Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Model: WNDR4500-100NAS
SKU: 3219043
UPC: 606449077360
This router delivers powerful wireless performance for a range of home network applications, including streaming 3D high-definition video and multiplayer gaming. Four LAN and 1 WAN Gigabit Ethernet ports allow fast wired connections.
Average Customer Rating:
4.413 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(1135 Reviews) 1135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,135 reviews
5 stars
727
4 stars
284
3 stars
45
2 stars
24
1 star
55
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,027 out of 1,135
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch
Review 1 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Skeeb0
from Prattville, AL
on 04/22/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Stable and great distance. Very fast wireless and wired.
What's not so great: Nothing...it's great!
Replaced an old Netgear and am VERY happy with this one. WAY faster, outstanding distance, and extremely stable. Definitely recommend.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2657062899
My Best Buy number: 2657062899
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great Router for Sony 4K Ultra HD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SFCityGal
from San Francisco, CA
on 04/21/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy installation, decent price & excellent speed
What's not so great: Non-detachable stand plate
Work in the IT industry and work from home often - so far so good. My only complaint is the plastic non-detachable stand plate - my router is hidden in wall cabinet and I can't close the door properly.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2287530416
My Best Buy number: 2287530416
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Excellent Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BarbBlmIL
from Bloomington IL
on 04/21/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, excellent speed
What's not so great: N/A
I use this router for my internet connection for up to four laptops, 3 tablets, 4 smart phones, and a blue ray DVD with "smart" technology (Netflix, Hulu, etc.). I don't have any problems with connectivity and the speed is great.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 1026332434
My Best Buy number: 1026332434
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Good router

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: catlady
from Springfield, IL
on 04/21/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and good price
What's not so great: Nothing so far
So far this is a good router for the price and was easy to install.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0213431004
My Best Buy number: 0213431004
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Was promising, but in the end had to buy a Linksys

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: bappy
from garner, nc
on 04/20/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: dual band, speed, cool clear stand
What's not so great: drops connections, locks up, interferes with my garage door opener
I purchased this wireless router to replace a functioning Linksys that I was handing down to my parents since their bottom of the line Trendnet was constantly locking up. Setup of the Netgear was easy and the administration tools were nice and easy to use. However quickly after I installed this I noticed a few things including the range on my garage door opener substantially decreased. Also the 5ghz band seemed unreliable and caused the router to eventually provide no throughput after 24 hours or so, the only way around this was to turn off the 5ghz band (which was one of the main reasons I picked this model). Also the router seemed to lose connectivity to the cable modem, requiring a reboot every day or so. After a two weeks of dealing with the rest of the family complaining about "the internet" I decided to return this and go with what I always found to be a reliable brand: Linksys - picked the EA6200 router and all these issues are resolved.
This product has... Unreliable connection, Fast connection, Easy to set up
About me... Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0208022682
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Had a lot of drop Internet !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nance
from Mass
on 04/19/2014
What's great about it: Internet works faster hasn't been droping at all!
What's not so great: No problems
Works great have had no problem since purchasing this item.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 1051229570
My Best Buy number: 1051229570
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Chula16
from Co
on 04/19/2014
What's great about it: The reception is good
What's not so great: Nothing
This product help us have good reliable wireless all over our house for all of our equipment
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded, covers all the house
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2855569503
My Best Buy number: 2855569503
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Fast router for large home

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SparksCindy
from Sparks, NV
on 04/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy to set up
What's not so great: Has non-detachable stand plate.
This was an economical purchase for a router with many features including fast and easy setup. It is also very easy to run firmware updates as well. I only wish the stand was detachable as I use this router within a home builder installed Wi-Fi cabinet that has limited space.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, multiple channels
About me... Budget Conscious, home office
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0113096365
My Best Buy number: 0113096365
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Easy to set up, reliable and never goes down.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BajaWayne
from Minneapolis, MN
on 04/19/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Just like I said, easy to set up, reliable and never goes down.
We like that we can have our own private, secure connections and offer separate guest connections. It requires just a little more skill to connect, but you certainly don't have to be a geek. Don't let that keep you from getting it.
Would we get it again? We liked it so well that we now have them in five locations and are considering it for the remaining six.
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0950463092
My Best Buy number: 0950463092
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

