Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Model: U46E-BAL6
SKU: 3411094
UPC: 884840918011
This laptop features embedded 4G WiMAX mobile broadband for easy connectivity and fast download speeds (service contract required). A 750GB hard drive stores your personal data and media files.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Intel® 4G WiMAX chipset built in for Internet access to go at next-generation mobile broadband speeds. Learn more about WiMAX. Wireless service plan required; sold separately. WiMAX service not available in all areas. Learn more about the 2nd Gen i7. (Flash demo)
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 96 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
84 out of 96
)
Customer Reviews for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum
Review 1 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jim46123
from Avon, Indiana
on 03/23/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Its speed!
What's not so great: Nothing!
Really fast. Built like a brick s__t house! It is one solid, fast & tough laptop.I highly recommend this laptop to gamers, business use and anyone who enjoys a really fast machine.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Well thought out and a great value!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TucsonLarry
from Tucson Az
on 02/28/2012
What's great about it: Quality and performance
What's not so great: Nothing!
The Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor is a great machine and great value for the money.
Quality and performance in one package!
If you need a laptop don't pass up this one....................
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, great keyboard
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

more later

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: techienana
from Berwyn, IL
on 02/27/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: speed, ease of use, great graphics and audio
What's not so great: LED screen is apparently very delicate............
I will let you know more about this one as soon as I get it back. It slid off the laptop desk on to the screen side. It's out for repair
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Fast and a Good Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WFGUY
from North Carolina
on 02/15/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fast. The product is pretty slim and compact. Metal cover instead of plastic. Attractive display. LIke the 3.0 port.
Keyboard is funky and little hard to get used to and it would be nice if it were backlit. Would also like to have had dedicated buttons for median instead of function keys.
But saying all that, I am very satisfied with the price performance of their product.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Fast lightweight computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AsusBuyer
from Everett, WA
on 02/11/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is my second Asus purchase, and I purposely went back to Asus because of how pleased I was with the last one. The only thing I don't like about this one is that the keys on the keyboard are lower and it makes it harder for me to type with fingernails. Other than that, no complaints--it loads very quickly, works smoothly, and is lightweight, which is great when I travel for work. I've had it for almost 4 months now and have no complaints!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Excellent computer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lovemygadgets2
from San Diego, CA
on 02/10/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, size, hard drive size
What's not so great: Speakers are a bit weak.
I am really happy with my decision to get this laptop. My only other experience with the brand is a netbook my husband won about a year ago. This, like that is solidly built and wow is it speedy. Boots up so quickly makes me sorry I didn't get rid of my old laptop sooner. Speakers are so-so but I usually listen with either headphones or a portable speaker attached so its not an issue for me.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Good notebook - bad ASUS service

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: James631
from CA
on 02/09/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
The notebook PC is not bad but based on the high price I paid for it, I would think that they would have included system restore disks. By the time I went back out to buy new DVDs to create the disks, my recovery partition no longer existed. So I called them and after an over 30 minute wait, they told me to go to their eStore and I could by one for $50 plus shipping. What a rip-off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Great computer for all applications

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Carly32
from Oak Forest, IL.
on 02/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I was hesitant to buy this computer because of the new solid state technology and the newer computers are much thinner and seemed more convenient to bring to classes and such. I was WRONG! This is a great computer and can run virtually any program I can think of(Autocad, Mathcad, Matlab, ProE, Draftsight, Microsoft office). The display is typical, I wouldn't say it's a macbook, but it works great for gaming and typical day to day use.
Another bonus, the HDMI output. Now that I have had this it will be a necessity from here on out. Overall this is a great computer for your money. Honestly, no regrets and I am a college student with zero money so spending more than $30 at a time is a scary thing for me.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

This has been a very good laptop.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chouinard
from Traverse City, MI
on 02/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nice speed
What's not so great: Touch pad SOMETIMES does not recognize use
This laptop is primarily used for e-mail and web surfing. It has proven to be a powerful machine that has definitely suited our needs.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

MY PORTABLE POWERHOUSE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: electronicz
from Huntington, WV
on 02/05/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It's pretty and very fast.
What's not so great: Volume (solved by using headphones), no Blu-ray, cheap, plastic CD player and bottom
I am so happy with my purchase of this Asus i7 14" laptop. The sales people kept trying to pawn me off on a Samsung Chronos for $999, but I fell in love with this ASUS because this also has an i7 processor and 8 GB Ram like the Samsung that is $220 more! I adopted this portable kid yesterday, and let me tell you, this machine is fast! I notice the difference between an i5 and i7 if I am watching YouTube videos. I opened 3 browsers with Youtube, 1080p videos playing at the same time, and this machine never stopped loading. On the main screen, there is a Intel Core i7 monitor that shows how many GHz are used in your applications--the bar goes up to 3.4 GHz! Many i5 laptops are only capable of going up to 3 GHz. Mine was hoovering around 3.09 GHz, which means that my videos will load without slack. Anyway, this laptop has 8 GB of RAM, making multi-tasking a breeze. This machine is really quiet too as the fans are on the side of the computer, not the bottom like other laptops. However, I do not like the CD drive--its cheap plastic, just like the bottom. I could not load my antivirus software in it. I had to get an external usb CD drive instead. It does play DVDs however. I would have liked for it to have a Blu-ray player and a back-lit keyboard, but I can't be too picky. Also, I cannot open my webcam, so I had to get ASUS tech support to help me. The battery runs for less than 5 hours on a single charge. The exterior is made of aluminum ridges--that is not a fingerprint magnet. Also, the volume is kind of bad on this machine, but sounds fair if you are using headphones. This computer weighs about 5 pounds, so it is portable if you are a college student. The machine feels expensive and has more power than a MacBook. Why not save a couple hundred dollars and get this powerhouse instead of a Mac?
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Great Laptop for education and business purposes

