Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Model: Hero 9.1
SKU: 3117365
UPC: 041778019634
Features the lowest ink replacement cost. Built-in Wi-fi & Google Cloud Print ready - wirelessly print from any computer, tablet, or smart phone - wherever you are. Produce Kodak-quality documents & photos that last a lifetime - Simple wi-fi setup, 4.3" Touch color LCD, Dedicated Photo Tray, Smart Sensor, Fax, #10 ink.Save on ink See the details.App Discovery Center Kodak Pic Flick for iOS or for Android Print and share pictures on a compatible Kodak wireless printer or wireless digital picture frame.
Average Customer Rating:
4.233 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 60 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
50 out of 60
)
Customer Reviews for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer
Review 1 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Good for printing both documents & prints

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WFDfirefighter
from Albany, NY
on 04/04/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Quality of prints, photo & document
What's not so great: slow 2 side printing of documents
Easy fit into N wireless Net. All worked well for both documents & prints except lower tray paper indicator which, being low priority, I'll check into shortly. Only real short-coming is 2 side printing slows down production rate considerably.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Meets All Expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JohnJackRalph
from Latham, NY
on 02/25/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease of setup and photo print quality.
What's not so great: Nothing that I've encountered.
I've replaced my last HP printer. Prior to purchase, I read reviews from several sites. Most reviews were positive and some friends have a Kodak printer that they are very happy with. So I decided to make the purchase. The printer was also on sale. It was very easy to setup. I followed all directions and in a relatively short time I had printed, scanned, copied and faxed. I printed both color and B/W documents. I've printed both 4 x 6 and 5 x 7 pictures on Kodak and non Kodak photo paper. All prints were excellent. I especially like the picture edit and print menu. It has some nice features. This is a top quality printer at a reasonable price. I haven't owned the printer very long, but the ink supply seems to be lasting and it's much less expensive to purchase. I'm glad that I decided to switch from my third HP printer to a Kodak.
About me... Frequent user, Budget Conscious, enjoy products that work as advertised
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Like it...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ERJedi
from Lafayette, LA
on 02/25/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good buy for the money
This is my first Kodak printer. I've had horrible experiences with HP and heard a lot of good things from coworkers about Kodak. To be honest I was a little nervous at first, I'm a big believer in checking reviews before I buy and I was i reading a bunch of bad reviews regarding this particular model in terms of mechanical failed and print quality. All I can say is that I have had nothing but good experiences with the printer so far and I'm happy I made the purchase, (which is a pretty good compliment for you Kodak, since I'm not easily impressed to begin with, in fact this is the first review I've ever written, lol.)
Photo Quality:
I own a Sony Alpha camera, and the pictures that the Kodak printer produce do the camera justice. In fact I compared a photo that I printed at home with the Kodak to one from the photo store on the chemical printer and could not tell the difference. Picture paper may offset the cost of this advantage but it is still cheaper nonetheless. Very satisfied with the photo quality.
Print Speed:
Didn't find it to be quicker than any other printer I've used but I wash;t expecting it to be lighting. It prints as fast as it advertises, (Rough guess, I didn't sit there with a stop watch, and people that do need to get out more.) It isn't slow but if speed is what you're going for, perhaps inkjet overall isn't what you should consider. For my purposes, it is great.
Document Printing Quality:
Printed 200 wedding invitations, reply cards, and their envelopes. Not one single hang up despite the unusual document sizes. My HP would jam every 3 pages if I was lucky. Has a generous bin for paper. Also it "re-inked" itself appropriately (Didn't print low ink invitations before it re-inked, which I was hoping for.)
Print from Mobile Phone:
Yes! ok, I was totally stoked to see this. The printer has a separate tray for photo paper, so whenever you want to print a picture, you don't have to take out your plain paper and load photo paper and switch back when your done. All I did was select "print photo" on my iPhone and there it went, super cool, no loading to computer first or anything like that. Impressive!
Fax:
Haven't used that feature. Friend does though, and he said he never had a problem, he's the one that sold me on this printer to begin with.
Scanner:
All I can say is MUCH BETTER than my HP. Not a lab quality scanner but again, didn't expect it to be. Copy function works flawlessly. I like how you can load face up on top of the printer and have it fead in like a xerox machine.
Price of Ink:
I think everybody is on the same page here. VERY CHEAP.
Touch Screen:
Saw that somebody said they had to use a pen to hit the buttons? Well, maybe if you have sausages for fingers, I for one think it works great, but I have had an iPhone for many years so perhaps this gives me an advantage. The display is very responsive and you don't have to wait for it to "think" before you hit the next key.
Hopes this helps you guys. obviously I can't speak for everybody but I am very satisfied so far. Cool thing is if you have a problem, I think we all know that best buy will have your back. Their pretty good about that kind of thing :)
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast, jedi knight
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+28points
31out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great printer with low cost ink

