Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Model: TAKE CLASSIC 5.1
SKU: 3628223
UPC: 629303300084
Learn more about Magnolia Premium Installation This home theater system features a Ribbed Elliptical Surround subwoofer design to deliver clear, powerful bass and poly-titanium speaker woofers with Hyperbolic aluminum dome tweeters to produce smooth, realistic sound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 26 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
24 out of 26
)
Customer Reviews for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer
Review 1 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Great sound out of a small speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rich2013
from Apple Valley, CA
on 12/27/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price
What's not so great: Nothing
I replaced 25 year old floor speakers with these Energy Take 5.1 and they blew me away with the sound quality. They sound great for watching a movie and sound really good for music.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0227426775
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Outstanding!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: glpdrum1
from San Antonio, TX
on 11/18/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Way more low end and mid than expected.
What's not so great: Nothing yet.
Powered by a Marantz 1403 These speakers have an incredible quality. I will try not to get negative but the people that review these speakers negatively are obviously looking for speakers that cost twice as much. That being said, there is simply no better option for a 5.1 system that I or C-Net or several other reviewers can find. The speakers I replaced (I thought ) sounded great. After installation and running Audyssey I could not believe the low end from not only the sub, but the satellites as well. The center speaker brings a dynamic range that simply should not happen from such a small package. My previous surround speakers (although larger) had no low end at all. These speakers are every thing you have read and all you need for top quality audio in a surround sound 5.1 setup. As the other reviews say, you will not believe you are listening to speakers this size and that you got them at this price.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality, fantastic looking
About me... Pro audio / DJ, Audiophile, Tech savvy, 15 years in live sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2856163656
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Great speakers for the price. I use them everyday.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CUDA1
from Uniondale, New York
on 11/17/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The sound is better than my old speaker which cost me twice as much.
Great speakers for the price. I use them everyday. The sound is better than my old speaker which cost me twice as much. They are also much better looking than the picture online. Super glossy paint and very smooth. The sound and look is one of the best. May buy a second set for other room.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... practical
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2731928226
My Best Buy number: 2731928226
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

The best entry level HTIB!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Taurus555
from UT
on 11/10/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, great looks and awesome sound!!
I have had this for 2 weeks and found the speakers to be powerful for loving room, which is about 15x12 ft. The sub-woofer fills the entire room with no problems. The speakers have a break-in period of 50 hours and I guess I am not above the yet, but so far they have been awesome. The voices are crystal clear along with crisp mids and highs.
I am happy with the speakers and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for entry level audiophile speakers.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... Audiophile
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2787539124
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Love this system

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Langosta
from TX
on 10/13/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound is great
What's not so great: none yet
This is a major upgrade from my last speakers. The sound is great and for the price you cant beat it.
This product has... Easy to set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1049630104
My Best Buy number: 1049630104
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

great product for value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sanjtriv
from milpitas
on 09/01/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: sound quality and look
What's not so great: na
Love this speaker system with my Denon amp.mountedwith speaker mounts and subwoffer is great sound
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... Audiophile
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0501258641
My Best Buy number: 0501258641
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Sounds great easy to install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: baseballfellow
from Dallas TX
on 08/06/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: sound is really clear
What's not so great: Haven't had it long enough to know
We just installed this a couple of days ago but it makes watching TV more interesting and the movies sound a lot better. Sound is pretty clear with no static. We were able to get all the speakers wired and placed in a very short time.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0966317501
My Best Buy number: 0966317501
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

junk

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Devildog69
from Orlando
on 08/04/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Appearance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Power
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: center channel blew 2 days after purchase
All the salesmen said this was great Klipsch quality in a 5.1.surround system. Subwoofer is ok but sattelites n center channel is very low quality.Would not recommend to anyone who like power in thier system.These speakers can handle half the wattage they are rated at.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up
About me... Tech savvy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2860208275
My Best Buy number: 2860208275
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Great sound, great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pjh0705
from kc mo
on 08/03/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Affordable and good quality
What's not so great: Nothing yet
I'm very happy with this system. It was fairly easy to hook up once I looked online for some help. I had a friend help who was more familiar with sound systems. With the speakers mounted and calibrated it is just a great purchase.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Overall Excellent purchase

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ACChris
from San Antonio
on 07/22/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Slick look and great sound
What's not so great: No Con's just yet
I've been using the "Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System" for about a month now and I am very impressed. It was much cheaper than the other speaker setups that I was reviewing and with nearly the same sound level/quality. If the power output of the 200w sub and 100w satellite meets your needs than this is a perfect purchase. I have an Onkyo 7.1 receiver so I may eventually add another set of larger speakers for the front left/right and move the Energy speakers to fill in the center and the rest of the 7.1 surround sound but out of the box this 5.1 setup beats my expectations especially when you look at the small price tag!
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... practical, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1023271354
My Best Buy number: 1023271354
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Good Set

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mfw220
on 07/19/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great set for the price
What's not so great: nothing yet
Just wanted a basic system for my laptop. This works great
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2876901764
My Best Buy number: 2876901764
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Missing Front Cover of Satellite Speaker

