Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Model: 010-00009-00
SKU: 3245514
UPC: 753759981013
Find your destination with ease using this GPS that features voice-activated navigation and helpful turn-by-turn voice prompts that allow you to keep your eyes on the road. Automatic rerouting calculates a new route if you miss a turn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 50 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
46 out of 50
)
Customer Reviews for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver
Review 1 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Useful item but lots of bugs

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: PioneerEliteFan
from Los Angeles, CA
on 02/04/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: GPS works most of the time
What's not so great: Freeze constantly, Unable to locate maps
When GPS functions, it works most of the time. However, unit freezes constantly. On one occasion the unit was completely unable to locate maps. Still trying to get Garmin to fix issues. Buying online from Best Buy was great. We got a good price and the shipping was free.
This product has... Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Great GPS fo anyone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from New York, NY
on 12/20/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: User-friendly and acurate as compared to simillar units and price range.
What's not so great: So far no major problems - most times it is the operator that is the problem
Replacing my StreetPilot c330 I bought for $525 that is may years old but still works. I always carryout extensive research prior to purchasing any electronics and same with this. GarMin is the best for its purpose and the research proves it to be correct. Besides very negligible minor issues, I would recommend this to anyone that wants to be at ease while driving. However, it is wise to take along a map-book in case one is to occasionally lose satellite signals. I consider this to be my companion that wouldn't yap for nothing and I don't have to buy coffee and do rest stops unless I really need to.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Inaccurate, Free map updates, user friedly
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Exceptional all-around, does it all GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bill3W
from Melbourne, FL
on 10/17/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Light weight, fast, easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing so far
Replaced an older Garmin that was 5 years + old. Easy to use for even a first-time user in our family. Screen clarity is the best we've seen -- specifically wanted a 4.3" screen. Love the intuitive address loading. Lots of options that could be overwhelming, but they are logically labeled and the go-back arrow on each screen allows errors to be quickly reversed. Would highly recommend it. Well worth the price for someone wanting a high-end GPS.
This product has... Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates, excellent screen clarity
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Honest Review

