Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Model: C781
SKU: 3727223
UPC: 856197004006
This Casio Ravine 2 C781 cell phone features a rugged design for durability and simple call features, including push-to-talk and speakerphone for easy operation. Wirelessly connect to the Internet with 3G speed. Requires a voice plan with a data pack $20 or higher. Early termination fee of $175. Verizon Edge option available in store. Learn more ›
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 26 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
23 out of 26
)
Customer Reviews for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
Review 1 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

UNIQUE CELL-PHONE FEATURING MUCH MORE THAN LOOKS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GREAT2BHERE
from U.S.A.
on 03/22/2014
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: DURABLE WITHIN REASON WITH MORE SUBSTANCE THAN "PRETTY" CELL PHONES
What's not so great: THE BATTERY: REQUIRES FREQUENT RECHARGE & SHORT-LIVED POWER PER CHARGE
This Casio Cell-Phone is positively unique. Obviously, it's not for those who place excessive importance on aesthetic appeal, but rather for those who want and need features that "pretty", "flashy", or "cute" looking smart phones don't offer. A "smart" version is available, yet its appearance is somewhat unpleasant, even though that is not really a significant issue with regard to the purpose of this type of cell phone. It is an acquired taste, per se, and is to be thoroughly appreciated by users who require its features, for example in rough terrains and in potentially abusive atmospheres and fields of work for most digital devices, such as construction. A very useful feature of almost all similar models is the push-to-talk feature, which allows for#if all users subscribe to the same service and network# an essential means of practical communication and direct contact in special circumstances. For those users in my specific situation, I've always preferred a phone, camera, etc. that can withstand a bit of rough and tough handling or, just in case, an unanticipated occurrence, come what may. As with most of these models that supposedly meet so-called "military specifications", it must be recognized that the true beauty lies within its uniquely considered construction. It is a bit larger, bulkier, and heavier than other "basic" cell phones, which, in my opinion, is a plus and gives it a substantial feel and a more secure grip. To be candid, I must assert the fact that neither this, nor other such models, are nearly as resistant to various damages as is often strongly claimed. That having been clarified, nevertheless, this is a rather sturdy and durable device, particularly when compared to other available options on the market. Besides, while it is in the classification of "basic" models, it's definitely not a usual "basic" phone. Further, worthy of mention, whether you are using the standard or the slightly harder-to-find extended-life battery; with even rather normal usage, the battery power-per-charge is unreasonably short-lived and requires frequent recharging...either via AC or portable-power-pack. Regardless, of those positive aspects and others I've indicated here, this line of Casio cell phone is, by and large, superior in many ways. I must not neglect to mention the benefits of a larger, easy to view clock and date on the outside, the more recent model offers an option of a mildly better than ordinary quality camera, and the convenience of communicating#on speaker setting# even when it's flipped closed. Last but not least, I have saved one of its best aspects for the conclusion of my review; namely, featured is one of the most superior caliber#realistically loud and clear# speakers of any comparison model of cell phone. After all, all factors considered, I had purchased one and, shortly afterwards, decided to buy a second. So, I do indeed absolutely like this Casio cell phone more than not. Hope all these details prove helpful to prospective purchasers.
This product is... Tough/durable, Good video quality, better than ordinary built-in camera, excellent audio quality on speaker-mode
About me... Use for phone calls only, Business Professional, Need phone to keep me organized, need durability and dependability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Phone size:Just right
My Best Buy number: 2561306850
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

It's an all around great phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: alocca98
from Eau Claire, WI
on 03/07/2014
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: every thing
What's not so great: no complaints
I've had two these phones now and I've been very satisfied
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... Use for phone calls only
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Phone size:Just right
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

very rugged phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: myluckycat3
from pike county pa
on 02/08/2014
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: can withstand sitting in water for days and still work with no probolem
What's not so great: apparently, extreme cold causes it to freeze
my husband has owned many of these phones throughout the years and the only problems he has had has been with the older ones. One he accidently ran over with the bucket loader (it didn't survive), and the one before that, the charger port stopped working. The last one he had, he lost at work and found it 4 days later in an old tire filled with water. It was still on and worked with no problems. He kept it for months after until we got the new one. Definitely worth getting if working with heavy equipment or high dust or fall risks.
This product is... Easy navigation, Tough/durable
About me... My phone is my life
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
My Best Buy number: 0908624148
My Best Buy number: 0908624148
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Good service. Tough.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Spirit1969
from Erin,Tn
on 07/15/2013
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use.
What's not so great: Hard to plug up charger.
Do not like volume control on the side too easy to change. Otherwise a good phone.
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
Phone size:Just right
My Best Buy number: 1041253219
My Best Buy number: 1041253219
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Great features

