Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

Model: MITSUBISHI WD-73640 73" 1080P
SKU: 3277076
UPC: 082400031624
This Mitsubishi HDTV supports images up to 1080p. To build a complete 3D home theater system, we recommend you purchase 3D glasses designed for this TV, a 3D Blu-ray player, high-speed HDMI cable and an A/V receiver that is compatible with 3D products.
Average Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 58 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
3
84% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
49 out of 58
)
Customer Reviews for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV
Review 1 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

Excellent Pix, shame they're not in the store

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MrCleaver
from Dexter, MI
on 04/29/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great Pix for the money
What's not so great: Felt like I took a gamble to see if the picture would be OK
This replaces my 70" Sony LCD rear projection. Unit is in a basement, with only small 1' x 2' windows. Compared to the Sony, it was a breeze getting this unit into the basement. Less than 100 Lbs made it easy for two people to move.
Picture out of the box was quite bright, even during the daytime (again, small windows). The out of the box settings needed major brightness changes, and only small tweaks to the other settings when using a calibration DVD.
My Main source is a PC (with TV tuner + VLC video player for ripped movies). Most of my movies are 720p quality. Also use XBOX360. No issues with either source via HDMI connection.
I wasn't really after any of the other high end features that are put on many TV's today. Feel it's much better to hook a PC up to it to get those features. Therefore no review on the advanced features, only reviewing the pix quality.
For the money, I find it hard to believe that anything can touch this set (in this size class). The picture quality is a couple of levels above the unit I'm replacing. It's a real shame that none of the stores have this unit on the floor. All the stores want to do is sell the high end flat panels. There must not be enough margin in this set for them to put it on the floor to compete with the Flat panels. Clerk claimed that this technology is nearly obsolete (guess they don't know about the DLP technology used in many/most front projectors). Would have had to pay almost $1000 more for nearly the same size flat panel from Sharp. If you have the space/room for the footprint of this set, you won't be disappointed you made the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

lame

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: harry1366
from maryland
on 03/25/2012
What's great about it: big screen
What's not so great: does not last
had tv for three yrs.hundereds of mirror flakes have fallen some landed up reflecting others upside down leaving black spots.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-4points
6out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

Awsome TV at a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RileysDad
from Naples, Fl
on 03/22/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Awsome picture , great size and great price
What's not so great: Sound quality
This TV is just awsome. It has a great crystal clear picture and at 73" it turns your room into a true home theater. I was a little concerned about buying another DLP TV after having 2 Samsung DLP TV,s that had numerous problems ( I would never buy another Samsung ) however from what I have read Mitsubishi has perfected the DLP system on its newer TV's. You can't beat the value. Other TV's that are smaller than this one and not the same quality picture are at least $1,000 more. Add the Best Buy extended warranty for some peace of mind and you have a great TV at a great price. A no brainer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

full of problems after 1.5 years

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: gr8tdane
from Holland Patent, NY
on 03/04/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: works good for 1 1/2 years!!
What's not so great: built with cheap junk parts
The TV has worked good up to the 1.5 year mark, now I get the green light of death. These TV's have a lot of problems, just search the internet for this model. Mine goes as far as the welcome screen and stays there with the green "on" light flashing at me. They have weak circuit board parts. Somehow I got a hair between the screens?? If you still want to buy this GET THE EXT. WARR!! for 4 years, then after 4 years sell it!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

THEATRE AT HOME 73" LOVE IT!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Naters33
from Pueblo, Co
on 02/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: picture, size, quality
What's not so great: internet connection
I purchased my set in Sept for $1299, but had $600 in reward zone certs, so got a great deal! I get nothing but compliments when people come over.. The pictures is awesome! Sports, movies, everything looks good. Have yet to try 3D. Must have surround system b/c it feels like you are the movies. For the size and the price you will not find a comparable set w/ 3D. I recommend this set to anyone, but now want the 82.!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

