Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Model: 02G-P3-2059-KB
SKU: 3628074
UPC: 843368017309
Enjoy crisp, vivid images with this graphics card that features a PCI Express 2.0 interface to ensure wide-ranging compatibility and NVIDIA 3D technology for an immersive entertainment experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 19 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
18 out of 19
)
Customer Reviews for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card
Review 1 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Great card for the money.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chad782001
from Maine
on 10/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Solid performance; great value.
What's not so great: A little loud.
Really nice card for the price. I'm able to most current MMO or shooters with max graphics. The Secret World causes my frame rate to drop a bit, but a few adjustments to the detail level fixed that. A little louder then I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

great video card

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wowadkt
on 10/17/2012
Bought a new pc and figured it was time to upgrade my video card. I play WoW and SWTOR and have the settings on high with no problems at all. FPS is in the 70s to 90s and no lag. It's big, but fit in my pc with no problems. Easy install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Enhanced FPS and Graphics

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Baylor81
from Troy, OH
on 10/10/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super easy installation, quiet
What's not so great: Requires 400+ PSU and doesn't come with a m-HDMI adapter
This card was purchased to upgrade from a GT210 in an E6 series dual core 2.8ghz 8gig RAM HP computer (the 210 was an upgrade from the Intel onboard).
Planetside 2 beta was running 2-8 FPS with the GT210. This card has the FPS running between 25-50 on high settings in heavy gameplay and 50-70 in more idle settings.
MS FSX is now running frame rates in Ultra at over 60 so everything is crisp and smooth.
Other reviewers have noted it is a little noisy. Even with the case open, and running benchmarking tools to stress test it, it still purrs like a kitten.
I would definitely recommend this GPU to anyone who is looking to upgrade their machines to be able to rejuvenate an aging CPU for a while longer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Cooler Master - eXtreme Power Plus 500W
4.6 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: clintamoto
from Meridian,ID
on 09/19/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great perfomance
What's not so great: Not much
I really like this card. I did everything I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Better then Expected

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jerseytech
from New Jersey
on 08/23/2012
What's great about it: Handles Most of my games on High to Ultra Settings
What's not so great: Pretty Large for a budget card
Very surprised that it could play a lot of my games on ultra settings. This was my second attempt at a 550 ti series card. I originally purchased the GTX 550 ti 1024MB version and it did not perform that well. It might have something to do with playing at higher resolutions with a lot of AA which i like to do. As long as my textures in game are high rez im happy and this card performed the task.
Games I currently play
Star Craft 2
Diablo 3
Battlefield 3
Call of Duty MW3
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

I like it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ihernandez112
from Shakopee, MN
on 06/27/2012
What's great about it: runs smoothly, great graphics, good fps
What's not so great: a little loud sometimes,
I like this card. I bought it to upgrade my stock motherboard vid card in my HP computer. You do need a double wide slot when inserting this card, otherwise your going to have a bad time. But after some minor modification to my case, i made it fit. Also, if you don't have at least a 400w/24A Power source, then your going to need to upgrade. This card works great, i can run skyrim on ultra, and all my other games as well.(skyrim is the most graphically intense game i play)
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Corsair - Builder Series 500-Watt ATX CPU Power Supply
1.0 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Worth the upgrade!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hiredgoonthug
from New Britain CT
on 04/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Made gameplay much smoother. Settings on high.
What's not so great: Very large, barely fit into computer. Wires hung into fan. Had to tie a lot of things back.
A very noticeable difference with game-play that I love! Was a bit difficult to fit into my computer but after wires were untangled and tied back I was ready to go. Fan can be loud, but that's normal. I am loving the improvement in game performance!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Nice card, good price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Emeraldeyz1975
from Eldorado, IL
on 03/08/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good card for the money
What's not so great: Large card, case must be large enough to hold it
Great graphics card. Can easily run all the games we play. i.e Everquest 2, Rift, Starwars old replublic, skyrim etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Was worth replacing a PSU for.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Alaskanhybrid
from Anchorage, AK
on 03/04/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Power, affordability, compatibility, plays games that could not work before.
What's not so great: Just wish I could of afforded the EVGA GTX560Ti 2gb.
I purchased this last month in the hopes of installing it but the PSU did not have the amps nor the watts to work. The PC was purchased at Best Buy, but the onboard GPU on the CPU made by AMD was not compatible with the monitor that was on sale from Best Buy aswell. I purchased the Corsair GS700 from Best Buy yesterday, which has the power to supply all but the most demanding graphics card. It has all the features I wanted in a GPU, did not break the bank, the power is improved dramatically. Was on sale for 180 last month, had a gift card was 164.99.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Corsair - Gaming Series 700-Watt ATX CPU Power Supply
4.3 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
HP - Pavilion Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
4.3 out of 5(160)
 
 
 
 
 
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Great Video Card For The Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Natashak
from Hurricane WV
on 02/04/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install, speed, and performance
What's not so great: mini-hdmi adapter not included
I bought this card to replace an aging ati radion hd 5550. I installed it, rather easily, and started the machine up. No issues with blue screens either. Loaded the drivers. My windows benchmark for graphics went from a pathetic 5.4 to a 7.4. Major jump!!! only drawback is the mini-hdmi port, for which you will have to purchase an adapter cable to make work. Otherwise, I am running Duke Nukem Forever at max settings as well as Crysis, and Crysis 2. Great graphics quality, alot sharper than the ati card. Recommend a 600 watt power supply to keep the system stable and happy though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Thermaltake - 600W TR2 ATX Power Supply
4.0 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
 