More router for more wifi

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bigtee
from Ohio
on 04/19/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast easy set up
What's not so great: A little pricy
Too many wireless gadgets in our house. This is a high speed router with 2 networks. Works great. Set up was pretty easy
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0416443804
My Best Buy number: 0416443804
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EMA97
from Everett, WA
on 04/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set-up and use
Rather simple to go from box to installation to use. It provides a good signal for computing including videos though Xbox.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 1038250184
My Best Buy number: 1038250184
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great Upgraded Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ohhigabby
from Pearl City, HI
on 04/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price, good for high speeds
What's not so great: N/A
I bought this router to replace my old Linsky router. I have 30mbps but when my links router went out on me without me knowing I was blaming the cable company this whole time when it was really the router. I was running speed tests at 12mbps. After I bought this new net gear router, speed tests read up to 35mbps! Extremely happy! My laptop, phones, and smart tv is running great off of this router and I am very well satisfied.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2870496389
My Best Buy number: 2870496389
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Works good in a large house

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MrsSha
from Weatherford TX
on 04/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
The net gear is a great product and the price was good.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 1000631072
My Best Buy number: 1000631072
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Very Easy Install!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Alikat
from Madison, WI
on 04/18/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: Size
This product is so easy to install. You can get up and running lwithin minutes.
This product has... Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2642196653
My Best Buy number: 2642196653
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Product is true plug and play. Really delivers.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cdnkatt
from Peoria, AZ
on 04/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple install. Excellent signalthru entire house.
What's not so great: I have not encountered a single issue.
Right out of the box everything was in its place, easy to find. I went online for the install instructions and it could not have been easier. I just followed the instructions step by step and in under 30 minutes my router was up and running. It took me about another 15 minutes to connect our phones and iPads, all without incident. Everything worked exactly as advertised, my home network is fully secured and it could not have been easier. Our devices not only work in the house, but the signal strength gets us anywhere on the property without fail. I can even walk into my neighbor's house without concern of dropping signal.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2198853468
My Best Buy number: 2198853468
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great upgrade from my old router

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: aubigfan04
from Birmngham, AL
on 04/18/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Dual channels and internet speed
What's not so great: Range
Overall it is a great router. Will be very useful when more things go to the 5hz channel. The genie app is easy to use and very useful. Not great for trying to stream netflix on the second level of the house. I have it wired to my entertainment center downstairs and nothing ever loses connection.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0559497795
My Best Buy number: 0559497795
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Easy to set up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bulldogs
from Powder Springs, Ga
on 04/17/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Nothing so far
This product was recommended by store employee. Very easy to set up. Had set up in five minutes. Great looks. No issues, signal strength is great for 2500 square ft. house. Still have strong signal 200 feet from house.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2016807864
My Best Buy number: 2016807864
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great value.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Erik
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 04/16/2014
What's great about it: Much better range than I expected, easy to set up.
What's not so great: nothing
Our offices are very spread out on one floor. I bought this wireless router expecting to have to also purchase a range extenders. Turns out it isn't necessary. I was surprised by the range of exceptional signal strength.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large office
My Best Buy number: 2219065504
My Best Buy number: 2219065504
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Easy and Fast Setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Vicster1234
from Kent, WA
on 04/16/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Nothing yet
Had to get new router due to too many devices being used in our home so based on employee recommendation purchased this one and have had no problems. I was worried about setting it up but it went fast and was super easy. I even downloaded an app and can turn off internet on my phone for the guest access which enables me to make sure my kids are not using it after bedtime.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0572700650
My Best Buy number: 0572700650
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great so far

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ryan51
from Harrisville, UT
on 04/14/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Works from up stairs to down stairs
What's not so great: No complaints besides I have had to reset it a couple times
Great electronics. Works really well over all. I have had to reset a few times tho
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Computer technology challenged, Heavy media streamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2812255715
My Best Buy number: 2812255715
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 57 next>>