Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Model: NS-39L700A12
SKU: 3689052
UPC: 600603145988
Dual HDMI inputs make it easy to connect a Blu-ray Disc player or high-definition game console to this Insignia™ 39" Insignia™ LCD HDTV, letting you enjoy your favorite movies and games in stunning 1080p resolution with 6000:1 dynamic contrast.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 128 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
45
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
5
85% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
109 out of 128
)
Customer Reviews for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Review 1 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Poor

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: 12spa66
on 05/15/2012
What's great about it: Zero
What's not so great: Everything
I had a new Insignia for 6mo and I started having problems with the picture staying on. I took it to the store and because it wouldn't duplicate the problem they wouldn't send it in for repair. That was my last purchase at Best Buy. the TV and there service is rotten
This product has... useless
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

bad to worst.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jivetastic
from chicago, IL
on 05/03/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: pixel life
bought tv on a saturday. cpl dead pixels within a cpl days. thursday.... row of dead pixels 2.5" long on lower left hand side of screen. by saturday(exactly a week), another row of dead pixels running parallel to the original. returned tv to store sunday.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Not compatible with Directv

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mdb22
from cottage grove, mn
on 05/01/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: does not receive HD content from Directv and some other 3rd party devices
just bought today and am very disappointed to learn, after hooking up Directv and tv and seeing standard def video from HDMI cable/HD directv, the Insignia ns-39L700A12 is not HD compatible with Directv. Has something to do with this tv's inability to recognize RGB vs YCbCr709. From doing some research, other people are having problems with xbox and the same issue. There apparently is a work around for the xbox, but adjusting the output signal from xbox. That is not an option with any directv receivers.
So if you have Directv, stay away from this tv.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Sound stopped working after 3 days of normal use.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Geroblue
from Biloxi
on 04/23/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Great Picture.
What's not so great: No sound
I bought it at $348 dollars. Took it home, 3 days later, no Sound. The number of connections could be improved to include more choices.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Disappointed

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: acrunabout
from Williamsport PA
on 02/17/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Picture Quailty
Picture is sub par to say the least. On ps3 the colors just look awful. Would not recommend getting.
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-3points
12out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

You Get What You Pay For

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MmmDietCoke
from Los Angeles, CA
on 05/20/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Decent Picture, Lightweight, Stylish/Sleek Design, Affordable
What's not so great: Picture flickers when unit has been on for over an hour, Sound Quality
This is a great budget TV. Made by Best Buy from a mix of parts from other name-manufacturers, this TV is affordable for its size and quality. However, the sound is tinny. This can be overcome by attaching the TV to a surround-sound system. The picture is clear and crisp, especially the Hi-Def channels. However, the one fault of this TV is for some reason it starts to flicker uncontrollably if it's been on for over an hour. When store staff were asked if this was a known problem, they responded in the affirmative. It will cost you $90 to ship it back to Insignia to be repaired or replaced. My recommendation: spend the extra $100 and go for a name-brand TV or get the extended warranty at check-out.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control, known flaws
About me... Casual viewer, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Exchanged

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: pendyrus
from Maryland
on 05/08/2012
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: The price
What's not so great: The picture
The picture quality wasn't all that great, but for the price, really, what did I expect? On one set of over-the-air channels, the sound wouldn't synch up with the picture, even after re-re-scanning the channels. Plus, the reception was not as good as the old TV (but that one cost twice as much and only lasted 4 years). And, I couldn't view pictures from my camera despite the USB input. We exchanged this model for a smaller, yet more expensive, Samsung. Night and day difference. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for. . .This is no bargain, even on a budget!
This product has... Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Picture blurry - returned for 42" plasma

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: palila
from Truckee
on 04/22/2012
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Picture blurry
Got this for a smaller room and didnt want to pay a lot for a replacement for a standard TV. There is a lot of light in this room, so CNET reviews said that LCD was better than plasma for high light rooms. I wanted the 1020p, as well, as this was supposed to make the picture crisper. We plugged it in and the picture was not good at all. Any action was blurry and the only mode that was good was the standard, small mode that was no bigger than the standard (bubble-back) TV that we replaced. Took it back for the Insignia 42" Plasma 720p/60hz and we are much happier. We may have spent $50 more , but the picture quality is worth it. For $80 more than this 39" LCD, is the 40" plasma 1080p/60Hz looked clearer than the 42" 720p one that we got. We had already got the 720p, so we are going to use it for a week or so and see if we want to upgrade. The 40" plasma is in the store, but not online. You may want to go to the store to check these out before you select your TV.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

No output so can't hook up to soundbar.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: RetiredLTC
from Evans, GA
on 04/04/2012
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: No outputs.
Didn't do research on this and paid dearly. I bought this b/c salesman told me it had outputs to hook up the Sony Soundbar I was also buying. (never ever trust anyone...do your research, my bad!) Brought it home and low and behold, no outputs. Took it right back the next day and I was fumming! The GM took care of me though.
This product has... Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