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DennisRT
from Woodridge IL
on 07/18/2013
I bought this online last week and had it shipped to the Best Buy store near my place. I finally picked up the item today and when I opened the box at home, I found out that the front cover of one of the satellite speaker was missing.
I called BB customer service to report the problem and was hoping if BB can just have a spare cover shipped to me. The customer rep told me that since I bought the system online, I should contact the manufacturer directly and make the request with Energy. Or the other option was just return the system to the BB store, but since they were out of stock of the 5.1 Classic, I wont get any replacement and my money will just be refunded.
The missing cover is not a big deal to me. But how BB just told me to contact Enenrgy directly spoiled what could have been a very good review.
About me... Tech savvy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Best budget speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pulley
from Lexington, KY
on 07/08/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great sound, great looks
As advertised, a great 5.1 surround sound set. No issues, sounds great.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... practical
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2111329124
My Best Buy number: 2111329124
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Best Budget Speaker System for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lattimer1
from Minnesota
on 06/28/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great sound for the value
What's not so great: nothing
This is the best budget speaker system that money can buy in this day and age.....period!! You will not be disappointed!!
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... Audiophile, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0567656009
My Best Buy number: 0567656009
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Sound is spectacular!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Joevid
from Nashua, nh
on 04/26/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Set up was easy, good looks, solid manufacture
What's not so great: None
These speakers sound fantastic. Certainly not designed for a giant room, but for a 10x12 room..super. I have a Cambridge Soundworks sytem in another room.. About $300 more expensive-- Similar size room, AV power...I prefer the Energy speakers!
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... practical, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2092340262
My Best Buy number: 2092340262
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

HOLY COW!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: IguanaKing
from Denver, CO
on 04/20/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: They brought the music back...all of it!
What's not so great: This system leaves me wanting absolutely nothing more!
A little over a year ago, I made the HORRIBLE mistake of replacing my Denon home theatre system with an LG system with an iPod port and wireless speakers. Well, that LG quit after a little over a year, and the sound quality was SEVERELY lacking. Feeling burned by the whole thing, this time I decided to not compromise on ANYTHING and put together a home theatre system, piece by piece. A home theatre system is only as good as its speakers, and this system is IT! Thunderous lows...clear, ringing highs, and 5.1 imaging beyond belief. One thing for the serious audiophiles to note with this system is the cabinets. These cabinets are made of MDF, not plastic like so many so-called "high-end" manufacturers are using these days. As our kind knows, PLASTIC has NO PLACE in speaker cabinetry. Solid wood was great...and MDF made it even better. PLASTIC?! Even "high-end" manufacturers like Polk Audio are using plastic cabinets now, AND they are ditching the standard satellite speaker mounting conventions that so many of us have become accustomed to. Well...look no further, because this Canadian company, Energy, has done it right. MDF cabinets (highly polished black finish in the case of this system), standard speaker mounts (so you can STILL use the many wonderful swivel and tilt brackets available for serious home theatre systems), and...what's this? BINDING POSTS FOR THE WIRES?!! As any electronics geek knows, binding posts are the prefered method of connecting electronic equipment in a modular/temporary environment. Every serious home theatre receiver has binding posts for speaker connections...so why should we compromise with speakers that have spring terminals? So, another plus, binding posts. The satellite and center speakers all have removable grilles, and once you see how SEXY the aluminum-impregnated drivers look, you might just decide to put the speaker grilles in storage. The subwoofer has its own, internal, 200W amplifier, and has full crossover and level controls built into the back. No speaker grille on this. It has a beautiful port on the front...the actual driver is bare and points downward, so be careful with your fingers...ONLY handle the subwoofer by its legs. The subwoofer front port has a blue LED to indicate when its amplifier is being powered. This goes back to the "power" switch on the back...it has 3 positions...Off-On-and Auto. Auto will turn the amplifier on when the subwoofer is receiving an audio signal. I keep it in this mode. Just remember...sometimes there will be a slight delay before the subwoofer amp kicks in when you first turn the system on for the day. I hear detail in music and movies that I haven't heard since my Denon system. Just a note on LG and other wireless speaker systems. There is a REASON the serious manufacturers aren't pursuing this. Its because IT DOESN'T WORK! Just do what I'm doing. String the wires sloppily across your home theatre area to get everything connected and experiment with speaker placement...then invest a buck a foot in wire hiders from Wiremold in their "CordMate" series, and make the final wire routing along the ceiling. Go wireless, and you will ALWAYS be wondering why everything is out-of-sync, and cuts out completely for a few seconds when you so much as move your arm. Wireless is cool for internet...but it doesn't work for audio. Think about it...would you want to listen to your iPod or CDs through your cel phone? Wires...for music, we can't get away from them. Bluetooth fans for Bluetooth headsets and speakers? LOL! Just hold your comments, because, OBVIOUSLY your hearing is destroyed. Yes...Amy Lee has a wireless microphone when she's on-stage, but its a wireless microphone that costs several orders of magnitude MORE than what the average guy can afford. If you're not a multi-millionaire, wires are your only way to musical bliss. BUY THIS SYSTEM AND A GOOD RECEIVER LIKE A YAMAHA RX-V673 and you'll be in heaven! Remember this when looking for speakers...if the cabinet ain't made of MDF...tell the manufacturer "WTF?!" and move on. DO NOT give them your money...plastic (aka..."spaceage polymer") simply doesn't cut it.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... Audiophile, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Best speakers for any surround sound system