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: duddybut
from Bolingbrook, IL
on 06/21/2013
What's great about it: Very durable for use.
What's not so great: Like everything.
In my line of work phone phone has been dropped and ruined. This phone has be dropped and very durable.
This product is... Easy navigation, Tough/durable
About me... My phone is my life, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
My Best Buy number: 2801357970
My Best Buy number: 2801357970
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

BIG UPGRADE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: booperq
from PA
on 11/07/2012
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Big Improvement frome the Ravine 1
What's not so great: Nothing so far
Had the G'zone Ravine 2 for a day and seen lots of improvements from the first Ravine. Audio is much improved and taking pictures also with lots more settings to improve the pictures. Texting is much easier as the key pad is lined up much better. My first Ravine lived up to it's expectations as I dropped it in a sink full of dish water and came out working like nothing has happened. Needed a cell for rough taking and this one hasn't failed me yet. Was due for a new cell and the Ravine 2 is what I needed.
This product is... Easy navigation, Tough/durable, Good video quality
About me... Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Phone size:Just right
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

great flip phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MISTERFOO
from Indiana
on 08/31/2012
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: flip
What's not so great: all great
It is ruggid easy to use flip phone larger keypad easier to text with.
charge lasts reasonable length of time.
This product is... Easy navigation, Tough/durable
About me... Heavy texter, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Phone size:Just right
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

great phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: polarbeartony
from baltimore md
on 08/09/2012
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: n/a
my old phone was a ravine 1 it was junk verison 2 has fixed the bugs from the frist model
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Phone size:Just right
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Great phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RichO1
from Prospect,CT
on 06/28/2012
What's great about it: Good battery life. Simple to use. Won't make calls from your pocket.
This phone has everything I need and more. I was looking for a flip style that was rugged. It was much cheaper at Best Buy than the Verison store, and It came the next day. Best cell phone I ever owned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Great phone!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Electromom55
from Phoenix, az
on 06/12/2012
What's great about it: It works well and the ringer is load enough.
What's not so great: getting into the text reading screen is difficult.
Bought this phone for my husband, because my son has the previous version and it has held up to his life as a plumber.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... Use for phone calls only
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Very good all around phone.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Igore
from Superior WI
on 05/09/2012
What's great about it: Everything works as it should.
What's not so great: A little bigger than regular phones.
My first non LG phone that I liked even better. Text messages are easy and fast with the best T9 ever. Compass feature is nice as well as temp and a few other extras. Phone is very tough and water proof with large display and easy keys. The only thing that could be better in a basic phone is the size because I like the tiny phones but I break them all the time so it is a good trade off.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

waterproof...what else is there to say?

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ajlu
from minneapolis, mn
on 03/08/2012
Looks cool, has great gadgets, and its water proof. A man's phone. Goes places you would be afraid to take an iPhone.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Great Phone, Minor Screen Problem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ALS07
from Ohio
on 01/12/2012
The Casio Ravine 2 is another great tough phone by Casio. This is my third one and it doesn't disappoint. However I wish that it had the push button open that my last one had. Also it tends to drain the battery because the G'zGear button on the side gets bumped and it stays on when the phone is closed. This is easy to fix however by reprogramming that button. I do have a new phone coming, as mine had a smudge on the external screen that made it hard to read the time, and Best Buy has replaced it. Overall, it is a great phone for what I need!.
This product is... Tough/durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Rugged phone with great reception

