Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Model: 89510N
SKU: 3754696
UPC: 723755895102
MOTOACTV is a GPS fitness tracker and smart music player combined into a lightweight, wearable device. Stay in shape while listening to your favorite songs.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3.0
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
50% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
8 out of 16
)
Customer Reviews for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black
Review 1 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Buyer beware

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MikeGadget
from MA
on 09/27/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Accuracy of Reading
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Easy to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It works even after the screen pops off of the frame.
What's not so great: The warranty is worthless, and the screen pops out of the frame.
The Motoactv was used on a wrist strap routinely and on a bicycle occasionally.
After 90 days the screen released from the frame exposing the innards.
Motorola turned their back on the warranty claiming it was “damaged”.
Never bothered to ask, just a conclusion without any root cause investigation.
Fix it for more money is their position. Well here is mine, don't waste your money on this product. The manufacturer doesn't honor the warranty.
This product has... Attractive design, Useful features, poor warranty terms
About me... casual user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Junk!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Xombie
from Humble
on 03/22/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Looks Great, Easy to Use (if it worked)
What's not so great: Cannot do the simplest functions it was designed to do.
Only after buying the watch did I read reviews in the Motorola forums and boy Buyer Beware.. Other than all the nifty features (some of which stopped working the first day) and the fact that it looks super cool this thing is junk. Let me explain. Easy to use yes, but after getting all set up and downloading the latest software from the Motoactv site it was fine the first day. On the second the pedometer stopped counting steps and of course in turned stopped counting calories. Next the "Shake to Wake" feature stopped working (as I'm trying to show a few co-workers the coolness of it).... Support from Motorola (online) was poor. In all fairness I didn't use any of the other features. Just the fact it can't perform the simplest of functions was enough for me to return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Very versatile device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zapp314
from Austin, TX
on 03/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: By far more technologically advanced than the ipod nano, great price for what you get, all-in-one device, easy to use
What's not so great: At first it can be difficult to remove from the clip or armband but I got accustomed to it
A couple of years ago I was able to run several miles on a regular basis, but I had to stop for a couple of years due to time constraints. Now that things have settled down, I have starting to pick up running again. However, since I have been out of my routine for a couple of years I have noticed that I cannot simply run the distance I did before without succumbing to an injury. So I needed a device that would allow me to track my distance so that I can increase it at an appropriate gradient and not injure myself.
I wanted to purchase a device that would meet ALL of my needs. I strongly considered the iPod Nano with the Nike accessories because my wife has been happy with hers. I have been generally been satisfied with purchasing Apple MP3 players in the past. I had recently heard of the Motoactv, but the price point of $250 for the 8 GB was too high for me. When I went to Best Buy to purchase the iPod Nano, I discovered the Motoactv was on sale for $200. That got me to thinking about all of the accessories I would need to purchase just to make me satisfied with purchasing the iPod Nano. I was not particularly happy with having to purchase the Nike running accessories. I feel that feature should just be built into the Nano. Plus, I would have to purchase an armband, a pouch to put the Nike shoe sensor since I don't own Nike running shoes, and some athletic headphones because the Apple headset is awful for athletics. Considering all of this, I decided to take Best Buy up on their 30 day return window to see if the Motoactv could meet my needs.
Let me start by saying that I love Android products because of their versatility. I have an HTC Evo and Asus Transformer Prime. I wanted an portable MP3 player that is as versatile as those systems. With the Motoactv, I am able to add music and podcasts to it from those devices as well as my Mac computer and PC without any issues. I am very happy that I purchased the Motoactv instead of the iPod Nano. I have tried to add music tracks to my iPod shuffle using itunes though my PC after I have used it with the Mac. It makes me reformat it. This is not the case with the Motoactv. I am able to sync the device with a playlist I create in itunes, which makes me extra happy. Also, the headset that comes with he Motoactv is a great for running.
I could go on about how happy I am with my purchase, but let me just finish by pointing out that I am only using the basic features of the Motoactv thus far such as tracking my distance for running and adding music. I am sure there are many more features that I have not tapped so far. Also, if I want to purchase accessories for monitoring my heart rate and biking statistics then I am able to do so. For now I am just extremely happy with the basic features of the device by itself. This is truly a versatile piece of equipment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Great little device!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sglider12
from Aubrey, TX
on 02/29/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: durable, compact, easy to use, good price, many features
What's not so great: nothing
I absolutely love this little thing. It has many features and is very easy to use. For those complaining about battery life, you need to update it on your computer first to address that issue. I love the software that comes with it for tracking your stats. It's very detailed and informative.
What's cool is the smart DJ. I do notice somewhat of an increase in performance when it plays the more motivating songs of course haha.
It's very durable and I love that the touch screen is scratch resistant, too. I use it when I run so I bought some Rocketfish bluetooth headphones (I included the link) to use with it to get rid of that cord that I always hated when using my iPod. Very cool device! Worth checking out!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Rocketfish Mobile - RF-MAB2 High-Definition Stereo Bluetooth Headphones - Black
4.3 out of 5(606)
 
