Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Model: MN4096SD3-1333
SKU: 3779273
UPC: 751492505732
Optima Memory is the perfect upgrade to boost the performance of your PC, for casual gaming or your Windows 7 or OS X 10.6 experience. PNY memory upgrades improve the overall system performance for an outstanding value with speeds and densities compatible with all popular desktop and notebook PCs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.404 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(188 Reviews) 188
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 188 reviews
5 stars
130
4 stars
34
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
13
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
168 out of 188
)
Customer Reviews for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module
Review 1 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Crumby

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MeToo
from Round Rock, TX
on 07/24/2014
What's great about it: na
What's not so great: If anything I feel it has slowed my PC even more
I bought this to upgrade and speed up my system. It seems to have slowed my PC rather than give me more speed. So disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2822156613
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Formydeployedson
from Inwood, WV
on 07/23/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Improvement of speed
What's not so great: Instalation
Not sure if it was where on my laptop I had to put, very small space or if it was the product
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2020180359
My Best Buy number: 2020180359
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Perfect way to double my memory

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gumper8107
from Charlotte, NC
on 07/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to install
While I had a really hard time getting the memory panel of my new HP Pavilion, once I got it, the RAM was really easy to install. It took less time to install than it did to get the panel off. Once I booted up, my laptop saw it immediately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0750154541
My Best Buy number: 0750154541
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Used this memory for Imac

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Djknight74
from Rochester, NY
on 07/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Nothing I can think of
Excellent memory for the price. I have this installed in an Imac and in an HP Laptop. Both work fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0544538762
My Best Buy number: 0544538762
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Easy Upgrade for Macbook Pro

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JoshTheGeek
from Lakeland, FL
on 07/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
I bought two of these (8 GB) to upgrade my mid 2009 Macbook pro. It was easy to do and these work great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0785537210
My Best Buy number: 0785537210
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Performes great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bayareabuyer
on 06/14/2014
Best performance overall......... I would really recomend this product to my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0960904660
My Best Buy number: 0960904660
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Exactly what I needed!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kqj62sr
from St Petersburg, Fl
on 06/14/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lowest price around.
I usually don't go to Best Buy for computer parts, but as of late Best Buy is comparable to Tiger Direct, Staples, and Office Depot. Great job Best Buy. I now have another choice for buying computer parts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 2870132959
My Best Buy number: 2870132959
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Needed it to save laptop speed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dragonfly
from South of Boston
on 06/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's not so great: Nothing
I don't work on computers myself. The Geeks said I needed more so I purchased this or not be able to use my Samsung laptop anymore - easy decision for my purchase. Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2276750726
My Best Buy number: 2276750726
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

would like to have more gb for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hondafan
from lake wylie sc
on 06/13/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: simple and easy plug and play
would like to have more gb for the price but i guess its not cheap exspanding memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 0773687095
My Best Buy number: 0773687095
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Easy to install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KevmanBass
from Oakley, Ca
on 06/06/2014
What's great about it: Improved performance of my laptop
I needed to add more memory to my laptop due to all the plug in's I have in my music software for my home studio. The memory was easy to install and it improved the performance of my laptop greatly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 2138071730
My Best Buy number: 2138071730
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Works great on my macbook running maverick

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: terriw5
from Vancouver, WA
on 06/06/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to install
What's not so great: price
The product was easy to install but I would be totally satisfied if it was a bit less expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 2535136629
My Best Buy number: 2535136629
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Noticeably Better Recording Latency