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bubblehead
from VA
on 12/29/2011
My buddy recently purchased this phone and after seeing how well made it is, I decided to get one. I fish, jet ski and boat most of the year. A rugged phone, overall, this phone is designed "old school" but with modern conveniences. It is basically a flip phone with 3G. You have to text via the number buttons but you can get used to doing so rather quickly. I'm not willing to move up to a smart phone and to pay a bunch of extra money per month for a data plan. This phone meets my needs.
Immediately, I noticed how good the reception was with the phone. My previous phone was the Samsung Intensity 1 and if I was indoors and moved my head the wrong way, it would lose connectivity. No problems with the Ravine 2.
As a boater, I like the tide chart. It only works for specific areas (i.e. VA Beach is the closest to me). You have to check a chart for the difference between your true area and the locations the phone provides. It would be nice if it allowed you to add you location by zip code but I can live with adding an hour when I pull it up.
The thermometer takes a while to calibrate. It is a neat feature. During rock fish season, you can see how cold it is out on the water.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... outdoorsman
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
38out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

ringer volum good ,could be better,louder

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 4440
from liberty,in
on 02/08/2013
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: can here ring some time
What's not so great: short battery life
good phone could be louder workes good for farmers
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

HandsFree link issues otherwise great phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Choseylady
from Pottsville Pa
on 07/10/2012
What's great about it: durability, volume, keypad buttons are just the right size
What's not so great: bluetooth function, manual could be more detailed
The bluetooth function doesn't seem to be compatible with my vehicle. Phone keeps disconnecting and reconnecting after ending a call. The hands-free link is an important feature for me. Apparently, the phone has not been tested for compatibility with my particular auto. Bummer! The phone is only 3 months old and the vehicle was just purchased 2 weeks ago. Also info in the manual is very limited. Could use some improvement here. If you are looking for a phone you can hear well...this is it. Two important features for me are durability, voice and ring volume. A+ here.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good call quality, excellent volume adjustment
About me... hands-free link is important to me, limited texting
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

good phone for older person like me.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: patti151
from Clifton, CO
on 05/30/2012
What's great about it: It has loud ring tones.
What's not so great: color
The phone is great. It was the service I got when I went to the Best Buy to get my information from my old phone to the new one I bought from Best Buy that was the problem. Those guy didn't have a clue. They hooked it up and I waited for at least 20 minutes. At that time they said they had my contacts transfered but could not transfer my pictures. Well when I went to use my phone to call someone come to find out they hadn't even transfered my contacts. I transfered my contacts manually and will have to pay $10.00 to have Verizon to do the pictures. It is because of this I may not choose to purchase my next phone from Best Buy.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... it is simple to use and heavy duty, has a loud ring
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Really Good Phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LMS25
from Long Isalnd NY
on 04/12/2012
What's great about it: Sturdy - Solid
What's not so great: Texting is a bit cumbersome until you get used to it
Really good phone - a big improvement over my old EN3 which constantly shut off and pocket dialed... Very solid - a little heavy but you quickly get used to it. The battery lasts 4 days - why is that a problem? Texting is a little strange but easy to get used to. Like many phones the texts are organized by sender and you have to be careful what you delete. Takes good pix also. All in all the goods outweigh the bads significantly. I believe it will last a long time and that's what I wanted.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Great phone for every day use and abuse

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Newport
from Deerfield beach,Fl
on 04/12/2012
What's great about it: Rugged and solid.Good for every occasion.Waterproof
What's not so great: Charger port gets loose after many uses and looses contact.Not something to be proud about in a urged phone.
Good phone overall,charging it after a year gets hard because of the loose connection in the port.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Casio - Ravine 2 Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Great Basic Phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kevin0811
from carroll, IA
on 03/01/2012
What's great about it: Durable, call quality, and pic and video
What's not so great: Battery life but its really not that bad
This is probably the best phone I have ever purchased. Really like the weight and size. It's perfect for someone who uses a phone for making calls and texts. The only reason it doesn't get five stars is because the battery life isn't the greatest but not the worst I have had over the years. It's definately not a reason not to get this phone. Call quality is great and pictures are clear.
This product is... Short battery life, Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good video quality, Good call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>