 
 
Motorola - Sports Wrist Strap for MOTOACTV Device - Black/Red
4.1 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
Motorola - Armband for MOTOACTV Device - Black/Red
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Hard to beat for compactness and features.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mattwww
from La Crosse, WI
on 02/27/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: A lot of features packed into a small device
What's not so great: The personal stats website is good, but could use some more features and polish
I've been using the MotoActv for a little over a month now and really like it. Having the MP3 player and GPS / workout tracker all in one unit is great. Motorola has done 2 software updates for the unit in the time that I've had it that have improved batter life and usability. It was a disappointment that Motorola pulled the wireless headphones from stores (SF700) that were supposed to work with the unit to provide heart rate monitoring. Apparently this is hard to do through the ears?! It does work well with chest strap ANT+ HRMs though.
I tried the SF600 headphones with it and wasn't impressed with them, mostly because they didn't fit well and kept coming out of my ears after running just a couple of miles. I've settled on 2 different wireless Bluetooth headphones that so far, I like much better - the Arriva Leo and the Jabra Sport. Both of these are a lot less expensive and have a better fit.
All of my running workouts to date have been indoors, and I have to say I'm impressed with how close the device's "guess" at distance is compared to the treadmill's recorded distance. (To learn your stride and pacing when you first configure it, it has you run for two minutes and record your actual distance.)
You can "slap" the face of the watch when you're running and it will read out your up to the second stats for your run(distance, HR, pace, etc.) - very cool feature.
The auto-sync to the MotoActv website via WiFi is *really* nice. As soon as your workout is done your stats are already on the website. No cords to mess with. You can review your distance, pace, heart rate, HR zones, etc.
All that being said, the device is a little more designed for the techno geek than the every day consumer, but it is getting better with each revision. Before this device I had run with a Garmin Forerunner 405 and a separate MP3 player. This eliminates the MP3 player (and cords) and does a much better job of recording indoor training.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Not a fan!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: flyb0071
from ogden utah
on 01/16/2012
I run with a group of girls all with different running watches and after our first 5 miles we compaired. Mine was almost a half mile off from the others and as we reset them for 4 more I found my battery almost drained. I had fully charged it the night before and had not even loaded music on it at this point so it's a concern once you load everything to it's potential just how much you'd be able to use it. I took mine back. Not a fan but LOVE my new Garmin Forerunner 110!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
11out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

