Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Model: T100577
SKU: 3369425
UPC: 854448003006
Easily maintain your desired comfort level in your home with this learning thermostat that remembers your temperature adjustments and programs itself to build a personalized schedule. The chameleon design reflects your wall color for a complementary look. Also available with Geek Squad installation. Shop now. Check system compatibility › Nest FAQs Get up-to-date information on the availability and pre-order fulfillment of the Nest thermostat along with installation and programming tips. View all FAQs ›
Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 63 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
8
79% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
50 out of 63
)
Customer Reviews for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver
Review 1 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver
  • Featured

Excellent thermostat

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ragnas
from Arlington, VA
on 03/27/2012
The thermostat was very easy to install thanks to the push button wire terminals. I spent a little extra time spackling and painting the wall behind the old thermostat so I did not have to use the horizontal mounting plate. Setting up the Nest was very easy thanks to the on-screen guide. Connecting to the network was quick and painless and once configured the Nest works perfectly. The interface is intuitive and easy to navigate. Especially useful is the ipad/iphone app which allows control of the Nest from virtually anywhere. It is still in the initial learning phase so I cannot comment on that yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

returned mine after a month of frustrations...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: gits
from sunnyvale,ca
on 04/04/2012
What's not so great: fails to do it's main job
I'm a gadget freak, so as soon as I heard about Nest I had to have one. First impression - amazing. It was so cool to be able to control it from my iphone or browser. But the novelty wore off quicky as I woke up to a cold house. I had preprogrammed it to be 72F at 7am, but instead it started the heater at 7am. Ok my mistake, but my previous 10 year old "programable" thermostat was smart enough to do that without me trying to guess how early to start the heat in order to get to 72 by the time I wake up. Also I found myself constantly having to tweak the temp (I guess it was just learning wrong) where as my old thermostat only changed twice a year changing from heat to A/C. Then I tried "auto-away" and woke up to a cold house again. The last straw was when I came home from work to any icy cold house and a dead Nest. I googled for answers for a dead Nest with just a blinking green light and the only answer was to call support. Support never answered and since it was getting late and there's no manual override, eventually I decided I would need to re-install my old thermostat if I didn't want to wake up to a cold house again.
I was also disappointed in how little information is available when logged into your Nest account. I thought I'd be able to see graphs of ambient temp, heater setting, outdoor temp, humidity over time, but nothing like that.
Overall: cool gadget, but ultimately a thermostats job is to keep me comfortable and in that area it fails.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Frustrated at first

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Lucky1715
on 03/30/2012
What's great about it: Design, ease of setup, innovative functionality, expected savings over time
What's not so great: New company. Not a lot of useful solutions on their "troubleshooting" web site. Product required lots of updates.
The potential of this thing is fantastic. Great design, easy functionality, etc.
Setting it up/installation took about 30 minutes - really easy, even getting it onto the house wifi - simple.
However, it was terribly behind on updates to the firmware and it needed about 3 hours to go through numerous updates before it was current. Then, my house stopped heating the next day and they are terrible at diagnosing the problems - I've spend 4-5 hours with them already and still not working properly. Thus, when there is a problem they are not completely prepared/experienced to understand the issues.
Now, we have to have an HVAC specialist come out to check out my home system. Ugh. Frustrating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Easy to set up, awesome to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: redalert99
from Redwood City, CA
on 03/21/2012
What's great about it: Remote control from android
I was a little intimidated setting this up, because I had never worked on any kind of programmable thermostat, but it worked great. The system is learning with little direct input from me, and I love being able to control it from my android phone and tablet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

It is great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AcePackMan
from Raleigh NC
on 03/11/2012
What's great about it: Ease of use, features, temperature maintenance, savings
What's not so great: nothing
This system was very easy to install and very easy to setup. I love that I can control it remotely with the mobile applications, and it does a much better job of maintaining the temperature in our house than our provious programmable thermostats did. Very highly recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Nest - an iPhone Thermostat!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dangeruss
from Houston, TX
on 02/27/2012
What's great about it: Excellent build quality, looks and works great
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I first read about the Nest a while back on a tech blog, and thought it looked really cool. I went online to try and find it, but nobody had one. Even the manufacturer's website showed a blank with no ETA. I signed up on their site to be notified once they arrived. A few weeks later I walked into my local Best Buy, and just happen to see them. With zero hesitation I grabbed two.
The problem with most programmable thermostats is that not everything in life is constant. The Nest learns your habits, and relearns as they change.
Fit and finish are excellent, and it looks great on the wall. Installation and setup are a breeze; both are very Apple-esqe. This makes sense considering the company was founded by Tony Fadell, who worked for Apple and was one of the originators of the iPod. Once it asks you a few questions and gets hooked to your wireless router you're ready to go. For the first week or so it's in learning mode. You turn it on, and simply change it up or down to make yourself comfortable. You're also supposed to set it to away when you leave the house so it can learn your regular schedule. In about a week it will start telling you what it's learning, and will begin using features like "auto away".
One of the coolest things about the Nest is its ability to adjust everything from your iPhone (or Android device). In Houston our weather is pretty crazy. I've left my house in the morning with the heat on, and needed the air conditioner by the afternoon. Now I just open the app, switch to cool, and it's comfortable by the time I get home.
I highly recommend this product to anyone wanting to save some electricity, and/or add a little bit of home automation. The Nest gets the job done, and looks good doing it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Hands Down, the best thing since an AutoBraking MB