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JMSoccer
from Laguna Niguel, Ca
on 04/08/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The sound and the incredible price
What's not so great: That I bought a Bose system first and took 6 mos. to change it
You've heard it from everyone and even I didn't want to believe it was true. I knew someone with the Energy 5.1 speakers but all he watched was TV and didn't set them up well but they still sounded great. I saw the Bose Acoustimass 10 series III speakers with a Pioneer receiver on sale at Costco for $1199.99 and figured this would sound great and would save me the hassle of selecting the right speakers and the right receiver to go with it and all the options that you need to consider and I had already been looking and was getting more confused by the day and the Bose system eleviated me having to make a decision. Then this little bug in the back of my brain said for $1200 this doesn't sound as good as those energy speakers and they are only $399 which would leave me $800 to buy a receiver and the receiver I had with the Bose system was OK but it was by no means an $800 receiver, not even close, not that money should be a deciding factor, look at the Energy speakers. So I bought the Energy speakers and a Pioneer Elite very powerful AVR receiver, on sale for $600 and I was blown away. Of course I used 14 guage strand oxygen free all copper wire and used gold plated banana plugs to plug into the back of the receiver and bought Monoprice speaker stands, which are a little taller than the Bose stands, for the rear 2 speakers and I can't tell you how good it sounds. If something performs better for less than $1000 I would like to hear and see it to believe it. I understand that the people that import and designed the speakers are Klipsch and they put them under the name Energy so as not to compete with their own line. I am sure that there are better speakers but would my ears really notice the difference. Anything better than this and I would do nothing but whatch movies and TV and occasionally eat. Don't even think about it. If you want a surround system from $600 to $1200 or possibly more than look no further, order or buy them know and they are the same price everywhere, $399, online or at Best Buy, so go pick them up at Best Buy and look at an AVR receiver and Blu Ray player while you are there. Then buy good quality 14 guage all strand oxygen free all copper wire and a subwoofer cable with double ended gold plated RCA jacks and an ethernet cable to connect to your internet unless your receiver has WiFi and you are off and running. I would recommend a receiver that includes a microphone to do it's own speaker adjustments and turn it on and be amazed as I have been in the last 2 weeks. I love these speakers and so will you.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality, a reasonable price, incredible sound
About me... practical, Technically challenged, doesn't like to waste money unnecessarily
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Outstanding for Master Bedroom

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MrJMW
from San Diego California
on 03/22/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact to fit in entertainment center. great sound quality!
What's not so great: Nothing!
I wanted some better than average sound quality from my newly purchased 42" LED Panasonic TV in my bedtroom. I purchased the Energy Take 1 Classic System because Bose equipment, which I prefer was just a tad too expensive. I couldn't be happier with the sound quality and the cabinet finish on the speakers and sub-woofer. Best Buy Geek Squad set up the entire system for me, and I highly recommend Best Buy for great price & service.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... practical, cost conscious, Perfectionist, appreciates good craftsmanship
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

This speakers are simply awesome.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 03/01/2013
Just bought a house and I was looking for a good speaker system to complement my marantz 1403. I started out with boss acoustimass 10 which sounded incredibly good while watching movies and playing my Xbox. However, I it was lacking that cutting edge while listening to music, and for that price tag, I didn't think I should have to compromise. So I returned it for the klipsch quintet iv with se 350 sub. It wasn't bad itself but a friend recommended the take classic 5. I was a little skeptical given the modest price tag of $399. I bought it anyway and all I could say was , Oh my God. The sound quality was unbelievable. Especially after setting my crossover at 120 htz for all my satt. Speakers. Within an hour, I had my neighbor at my door step. I can go on and on about these speaker system. They are simply a bargain for your bucks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Energy - Take Classic 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System with 200W Subwoofer

Take Energy 5.1 Speaker System -

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tyinappalachia
from Western NC
on 12/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent sound quality for the money there is not another better deal on the planet!
What's not so great: nothing
Bought these a year ago along with a Denon AVR-1912 and a Samsung 40' Led 3D Flatscreen. What a great combination! The receiver is not the easiest thing to program for the best results but after taking some time this system sounds phenomenal for the amount paid for it. Extremely happy. You cant go wrong with the TE 5.1 Speakers if your on a budget this is the way to go! Get some good 16 gauge or 14 gauge speaker wire for this system online.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality, excellent sound, good looking, excellent quality
About me... practical
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>