The Best Fitness Device for me!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LovingNewMOTOACTV
from Upper Marlboro, MD
on 01/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Music Player/FM Radio/Podcasts, GPS & MotoActv Fitness Tracking
What's not so great: No Heart Rate Monitoring included, battery life
I bought this device w/o doing any true research but I knew I wanted something watch/arm-like and could help me manage/track my fitness. I was a little disappointed to find out that out of the box, HRM functionality is not included w/this price tag (it is expensive but not the most expensive) but it wasn't advertised like it was either. There are plenty of HRM devices out there (that are cheaper) but this device offers more than the others. It is an additional option with the purchase of the Motorola SF500 or SF700 headsets which includes HRM (out of stock everywhere though and increasing in popularity!). The reason I gave this little device all 5's instead of a return back to Best Buy, is because a software update (connecting the device to your computer w/MOTOCast software installed) and factory reset fixed everything that I read everybody else (myself included) complaining about in other blogs. Now, I am beyond happy plus the software update added more bells and whistles. MOTO ACTV, the online fitness program, is pretty good for tracking my fitness goals and not super complexed like some other Droid apps I've tried. I use the bluetooth to connect my Droid text/calls to the device so I don't miss important messages while working out. I wear the device w/the wristband but it came with a clip as well. I really like the ease of the touch screen functionality and how it learns which of my songs motivate me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Getting better....

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: wahoobie
from Virginia
on 01/06/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Solid GPS, does everything it claims to do, great alternative to those that currently run with smartphone and their app
What's not so great: costly
I have had my MotoActv for about almost month now and have had 3 software updates. Each one is making this device more solid with better battery life. The additional features have been nice add-ons as well. It doesn't do everything, but I'll tell ya it's spot on for my location and run tracking thus far. I have had NO PROBLEMS with it at all and though I wish for more features on the device and the web site it does do EVERYTHING it is publicized to do very well. I won't knock a product for not doing something it doesn't advertise.
This is a clear winner over my old methods of iPod Nano with the Nike+ kit and even over running with my Droid X. These phones are just too dang big to have in an armband or in a waist case that you can't access the screen/buttons safely.
I look forward to more use and hopefully more Moto-updates on this device....and I'd expect to be ready to buy v2 down the road with better battery life and an even thinner profile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Not ready for release

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: abos
from Waltham, MA
on 01/04/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: combination of music, map access, bluetooth, and ant+
What's not so great: software is 6-12 months from prime time (and progressing slowly)
A device with great potential but not ready for launch. I just never thought that a major company would do a full scale launch of a product without having their software written yet? Its just weird. Its the opposite of Apple, a company who has a polished product before it hits the market. For instance, routes cannot be publicly shared via the website (a very basic function of this device). Also, routes cannot be created yet (although the process is underway and the rough but very messed up software is half installed on the website). Can you imagine Apple leaving half written software on their public website, leaving customers to figure out what was wrong with it? Weird. Very weird. At any rate, if they fix all their bugs (route sharing, route generation, and improve the interface with the map), they'll end up with a pretty decent product. I just can't get over the fact that this watch was released with half the functions not working (all due to software issues). I get the feeling that there is literally just a couple of programmers working on this release. Free iphone apps are dramatically more complete and fine tuned than the moto website. A great idea, moto really needs to hire a few more programmers...I 'd go more into the benefits of this device relative to garmin and/or using a smart phone, but the software issues are just too distracting.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
2out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Great Potential cut short