Wow WoW WOW

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cubbyk53
from Florida
on 01/15/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, clarity, sound
What's not so great: Not enough #D movies available..not the TV's fault
THis Tv can cannect to the internet using a wifi Blue Ray player which I have. It is awesome.
I am satisfied in every sing way with this set. The 73 inch screen is like being in the movies. The clarity is incredible. Football is superb. The 3D is awesome. I purchared off brand glasses thet were a greta price. I just wish there was more 3D stuff available.
I have plasma, LCD Tvs..this blows them away. I cant imagine having a brighhter more responsive picture.
If you can get this set for 1000 bucks or so...you are stealing it. Since it is DLP, the bulb will eventually be replaced. Its $60 on line and as easy to change as a light bulb. MY brother has the 65 inch version and his bulb is 3 1/2 years old without a replacement.
This is the set. MY daughter boughht a new LED format 50 inch..she is kicking herself in the butt that she didnt get this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Samsung 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
3.7 out of 5(221)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: All
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

awesome value, but it is a basement tv

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: plosh
from the d
on 01/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: inches to dollars
What's not so great: does not work well with direct sunlight or bright over head lights
the value was the bait, 73 inches for $699.00. It's a basement family room tv for us, does not like sunlight,. you also need to have it in a large room, where you are minimum 8' to 10' from screen, picture actually gets better the further you are away, up very close a little grainy. when you sit back a a proper distance though, its fantastic, its like having a movie theater in your house, very pleased, highly recommend in the right situation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

Great Picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PAT4NU
from MO
on 01/12/2012
Could not be any happier with this product the picture is amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

Best Picture for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bobb99
from Piscataway NJ
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Quality and size of the picture.
What's not so great: Nothing
You simply can't get a better picture for the price of a Mitsubishi DLP rear projection TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

Great for the price, lot of misinfo on here too!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DRaven72
from Wolverine Lake, Mi
on 01/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Big Screen experience at Home!!
What's not so great: Speakers are horrible, buy the Sony 7.1 receiver for it for $200
I have had this TV since 8-2011, bought from somewhere else. It has a really great picture when you dial it in. Use the Disney WoW disc to calibrate after 200 hours on the bulb, it will make it so much easier. Scott777, it still uses a Color Wheel, only at 5x or higher to keep Rainbow Effect from being noticable, no video processor.
YOU DO NOT NEED TO BUY THE 3D KIT FOR THIS YEARS DLP's! That was for the 638/738/838 models and below but even with the new software update 738/838 can use DLP LINK which is a signal sent from the TV to DLP LINK glasses. Best DLP LINK glasses I have used bar none are the Optoma ZD101's which are big enough for glasses. DLP LINK glasses+ 3D Blu-ray player(Panasonic BDT210#=good to go. ZD101's do not show the green tint of the DLP LINK signal where as other glasses do. This is a HDMI 1.4a standard TV which means it has Full HD 3D support and Checkerboard is no longer required. Set the TV to Automatic in 3D settings. Checkerboard required for older sets, not the new ones. Make sure your Firmware is to date. Go to Mits website and look at downloads section, firmware. Fixed a 3D stutter issue in late summer. Need a USB thumb drive, put both files on the drive#directions say otherwise, but do it) follow the website directions. Its really not hard. ENJOY! We have for 5 months and love it! You will wish you went with the 82"! lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

Best Price EVER on a TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: superbowlready
from north ga
on 01/07/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Picture
Best Price EVER on a TV I am now ready for Super Bowl
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Dish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

Mitsubishi is the worst company to buy from

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Beaumont tx
on 12/28/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: good size
What's not so great: doesn't work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
After only 3 years my 73" television started having white spots. I called mitsubishi and they said that the part and labor would cost close to $1000.00 to get it fixed. Apparently, after researching, this is a problem for everyone that has this television, and the company should have recalled or fixed the televisions for FREE. We spent a lot of money on this television and now we are forced to buy another one long before we anticipated. NEVER BUYING MITSUBISHI AGAIN, DONT DO IT!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
Internet content most enjoyed: none
+4points
18out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

For the price $699.99 +10 % tax FREE S/H - Awesome

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nestorio
from IL
on 12/28/2011
What's great about it: Great if you can get this at a price below 1 grand.
What's not so great: NO Optical audio output.
Delivery took almost two weeks which was just fine with me coz had to clean-up my room.
3rd party delivery guy (DG) was patient enough to wait until i was able to turn the TV on. After about 5 minutes, noticed dark spots appearing on top and middle of the screen. DG said this could be due to the cold. Had to wait for about 10 more minutes before the spots started disappearing. Thanked DG and a Christmas gift for his son and daughter.
Attached a laptop thru one of the HDMI ports and the display was very nice. Laptop's display setting was 1024x728.
Connected to ATT box, and scanned for channels which took about 20 minutes. Regular channels are good but HD channels are AWESOME.
Video options are Brilliant, Bright and Normal. Another option in the settings if you what to tweak further.
NO Optical audio output is a big NEGATIVE. However, a digital COAX is available. 3 HDMI and one USB. 3D emitter port but you still need additional external accessory to watch 3D.
NO dedicated earphone/headphone port for "SOLO sleeping hours" watching.
BUT this one is for my man cave, so connected it to my 7.1 SONY AV receiver, Sony BLU-ray player and Klipsch 7.1 speaker set ...and BOOM !
The 3rd HDMI was for the XBOX 360.
NOT internet READY and a SMART TV.
Bought the 4-yr additonal warranty from Square Trade.
Let's see how long the bulb will last.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

great tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 12tv
from florida
on 12/01/2011
What's great about it: outstanding colors and picture. 73 INCHES
What's not so great: could use more connection options
I cant believe I only paid 699 with FREE shipping for this tv online the day before black friday. picture quality is the best and the colors are amazing.
my wife and friends could not believe how great the picture was at this price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

6 ft. 1 inch of great tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: scott777
from 34698
on 11/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size ..73 in ...3d ...picture quality...features... price
What's not so great: sound
this is my 3rd dlp tv... the thanksgiving deal of 699 for this 73 in. 3d tv was RIDICULOUS ! ... these people that complain on here are out of their minds... 1st ... the bulbs ... they last about 3 years and cost $99 or less on line for origanial manu. bulbs ... when u put a new bulb in the picture is like the day u bought the tv...2nd ... the white dots people are complaining about were on older models of dlps...the dlp chips from texas inst. have been improved over the years and so have the light engines... color wheels have been replaced by a processor... mitsubishi has worked out the bugs and perfected this older tech. ... 3rd ...the picture is superb...the sound is ok... u need a surround for a 73 in home theater anyway .. the only time u use the tv speakers is when the wife is sleeping ... the picture on all of these dlps by mits. is the same great picture... the higer end models have internet ... built in 3d features ... or better sound... thats the only difference... 4th ... the 3d is awesome... better then what u see in the theater... the panasonic 3d players have the checkerboard out put designed for these tvs... u have to but the 3d kit for this starter model...but buy one and u will be thrilled for pennies on the $ over any other format of tv
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Mitsubishi - 3D Starter Pack for Most Mitsubishi 3D-Ready TVs
4.1 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
Panasonic 3D Wi-Fi Ready Blu-ray Player
4.2 out of 5(60)
 
 
 
Panasonic 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
4.5 out of 5(255)
 
 
 
 
 
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

Crazy Good Value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from 75070
on 11/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price & Picture
What's not so great: Sound
This is a crazy good price $699, Excellent Picture quality in HD, You can't even come close to getting anything close to this size for under 1500, Sure you will have to replace the bulb in 3years if you put a bunch of hours on this thing but so what its a great price. I think 3d is stupid but if you are into that you really need a big screen and you can buy a kit for a small additional price .
You will need audio like a sound bar or something cause TV audio sucks
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

I agree

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Jagerdude
from Ohio
on 11/17/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Size
What's not so great: Burns out quickly
I had one of these TV's but mine lasted about 5 years. At about 4 years I got 4 white dots. Then as the year progressed, now I have about 50 white dots. I could live with them at first because they were off to the side. Now they have propogated to the middle of the screen. I now notice that there are a bunch of black spots too. I would not recommend this tv. Also, I reserced white spots on the these on the internet and there are a ton of people who have noticed the same thing. I'm upgrading to an LED but a 60". I have a mitsubishi projector and it is very nice 1080p. Had it 3 years and I get a lot of compliments.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-32points
28out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV

TV will go out in 3 years with white spots

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Wildcats7
from Shepherdsville, KY
on 11/06/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Everything for 3 years.
What's not so great: Lifte span is 3 years
All of Mitsubishis DLP TV's have a flaw. In 3 years they will go out. Your bulb will go out (normal thing) and about 6 months after you change it you will have white spots all over your screen. Mitsubishi knows this will not do anything to help you. It cost around $900 to fix it. Don’t believe me? Google White spots on Mitsubishi TV and see how many irate customers you see. It’s pathetic. This much for a TV and 3 years is all you get. Don’t Buy!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
-21points
61out of 143found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mitsubishi Home Cinema - 73" Class - DLP Projection - 1080p - 120Hz - 3D - HDTV
Based on the average of (40) ratings-only reviews
Customer Rating
4.6 out of 5
4.6
Would recommend? Yes
(
36  out of  40
)