Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Square - Card Reader

Square - Card Reader

Model: 8085036
SKU: 3282053
UPC: 855658003251
This card reader lets you accept credit card payments on your Samsung Galaxy S 5 cell phone, Apple® iPhone®, iPad®, iPod® touch or Android device and features a headphone jack interface for easy installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
93% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
14 out of 15
)
Customer Reviews for Square - Card Reader
Review 1 for Square - Card Reader

Great for cash replacement or social situations.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NotYourAverageReview
from Tampa, FL
on 08/21/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy to use on Android
What's not so great: Having to carry around extra bulk, 3.5mm isn't retractable.
I use the square reader all the time for making eating and drinking out easier among friends. Everyone has plastic these days and it is much easier to get paid back or allocate funds to one check. My friends pay me what they owe, I give the restaurant or bar my card. Done. It is also helpful if you are selling something on craigslist or on the spot. The fees are often negated by things like cashback in a restaurant scenario.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
My Best Buy number: 563655082
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Square - Card Reader

If I could give Square a negative...I would

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Lrc2424
from Turlock, CA
on 05/16/2013
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Absolutely ZERO Customer Service
The reader is easy to use and seems ultra convenient...until you have a problem. Then you are screwed because you are on your own. There is no listed phone number for customer service and email response takes forever. I had a card repeatedly decline, but charged my customer's account every time. To resolve it, we had to have the customer's bank refuse the charges. Completely horrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Square - Card Reader

Great reader and App, changed our business

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: spqr05
from Santa Monica, CA
on 02/12/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, price, no monthly fee
What's not so great: needs extension cable for thick cases, dropped iPad taking case off
I purchased an iPad and square reader to replace my old wireless terminal for my mobile business. I wanted to use the iPad as it would be a multipurpose device and is state of the art. I loved everything it worked great for my mobile business, I loved that there was no monthly fee as I was not accepting too many credit card charges. If you pay $50 a month to take credit cards this has no monthly cost so it's great and easy to use, plus has more features.
Only draw back is we had to take the case off to use the card reader, this was fine until we dropped and broke the screen. We had the Best Buy warranty protection so this was not a problem. However, to solve this no one would help. Very poor customer service / lack their of.
To solve this we found a special cable called "CellPay audio extension cable otterbox compatible". If you have a case and the 3.5 male reader doesn't fit in the audio jack then this is the solution.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Square - Card Reader

It works exactly as advertised

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pjfan1001
from Chipley, FL
on 07/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The convenience is awesome!!!
What's not so great: The finance charge is too high (2.75%)
The square one card reader is exactly what I needed. It works whether you are on the road or in your shop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Square - Card Reader

Great product for mobile business

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ventura2
from ventura,ca
on 07/18/2012
What's great about it: Easy to use
Best product around to use along with businesses - small or large. I use it with my iPad, and think it is awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Square - Card Reader

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: msbowenwork
from Albuquerque
on 06/27/2012
What's great about it: Very fast and easy to use. Payment is received directly to your account in a couple of days.
What's not so great: Took a few swipes to get the hang of it.
Love this little gadget. It's easy to use and very fast to enter the information and swipe the card. Payment is made very promptly within a couple of business days, and there are no monthly charges --only the 2.75% fee. Made my on the go business much easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Square - Card Reader

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EbenB
from New Orleans
on 05/02/2012
works great glad I got my dad to drop Chase who was robbing us on the fees. 2.5% great
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Square - Card Reader

Awesome gadget

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MAULOA
from Long Beach., Ca
on 04/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It comes with $10 bucks!
Awesome gadget!! Compatible with Android phones and comes with a voucher of $10 cash value to add to your account :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Square - Card Reader

Great business solution!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: livinlikeliz
from Webberville, MI
on 04/12/2012
I love being able to take credit cards on the go! The money has always deposited correctly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Square - Card Reader

Phenominal Product - Amazed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 4REs
from Old Bridge, NJ
on 04/04/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy, cheap, works well
What's not so great: nothing
I'm stunned at how well this product works. First, they refund the $10 investment 24 hours after you purchase this product. It links directly to a bank account and allows you to charge credit cards with a reasonable fee (don't forget you are not paying anything for the account and there are no monthly fees).
The device itself is small enough to fit in a pocket and pull out when you need to run a card.
There is a bit of a trick to get it to swipe - you swipe and pull up at the last bit - almost 30 degrees - works everytime.
We are using this at a charity event - first time we are able to accept credit cards instead of checks/cash - people love it.
The receipt is either Emailed or TXT to the purcahser - they not only get a full receipt but a copy of their signature and a GPS location / Map. More than anyone would need - plus, if there is fraud, you'd know where the person was.
Can't say enough about this product, great job!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Square - Card Reader

Good for some, not for real businesses

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: carmelbbaddict
from Carmel, IN
on 03/18/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to get started
What's not so great: Hardware quality, rates
The Square readers are everywhere these days but every time I've used one or seen it used the merchant had to swipe a half dozen times to get the card reader to recognize the card. At a relatively high 2.75% rate already, if you have to hand key the card then you end up paying 3.5%. That's a ridiculously high amount if you're actually using this for business.
Getting a real merchant account will save you the most money in the long run and most mobile phone merchant account providers also give away free hardware that is of much higher quality.
That being said, if you need to get a few bucks from friends or if you're having a garage sale then this is a handy tool.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-13points
17out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Square - Card Reader

So easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wazher
from Texas
on 01/27/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This card reader is super easy to use. Just download the app off of android or App Store and fill out the requirements for Square Inc. Then plug and get swipping! Square Inc will refund the money you pay for the Square and then even send you a second free card reader for free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Square - Card Reader

Great Stocking Stuffer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Twinny
from Mesa, AZ
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: You use it with your smart phone when your out of the office to receive an immediate payment.
This was a "stocking stuffer" gift for our Daughter for Christmas. She loves it and uses it regularly to receive customer payments by credit card when she's out of the office.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Square - Card Reader

Best Deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kdub1127
from Fort Worth, TX
on 10/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small, Great software, Free!
What's not so great: Plastic feels weak (Though i have had no structural problems), You sometimes have to swipe the card multiple times.
Not only is it amazing that the card reader is free after using a redemption code from square, but it is also incredibly convenient. It is a perfect size, I can easily take it off and put it in my pocket when not in use. Also, the app is incredibly easy and fun to use. People are always amazed when I process a transaction from my phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Square - Card Reader

Easy to use!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Phavit
from Spring, TX
on 09/16/2011
What's great about it: Small! easy to take wherever I go.
What's not so great: Sometime I need to swipe the credit card several times.
This is the best credit card reader I've ever used.
It is easy to set up.
Work well with my iPad and iPhone 4.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.