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: clo22
from Miami,Fl
on 12/27/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Most features,display,music,gps,trainer,watch
What's not so great: Obviously the limitation of smart phone capability.Price should be less with this in mind.
How is Motorola going to release a product targeting athletes to techno junkies with the limitations of what phone you have? Being able to pair it with just a Motorola Android based phone makes no sense. Compare the percentage of athletes/techno junkies/watch enthusiasts with other smartphone to a specific populations of Motorola android based. It makes no sense to release a product to the world with one of the most expected features of push notifications of text/calls etc be so limited. I've been on several forums and a lot of returns are occurring because of this simple fact.Also there have been email from Motorola in these forums from support reps stating there is no intention of making work to full capabilities with any other phones....REALLY?!? I'm debating whether I will be one of those people or not because mine was gift from my g/f which worked really hard to get it for me. With that said everything else works great I also received the watch strap which is comfortable/lightweight/sturdy and the s10 HD bluetooth headset which sounds amazing and very comfortable User interface is easy and practical. Ive gotten a lot of compliments within my friends in the mountain/road biking community and Crossfit gym, but I always when asked about iphone capability, well you know the rest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
6out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Disappointed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: kevand
from Memphis, TN
on 12/06/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great features.
What's not so great: Battery life on long distance runs, especially when using all features.
This product is pretty good. I love it ease of use, large display, built-in MP3 and features. It didn't seem to keep an accurate pace at times but the average pace at the end of runs seemed fair.
The BIG problem I have is that the battery life is terrible. I used it during a marathon recently and the device died 3.5 hours into the race. I was highly upset. Because of previous runs, I was aware that the battery wasn't too great but I was hopeful. I avoided using the MP3 during the race. I kept the display turned off and used it only to check progress. At one point I figured I wouldn't check it anymore and just wait until the race was finished. Nothing helped. It died anyway.
Needless to say, I returned the product. I will have to go with a device that has a much better battery life.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
18out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Everything you need

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HappyMotoACTVuser
from California
on 11/12/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Accurate fitness monitoring, user-friendly interface, small, one of a kind product
What's not so great: Heart rate monitor is sold separately
If you read the description and know what to expect when you buy the product, there is no way you will be disappointed. I have it and have used it with the Armband, and it works spectacularly. I was looking at some of the top-end Garmin fitness monitors, but for the price and what you get, the MotoACTV blows them out of the water! None of the Garmins have a built in mp3 player! It is super easy to use and upload workouts! Great product for the price you pay for what you get! The heart rate monitor is sold separately, but if you want it, it is still cheaper than the leading competition!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+41points
51out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Another misleading picture/summary from BB.com

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: user15697426
on 11/10/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Device itself
What's not so great: Purchasing it from Best Buy
Although the picture shows a wrist strap and no where in the description does it say that the wrist strap is not included I picked mine up in store today and right on Motorola's box it says that no wrist strap is included. Best Buy needs to get their act together, this is the second time in a week that a misleading item on this site has caused me pain.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-96points
17out of 130found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

4 Stars and not even released yet?

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: D200133
from Arkansas
on 11/07/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Features
What's not so great: Can't use Features unless you upgrade your headset
It amazes me that people review this product before its even release. The fact is I dont know if it is or is not a good product but I do know its over priced. It sounds like a nice product for a decent price if it included the SF700 Bluetooth headset. But it doesn't! at $299 I would like to know why the Headset isnt included.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-106points
11out of 128found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Uses ANT+

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BPinAZ
from Arizona
on 10/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Brent -
This thing uses ANT+ so it will work with all sorts of HRM, etc...
Good pre-review here: http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2011/10/motorola-motoactv-thoughts-and-analysis.html
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
32out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MOTOACTV - GPS Fitness Tracker and 8GB Smart Music Player - Black

Overpriced

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Brent07
from Adana, Turkey
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Awesome features in a compact/portable fitness device
What's not so great: Does not include the headset necessary for heart rate monitoring. The heart rate headsets are $99 - $149 separately.
I never write reviews on products before they come out as I feel like they don't get a fighting chance to make a name for itself.
The problem I have is that this watch advertises that it will count your calories, pace, music, ect.. but what they fail to notify you of is that to have the watch operate fully (counting calories) you must purchase the MOTOACTV SF500 wired ($99) or the MOTOACTV SF700 bluetooth ($149) which are not included. The additional headsets are almost as much as other fitness watches themselves.
I believe that a device that is $249 or $299 should include the upgraded headset for full operation. I found this out by watching 30 minuets of reviews.
Other than this issue the headset seems to have a nice edge on the market as it is the first Touchscreen GPS/Fitness/Music watch on the market.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
+5points
23out of 41found this review helpful.