Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Model: SEL55210
SKU: 3546034
UPC: 027242829992
With Optical SteadyShot image stabilization, this Sony NEX SEL55210 lens makes it easy to take clear, steady photos and videos with your Sony NEX digital camera. The 3.8x zoom lets you hone in on distant subjects from far away.
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 138 reviews
5 stars
98
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
133 out of 138
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver
Review 1 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Good zoom for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DrStevil3
on 12/12/2014
This lens was a very inexpensive way for me to add zoom capabilities to my Sony NEX – FS 100. I like to use e-mount lenses that don't require an adapter and this did the trick. I was able to successfully shoot high quality footage at a high school football game from the booth with this lens. It also provided nice depth of field for shots that I took at field level before the game.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2639949521
My Best Buy number: 2639949521
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Good complementary zoom for A6000

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Photo36
on 11/28/2014
Good rubberized grip on the zoom ring. Snug but smooth on zoom. Also, the extended length allows for a good grip on the camera if the body is too small for your hands. Have not tried with video but don;t imagine it to be a problem. No major noise that I can detect when zooming in and out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2034398801
My Best Buy number: 2034398801
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Decent Lens

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mk64
on 10/03/2014
Bought this for a trip to AK. using on my NEX3. Good balance on the camera. Would be better on a camera with a viewfinder, but takes nice pictures with the NEX3.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2847454411
My Best Buy number: 2847454411
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Excellent addition to my Sony Camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Legions
from Houston, TX
on 08/01/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, excellent picture quality
I've had the Sony NEX for over a year but finally decided to buy the zoom lens for more flexibility. The lens is sturdy and easy to use. Had no issues attaching or removing the lens and the picture quality is incredible. Unlike other larger zoom lens where you loose some stability while taking pictures if you have zoom extended to maximum and quality of the pictures blur, this lens took excellent pictures, even in dimmer lighting. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0325973751
My Best Buy number: 0325973751
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Zoomed images are amazing

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: inBayArea
from San Jose, CA
on 07/18/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lightweight and ease of use.
Love this as it is paired up with Sony NEX5. A friend, professional photographer, recently used it and loved it! She noted how lightweight it was.
Was impressed with the max zoom on landscape. Love replayed the photos on my big screen and hearing the ooos and ahhs as we zoom in on the pictures.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1013891616
My Best Buy number: 1013891616
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Great Zoom Lens

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Leo0729
from Little Rock, AR
on 07/05/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: extreme close up with high quality image
I bought this before my trip to England and was impressed on
the quality of images I could get from a distance. I could zoom
in the see a wide amount of detail. Gave me great images that
I could blow up & crop to get a variety of new pictures which
great clarity. It's my first zoom lens and was easy to attach
& remove as well as use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0417340416
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

I haven't used my lens yet but I'm sure it's good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Techitup
from Tulsa,ok
on 06/27/2014
What's great about it: Great pictures
I haven't used my lens yet but I'm sure its going to great pictures.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0570824655
My Best Buy number: 0570824655
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

great lens.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: randolphtn
on 06/25/2014
Great lens. I hope they come out with a larger one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0540358081
My Best Buy number: 0540358081
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Great for those who appreciate lenses

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GiGi19
from Bohemia, NY
on 06/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Steady zoom
i am pleased to find a light weight, easy to use camera that offers lens changing capabilities. This lens is perfect for close-ups.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2639262293
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Great alternative to a telephoto.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rhino
from Pennsylvania
on 06/12/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price for the lens quality.
What's not so great: Very shiny finish (nitpicking)
This was a great lens for the money. I have taken thousands of pictures with it over the last few weeks and love the lens more and more each time i use it. The pictures are crisp and quick. With the OSS built in it is very easy to hand hold shots even at the long end of the zoom. I bought this primarily for wildlife photography and videography and the metal quite luminous. But that is nothing a little camouflage self-adhesive tape couldn't fix. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

GREAT STARTER ZOOM LENS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: radlit
from indiana
on 06/07/2014
What's great about it: NICE FAST ZOOM
What's not so great: NOTHING
VERY NICE SONY ZOOM LENS OPTICS ARE PRETTY GOOD
I LOVE IT
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0065702130
My Best Buy number: 0065702130
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Awesome tool

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Otash
from New York, NY
on 06/07/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use and perfect picture outcome
What's not so great: Price
Awesome Lens. Great stuff overall. However, didn't need much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0567144032
My Best Buy number: 0567144032
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Awesome purchase for the collection!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jmas
from Charlotte, NC
on 05/21/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good price, sharp
This was my first lens purchase and something i definately don't regret! Highly recommended for anyone that is starting out and wants to start using a compact system with interchangeable lenses.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0732451316
My Best Buy number: 0732451316
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Great upgrade for Sony camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Normaldad5
from Houston
on 05/17/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great zoom and features
What's not so great: Bug, but that's kind of the point
Great addition to the camera, just bring with you, and whole setup is still smaller than our old DSLR
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2345214166
My Best Buy number: 2345214166
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Great Lens

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tmaster
from Northern, California
on 05/05/2014
  • Top 250 Contributor
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Range and quality
What's not so great: Regular price
The only way to be able to explore the potential of any of the NEX cameras is by adding this lens it gives you the range that makes this type of camera a better product than a point and shoot. The quality is solid and it looks great. BTW it comes in solid black or this silver model. The zoom makes all the difference in the world, you can be in the back of the room and get great shots. BB will price match, so do your research before you pay full price for it. So get it and enjoy another dimension of your camera.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0730023584
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Doesn't zoom enough for the size.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: RMVPHD
from Florida
on 04/26/2014
Ended up returning it; for this price you can buy a small 20X Sony zoom.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2716836188
My Best Buy number: 2716836188
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Lens is great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fordpeople
from Virginia
on 04/25/2014
Lens is everything is says it is. Portable too. easily fits onto the NEX 6
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2758912741
My Best Buy number: 2758912741
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

great beginner zoom lens

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: scottykarate
from clackamas, Or
on 04/25/2014
What's great about it: ZOOM ABILITY
What's not so great: NOTHING IT ROCKS
the lens fits perfectly in my camera bag. It meets all my needs for taking pictures on trips
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0559833692
My Best Buy number: 0559833692
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Good price for lens

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jgood
from Milwaukee, WI
on 04/21/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The distance on the lens is good for most pictures
What's not so great: I would like a lens from 18 to 300
Overall lens is average, I wish it was 18 to 210 or 18 to 300 in picture coverage range. Also would like it to be more cost effectve.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0051392758
My Best Buy number: 0051392758
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony - 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 E-Mount Telephoto Zoom Lens - Silver

Great ZooM But Expensive

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RogSanchez
from Tracy, CA
on 04/20/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Adds greater coverage with lens. Really looks like a Professional camera.
What's not so great: Expensive! Basically half the cost of actual camera. Adds extra weight.
Adds much needed zoom coverage when at events such as at NFL or MLB games when sitting in the stands. Or even when watching a loved one perform a singing recital. A bit pricey but gets the job done. At least it's optional so you can keep camera cost to a minimum.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Dropcam - Pro High-Definition Wi-Fi Video Monitoring Camera
4.6 out of 5(29)
 
 
 
 
 
My Best Buy number: 2022710691
My Best Buy number: 2022710691
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>