Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Model: NP700Z5B-W01UB
SKU: 3495331
UPC: 036725729810
This laptop features wireless LAN plus embedded 4G WiMAX mobile broadband (service contract required) for connection to the Internet without wires. The spacious 750GB hard drive provides ample storage for special photos, videos, music and more.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Intel® 4G WiMAX chipset built in for Internet access to go at next-generation mobile broadband speeds. Learn more about WiMAX. Wireless service plan required; sold separately. WiMAX service not available in all areas. Learn more about Intel® Wireless Display. Learn more about the 2nd Gen i7. (Flash demo)
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 72 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
10
67% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
48 out of 72
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver
Review 1 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

keeps crashing..

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ken56
from ct
on 02/20/2012
What's great about it: smoking fast
What's not so great: gets too hot too fast..
I am a big fan of Samsung products.. I have cell phones,tv's and pc's of theirs. Never had any issues. When we bought the
Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver model NP700Z5B-W01UB we thought it was a no brainer but after a week of owning it, it just kept crashing with the Blue Screen of Death.. Maybe 2-4 times a day and it happens at any tme. It was too frustrating to keep so I brought it back to Best Buy and returned it for an HP which I am very happy with...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

LOVE it so far!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bcraig
from Arizona
on 02/15/2012
Laptop has been absolutely amazing so far! I thought I'd immediately need a fan to keep the thing cool and from overheating but it has not been an issue for me at all.
Only complaint is that Best Buy had 2 of these in stock when I went to purchase, BOTH of which had an added $70 fee because geek squad had done all the setup and updates on it. This was not a "convenience" I had any interest in and the only 2 in stock had this already done to them and I had to pay the extra or wait to order one. I thought it was ridiculous that they would have done this to the only 2 in stock. And of course go figure Best Buy claims they also remove unnecessary things from the lap top with this added service.. yet I have some Best Buy App on my desktop now?? (a sluggish app at that!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

disappointing start

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: hardyman
from Buffalo, NY
on 02/12/2012
What's great about it: Keyboard is great, computer works now.
What's not so great: Quality control
Got the first one home, the optical reader was in the computer but not connected. Got replacement, crashed after 2 weeks,probable hard drive failure, customer service at local Best Buy? Manager at first told me (exact quote) "I'm doing you a favor by replacing this!" Finally got another and it has worked well for 3 months. Not happy with customer service at that store, if necessary will go to another area store. Can't believe that individual deals with customer service--I just wanted to get a computer that works!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Great Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: stronghauge
from Morgan Hill, CA
on 02/10/2012
What's great about it: Fast, not a lot of extra software on it.
What's not so great: Have not found anything I do not like.
This is the second Samsung laptop I have purchased in a year. I really like it. It is fast and easily handles my tendency to have a bunch of windows/programs running at the same time. I use the computer for work and home with a virtual machine, have several USB com cables which I use with the computer. It all works great! The battery life is good and the computer is a good size. Enjoying it very much. Most of all it did come with a bunch of pre-installed junk software like computers I have purchased in the past.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Great Desktop replacement

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TexD
from Manahawkin, NJ
on 02/08/2012
What's great about it: Functionality and ability
What's not so great: Price
Not too small, not too big. Includes number pad and a great looking screen. Would definitely buy this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Very Happy so far

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sestima
from Marina, CA
on 02/01/2012
I've had this laptop since Christmas and so far I'm very happy with it. The battery lasts for quite a while (I have not timed it, but so far I've not had any problems having to plug it too often). I use primarily Microsoft Office programs, includding PowerPoint, plus some photo editing software. No problems up to now. Works great for everything I've tried to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

AWESOMEEEE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BBYGUY00
from New York
on 01/30/2012
What's great about it: size, battery, price, look, performance
What's not so great: Nothing
Great laptop! The 6gb ram is more than enough for running multiple programs like photoshop and sony acid and any other programs. The screen is great, keyboard too!! The touchpad is also awesome, easy scrolling with two fingers. The battery life is great also!! Around 5 hours on an 80% charge. The two usb 3.0 slots are great, and one of them can charge a device even when power is off. Overall an awesome computer, my first Samsung, and I'm very happy with it!! DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A SLIM BUT VERY POWERFUL LAPTOP!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Does everything I need, and fast!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: exGeek
from Minneapolis, MN
on 01/25/2012
What's great about it: Speed, style - beautiful laptop!
What's not so great: If I had to pick one thing... it won't connect to an N Network... but internet speed is not effected so I'm good.
My wife and I have been using this PC now for about a month. I have ZERO complaints, its fast, the screen looks great, good sized HD, thin... Not sure what else you'd really want in a PC? Some reviewers are knocking the two video cards... just open the options for the card (its in the program file list) and set it to prompt you each time a new application is opened, then select the faster card. (once you've done it, it won't ask again for the same app) - very simple.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Good laptop, HDD failed after two months