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AsusOwner
from San Francisco, CA
on 02/04/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, processing speed, storage capacity, lightweight, memory amount, battery life
What's not so great: Touchpad, speakers
I was considering several laptops along with this one, especially from the Lenovo and HP brands. I couldn't pass up the price and power that this laptop provides and I do believe that this is the best work and entertainment (music and movies, not gaming) notebook out there right now for a 14" screen size.
I even saw that the BAL7 laptop had come out but the BAL7 has a 5400rpm versus the 7200rpm on this BAL6. Overall, I am very satisfied with this laptop since it provides speed, convenience, mobility, and some potential for light gaming. However, I would not recommend it for heavy gaming. The sound is great, but might not be the best for big music lovers. I personally don't think it is too big a deal with my music; if loudness is considered "quantity" of music, it can better on this laptop, although the crispness and "quality" of the music is top notch. The touchpad is not as good as it should be for pinch to zoom mostly; the other touch features (click, scroll) are normal for a PC. Using a USB mouse is probably a better option (although this applies to most of my PC experiences). The battery lasts about a good 6-7 hours in my case. I hope to use this laptop for many years to come. Main incentive to buy is probably the high processing power, high RAM, and high storage capacity for a very competitive price.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Raliable laptop with no issues

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RickM17
from Shrewsbury, MA
on 02/02/2012
What's great about it: It's fast and reliable
What's not so great: The touchpad iss too sensitive even when you adjust it.
I replaced a Dell laptop, my second, and both had hard drive failures. So far, the Asus has performed very well. The mouse is a bit too sensitive so a wireless mouse cures that.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Great laptop for good price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: buckyfan12
from Madison, WI
on 02/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This computer is incredibly fast (compared to my past laptop). The i7 Processor and 8GB memory are worth the money. Lightweight and great battery life. Speakers are something to be desired, but that wasn't an important aspect of my purchase. Also, touchpad sometimes seems to be a bit too sensitive, but I haven't checked if I can adjust that yet. I've read that this PC comes the closest to a mac as far as functionality, and I would agree. I love the two finger scroll!
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Top of the line 14' laptop beating out larger ones

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Chicago, Il
on 02/01/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Processor speed, hard drive, size, batterylife
What's not so great: speakers, not great at all but you'll survive
So first off, way to look at this Asus. I am a 17 year highschool kid that pretty much uses their laptop for web browsing, talking to people on facebook, youtube, itunes, and some games. Thats pretty much what you really need it for and it performs wonderfully in all those tasks at the SAME TIME. If your looking for a laptop for gaming this is not it most likely. The laptop doesn't have a dedicated graphics card, but it doesn't bother me at all, the display looks pretty good in my opinion. The look of this laptop is great it doesn't get fingerprints easily, looks sleek and thin, and really is thin, and weighs fairly light. The battery weighs like a ton but really is not obtrusive or anything, and your very thankful for a large battery on this laptop with the i7 that takes a little more power than normal, plus I got this laptop on a sunday used it around 2 hours each night for surfing the internet and im on wednesday now still chugging along on a single charge, its amazing, Keyboard is great for typing too so fast. Buy it on sale for 779 and you won't look back, great buy.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

good performance

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JimandJonnie
from Mesa AZ
on 02/01/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's not so great: mouse pad keeps intrerfering, I use a wireless mouse. With my big hands just a little swipe of the mouse pad changes.
good processor speed, long pattery life, sleek look, and light weight
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, construction worker
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Windows 7 Professional Upgrade - Windows
4.2 out of 5(182)
 
 
 
