will ever switch to a PC ever again. The only difficulty I have is getting used to the Word processing program, but with practice I should be able to get used to it.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
26out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Impressive

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DanuEH
from Mesa, AZ
on 03/16/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, simple to figure out and amazing graphics.
What's not so great: Basic apps are weak
Let me preface this with; I have never owned an Apple/Mac and have worked only with MS OS laptops and desktops for the last 3 decades. I bought mt MacBook Pro (MBP) for photo editing and have not been disappointed. I took the RAM up to 16GB and replaced the HD with a Samsung SSD 512GB. Crunching a large number of RAW pictures is now almost instantaneous compared to before on my PC laptop. I still do not feel the $ = product, but the customer service is second to none, and I have not had some of the normal problems that come with the PC laptop. I do not like that Apple charges for all but the most basic of apps on the MBP to start with, when a PC laptop has a good many programs to start with.This is an amazing machine I will not need to replace for many years... I hope.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Overall great performing computer.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jfff
from Phoenix, Az
on 03/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I've been a Microsoft PC user for 35 years. I never thought I'd change to a MAC and never wanted too. My wife talked me into it because she is not a computer user. Bottom line, best computer I've ever had or used. The performance is excellent, best display I've ever seen and so easy to learn.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
25out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Prometheus steals fire from the gods.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Macophile
from Sierra Vista, AZ
on 02/29/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, functionality, quality, software and hardware.
This Macbook Pro is the best laptop I have had the pleasure to own. I use this laptop at work and home. First, the Macbook 17 inch display is crystal clear and Hi Definition. Second, the Macbook is very fast. It takes about 2-3 seconds from the point where I hit the power button to the time I can access the desktop. Here, for brevity's sake, I will not mention all the specs on the Macbook; you can read them on Apple's website or here on Bestbuy's.
The applications and software available for the Macbook is simply amazing and WAY cheaper than anything that is offered by Microsoft. I have been overly impressed with Apple's software, the ease of use of Apple software, and how incredibly capable the software is. Again, the software, such as Apple's Pages (similar to Microsoft Word, but better), blows any Microsoft software out of the water both in price and functionality.
The only thing I wished Apple had installed on the 17 inch Macbook Pro would have been an SD card slot. For some reason, Apple does not have that on the 17 inch Macbook model. However, it is available on the 15 inch Macbook Pro.
The Macbook is made of superior quality materials. The case is made from one entire piece of aluminum, thus making the computer feel as though it could withstand Armageddon itself without being heavy or thick at all. The screen on the Macbook is actually made of sturdy glass, which lends very well to the screen's clarity and strength.
This is the first Macbook I have owned, yet the 4th Apple product in my anthology of Apple products. Simply put, Apple has outdone themselves with the Macbook pro and puts to shame any other PC laptop out there. You won't go wrong purchasing this laptop, albeit, the price is a bit steep. However, you certainly get what you pay for, which is a first class, grade A, superior product both in function and quality. Nothing else comes close to this Macbook Pro.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
34out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Top notch...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: super777
on 02/26/2012
Incredible amount of features and power. Can't complain. Apple quality and top of the line features. Beautiful display. Easy to setup and use. Fast delivery. Good warranty options. I'm a die hard fan and I would recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Best of The Best

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CTRmagazine
on 02/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
For anyone to down an Apple computer due to its complexity, obviously shouldn't have one in their possession to begin with. Apple is a very well-known and proven company to, by far, have the most advanced technology in the market.
I am a magazine publisher and I personally use the new MacBook (with a few software additions) to handle all of my graphic designing and layouts. The Apple software is unbelievably fast and reliable. Along with the screen resolution and sheer quality of the computer, it is the best one I have ever run across.
Once again, Apple is very advanced and a MacBook of this stature takes some learning and getting used to to. If you take the time to learn the computer, you will be able to use it beyond belief.
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
31out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Seems to be top of the line

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OakleyDog
from Boston,MA
on 01/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It's a mac and like the say if you can get by the price it's the best.
What's not so great: Was difficult for her to enlarge the font on receiving emails.
I bought this mac for my wife for Xmas, I know it will take her some getting use to but we have a mac desktop at home and she loves is and I think once she is use to this the feelings will be the same.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
23out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Product is as good as it was reputed to be

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JSALM2297
from Akron, OH
on 01/11/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Screen, Keyboard, speed, ease of use, everything
What's not so great: pricey but worth it it appears
Simply, this is the best computer I have ever owned.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
33out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

I dont know To work or play.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: babbu2
from New York NY
on 01/08/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: so complicated. PC is most ease.
it's is complicated to use. I dont know if any manual to learn how to work, and how to use.
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-161points
15out of 191found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

Recent PC Convert

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: luckof8
from Wisconsin
on 01/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Totally sold on the ease of use features of the Mac. Originally thought about rating convenience as good only because some of my old software is not Mac compatible. But I stuck with excellent because so much of my existing hardware (wireless mouse, external hard drive, extra monitor, wireless printer) was added to the Mac with no problem.
I have yet to need to make a call to Apple Support!
About me... Parent with kids, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+35points
39out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apple® MacBook® Pro - Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - 17" Display

The Greatest Laptop Ever Made

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pat38
from Boston Ma
on 12/12/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The Best Quality and it Shows
What's not so great: Nothing
The Apple Macbook Pro 17"......The Mac Daddy of all things Computers. Now we all know Apple makes THE BEST computers but what makes it special is the Quality...The quality in this machine is Felt from the start. Everything from the Hi Res display to the keyboard. The Standard Apple keyboard, Which is used on all Apple laptop computers, just has that feel to it. Now I can't type on any other keyboard. The Fact is this, you get what you pay for, Period !! If you want the BEST than this is it, and it shows.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+41points
75out of 109found this review helpful.