Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Model: WNDR4500-100NAS
SKU: 3219043
UPC: 606449077360
This router delivers powerful wireless performance for a range of home network applications, including streaming 3D high-definition video and multiplayer gaming. Four LAN and 1 WAN Gigabit Ethernet ports allow fast wired connections.
Average Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(1415 Reviews) 1415
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,415 reviews
5 stars
917
4 stars
364
3 stars
49
2 stars
27
1 star
58
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,295 out of 1,415
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch
Review 1 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

you could have charged more !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tximport
on 10/30/2014
I have a home theater system.
This router anchors everything. I have a blue ray player, xbox, m-cell, and Android tv player, 2 cell phones, laptop, and camera. I stream tv shows/movies daily without any problems. I previously owned an expensive WD router that gave many problem. This router was easy to set up and hasn't given me a problem since installation.
Well worth the price !
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2659929787
My Best Buy number: 2529035983
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Works great.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Booboo
from Alabama
on 10/30/2014
Works great at our house. Love the range. We get great reception outside too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2006983264
My Best Buy number: 2006983264
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Decent Router, 5g a little sketchy

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: benborgs
from St. Paul, MN
on 10/30/2014
The Good:
Netgear did a lot of things right with the firmware: Relatively easy to navigate, easy to set up but very customizable for a home network environment, and firmware is easy to update. Additionally, The 2.4ghz wireless N has a great range and is very reliable.
Extras: The built-in USB port is great for hooking up a Hard Drive or Flash drive, but don't expect quick wireless transfer speeds (more an issue with WiFi in general than this device). I have plugged in multiple brands and the router reads all of them. The router comes with software to allow you to access the files externally however, I've never set it up as I have other means.
The Bad:
5G: For as nice as the 2.4ghz Wireless N network is, the 5ghz Wireless N network is equally as bad. Router has to be rebooted daily for devices connected to 5G to function normally; if not, the network speeds drop so significantly that the internet is unusable. This happens on every device, even one with the USB Wifi adapter counterpart to this model, the WNDA4100 N900. This didn't start right away but started happening more and more often about 3 months into ownership.
Additionally, the signal strength of the 5G has always been terrible at best; when less than 10ft away with no interference (nothing in the way, no other 5ghz devices) the 5G fluctuates between 3-4 bars (out of 5) in strength and because of this, has slower speeds than the regular 2.4ghz making it completely worthless.
Firmware Updates: While I like the layout of the firmware and it's overall usability, there hasn't been a firmware update in over a year which would be my only hope to fix the issue with 5g.
Other Notes: I received this router for free during a company event and as such wasn't able to return it. It is still a vast improvement over the draft-N router I had previously but still lacks the quality and reliability I look for in a router.
*On a positive note, it does look like DD-WRT is available for this router so I may give that a try to see if it fixes my 5g issues.
TLDR: For basic home use this router gets the job done easy to work with; as long as you don't want to use 5g.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2096065109
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fuzz
on 10/30/2014
A storm knocked out my previous set up and the salesperson helped me choose a router for replacement. It was definately in my price range and is a better preforming router than my last one.
Thank You Best Buy ! !
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0236133985
My Best Buy number: 0236133985
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Works great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DrOm
on 10/30/2014
Works great. I would definitely recommend this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2951404050
My Best Buy number: 2951404050
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ecitalia
on 10/29/2014
This router is fantastic! I tried several routers to use with my service that isn't so good, but this one really worked well in all areas of the house. It is dependable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0324542835
My Best Buy number: 0324542835
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: spike
on 10/28/2014
Great router for all my needs. Would recommend to anyone looking for a high speed router
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0320912205
My Best Buy number: 0320912205
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great Product, easy set up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: vrrr
on 10/27/2014
I thought my ISP was simply giving me the runaround with poor service, but I decided to buy this product and what a difference. My internet access has only gone down a handful of times since I purchased when it was going down a dozen times a day!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1028072239
My Best Buy number: 1028072239
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

works well good value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: surfer
on 10/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
have been very pleased with performance and connectivity
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0547101505
My Best Buy number: 0547101505
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

great connection

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ronnie
on 10/25/2014
If you live in an area where it is open and there isn't too much around this works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2937331936
My Best Buy number: 2937331936
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

works well

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sandy
on 10/25/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Had trouble installing but works well now. would recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2190804710
My Best Buy number: 2190804710
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DrFrankH
on 10/25/2014
Excellent range, solid stand, slim profile. Highly recommend,
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0063558746
My Best Buy number: 0063558746
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Brick
on 10/25/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This product is great because I like it very much!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1051580879
My Best Buy number: 1051580879
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Ok router

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Corrie
on 10/24/2014
This router is supposed to have a good range but my house is only 2,500 sqft. And it drops in some parts of my house. It works well in most areas though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2259973661
My Best Buy number: 2259973661
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Not recommend

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: choco
on 10/24/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Too short range! I am not recommend this item base on my experience.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2993071487
My Best Buy number: 2993071487
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Decent router

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dasvenson
from Portland, ME
on 10/24/2014
Its a good router and has great range. Only flaw is I have short periods where devices cannot connect to the network.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0752706540
My Best Buy number: 0752706540
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Perfect Wireless Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JCHamptonVa
on 10/24/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
My previous router kept loosing its connection so I had to buy another one. This one was the best performance for the price. It has not lost a connection once since I purchased it.
Love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0401874644
My Best Buy number: 0401874644
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JayC
on 10/23/2014
Haven't had one issue with this router and it was so simple to hook up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2495079752
My Best Buy number: 2495079752
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

longer range, better signal.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: maxine123
on 10/22/2014
All the family members can be using computers and not get kicked off. Much longer range. Better signal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0091269720
My Best Buy number: 0091269720
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Netgear - N900 Dual Band Wireless-N Router with 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Best for wifi in our home

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JHess
on 10/19/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Did the job for wifi in our house .. We have over 2800 sq ft and 2 story. Does excellent job
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2822497099
My Best Buy number: 2822497099
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 71 next>>