 
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Works Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pondscum
from Utah
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I put this in my Dell Precision T3400 running XP. No issues with installation. The card performs very well with how I use it. PCB development, video, email, and some gaming.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

This is a very good mid-priced card

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gloren
from California
on 12/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Just a solid graphics card.
What's not so great: Price should be about $30 lower.
I just purchased this card to replace and upgrade from a GTX 275, another great card. The instillation was simple and direct. One of the best features of this card is the lower power needed to operate. You will still want at least a 600w power supply and you will be set. I run the card at the highest settings and have frame rates in the 70+ range with no issues. Heat from the graphics CPU is well controlled. I am going to purchase another and rig SLI with it. This is a good well built card and I recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Great entry level card,but not great price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: buck2184
from Columbia
on 12/04/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Performs great for entry level card.
What's not so great: Price just a little high.
This is a very good entry level card. I got this card to play Total War games. I have played Medieval 2 with a 2 on 2 historical battle maxed out graphics and max unit sizes and had a couple hiccups when moving camera over water but ran smooth otherwise and have played all other Total War games with one on one battles maxed out with no problems. I don't know the frame rates but it will play the game maxed out but I usually play with a mix of high and med. settings to keep from slowing the fps down. The only problem with this card is the price. Yes I know its 2gb but I think it is still a little too high for the 550 and I dont think there are any games it could play that might need the 2gb of vram anyway. I plan on using Evga step-up plan to get a 560 or 570.
Don't make the same mistake I did, if you are gonna spend $200 get the regular 560 or if you have a little more to spend get the 560ti and you will have a much better card. But if you just want the 550 get the 1gb version and save about $50. Don't get me wrong this is a good card i just think the price is a little high for the 550 even for the 2gb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Corsair - Gaming Series 600-Watt ATX CPU Power Supply
4.7 out of 5(32)
 
 
 
 
 
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

nice card

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wilklin
from monroe,ny
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: performance and ease of install.
What's not so great: nothing to complain about.
upgraded from a gt 220 to this. install was easy. windows 7 video performance score went from 5.8 to 7.4 . the only game i play right now is left4dead 2. much more enjoyable now. silky smooth gameplay. i'm loving it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

it does make a bit of a low humming noise i think

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: davydallas
from damascus va
on 08/19/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: plays games
What's not so great: makes humming noise not a gtx 560 for higher
so far it has been a ok mid range card my fps in the games i play run around 150-215 fps except for mmorpgs which run about 40-69 fps this card i am sure after reading the others has a noise a low humming noise it is sometimes easy to ignore cause it does not do it all the time sometimes when my pings is bad in a game cause of internet the fps drops down to 100 or lower not sure if that is a bad thing i just feel i should state the facts can not really rate it reliable yet i have had 19 days without any problems so far except i tried to run a icon that i thought was a control panel for the card but was actually the drivers setup after it messed it up i just ran it again and it was fine after that i put the icon stored in a folder and marked it
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Corsair - ATX Power Supply
5.0 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
Visiontek - Radeon HD 7750 Graphic Card - 1 GB GDDR5 SDRAM - PCI-Express 3.0 x16
5.0 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
HP - Pavilion Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
4.2 out of 5(73)
 
 
 
 
 
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Not a bad deal.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Naildriver
from Tri Cities, Washington
on 05/30/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to install.
What's not so great: Fan noise
Not a bad deal. The card was on sale, that's always a plus, and in stock. I read several reviews prior to going to the local Best Buy so I new what I was looking for. The up grade was easy and quick. I did buy a new power supply, no sence in wasting time and finding out later that the stock power supply in my ASUS computer wasn't enough. I recommend this card. There is still an issue with Diablo III. One particular video doesn't want to run right but the vast majority of the new graphics are great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Decent gaming card for the price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Garciad20
from Arvada, CO
on 05/02/2012
What's great about it: Can handle most frame rate settings
What's not so great: Gets a little laggy when alot of MMORG areas
I would recommend this if you need quality to price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Decent Card

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rbcarter101
from Northbridge, MA
on 03/26/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 2GB of RAM, Good for gaming on a budget
What's not so great: Little pricey, not as powerful at the 560 or 70, adds an average amount of performance boost
Its a good card, much better than the regular 550. The 2 Gb is definitely a good grab. Added a good amount of performance to Skyrim, and somewhat less to BF3, but its still something. Compatibility went down as i had some issues installing the latest drivers, but that may have been a different issue. On the whole, the card requires a a decent bit of power, and it doesnt speed my games or PC up extremely, so Id recommend going for a 560 or 570 if you're seriously interested in grabbing a good GTX card for gaming. But overall, its a good card for someone looking to game on a budget.
Id recommend a 600 W PSU to keep its power needs sated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Corsair - Gaming Series 600-Watt ATX CPU Power Supply
4.7 out of 5(32)
 
 
 
 
 
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EVGA - GeForce GTX 550 Ti 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Liked it while it worked

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: NetworkEngineer
from Pittsburgh
on 01/14/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: performs as expected
What's not so great: reliability
I'm not a hardcore gamer and this card was just part of performing an all around system upgrade. Video card install went in smoothly and ran well for several days. Rebooted the computer after adjusting a windows setting and poof no high resolution graphics. I thought well maybe I goofed up the driver somehow and booted my spare hard drive which just happened to have a known good working copy of windows 7 because I also upgraded the hard drive and the exact same problem. It seems the GPU went south after only a few days. Sigh back to Best Buy tomorrow to exchange it. I suspect the factory over clocking may have been the issue. The card smelled hot from the first time I installed it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
-6points
5out of 16found this review helpful.