For the money Picture ok, Sound not so good.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Fordman9870
from Central IL
on 04/04/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: SOUND.. My daughters Barbie walky talkies are better
The sound totally Sucks, even after tweaking and turning way up, it sounds horrible, For the money the picture quality is good. If i could have found another one with a better refresh rate I would have spent a few more $$. But it works for me for now.
I am now looking to purchase a sound bar for this one as the audio is useless.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Good price, bad quality.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: crsobe
from Aventura, FL
on 03/14/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: sound quality
The TV has a fairly decent picture when watching from straight on, but the picture looked completely washed out when looking from an angle. Picture sharpness is decent, but color quality is not. The worst thing about this TV is the sound. It sounds almost as bad as a 1960's transistor radio. After one week, I returned it and bought an LG, which I'm happy with.
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Picture is dissapointing.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: CrazyRainbows
from Texas
on 03/08/2012
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, sound is great, lightweight
What's not so great: picture quality
I got this yesterday to finally replace my old standard def television (which still works and looks wonderful btw). It looked pretty good in the store and it was right in my price range, but unfortunately I guess I didn't pay close enough attention to the picture quality. I got it home and hooked up my PS3 to see how one of my more impressive games looked.
I was incredibly disappointed. Uncharted 3 looked only moderately better on this than it did on my standard def. The picture was blurry and subtitles were dull where they should be clear and crisp. The colors of the game, even after a lot of time playing around with settings, just seemed kind of strange.
I've played my PS3 on our living room's HDTV (32" Samsung) and it looks amazing. Neither my cousin, mother, nor myself can even tell I have the HDMI cables plugged in with this television. I'll be returning this today and hopefully finding a nicer television in my price range.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Severely Disappointed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: ScottChicago
from Chicago
on 03/06/2012
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Size of TV
What's not so great: Sound and Choppy Motion.
When I saw this TV as one of the featured TVs for a $100 off, I was excited. I thought that this was the right TV for me.
What is great about it? Easy to set up, the size (39") is perfect for a small entertainment room area.
What's not so great? The sound as other earlier reviewers stated is tin sounding. Even when you bring the bass and treble up it doesn't even compare to an old Philips 32" tube TV that I still have. It is 2012 electronics companies, why are these TVs coming out with poor sound? TVs that were made 15 years ago sound 10x better than some of these TVs out now.
The other major problem with this TV and the reason why I am considering returning this item is that the picture is too choppy especially when watching DVDs. You really notice the blurriness and choppiness the closer you get to the TV. Even sitting 5 ft. away you notice it. I guess I will have to upgrade to a higher HZ setting with my next purchase.
This product has... Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-6points
7out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Fine television for small children

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: akahogan
from Austin, TX
on 04/25/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The price for the size
What's not so great: The quality
Works fine for kids, they don't notice the quality loss compared with higher Hz LCDs. Works fine and the price was great.
This product has... Great value and features for the price
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Not quite the picture quality of my Dell but good

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: DrBS
from San Diego
on 04/25/2012
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: The price
What's not so great: the picture
Well, the price was good and the delivery. Limited connections and the quality of the HD isd not near as good as my prior Dell. Somewhat diasppointed but you do get what youpay for...I feel the color needs better claibration than factory standards.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Love to stream movies, retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

color fades watch on angles

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: swance
from pompton lakes new jersey
on 04/19/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: light weight
What's not so great: can't use HDMI cable to adjust volume with cable remote
I cannot use hdmi cable with remote from cable to be able to adjust sound.. Tech from cable company had to sse componet wires in order for the volume adjust to work with remote from IO tv from cablevision.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

ok for price would buy it again.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: gtherio
from east elmhurst
on 04/19/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: picture
What's not so great: cant adjust the color?
good value for the price! picture is not bad for brand, i like it.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Good sound

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Visitor
from Webster
on 04/12/2012
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Picture quality
I bought this TV the same month as the launch. The promo price was attractive. It has a great sound quality form a flat tv. The picture quality is decent, though I would have liked it to be better. The connecting sockets are conveniently located. What I don't like about the TV is that every time. I change a channel, the tv resizes the picture every time. So the channel change is not smooth though in the end you get proper switch.
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Miller2921
from Antioch,TN
on 04/11/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price and Features
Price was wonderful for the value with all the included features
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Insignia™ 39" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Very good value except for ONE thing.....

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Beartronix
from Fort Worth, TX
on 03/18/2012
What's great about it: great value and very good picture, should be reliable based on previous Insignias
What's not so great: doesn't allow you to adjust color, tint, sharpness on HDMI high definition inputs
When I saw this on sale for 329.99, I had to get it. I have a 2 year old Insignia 32" 1080p tv and I love it. Very good picture. So I knew this would be very comparable. After hooking it up to my HD cable box using the HDMI connections (for the highest quality picture), I began to adjust the contrast, brightness, color, tint, sharpness. On the HDMI inputs, they assume the picture is so good that you don't need to adjust anything except brightness and contrast. The other adjustments for color, tint, sharpness are "grayed out". I am a bit picky so like to adjust them to my liking. Since a picture thru HDMI jacks is such a detailed picture, you can run the sharpness all the way up on most HDTVs and have an incredible picture. Not on this one. That's like buying a car with a stick shift for the fun of it, and then finding out there is only 1 gear. Unacceptable to me and I returned it. Most people may not care or even think about it, but that's pretty lame to have such a good tv, but it can't be adjusted to your settings. Even under the "custom picture", you can only adjust contrast and brightness. I returned it and the clerk told me that his Sony 46" was the same way. That's very lame for manufacturers to do.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>