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Spoonman61494
from Maine
on 01/22/2012
What's great about it: Good performance, unbeatable price for power, nice display, solid aluminum chassis, good design overall
What's not so great: Occasionally funky keyboard(but not much worse than any other chiclet style), (Possibly)low HDD reliability
It was good while it lasted. I could run most games pre-2007 with it. The CPU was very fast. The display was gorgeous, and had a tiny bezel, which was a nice touch. It had a very impressive battery life, it lasted an entire school day of moderate to heavy use. The trackpad, I think, is a hit or miss. I really liked it, but it took quite a while to get used to it. It has a right and left mouse button integrated into the trackpad, which can be confusing because there's no physical indicator of the buttons themselves. One thing I didn't like was that the hard drive was split up into two different drives, a C: and a D:. I believe the C: drive was 500GB of the 750. That was not the greatest choice on samsung's behalf, in my opinion, it didn't really serve any purpose unless you back up religiously, which would really be best done with an external hard drive since you can't easily access that if the hard drive fails any way.Which, by the way, was the issue with mine. I never backed it up(which wasn't the smartest choice, but I've never experienced an HDD failure, so I was trusting), and the HDD failed and I lost all of my data. The HDD, by the way, was a low quality 5400rpm Hitachi. I contacted Samsung after sending it in for repair and was informed that if I were to replace the HDD with a more reliable one, the warranty would be void, essentially forcing me to either backup all the time or take my chances with the stock hard drive. It would also be void if I were to format the it and remove Samsung's system management software. There's little freedom with these, you can't even replace the battery without forfeiting your warranty. They were good about the repair, though, I sent it in about a week ago and they repaired it without making a fuss over it. Overall, it's a good laptop, but it might be worth it to look into one of the more expensive models, you can get a lot more performance for not much more money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Very poor

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: laodao1234
from Milwaukee
on 01/19/2012
What's great about it: sharp
What's not so great: webcam, touchpad, display...
not worth. very slow when play MKV, Real and et al, even with core i7. And poor builtin webcam. I don't know why bestbuy sells stupid things like this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

The Best in this price range

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HarborZag
from NY
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: Great price, Great performance, great battery life.
What's not so great: No problems, but a larger screen would be nice.
You can't get better for the money. You can spend more to get a bigger screen size, but this machine has all the power and performance I need for home and office. A very good deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Windows Anytime Upgrade: Windows 7 Home Premium to Windows 7 Professional - Windows
3.3 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Great laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: payers
from marshfield wi
on 01/16/2012
What's great about it: The CD/DVD drive slot and the HD card slot.
Very well built laptop. The CD/DVD drive does not have a pop out tray. The CD/DVD is inserted in the side slot of the laptop. One less thing to break. I love that it has an HD card slot. I can upload my camera pics by putting the HD card right into the laptop card slot. The screen is a nice size and the laptop is thinner than other laptops that Ive had. It is a very sturdy laptop with great features, great graphics, and lightweight enough for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Set up is not for the new PC'er

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jims50
from Iowa
on 01/15/2012
What's great about it: Speed
What's not so great: Set up from factory
This laptop works just fine but If you are new to PC set up I would warn you that the set up of this pc is not complete you better know about partisions and how to work with them because this hard drive is set up with them and not using all of the drive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

I like it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PurplePirate
from Allen, OK
on 01/14/2012
What's great about it: Good buy
What's not so great: Nothing
Just getting used to a newer, faster computer is the hardest part. But I love the speed of it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Very bad product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from NYC
on 01/12/2012
What's great about it: The computer was not heavy.
What's not so great: No light in the keyboard to work in the dark.
The computer is very slow to function. It does not have a keyboard to work in dark places (horrible). The graphics are poor. The functions are limited. Very expensive for a cheap computer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
3out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Almost a really good laptop