Microsoft Office Professional 2010 - Windows
4.3 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Great computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: drkid73
from Fairfield, CA
on 02/01/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good speed, good size
What's not so great: speakers, keyboard
I have really enjoyed my ASUS laptop. It works very well for what I need it for, which is relatively low tech. I am sure you can tell that I am not a big tech person after reading this! I use this computer for internet access, typing reports (biggest use), photos, and some videos. Size/weight was a big issue for me, as was speed. This computer works well for both. It is very fast in its start up (something I love) and the speed for the programs is very good. I could have reduced the weight with other models but would have to cut back on hard drive size and speed for the same price. So I think this is the best bang for the buck in all areas. The only complaint I have is I don't care for the keyboard as well as my old Dell laptop. But this is largely an adjustment issue and not something I could count against it too much! The speakers are not great and this is something that has been stated in other reviews. But I am not using it for a lot of videos or gaming so this is not a big issue for me. I am sure I am only using a small fraction of this computer's abilities and I probably could have gotten by with something with less. However, I tend to keep my computers for a very long time and don't have a desk top, so I wanted something that could grow with my needs if they changed and had a lot of versatility. This ASUS laptop, I think, will do that well.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, working professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Great Laptop for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Waffles98
from Minnesota
on 02/01/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: performance, screen clarity, battery life, portability
What's not so great: speakers, glossy screen, only 2 USB
The positive: Laptop is fast -- plenty of RAM and fabulous Intel Processor; have it fully loaded w/ Win7 & Office Professional 2010. Also have SharePoint Designer, Mind Mapping software, and multi-media software (iTunes, Spotify, etc.). The LED screen is very crisp, keyboard is well built, and the notebook is super small! The battery life is fabulous -- with IE, Chrome, multiple Office documents, Spotify and iTunes, and PowerShell open, the battery will run for just shy of six hours.
The negative: I am a bit disappointed in the speakers -- they are okay for video / teleconferencing, but if you're in a coffee shop, they're not too great. I'd recommend a headset for frequent use. Also, I've never had a glossy screen before, and it's annoying in sunny areas (outdoors). The lack of USB inputs is a bit disappointing too.
Overall: for under $800, this is a great bang for your buck. I can tell it was built solid, it's fast and reliable, and if you can deal with a glossy screen / sub-par speakers, I would highly recommend it for daily use.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Windows version of Mac but better!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: johnnyboi
from Austin, TX
on 01/28/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Laptop tends to get warm
Ok, so I had a choice between buying an apple and buying a Mac computer. I'm not really that picky on a computer as far as graphics and all other specs. I wanted o buy a practical computer that is reliable, would never crash, not too big, not too small and something that will fit in my backpack without taking too much space. So, after 3 days worth of research, I found this laptop. It basically has the best specs that you wouldn't normally find in a laptop at a very affordable price. The only thing that one would find lacking in this computer are the speakers (it's only on the right side), the graphics aren't the best (if you're really into graphics which I am not so I don't have any problem with that), it kinda warms up pretty fast (not really a big issue) and the keyboard isn't backlit. Other than that, everything else is great: the specs are great, the keyboard is superb, and it looks very sleek and professional. I really wanted a Mac but then I realized I was going to pay $1000 only because of it's looks. I'm really glad I found this laptop. I bought a really nice tablet for the money I saved for not buying a Mac. If you are thinking of buying a Mac, you should consider looking at this laptop first and then make your decision. I haven't found anything wrong with this laptop and so far, I am loving it! :D
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, great over all quality!
About me... Budget Conscious, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Fast Laptop, and no problems!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: glspark2007
from California
on 01/28/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, easy to use
What's not so great: Speakers, not enough USB ports
I read a few other reviews about this laptop and decided that I needed to add one of my own. I bought mine back during Best Buy's Pre-Black Friday sale, so great deal!!
The difference with the i7 Processor is definitely noticeable, everything is faster. I transferred quite a few files (documents, pics, and videos) between my Dell desktop and this new Asus laptop. Files that took 10 minutes to upload and download on the Dell took less than half that time on the Asus.
Another reviewer mentioned that they couldn't get their wireless printer connected properly. I had NO such problems. I had the Asus synced up and printing in two minutes flat. Just went to the Control Panel and Printer, selected the printer I wanted, and that was it! Now, to be clear, my printer was already hooked up and running through my home network, so maybe setting up a new printer would have been different.
So far the only complaints I have about this laptop are 1) the speakers, I agree with other reviewers, they leave something to be desired. And 2) not enough USB ports. My little Toshiba netbook had 4, this laptop only has 3.
But I can definitely adjust, and at the price I got it ($699.99 + tax), definitely a great deal!
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 14" Display / 8GB Memory - Aluminum Platinum

Fairly Disappointed

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: mstruzinski
from Branford, CT
on 01/28/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very thin, looks good, lots of RAM, good processor for a laptop, decent battery life, comfortable
What's not so great: Worst operating system, unnecessary pre-installed programs, ridiculously poor laptop speaker, not worth the money
So once my old Dell laptop's processor fried itself due to me overworking it, I decided I needed to find a laptop with the right specs for me. I do a lot of music production and I'm usually on the go, so I figured this laptop would do the job. Well, when I went to Best Buy to look around one of the employees highly recommended this one. Doing his job, he talked me into buying it without enough research. After telling me it had a Quad-Core i7 processor (which the tag even said it itself at Best Buy), I get home to find out it's a dual-core. Whatever, kinda my fault without doing enough research.
Anyway, between the unnecessary programs that both Best Buy and Asus installed, I ended up having very early registry issues and unreasonable bugs. When I say "very early" I mean the night that I took the laptop home, I was having hardcore technical issues with it and had to reboot the whole operating system. I was never a fan of Windows 7 anyway, but since mine came with 'Home Premium' I was beyond annoyed. By far my most disliked OS I've ever dealt with.
Anyway, performance is decent. Not worth the money I spent, but it gets the job done. I feel like I could have gotten the same performance for half the cash though.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, musician, light gamer, video production
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>