Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Model: 49981
SKU: 3726367
UPC: 040094499816
Quickly brew a single serving of hot coffee with this coffeemaker that features 1 stainless-steel scoop filter designed to measure and filter a single cup of coffee. The adjustable-height stand allows brewing into a travel mug or cup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.13 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 69 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
3
86% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
59 out of 69
)
Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Works well for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: acn26
on 06/12/2015
As a relatively low-middle end coffee maker, it does a decent job. To make stronger coffee, you need to use more coffee relative to water, pack the grounds down softly, pre-wet them a tiny bit, and then use the bold setting.
I got this becuase I wanted a machine that made one cup at a time and to avoid using K-cups.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2942397057
My Best Buy number: 2942397057
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Great little coffee maker for one cup at a time.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gilbert69
on 02/09/2015
Bought this as an alternative to the 10 cup coffee maker I own and the more popular k-cup maker. I can make a single cup using my own coffee so this is a real money saver over the k-cups. It comes with two screens that do not require filters that are very easy to empty and rinse.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2175509784
My Best Buy number: 2175509784
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Great Coffee Maker

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: angelbella26
on 01/29/2015
I like the idea that I can make a single serve cup of Coffee without having to purchase kcups.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0327112776
My Best Buy number: 0327112776
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Excellent product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Samuel
on 01/19/2015
I've had no issues with the coffeemaker. Be aware: while it isn't an issue for me, the device isn't compatible with the "K-cups" that some other coffeemakers can use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2516655866
My Best Buy number: 2516655866
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Great coffee in 90 seconds

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jms601
on 01/16/2015
I bought one of these to replace my Keurig, which was old and worn out. This brews a larger cup of coffee, brews hotter, and takes up much less counter space. It's quick and it's easy to adjust how much coffee and how strong you want it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2647671797
My Best Buy number: 2647671797
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Good value convenience

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: NCSoxFan
from Southern Pines, NC
on 01/02/2015
I purchased this coffee brewer as an alternative to the Keurig. It brews hotter than the Keurig and is easy to use, clean, and store. I prefer this over the Keurig as we grind our own coffee and it eliminates the need for buying the K-cups.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2090703793
My Best Buy number: 2090703793
Mobile Submission: True
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Better then pods

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jennifer
on 12/28/2014
Buying an expensive "pod" style for one cup of coffee is terrible. As a one cup a day coffee drinker, this machine is great plus you get to use your own coffee instead of trying to figure out which prepacked pod of coffee you'll like
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0079294911
My Best Buy number: 0079294911
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

I like this coffe maker

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jbbuy01
on 12/26/2014
this is nice produce I recommend. No k cups needed :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2654235531
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Great coffee maker

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SudParent
from Cuyahoga Falls,Ohio
on 12/24/2014
Great way to make loose leaf teas as well as coffees. Love being able to make strong or weak tea or coffee.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2374062981
My Best Buy number: 2374062981
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Does not fill the large cup

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MrEd
from Georgia
on 12/23/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Returned this item. It doesn't fill the large cup shown on the box. Worse, if you pour too much water there is a hole in the back and the water spills all over the counter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0211466466
My Best Buy number: 0211466466
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

good

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: bigphil10456
on 12/10/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Its ok make sure you clean it constantly if not coffe will tast water down but when clean excellent coffee
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2376745622
My Best Buy number: 2376745622
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Just one cup of coffee

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Tata
on 12/09/2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Easy to use. Easy to wash. However, I Wish it would take a slightly larger cup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2791647921
My Best Buy number: 2791647921
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Sick Taste

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: EricNFayetteville
on 11/14/2014
Worked fine. Tasted like burnt plastic. I am taking it back!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 3315213325
My Best Buy number: 3315213325
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Good Cuppa

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rachael
on 11/14/2014
Great for when you want a good quick cup of coffee.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Great coffee maker!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: reviewingforpoints
on 10/21/2014
I needed a coffee maker that made small amounts because I never drink a whole pot, but I didn't want a Keurig due to the cost and waste. This coffee maker will make a cup or travel mug amount, is easy to clean, and at a great price. I would recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2725577461
My Best Buy number: 2725577461
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

excellent coffee brewer for just one cup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Howie
on 10/11/2014
Very economical for a single person. The brewer is easily cleaned after each use and brews a steaming cup of delicious coffee in a matter of about 2 minutes. The brewer will accommodate small to large cups and the baskets are easily removed for cleaning; no paper filters needed. The strainer catches all of the grounds for a clear, clean and delicious cup of coffee!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3318435885
My Best Buy number: 3318435885
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Awesome Single Cup Coffee Maker

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HueDude
on 10/10/2014
This coffee maker is exactly what I needed! Its compact size deters me from putting away after every use, letting the sleek design be on display. Compared to other single serving coffee makers this was economically the smart choice, as it is designed to use any ground coffee.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0906729340
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

could not get rid of plastic taste

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: mydogandcat
on 10/04/2014
I tried running many pots of a water through and then many pots of coffee. The plastic taste would not go away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2683034976
My Best Buy number: 2683034976
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Good Enough

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MrRoss
on 09/26/2014
I like it. It's not the best coffee maker, but it's liquid gold for a dad rushing out of the house every morning. If you use any cup that's shorter than six inches, it will spit at you. If you have anything longer than 7 inches...well you won't because tall cups don't fit. Tates? You won't lick your cup clean (or I hope you won't), but it makes pretty good coffee. I've only tried Folgers so far. I couldn't get a super bold taste, but again, it works for one cup. Also remember, if you want the coffee hot, you have to run the machine twice. Once with just water and another time with the coffee. I prefer the warm temperature, though. It helps me zip out of the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0598478212
My Best Buy number: 0598478212
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach - The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker - Stainless-Steel

Brews a great cup of coffee

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EEinFC
from Fort Collins, CO
on 09/24/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, makes good coffee
What's not so great: Coffee spatter with some mugs
I bought this coffee maker to replace another single cup coffee maker that died about a month ago. I was going to go with a well-known, name brand pod-based coffee maker, but I didn't see any that really fit my needs.
I came across this machine and liked the scoop approach. The brushed aluminum appearance was also appealing, and it seemed to be pretty sturdy. Since it was much less expensive than the other maker I had been considering, I decided to give it a try.
The coffee maker comes with two scoops that double as a first-level coffee filter. There is a finer secondary filter that catches finer coffee grounds. As it turns out, providing two scoops was a really good idea--it allows one to use a dry scoop while rinsing out the other scoop.
There are two settings for brewing the coffee: regular and bold. I've only used the bold setting, and it works very well. In the bold setting, brewing pauses at different points to provide a better extraction and more robust flavor.
Even average grounds taste excellent with this coffee maker. Using normal grounds is also much less expensive than buying coffee pods.
There is one down-side I've seen in the reviews and can confirm. The coffee maker does have an option for normal coffee mugs or tall coffee mugs (the face plate can be removed and flipped upside down to get a smaller cup closer to the spout), but if there is much space between the spout and the cup/mug, some coffee will spatter.
My mugs aren't a great fit, but I've found that if I set my larger mug on a scrap of ?x?x1" wood or my smaller mug on two stacked scraps of ?x?x1" wood, the spatter is seldom an issue. Given the quality of the coffee, how quickly it brews, and how cost effective it is, the spatter issue is very easy to overlook.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0781194547
My Best Buy number: 0781194547
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>