Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Model: CHDNH001
SKU: 3350312
UPC: 185323000705
GoPro's HD HERO Naked is the world's highest performance wearable 1080p HD video and still photo camera. Professional quality 1080p / 960p / 720p HD resolutions record at 30 and 60 frames per second (60 fps in 720p). Record up to 2.5 hours on a single charge and up to 9 hours total on a 32GB SD card (not included).
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
100% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
16 out of 16
)
Customer Reviews for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD
Review 1 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Nice for daytime

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Names2
from arlington
on 10/06/2012
What's great about it: 170 degree view, compact and hi resolution
What's not so great: useless in low light
The camera has high resolution as bosted in the ad. Beautiful picture.
Of course with a 170 degree view it is "fish eyed".
Still it has a very sharp high def picture.
The camera has zero use in low light. Daytime use only.
Maybe I did not read enough about it, come to think of it every video I have seen by a gopro is in full daylight.
So far so good though, in bright lighting.
The unit came with a sticky mount that I placed on the dash of my car, the sticky is the high grade 3M, it's not coming off easily.. which is the idea.
I still need to read the directions to see if there is a setting to turn off the blinking "record" light as it attracts attention and uses battery life.
Nice camera.
Getting it out of the package was a nightmare though. There is no way they will accept it as a return.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

A steal compared to the Hero2

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bobdub
from Wayzata, MN
on 09/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nearly all the features and video quality of the Hero2 for $170 less! I could buy two Heros for less than a Hero2
What's not so great: Interface and no view of video till connected to PC -- but that's the same with the Hero2
When I saw the Hero and Hero2 side-by-side in-store and the price difference; $129 vs. $299 I thought there surely had to be some awesome improvement in the Hero2. I mean I could by two Hero’s and have $30 bucks left over for the price of the Hero2.
So I did some research, and yes there are some slight advantages like HDMI, 11 vs. 5 megapixels, more blinking LED lights and a slightly easier to understand interface. In the YouTube side-by-side video quality comparisons, I could barely see a difference.
So I bought the Hero rather than the Hero 2 and am very happy with it. For the price difference I bought a bunch of mounting accessories and still came out ahead. The Hero rather than the Hero2 is the way to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Excellent for shooting motorcycle POV video.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: elgatoreal
from Dallas, TX
on 09/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: They have all the mounting accessories you could ever need.
What's not so great: No monitoring screen. (has to be purchased separately)
I'm very satisfied with this camera and would recommend it to anyone interested in shooting POV video
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

A gotta have for motorsports

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: goprojohn
from Williamsport,Pa
on 07/30/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size and accessories
What's not so great: takes a little time to get the menu figured out
Because I have most of the mounting accessories for the GoPro system, I usually pick up the "Naked" camera. I have a total of 7 cameras mounted all over my Harley Davidson Sportster and am looking to add a couple more in the near future. The menu takes a little to figure out but once you get the camera setup you really don't need to get back into it unless you really want to change the resolution or photo modes. These cameras take amazing footage for their small size and I would recommend them to anyone who would want to record just about anything you can think up. One of the minor draw backs is that they have no lcd screen to see what you are taking or want to review what has been taken so fow a few bucks #close to 80# you can attach the screen to the back, but for me I just aim them and hopefully they get the shot I want.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
GoPro - BacPac LCD Screen
4.0 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
GoPro - BacPac Battery Charger
4.7 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
GoPro - 3D Hero System
5.0 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

great pictutes and video

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: progo
on 06/10/2012
Great mounted to my handle bars on the hog looking forward to some under water shots
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

My grandson uses it for racing.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mawmaw56
from North Carolina
on 05/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use.
What's not so great: Can't view it on an LCD screen on camera.
My grandson races dirt bikes and he loves it. When he first got it he used it for everything. It fits right on top of his helmet and his dad can view how he is doing when he's in the woods where he can't see him. Best investment we ever made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Not top of the line, but for the price, amazing!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jenningscreative
on 04/11/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
What's great about it: Great price, great quality
What's not so great: Shaky video, complicated controls
I took this camera with me to Belize for a trip and I took it snorkeling. It got some amazing shots and I loved the camera! Unfortunately, it was hard to keep steady. I'm attaching it to my longboard soon and I'm worried it will be too shaky. However, for the money, this was a great buy. The controls could be very difficult to figure out if you didn't read the manual. I'm extremely happy with it though and will be using it extensively in my travels!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
SanDisk - Ultra II 16GB Secure Digital Memory Card
4.2 out of 5(37)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

