Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Model: WNDR4500-100NAS
SKU: 3219043
UPC: 606449077360
This router delivers powerful wireless performance for a range of home network applications, including streaming 3D high-definition video and multiplayer gaming. Four LAN and 1 WAN Gigabit Ethernet ports allow fast wired connections.
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(1912 Reviews) 1912
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,912 reviews
5 stars
1,243
4 stars
491
3 stars
67
2 stars
35
1 star
76
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,765 out of 1,912
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black
Review 1 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Great router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GaryT
on 05/27/2015
My lan speed increased to over 100mbs in my internal house lan and being able to add an external hard drive to the router accessible by ftp was just a great add on. A+ and im very pleased. I originally got this router to correct apple TV dropping out issues. This one cured the issue!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0565591807
My Best Buy number: 0565591807
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Poor connectivity

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: SouthernYankee
on 05/26/2015
Setup was a breeze. Literally plug it in and use the pre-supplied password and there's nothing else you have to configure to start using your wireless network.
Unfortunately, the wireless performance is poor, and that is being generous. I bought the Netgear N900 to replace my Buffalo router N300 that had just died. To make it clear, my internet connection and wireless router are upstairs.I mostly use wireless devices downstairs.
My TV is downstairs. I had almost zero connectivity issues over three years watching Netflix with the Buffalo router. But the TV won't connect to the Netgear N900 at all due to low signal strength. That's right, it cannot connect to the network, whereas before I was watching movies.
I also have a Kindle that was happy with the Buffalo router. By contrast, the Kindle the has one bar when connected to the Netgear . I downloaded a WiFi analyzer app and signal strength hovered around a disappointing -91dBm. Even worse, I can see the neighbor's WiFi one house over, and that signal is at -93dBm. What a disappointment! This router is barely better than glomming onto the neighbor's router. I had to stand at the base of the stairs about 25 feet away to get any decent signal. So that is what I mean by disappointing performance.
The only semi-bright spot is that my iPad gets stronger reception on the 5GHz band. But it suffers a lot of dropped network connections.
If there are no walls between your router and the device you want to use, this might be ok. Otherwise prepare to buy an antenna or a signal booster in addition.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Easy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Momof2
on 05/24/2015
I bought this to replace another wireless router that didn't work as well. This product works great for all of our devices (multiple iPads, cell phones, and game systems)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0565533289
My Best Buy number: 0565533289
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

sped up the access time

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: estimator
on 05/24/2015
Recommended by a sales rep, easy to set up and get going.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1020301320
My Best Buy number: 1020301320
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tigger
on 05/23/2015
The Netgear wireless router works flawlessly, I was an Linksys fan for a long time, I am running six devices off of it and not missing a beat. So simple to set up. Awesome product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2515687646
My Best Buy number: 2515687646
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tica37
on 05/22/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Really good to use in my home. I recommend buy one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2555192148
My Best Buy number: 2555192148
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

good reception

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tricky24
from home
on 05/22/2015
This router is way better than the one I originally purchased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0558004062
My Best Buy number: 0558004062
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Good product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Wolfguy069
on 05/22/2015
simple and easy to set up and use.
works just fine
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3460364873
My Best Buy number: 3460364873
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Easy to install wireless router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Louie
on 05/22/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Works great, even in a large house. I have reception from one end of the house to the other.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2750166180
My Best Buy number: 2750166180
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Steady, reliable router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TEJ823
on 05/22/2015
Great product, has worked flawlessly since day one. Typically have 10 to 15 devices running on wired and wifi with no interference or bandwidth issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0573795259
My Best Buy number: 0573795259
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

No more "This page can't be displayed" !!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lakesite
on 05/22/2015
I recently upgraded from an older Belkin router. I had been having a problem with time delays with a window stating, "This page can't be displayed". I was having to spend a tremendous amount of time waiting and waiting on the troubleshooter to "solve" the problem.
Since installing my new Netgear router, I no longer have the problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0557274947
My Best Buy number: 0557274947
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Works as expected

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BransonBill
from Branson, MO
on 05/21/2015
Does a good job with the many devices I use, but I am not a gamer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0571848889
My Best Buy number: 0571848889
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

pretty good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mdl7
on 05/21/2015
Speed is great, range isn't as much as I expected but it's good and a very light weight. I like the app it has.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0596696953
My Best Buy number: 0596696953
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Very Happy with it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LMcGovern
on 05/21/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Suggested by a Best Buy Representative and so far so good! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3752047408
My Best Buy number: 3752047408
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Best router we've ever had!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KV14
on 05/21/2015
I bought this router for my mom because she uses a Roku streaming device and has a smart tv plus a tablet and the one she had wasn't powerful enough to handle so much wifi usage. This one is perfect for her, it's fast and works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3440886319
My Best Buy number: 3440886319
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Awesome product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lauren
on 05/21/2015
Works great! Haven't had any issues with it! Our internet works very fast now
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1057188383
My Best Buy number: 1057188383
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Great Router for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PanheadAbe
on 05/21/2015
easy to set up wide area wireless signal easy to maintain this item works very well in our office
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3758093553
My Best Buy number: 3758093553
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Great Router for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: apeeboy
from Blaine, MN
on 05/20/2015
Great Router, easy to install and setup. Works well with Comcast broadband.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0413530040
My Best Buy number: 0413530040
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

It actually slowed my internet down

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: VRTR
on 05/20/2015
Customer service was very helpful, it was easy to install, but this device actually slowed my internet down.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2793829769
My Best Buy number: 2793829769
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NETGEAR - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Black

Good reliability, but not as strong

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: TomBW
on 05/20/2015
Bought this one to replace my Belkin, which fried a day prior to purchase.
I've noticed that I do seem to have less droppage with this one, but the signal strength was definitely lower in the home (even though this one advertised better coverage than my old Belkin). I picked up an extender.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0052799167
My Best Buy number: 0052799167
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 96 next>>