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Muleskinner30189
from Atlanta
on 02/08/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great print quality
Awesome print quality and the replacment ink is always at a good price.
About me... Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Worst printer purchase ever!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TroubleTicket
from San Antonio, TX
on 02/05/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: It is very prone to not working.
We purchased this printer in November, and within five print jobs, the night my daughter's school project was due, it stopped printing. After referring and researching the error code and talking to Kodak customer support, they apologized, said it was a critical error, and they shipped me a new printer. The second printer arrived, and printed beautifully; however, we needed to scan a document. The printer provided a different error and would not scan the document citing a document jam. However, there was no document in the printer. After waiting on hold with Kodak customer service for 30 minutes, I hung up and called Best Buy who took the printer back, and I have now returned to an HP printer which has not failed to work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

A Great Printer, but ...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DeanO7
from Milwaukee, WI
on 02/04/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great printer. Picture quality is great
What's not so great: Not a great scanner
As I said in the summary, it is a great printer. The picture quality is good and the price of new printer cartridges is better than with hp. As for the scanner part, it works okay, but the resolution is not very good. I have not use the fax portion. I have used the cloud print feature, it works very well. I have run into problems with remotely logging into the printer, I forgot my password. There is no way to reset the administrative password from the printer itself. I had to restore the printer to its factory defaults. When connecting wirelessly, I recommend using the WiFi protected setup feature, if your wireless router supports it. It makes it very easy to connect. Otherwise, I had problems connecting wirelessly by using my wireless network key. I guess I wasn't patient enough. Not sure what the future holds with Kodak seeing bankruptcy protection. I hope they continue to make the printer cartridges. In summary, it is a great printer for the price. Best Buy had a great sale price for it.
About me... Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Very Poor Tech Support

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Mikeyl72
from Chesapeake, VA
on 02/03/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Print quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Tech Support
Purchased my Hero 9.1 on Dec 27, 2011. Used it with the Ethernet connection. On Jan 29, 2012 the printer stopped working. After many phone calls, e-mails and broken promises someone would call me back they are sending me a new printer. It is now Feb. 2, 2012 and the printer is due her next week.
I cannot speak to the quality of the printer, other than to say it overrides the default printer setting anytime you turn it on – I have 2 other printers in my network. Technical support is extremely poor and has no understanding of how the printer functions. If they cannot read it on their computer screen they cannot help you. One Tech blamed my router, one tech blamed the power cord, and one tech said it was not her job. Truth is the “motherboard” of the printer or the firmware is corrupted. Also the accent of the techs was so strong I had a very difficult time understanding them. I would NOT recommend this to anyone, and doubt I will every by Kodak again. Next time it will be another Epson or maybe a Brother.
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

It is a great printer for everything

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lynda719
from Colorado Springs
on 02/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
It prints fast and well. Great pictures, fast documents and seems to hardly use any ink. The ink cartridges last a long time.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

LOVE IT!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MomJ
from Illinois
on 02/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ink prices & quality
What's not so great: a little noisey but is set up in back room because it's wireless so it doesn't bother me at all.
My top reason I had picked Kodak and this model is because of the price for ink refills. I had an HP Photosmart for many years and it did what I wanted but replacing the ink was way to expensive and refilling old cartridges would not work it showed error, it would only take new ones. I do a lot of photo work and with HP ink prices it was just crazy. I could buy a new copier each time for almost the same price as the ink would cost.
I have not owned this one for very long but so far all is great!!!
+ Love the touch pad, ink is dry right away, good color, easy set-up, wireless is great, holds a variety of paper & sizes, lots of useable options and the best part very affordable ink replacement!!!
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great printer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pflute
from Roseville
on 02/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up...great print quality
I got this printer to replace 3 other miscellaneous printers/copiers that had accumulated in my office. It's compact, easy to set up, puts out great print pictures and documents, and I really, REALLY love it! Of course, the lower ink usage is a HUGE plus!
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mickey61
from Pembroke Pines
on 01/27/2012
What's great about it: Double sided print option
What's not so great: Ink usage
I purchased this item because it can do the double sided prints. Great for saving on paper. Wish I could get more prints from the ink cartriges.
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Printer used mainly for documents