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jpalm01
from Randallstown, MD
on 01/11/2012
What's not so great: Mouse trackpad
I only gave this three stars because the mouse track pad sucks. They try to implement the Macbooks touch features but fail to execute. The track pad became unresponsive at times which is a real pain. Other than the track pad, the laptop was really nice though it would have been even nicer to have a back lit keyboard. Needless to say I took this back and got a Macbook Pro which is absolutely my all time favorite laptop.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Good Laptop for the Price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DetroitCity11
from DetroitCity11
on 01/08/2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Good Price
What's not so great: Slow hard drive, keyboard is uncomfortable
I bought this laptop for my wife and got it on Black Friday for $750. She mainly uses it for pictures and web browsing so it was perfect for her usage. I read the reviews and complaints about the hard drive so I upgraded to a Samsung 256GB SSD for just under $400. Even if you don't upgrade the hard drive, you can fairly easily address the small partition issue that a lot of the reviews identify as a problem. I used EASEUS Partition Master 9.1.0 Home Edition to change the partition before I did the upgrade.
I had considered a Macbook but this laptop had a better processor and the price was still less than the Macbook after the SSD upgrade.
Samsung didn't make the battery convenient to replace so I hope it lasts a long time.
As a minor side note, I found the wrist rest on the keyboard uncomfortable as the edge of the case is quite sharp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Very Fast!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Skippyd
from Jacksonville, FL
on 01/06/2012
What's great about it: battery, processor, slim style
What's not so great: graphics, matte screen
Well first to start the partion at the beginning is annoying but fixable. I paid 829 in store for this, and the only reason I bought it was because I got one of the HP dv6 and it was horrible so I returned it. Looked at everything and finally settled on this one. The i7 in it is amazing the Quad Core runs as 8cpu's(VERY fast) with 6gb of DDR3 which I upgraded to 8gb for only 40$ extra. The graphics aren't amazing but run decent for a laptop. I run world of warcraft on Good settings and get 30-40 FPS, while 20FPS on High. The overall performance of this has been amazing. I can run Photoshop, Facebook, World of warcraft, itunes, videos, also a few more random programs running and CPU runs as if it just started up with nothing running. The speed still blows my mind. Can boot photoshop up in about 4 seconds( which for a laptop is just about amazing). One thing I don't like about it is the way Samsung has set this up with all there software on it. They really ruined the product. I had to install a fresh version of windows 7 on it , but one could just uninstall all there useless free programs. The battery is hands down amazing I get 4 hours unplugged running games and music with the ATI graphics running( at start the Intel graphics are set to run on unplugged, while the ATI graphics are set to run when plugged in....to save battery use) with about 8 hours just running internet and music. The screen is Matte which I am not a fan but some people love those style screens for no glare and easy to use outside. Overall buy this it is AMAZING for any student or graphic designer...if you are a gamer I would save about 200$ more and buy something better. Also forgot to mention there has been ZERO problems as far as dead pixels, screen problems, keyboard problems, cpu problems, everything performs as brand new with nothing defective anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

Light weight, Long battery life, Look nice.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hotemplecity
from Temple City, CA
on 01/04/2012
What's great about it: Light weight, good to carry around.
What's not so great: The finish of Palmrest not even.
Bought this for a 21 yrs. old Niece from Australia, she love it as i do too :D !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Series 7 Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display - Silver

This computer is a steal!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ThisisCassie
from Minneapolis
on 01/03/2012
What's great about it: graphics, battery life, look, processor speed
What's not so great: no backlit keyboard, sharp edge, powersave features, bloatware, no removable battery
First of all, I would like to list the things that I use my laptop for:
-photo editing
-watching movies
-playing and downloading video games
-internet use
-video streaming
-creating documents
-listening to music
I shopped around for quite a while before settling on camping out for this on Black Friday. I would like to take this opportunity to also say that Best Buy handles Black Friday extremely well and even better than last year. They made everything fast and easy and I appreciate all their hard work.
I had debated between this laptop, a macbook air, the Acer Aspire S3, and a Sony Vaio (which I have owned previously). I was looking for something lighter than the laptop I had (@ 7lbs), more hard drive space, a faster processor, and well reviewed graphics. Only in the Samsung was I able to find all of these features.
It is a thin laptop with some newer features like the vacuum disc drive, the multitouch touchpad, and the HDMI port. It also has a very nice LED HD screen (which to my experience is pretty much non-glare). The look of the laptop is sleek and modern. It has a metallic/stainless steel finish which doesn't seem to show smudges or dirt. It has a very nice chicklet keyboard with numpad that doesn't leave much space for dirt to get under the keys. The battery life is exceptional in my experience. When not in use and closed, the battery can last for days, if not weeks. I would say open and not being used probably the 8-10 hours. In use however (heavy use) more like 4-6 hours which in my opinion is still great. I was able to use it to play video games on a 5 hour drive at Christmas time with no problems. Speaking of video games, the graphics are exceptional and allow me to play video games easily such as:
-World of Warcraft
-The Sims 3
-Borderlands
-Fallout New Vegas
-Civilization V
-Oblivion
I have been very impressed with the graphics so far and hope it continues to impress me.
Now for the not-so-good things. I have had problems with the powersaving features. When disconnected from power and running on low battery, the powersave feature dims the backlight screen. When I then plug it in again it will sometimes switch back to the bright screen as it should, but sometimes it just stays at the dim screen which can either take using the function key + brightness key to remind it or even restarting the computer. Another downside is the keyboard - the keyboard is NOT backlit. While this is not as much of an issue for me, for some it might be. Another thing is the battery - if the battery needs to be replaced ever I would probably have to pay someone to do it. There is no removable battery. I should also briefly mention the edge of the laptop which others have complained about. The edge of the laptop is pretty sharp to lay your hands and wrists on while typing or using the touchpad. I have to say though that I've gotten used to it. I think you can get the same sharpness out of the edge of a computer desk. It's just not usually expected from a laptop. I think the sharp edge is sleek and handy for keeping dirt out of your closed laptop. It creates a nice seal.
Overall, I love my laptop and think it was a great deal. I got it for $799 and regret nothing. It runs great, looks great, and seems like it's going to last a while.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>