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: mchriste
from Massachusetts
on 09/10/2012
What's great about it: Display is sharp, GPS receiver seems good, good response
What's not so great: Routing algorithm, traffic reception, incorrect POI
This GPS has had awesome reviews. I've owned a TomTom and a Garmin previously. My previous Garmin was slowwwww to respond and the displays of complex intersections quite confusing. So I was excited about my new hi-res, 3D, super GPS receiver, traffic reception, voice activated co-plot. And, almost all those were true. Almost. So far, despite travelling many major highways, the traffic reception has yet to be received. I always get "Searching for .....". Meanwhile, I have to view traffic with my smartphone. Worse yet is the routing algorithm. Garmin has always had this issue. If I pass a road that it wants me to take, instead of re-routing me the next best way (I know the roads), it completely takes me in a different way...longer. I have fastest time as my option. I took a turn that it didn't recommend and saved a minute off the est. arrival (I knew the short-cut which was a major road). The maps still list a rest area on a highway which has been closed for over 10 years!!! Not only that, it displays the bathroom logo and this rest area never had bathrooms. Argh. The electronics are wonderful. The software less than adequate. And for a GPS, this is quite important.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Inaccurate, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Great overall unit if you disable traffic setting!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sanjuro
from Virginia
on 08/19/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Advance detours, screen resolution, search shortcuts, lifetime maps
What's not so great: Traffic option delays routing/rerouting and may cause rebooting issues
Have been using this unit for about 4 months now . Love the advance detours option. Having this option and being allowed to "Detour by Roads roads on route" is an outstanding feature. This unit is also fast at rerouting and getting you to your destination with one caveat, YOU MUST DISABLE the "traffic" mode under the "settings" screen. Say what? Yes sir, I had a heck of a problem with auto rebooting on the fly. It seems that the unit sometimes has a problem figuring the traffic conditions and directions on the fly. It would stay at 0% for quite a few seconds (say 10 seconds, then get to 100% only to going back to zero 3 blocks later) . On one occasion, while traveling along a particular city route late at night it went on a continuous rebooting nervous breakdown. I just shut it down.
I then decided to update the unit through Garmin to see if it would improve and cut down or terminate the rebooting problem . After the update ( which I installed twice) I experienced a considerable improvement, but it still rebooted at random at least twice per day. I then checked the Garmin FAQ section and noticed an acknowledgement that checking for traffic conditions will slow down computing a selected saved address or new entry. Eureka!!! I just bought a unit with a lifetime traffic option that delays my routing calculations. So I need to sloooow down, hope that it does not reboot and wait for Mr./Ms. Garmin to re-compute! Beam me up Scotty!! Thanks, but no thanks, I rather listen to my local traffic radio station or XM radio. I disabled the traffic option,as I stated above,and so far no more rebooting. The unit is also calculating initial routes or reroutes very fast.
I will contact Garmin to see if they will have a fix for the super slow traffic recalculation and related (my conjecture) rebooting problem. Still, I can live without the traffic option and Garmin is the best. Would buy again, but deep six the traffic option!
This product has... Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Great Choice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TacDog44
from Tampa, FL
on 06/21/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small with easy to see screen
What's not so great: No MP3 Player
Good choice if you need a GPS. Lifetime maps never go out of date. The screen is easier to see in all sunlight conditions than the cheaper models. The Display gets you in the correct lane and makes trips effortless. No need to constantly check the paper map to see where you are and look for named streets to turn on. Wish I would have bought one years ago. Make sure to get a protective storage case.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Much improved system!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DeWayneA
from Fayetteville, Ar
on 06/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Enter the address and it looks up the details, great if your not sure of what city
What's not so great: maps are behind 2-3 years, much better than the old ones at 5-10 years behind on mapping
I love this GPS finally they have came up with a GPS that does not want to know the city and state before it can look up an address! On earlier GPS’s of any brand you had to know the state and the city before the GPS could route you; but now you just enter the address and it looks up the details. The maps are typographical so you can see the hills or mountains around the roads that are causing the curve this is great for the folks that travel at high speeds, warning you of not only the curve but how cautious you need to be when entering the curvy stretch of highway. Also if you choose a route then decide to go on the scenic highway along the way it will reroute you instantly rather than constantly trying to get you back on the route that it has chosen for you. Much improved system!
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates, ease of operation
About me... Frequent traveler, Parent with kids, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Great Mother's Day Gift for my wife

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BookieBob
from Las Vegas, NV
on 06/07/2012
What's great about it: Saved locations to my sons, her doctors to give her directions to visit
What's not so great: Voice activation does not work correctly - responses are not the voice command provided
Give directions as you are traveling and annouces the turns before you get to the intersections. Excellent volume control adjustment.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates, wife is happy with the unit
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

My old Garmin died and this was a replacement

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sandpiper128
from Calverton, NY
on 05/17/2012
What's great about it: I like the layout
What's not so great: the new grey screen
This has been almost useless for me during the day as I cannot see the new grey background screen with my sunglasses on. If I just want to see what streets are coming up I have to remove my glasses in order to see the screen and even then sometimes I can't if the sun is just right. The glare is terrible. You have ruined the product for me. My old Garmin was so easy to see with the blue background. I have to order some sort of screen cover for this one in order to use it. Very disappointing.
This product has... Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Great tool!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DB102
from Pgh, PA
on 04/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Reliable,accurate, easy to use!
What's not so great: Can't say anything against it!
This is my third Garmin; I like the easy set up, large display and accuracy of the maps. Would recommend the 3490LMT to anyone from novice to professional driver.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Best of all Garmins tried, Lifetime updates

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MJFrog55
from Duluth, MN
on 04/18/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Smooth map panning, good touch screen, great features.
What's not so great: Price is pretty spendy. Bluetooth needs improvement.
The only Garmin we found with a glass touch screen which made use easier. Other models had a composite, frosted screen which had a poorer reaction to touch and map panning. This model reacts to touch as well as an iPhone, and if you're used to that, other models may disappoint you.
It has more features than you may actually use, but they're there if you ever have the need.
It has a Bluetooth hands-free phone feature, but when used, callers say they can't hear us too well on it so we have to talk loud even with the mic setting at highest level.
Overall, it's the fourth and best Garmin we've had so far.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Performs well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: n54yrav8r
from Tuscaloosa, AL
on 04/18/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, great features.
What's not so great: A little pricey
I bought this unit to replace a Nuvi 850. I love the touch screen interface and the voice activation. The traffic advisory system works better than I thought. Lifetime maps and traffic makes it more worth the handsome price tag!
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