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ArtificiallyAwake
from Tallahassee, Fl
on 06/03/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good Price, Effective, Relatively Easy to Install.
What's not so great: Slightly slower wake time booting from Sleep Mode.
Let me try to explain what my rather specific title is referring to. I’ve been recording music on the computer for about a decade. Six months ago I was finally able to buy a recording program that was powerful enough to record my music properly. For a brief time I felt like a kid in a candy-store. Yet, time and time again, I kept hitting a wall because my computer’s limited memory. I was asking for more than my RAM could deliver. I was over-eager, knowing what I could do with the right musical toolset. I was at a total impasse, before I installed PNY’s - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module. For the first time ever, after installing it, I feel as if I could do just about anything that I want on my computer.
What I mean by latency is essentially this; when I would play back a song to preview/edit it, eventually it would get to the point where the audio would start skipping/glitching. I had just added too much data for my computer to process it all properly. It sounded a bit like a scratched cd that was forced to continue playing, only even worse Needless to say it was not the most favorable of conditions to work under, when editing music. I exhausted every option available to me in the audio settings and still came up wanting. I was faced with the choice of either scaling back my music (bear in mind some these songs had haunted me for nearly ten year) or expanding my memory. Needless to say I chose to expand my memory. I glad to say that I am no longer having any memory/latency issues.
Before I purchased I researched the type of RAM that I needed (my laptop uses a PC3-10666 DDR3, 204-pin SoDIMM configuration). It can't be stress enough, please research beforehand. There are different types of RAM configurations and you need to be very specific when buying. A good place to start this research would be looking into your computer’s specifications.
The best analogy that I can think of right now is if you were to try and plug an appliance into an electrical outlet in a foreign country (if the RAM happened to be incompatible that is). Think of RAM chip as the plug and the slot in your computer as the electrical outlet. You have match the chip up according to the correct connection (size and shape; 204-pin SoDIMM in my case) as well as the correct speed (PC3-10666 DDR3; which was the matching clock speed of my computer's stock RAM chip). I’d also strongly suggest reading up a little bit on the subject before attempting to install the RAM.
However with a bit of knowledge it’s a relatively easy task to complete. Depending on how your computer is set up and with a little research on how to access the RAM slot(s) in your computer, (the computer manufacture’s Maintenance and Teardown guides are very helpful in this regard) and assuming that there is an open slot, realistically it could take around ten to fifteen minutes to install RAM; including the time it takes to boot the computer back up.
With my laptop (HP Pavilion G6) I had to unscrew one screw, take off a plate, slide a latch, slip the chip in, secure the latch back in place, screw the panel back on, and then boot my computer up. My computer recognized the chip and updated accordingly all on its own. It was only a hair harder than plug-and-play technology, but with limited prep-work beforehand, it was almost as simple.
The only issue I’d mention is that my computer seems to take a bit longer to wake up from Sleep Mode/Hibernate. Strange enough, it seems to boot faster when turned on after being completely Shut-down. This may just be due to something that I have set up incorrectly and may have nothing to do with the PNY Chip itself. It’s not been a large enough problem where I’ve felt the need to fix it. It seems to take around 15-20 seconds longer to wake up from Sleep Mode. I can see programs running, but it takes a little while before they become responsive. However it’s entirely possible that my computer is taking the same amount of time to boot and I’m just able to look at the desktop, opposed to before when it stayed on the windows load screen during that time while booting.
After it catches up, my computer runs just as fast, if not faster, than it did on the very first day when I took it out of the box (2010). I tend to run a lot of programs simultaneously. It is not unheard of for me to have 30+ tabs open in Chrome, while jumping between MS Word, (with 3-5 files open) while using media player in the background, all without any of the applications slowing down. This is actually an exact description of the state that my computer is in while I am writing this review.
The PNY Chip can handle a lot of strain. It has been able to cope with everything that I’ve throw at it and I have no reason to doubt that it’s capable of handling even more. The difference is night and day. I’m able to do things now that had taxed my computer to its limits and I don’t even have to think twice about it. I’ve used my laptop for music/photo/video editing, gaming, and I’m about to start programming on it as well.
I was lucky and found this chip on sale. I have a pretty limited budget, but I can say that this is hands down one of the best purchases that I have ever made. I bought it for just under $40, but in retrospect even if I had paid full price, I would have still felt content with my purchase. I’m used to pushing the computers I’ve owned to their limit and becoming perpetually frustrated when they can’t keep up with what I would like for them to do. I've had this chip installed for around three months and I have yet to outpace my computer.
I bought this PNY chip because of a very specific need, but I would wager that it could help any other healthy/compatible computer perform more efficiently as well. Forgive the lengthy review. I fretted for far too long over making this purchase (and also the prospect of having to install it). I wasted time that could have been much better spent. I’ve been wholly impressed with PNY’s - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module.
Even writing at this exaggerated length I fear I cannot fully express how much this product has changed how I am able to use my computer (and it has been all for the best I assure you). For me it was a small price to pay for the freedom of not having to compromise creatively. A fair trade if you ask me. PNY is now one of the companies on my ‘trusted list’, so to speak. If this chip happens to be the right size/speed that you need for your computer, then I would recommend it without any reservations (the lifetime warranty is one of the main reasons that I feel confident enough to be so definitive about that statement).
I’d also like to mention the difference may seem subtle at first; frankly I was a bit underwhelmed until I tested my RAM using very same files that had 'broken' the system before, without any problems at all, after install the RAM. The effect can be truly profound when and where it really counts and the results are nothing short of astounding. The limits of what I can do rest only with me and not the technology. It is quite refreshing really. All things said if this is the right size/speed of RAM for your needs, then the price is well-worth what you will receive in return.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 2374902430
My Best Buy number: 2374902430
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Nice amount of needed RAM