fun camera, use it anywhere

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CscottFN
from HOUSTON
on 04/04/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Durability
What's not so great: menu understanding
The only negative is takes some time to learn all the menu items and the meaning of each title. Not a big issue all the pros out way one learning curve.
This is great for underwater, outdoor activities and has a great time elapse function.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Awesome camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 88nascarfan
from Palmdale, Ca
on 03/26/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy and fun to use.
What's not so great: The quick release buckle tabs break easy. They need improvement.
The camera itself is awesome. I do have a complaint about the accessories, especially the quick release buckle. After two weeks, the quick release tabs broke. Fine, I bit the big one and bought the suction cup mount and gee, what do you know, the quick release buckle tabs broke again. GoPro need to make a better design or make the tabs stronger. Like I said, the camera is awesome. I am very happy with the picture and audio quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

awesome camera for the $

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SARASOTAGRU
from SARASOTA
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing.period,.
GREAT CAMERA FOR ON THE GO HD SHOTS!
WOULD BUY OTHER MODELS ALSO.
GREAT FOR GEN X SPORTS!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
GoPro - 3D Hero System
5.0 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
GoPro - HD HERO2 Outdoor Edition Wearable Camera - Silver
4.6 out of 5(109)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Excellent product for video recording

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: iphonemaster93
from Saratoga, CA
on 03/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Starts recording right when it turns on in video mode
I've wanted this camera for a while now and managed to get my hands on one yesterday. Traded in several iDevices for cash but it was well worth the trade. Best quality i've seen so far, better than all the other camcorders i've used. Wanted to see how stable it was having to mount it on the window, was impressed at the stability. Out of all the camcorders i've used before and the window suction cup mounts, this GoPro HD as well as it's own window suction cup mount beat all of them. I am very satisfied with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
GoPro - Suction Cup Mount - Black
4.7 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
SanDisk - Extreme III 8GB Secure Digital (SD) Media Card
4.7 out of 5(29)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Works great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BD772
from Cockeysville, MD
on 02/04/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Video quality
What's not so great: no back display
I purchased the GoPro Naked. It works great. I use it for mountain biking.I've used the chest strap and handlebar mount and the quality of footage impressed me. I was impressed with how the video did not look jumpy and shaky, even when attached to the handlebar hammering down hills.
My only complaint is that my laptop (only 2 years old) can't edit the video. I have an AMD Turion 2, running Windows Vista 64-Bit, and the laptop sounds like it's going to take off to the moon when I import the videos in any editing software. I have done some reading and now I realize that in order to edit the footage, I'll have to upgrade my computer. So, if you're planning on editing video, make sure your computer can handle MP4 HD quality... that was my fault for not checking. However, I'm planning on getting a new computer eventually, so then I'll be in good shape!
All in all, the GoPro works great... it might not be something you end up using all of the time, but capturing footage that most people don't get to see is pretty cool to showcase to them :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ShaggyS13
from Ga
on 01/23/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Features.
What's not so great: You need the LCD BACPAC!!
This camera makes it very easy to capture the feeling of each video I make. I was using my phone because it came with a car mount and trust me I'm glad I made the switch to this. I am a drifter and this camera helps me critique my angles and everything. Its so versatile. One moment I can have it mounted on my car the next it can be sitting on a my fender. This camera is a must have if you are wanting to capture the intensity the sport.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Okay...must buy add on screen!!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Brooksb
from GA
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: My son loves it!!!!
What's not so great: Video format
This product is very hard to use without the screen that attaches to the back of the camera. I bought this for my 11 year old...he has used it in the ocean. It worked great. However we only taped everyones feet! It also is hard to format the videos. We tried to plug into the tv...did not work. Had to download software on the computer...still had issues with formating of videos.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-10points
5out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Great Image

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PrettyCool
from Arizona
on 01/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Features, picture quality, price
What's not so great: Sound quality, instructions
We bought this on the spur of the moment with very little research. It's a great camera for those who love to take action shots. There are few things to consider if you're thinking about getting this:
1. If you want good sound quality, do not get this camera. It's housed in an air tight container that blocks the sound, even with the back that has openings.
2. If you plan to take a lot of video or pictures, get a high capacity SD card, at least 16gb. 8gb lasts about an hour at 1080p setting.
3. If you get the suction mount, be sure there is no movement between the suction and camera mount...if there is movement, it's not properly secured. There's no instructions on how to use mount
4. The camera I purchased only had the helmet mount. All other mounts are sold sepately but are reasonably priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GoPro - HERO Digital Camcorder LCD - CMOS - Full HD

Best addition for the active family!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dknuckles
from Davenport, Iowa
on 01/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: The price and quality...
What's not so great: ...
My wife bought this camera for my rc channel on youtube. We were looking for a camera system that can take those close quarters shot with ease and not worry about the elements. It's lightweight and records with great quality. You can always buy more mounts as needed. Easy to learn to use. You can mount it almost everywhere with the right mount. Now I can run our rc's in mud and water, snow and not worry about damaging our other camera systems. Thedknuckles on youtube!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.