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Choctaw, OK
on 02/19/2012
What's great about it: Everything. And it's future
The automatic programming is just the beginning for the NEST. Read some of the articles about this little gem. If you have 2, they know about each other. The processing power is barely touched. I fully believe this little gizmo will be controlling much more than your heat and A/C in the future. I have ONE so far and am in line for 2 more. Yes, I have 3 heat /AC systems. But I also have the lowest heating/ cooling bills of all my friends and neighbors, with more sq ft. Insulate People. and these little Jewels will cut my bills even more so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

THINGS TO CONSIDER BEFORE BUYING!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: StatGuru
from Florida
on 02/16/2012
What's great about it: The concept in general
What's not so great: See above
The concept of this stat is good, but things to consider BEFORE buying this stat:
1. You will need a backplate to replace your old stat - yuk!
2. It is not Energy Star Certified
3. No communication capabilities to help alert you of potential issues like many of the new stats that are out now
4. This is for a single stage outdoor unit only - not for 2-Stage systems!
5. It goes into Away Mode every 2 hours if it does not sense any movement. Where is YOUR stat located? Would you walk by it every 2 hours when you're home?>
6. It takes at least 1 week or longer to learn your habits - if they are the same on a daily basis.
7. The Auto-Change over setting is burried in the stat, which makes it very difficult to change it from Heat to Cool or visa versa when you want to go from one setting to the next - good luck finding it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-34points
27out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

NEST lays an egg: Do not buy this product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: stude62
from Columbus
on 02/14/2012
What's great about it: Its wall interface is beautiful
What's not so great: Its not designed for most families or homes.
NEST, the learning thermostat promises good design with state of the art - APPLElike simplicity. But the product for us has been a total disaster.
First of all, its expensive. Secondly, unless you live in a home that is newer than 1970, it is not easy to install. In fact, the tools they send along with it are beautiful, but worthless.
Most importantly, it does not deliver the energy savings it promises. Why? The people behind NEST's "sensing" ability evidently didn't do very much research into where builders have been placing the majority of household thermostats in single family stand alone homes, which is an inside wall in the dining room or formal living room. If you are like most people, the formal dining room doesn't get used frequently during the day, or at all, expect when entertaining.
So what we found with the autoaway setting turned on, was that if we were upstairs working in an office, or in the basement doing laundry, or outside playing or just in our TV room, kitchen, wherever in our house, NEST would start dialing the heat down thinking no one was home, when we were home. This meant we were constantly dialing the heat back up. This up and down pattern over two months cost us more in natural gas use than we used last year (when adjusted for outdoor climate conditions).
NEST, its support team and the company are simply not prepared to be out there on the cutting edge. While beautiful and feature laden, it simply isn't worth the expense. Other thermostats will do what this does but will do it better and less expsensivly. Were removing this thing and putting back our 18 year old one that we took down when we installed NEST.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
29out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Best Thermostat Ever!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: chad1978
from Asheville, NC
on 02/08/2012
What's great about it: Great Design, Easy Installation, Easy to Use, Engery Saving
What's not so great: Nothing
This is by far the coolest thermostat that I've ever seen...much less used. The design is excellent as well as the usability. I really like controlling it from my iPhone. Also, I've found the thermostat to be very intelligent...for example it learned that before I get out of bed in the morning I like to turn the heat up so now it does it automatically.
In my opinion if you like Apple products then you'll really appreciate this thermostat. I haven't experienced any problems with it (it has had some software updates since it was released so maybe that's why).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Great concept, not ready for primetime

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Loudneighbor
from CO
on 02/07/2012
What's great about it: Concept, design
What's not so great: Battery fails, misreads temp as battery loses power.
Installed three weeks ago. Neat, cool features as others have raved.
Woke up to a freezing cold house yesterday. Reset the thermostat, it behaved erratically. Called our local furnace guy who came out for a service call. House getting colder by the minute - was 9 degrees outside that morning.
Called Nest support where I was put on hold and advised of a 45 minute wait time.
Nest support got to me just before the furnace guy arrives. They tell me the battery has weak charge, advise removing and charging via USB port. Furnace/house are only 15 years old. No way I am gonna remember to unplug a lovely fancy Nest every two weeks to charge it.
So, asked for a full refund, which was granted. They refused, however, to pay for the $90 furnace troubleshooting call. Claimed I should have gone through them and their service. (Meanwhile 45 minute hold time in a freezing house and getting colder.)
Best part was the Nest had been showing the temp to be way higher than actual. (Guessing the heat sensor didn't have enough power to maintain accuracy.)
Furnace guy had only seen one other Nest. That one was turning on the heat and the AC at the same time. No clue why.
Don't buy this. Save your money . They've got some bugs to work out. Even if they had agreed to reimburse me the service call I cannot say I'd recommend the unit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-23points
17out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