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sassy1216
from orlando, fl
on 05/27/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: very easy to instal
What's not so great: nothing
bought this to upgrade my 4GB laptop. Noticed the faster performance right away. Programs and system load noticeably faster. Super easy to install, just pop in with computer off (of course because you need to remove battery), turn on computer, it's in. Very happy with purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
My Best Buy number: 0050184392
My Best Buy number: 0050184392
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

pretty easy to install myself

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: molliesmom
from ithaca,ny
on 05/23/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: simple to do if you watch tiger direct video.
What's not so great: didn't speed up my laptop as much as i'd hoped it would
it easier to do than i thought. i would do it again instead of paying alot for someone else to do it. tiger direct has a video that shows how to do it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Good, affordable RAM

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rungirl50
from Aurora,IL
on 05/22/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Affordable price
What's not so great: Large power consumption on Dell laptop
RAM has great performance and very easy installation into laptop
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0051671372
My Best Buy number: 0051671372
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

False Advertising

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Zeejay
from New Jersey
on 05/17/2014
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It MIGHT work on PCs
What's not so great: It doesn't work on Macs
The RAM isn't actually clocked to the speeds that it says so it won't actually work in a Mac despite what the friendly staff thought, ad despite what the box says. Not blaming Best Buy, but the product is misleading and inaccurate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 2803831171
My Best Buy number: 2803831171
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Great item

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: levimiller1
from rancho cucamonga, ca
on 05/17/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast, no issues
What's not so great: nothing
This ram is so fast and the price is great. It doesn't have issues like cheaper brands and installs easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0414835205
My Best Buy number: 0414835205
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Great for an upgrader

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Eve000
from Virginia
on 05/17/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of installation and compatible with my device
What's not so great: nothing
The RAM was perfect for an HP pavilion model. You have to be sure that when you upgrade RAM, your model is capable of handling more than what it already has installed. I would recommend looking into the manufacture's website and look up the model number of the PC just to be sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 1056784029
My Best Buy number: 1056784029
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: preciadoracing
from lemon grove , CA
on 05/09/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy install
This ram memory was easy to install. Affordable and fast upgrade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
My Best Buy number: 2342183533
My Best Buy number: 2342183533
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PNY - 4GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory Module

Great memory!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lynnlinn1
from Chattanooga,TN
on 05/02/2014
Great memory!!! Makes my computer run much better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2711054419
My Best Buy number: 2711054419
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>