This is a good GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: thenana380
from Kingman, AZ
on 04/07/2012
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: not always accurate
This is a replacement GPS for us and got us home with only a few misdirections
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Great GPS Unit!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ECEPower
from Urbana, IL
on 04/02/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Very Pleased with this GPS unit! This is the 4th Garmin GPS model that I have owned -- each progressively improving upon the last.
* Depend heavily upon it for making long distance travel easy!
* Display is the sharpest to date -- a welcome step up from the Garmin 1690.
* Split Screen view at Interstate exits is very helpful traveling on unfamiliar routes.
* Included information about hotels, gas stations, restaurants is invaluable for making en route decisions about where to stop!
* Recommend buying buyer protection plan for GPS products (as a departure from my normal habit) -- have experienced several GPS unit failures over the years -- buyer protection has made for hassle free unit replacements.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Absolutely great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jmm1229
from USA
on 04/02/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's not so great: Needs iPhone support
Replaced a 5 year old Garmin with this model. Tremendous improvements over older models. Voice commands work very well. Good learning curve overall - pretty much plug and play. Only downside is that the Garmin link service only works with Android right now - they need to get an iPhone version to untap the potential of this unit.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, Parent with kids, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

I love this GPS!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jorgef
from Bristol, TN
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Voice commands, speed.
I bought this to replace a GPS that was several years old and there is a world of difference. This one loads so fast and the voice is so much less annoying than the older one. The nice thing is that the voice does not repeat everything over and over but it gives you the information you need without over stimulating you.
The best part is the voice activation. Being able to start on your way and tell it where you want to go or to change your mind in the middle of your trip and not have to stop to key in any information. Once you give it the commands it loads almost instantaneously.
The old unit took a long time to locate satellites. This one is ready to go as soon as you turn it on. I highly recommend it.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Excellent gps..skip the update

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Marcusb42
from West Covina
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Recalculation of routes is really fast
What's not so great: Updating maps can wipe the unit making it useless
I really love this gps. The r recalculation of routes is the fastest I've seen, it it has a slim design that makes it really portable and I have found that the lane and traffic asst abilities have been very valuable. My one major complaint is when I first tried to update my maps on wins 7 system..it wiped the device and I had to take it back to the store because I could no longer access any maps. I tried looking at garmins website and it just suggests to be careful on updating...yeah no joke. I just chalked it up to the fact I tried the update from windows 7 on a 64bit system...haven't got the guts to try it again on a 32bit win7...
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Great Device, but Expensive, Small Screen

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: becreview
from Denver, CO
on 03/11/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Garmin nüvi 3490LMT is a great device and does wonderful things with tons of features not found on TomTom or Magellan, but it is very expensive and the screen is too small for me. Voice Command is excellent, directions are way better than older Garmins, visuals are wonderful, and ecoRoute HD is awesome. The build is not as nice as the Garmin nüvi 3590LMT. It feels like the 3490 is more flimsy and the screen is not as responsive as the 3590. It is still a very nice device, and I would recommend it, if you don't mind the negatives I posted.
This product has... Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Great GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ron1906
from Gurnee, IL
on 03/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ready out of the box, good price
What's not so great: sometimes slow to grab satellite
Very clear street displays and exit routes. Compact and easy to travel with and streets popup as you search.
Great purchase!
This product has... Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin - n� vi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map Updates - Silver

Wow! What a gizmo.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Barbara1953
from Oklahoma City, OK
on 03/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: All the features and ease of use.
What's not so great: Web interface
The Nuvi 3490LMT surpassed my expectations. This is my first GPS. I purchased it for the Bluetooth and GPS features. I am not technologically savvy but after a learning curve I sail through the menus. My favorite feature for Navigating is the "Saved Addresses". For the Voice command it is "Find an Intersection". I may not know an address but I usually know this. My least favorite part of the Nuvi 3490 is interfacing with the web. The PC menu is confusing and getting the GPS unit to talk to the website can be challenging. But other than the web aspect I love this unit!
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates, blue tooth capabilities
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>