WiFi problems

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: AlexaLee
from New York, NY
on 02/07/2012
Aside from other problems mentioned in reviews,
Nest has terrible WiFi reception. It will not receive a connection
in areas where I get perfect phone/laptop reception.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
16out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Does not work as advertised

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: notsohappy45
on 01/29/2012
What's not so great: Expensive, Auto-away function does not work, period.
I was definitely intruiged by the slick advertising and extremely aggressive marketing by Nest, so I plopped down the money for their thermostat. Long story short, it's returned and I'm back to my old trusty programmable thermostat.
The motion detector either kept switching off the heat while my family was home, or stayed on when everyone was gone (checked from my computer). After discussions with Nest support, they seemed to admit that this kind of behavior was common with customers. So they recommended I turn off the "Auto-away". If the primary selling point of your product doesn't even work, than I'm sorry but it's not worth my money. I have plenty of better places to spend $250 than buy a shiny hockey puck to stick on my wall and waste energy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
25out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: seven58o
from ohio
on 01/25/2012
Best thing i ever got for the house. Can adjust it from anywhere in the world with my phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

I love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kat35
from AL
on 01/25/2012
What's great about it: Ease of use. Ease of installation.
This is a great product. It was very easy to install and works super.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

WOW

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Greenslip
from Melbourne
on 01/24/2012
What's great about it: The look the way it works just wow.
What's not so great: 0
Have had this item for 4 weeks now . And love it .I love that I can go to my android, phone or i pad and check or change temp.this is the coolest. a must have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Excellent Product!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DeepIndustries
from Navarre FL
on 01/21/2012
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Ease of Use and installation.
Easy Installation, amazing ability to customize your settings and enormous savings potential! Check out my video unboxing, explanation and installation on YouTube. see link.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

Great Thermostat

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JDM5LugHatch
from No. VA
on 01/19/2012
Easy to install, works flawlessly, and is aesthetically pleasing. If I had to find something to complain about it would be the included wall anchors as they're not designed for double layer drywall and are all around garbage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

NEST is very cool.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PositiveEnergy
from Bainbridge Island, WA
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: A thermostat that's as exciting as my iPhone for features and ease of use.
What's not so great: Doesn't (yet) display time or outdoor temp.
The NEST thermostat is a high quality, high tech product that gets most things right. In particular, rather than manually programming in a set point schedule (which you can do), it learns your schedule by observing your changes to the thermostat. So, during the first couple weeks, you really have to pay attention to doing that. Note that it does have light and motion sensors to figure out if you're home or away -- smart move.
The NEST graphics and user interface are superb -- what you would expect on an iPhone rather than the typical incomprehensible set of obscure buttons and limited display available on most thermostats. I think it's no surprise that such innovation had to come from outside the traditional HVAC manufacturers (Honeywell, Trane, etc.)
That the NEST learns the thermal charactersitics of your home, thereby knowing when to turn on the heat so that it hits your desired setpoint at the desired time, is nothing new; most newer programmable thermostats have this "adaptive recovery" feature.
NEST has wisely learned the value of the "Prius effect" by displaying a green leaf icon when you've nudged the temperature down a couple degrees (during heating season) or up (during cooling season); this type simple positive feedback have proven effective changing behavior in several academic studies.
I really like the iPhone access. If I'm in my bedroom and want to change the temp, I don't need to get out of bed. (Yeah, lazy...) However, combined with the great user interface, learning features, web / smartphone access, ease of install and good looks, this is really the best home thermostat out on the market.
I would like to see NEST add options to display the outside temperature (available via the web) and the time on device. And, I would like to see web-based graphics (and downloadable data) of inside temp, outside temp and heat pump duty cycle so I can better understand my home heating system. Finally, I'd really like to see NEST++ where home electricity monitoring is built in. I'm excited to see where NEST is taking this product....and future products.
To be fair, there are a few other a few other thermostats on the market, notable Ecobee, that have similar functionality....but frankly not as sexy as the NEST.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
20out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nest Learning Thermostat - Silver

I like it...but it's confusing and expensive.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: gregrm
from Portland, OR
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: Beautiful hardware, excited to see where it goes
What's not so great: Confusing. Slightly unpredictable what temp it'll be at.
Normal thermostats, you set it and forget it. This one, you're never quite sure what temperature it's going to be at. I recently went on a trip and had to keep checking the temp via the iPhone app to make sure the temperature stayed where I wanted it to be. (It didn't.)
Yes, of course it's nice that there's an iPhone app that lets me check and set the temp. It's a beautiful piece of hardware, and I like having it, because I'm a gadget freak, an iPhone developer, and I'm excited to see how it will improve. But I don't think I could recommend this as a purchase for most people. It's just way more confusing than a conventional thermostat, which delivers predictable results day in and out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
16out of 24found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>