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Darlene206
from lizella, ga
on 01/26/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: corlor printing & touch screen pad
This printer is AWFUL for the amount of money it cost. Touch screen pad was extremely hard to use - had to use a stylus pen to maneuver between options & different screes. Color pictures/documents never printed correctly. Took it back after 2 weeks.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Looks great on paper but features are HORRIBLE!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Holley777
from Lincoln, NE
on 01/26/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Ink price is cheap
What's not so great: See comments!!
2nd Kodak printer I've had. Many problems with it. But this printer looked to be EXACTLY what I need. I've had it less than a month & so far: Wi-Fi features turns itself off all the time, double sided print feature jams the printer, 1/2 of the time paper prints and cuts off words at the bottom & top of the page; colors are off on pictures like ink is low (which is not), prints MUCH slower than states. I don't care how much cheaper the ink costs which is the only plus with Kodak printers, I will NEVER buy another one. I guess you get what you pay for. I just thought I would give them another try. Kicking myself for it now!!
About me... Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast, printer dependent, online student, future business owner
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

This is a great printer.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: doug1234geek
from Denver, CO
on 01/25/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: initial cost
Great printer. It does everything. Kodak's ink is great (and cheap). Prints are great, touch screen is convenient, and the fax function also works from pc.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Product Did not work!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: westrider
from Richmond Heights
on 01/23/2012
What's great about it: Low ink cost
What's not so great: Durability questions.
Purchased new Kodak Hero and it did not work. Called Kodak and they sent me a new printer within three days. New printer is working fine. However had to box up the printer I originally purchased and returned it to Kodak. This is not the first time that I have purchased a new Kodak printer only to have it not work. This will probably be the last Kodak printer I buy so when this one breaks I will find something else. However I do like the lower ink cost.
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Frequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

East to get up and running on wireless network

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: N12KA16
from Topeka, Ks.
on 01/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of up and running wireless and easy cartridge change.
What's not so great: Glossy finish attracts dus. Didnt buy it for t he color/t
Crisp character definition aand vey good photo printing,
Shipping tabs to access printer carriage were not easy to pull on.
Everything else was freat. Using computers and printers since 1972.
(yep, before pc's).
About me... Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

I LOVE this printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: griff45
from Minneapolis MN
on 01/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The quality.... it is a winner
What's not so great: mmmm can't think of anything at the moment
I have never had a printer that I have liked more in the 30 years I have been buying computers and accessories. The ease of the setup right out of the box, the networking of my other 3 laptops in the house, instant success, but most of all the cost and the quality are next to none. I have had every brand of printer you can imagine and when this one went on sale I was first in line. Even with Kodak going into chapter 11 I would rush out and get a backup if I thought they wouldn't make it out. I have the Hero 9.1 so am enjoying all the extras. PHOTOS look just like they came from a photo shop. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed especially if you buy your ink on Wednesday's ;-) 20% off
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

excellent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wordlee9
from New Jersey
on 01/19/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Well designed and manufactured
I value the robustness and the versatility of this 4 function printer. The touch screen is a joy to use. My hookup was with usb cable and telephone line for the fax since the cables existed on my desk when I replaced a single function HP photo printer. I could not be more pleased with the product especially since my purchase decision was driven by a desire to support Kodak and their present pensioners/owners. I also value the flexibility to switch to wireless in a future scenario.
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great Printer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cal2000fb
from Gainesville, Ga
on 01/19/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great price for everything that it does
What's not so great: Haven't found anything wrong as of yet?
This printer is awesome! I've had this printer for at least 2 months now. I use it for my everyday use. haven't had to change any ink catridges yet and its easy to work. The setup was easy to do and it took no time. I got it at a great price. The original price was $250 and I got on sale for $150. A week later it was on sale for $125 so I got a price match for that. Great deal! I have only printed one photo picture and it looked great. It also has the capability to print in 3D which I have never heard before. I printed an example of that and it looked nice.
About me... Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kodak - Hero 9.1 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Excellent printer for documents & photos

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: biker4595
from Cherokee, AL
on 01/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up & operate
I like the design on this printer & the wireless operation. The touch screen operation of this printer is excellent. I do not have any regrets in my purchase of this printer the Kodak Hero 9.1 All-In-One-Printer.
About me... small business owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>